Molde v Hibs (Agg 0-0)

Some absolute roaster the night spent the whole 90 minutes screaming at Porteous for being shite. Thought he did an excellent job of anchoring that defence the night.

Our favorite Australian footballer got 20 seconds on the pitch. WTF?

Very odd substitution

I think he should be, we have good attacking options.

You read that article gie quick...

We lose mcginn and the team falls to bits. Midfield hiding tonight. Nobody wanting to step up nd take the game by the scruff of the neck. We're in serious trouble because the guys we've got in there at the minute aren't going to cut it for me. Bartley doesn't want the ball. He hid the whole night!!
There are times when I think I've been to a different game. I thought we played okay tonight and would have won it if not for their goalie. I also thought Bartley did okay, tackling back when he lost the ball. Porteous is a good, young player. Yes, we missed McGinn ( there's a surprise!!), but I think Mallan and Slivka worked hard. Kamberi is carrying a knee problem, so might be rested on Sunday. We need another midfield player; hopefully NL has one in mind. It's good to see Gray back. So, I remain hopeful for the second leg and for the season ahead.

Efe was excellent tonight. Good to see him upping the performance level.

Enjoyed the game tonight. I thought Hibs played very well against an excellent well organised team and were very unlucky not to win. Their goalkeeper got them a draw and if they end up going through they have him to thank because he was outstanding tonight. Some very good performances from Hibs especially at the back where Efe Ambrose had his best game for a long time and Ryan Porteous continues to impress greatly. They didn't create one clear cut chance all night which was a testament as to how well we defended as a team. In midfield the absence of McGinn was clear for all to see. Basically we need a proper replacement in as soon as possible.

Kamberi was too isolated and was up against some very good defenders, and even though Boyle gave everything and had a decent game IMO he is not a striker and we suffer as a team by not deploying him on the right wing where he causes so much havoc in defences. Impressed yet again with Mallan...he was very unlucky not to score. I thought Hyndman looked good when he came on and he was another one defied by a superb goalkeeper.

No away goals conceded means we still have a chance although they will clearly be favourites in their own stadium which has an artificial surface. We have to score over there and we are well capable of doing that.

I actually thought Slivka played well tonight though he does drift in and out if games still. Given they were a big strong team i thought we handled them well. We’re not the tallest team but we’re strong and fit, traits that mcgeouch and McGinn we’re prime examples of.
Mallan and Boyle were excellent, Kamberi had an off night but it happens. Their keeper had 2 or 3 top notch saves (I think he got a touch on Mallans shot onto the bar in the first half), their 27 looked a handful and their 14 was finding space too easily for my liking but other than that they were decent but not brilliant. I’m confident going into next week!

Thought the performance was pretty decent tonight. Bartley for me played pretty well considering he's barely played this season.

Positives : Effe was absoloute class, world class, easily the the classiest player on the pitch.
Porteous is on his way to being our next big cash in. Get him on a longer contract now, of course he is a bit rough around the edges, but he seems to love the challenge of raising his game , I think he will make it huge in the game.
Mallan gets better and always looks likely to score , couldn't tackle a fish supper though.
David Gray and Lewis Stevenson , though not the most gifted , are surely two of the best professionals to grace our club . Neither had their best games , but just give absoloutley everything and very rarely make mistakes , and if they do , they tend to fix them .
A clean sheet is huge .
Negatives: Flo was not fit, and his fitness is a huge part of his game. He played like Simon Murray, all effort with not much product.
Boyle receiving the ball with his back to goal most times is a waste .
Danny Swanson didn't get on to create, we were screaming out for someone with something different.
Losing both Dylan and now SJM is hard to overcome. Losing one would have been bad enough but manageable, both leaves a huge void, we all knew this though.
I would love to hear the thought process of putting a player on with 30 seconds left , just bizarre , and slightly worrying .
The atmosphere was strangely subdued , it took forever for build up, I was expecting an electric start , but it was a spookily quiet first 30 mins , maybe a SJM hangover?
We didn't score .

All said and done , a fair reflection probably would have seen us with a goal advantage , but still , it isn't a bad half time result. Hopefully next week , some new blood will give us that shot in the arm which could propel us further , this team does have a bit mystique about it , so let's bring it on .
But please , someone with a better football brain than mine please explain the substitution on 93+ mins?

I certainly cannae. Wasting our own time is a new one for me.

Maybe, just maybe, when we got within touching distance of the clean sheet he wanted to ensure it? It's the only thing I can think of...

I thought he was just giving Boyle his applause for his MoM.
I don't think Jamie is ready, only reason to not play him. Or, he's keeping him for the weekend as we'll be looking to rest Flo and maybe even Boyle.

I thought he was just giving Boyle his applause for his MoM.
I don't think Jamie is ready, only reason to not play him. Or, he's keeping him for the weekend as we'll be looking to rest Flo and maybe even Boyle.
That's a possibility re Boyle.

Our favorite Australian footballer got 20 seconds on the pitch. WTF?

A strange move indeed

First rule of two legged ties is to make sure you’re still in it for the second tie.

And we are.

Might be a bit different on a plastic pitch though.

I thought there were signs tonight our midfielders were coming out of their shells to dominate but it’s still early days.

By hook or by crook that’s only 1 goal conceded in our last 3 and a half games. That kind of form could take us a long way early in the season.

Enjoyed that tonite. Played well. Brst defensive performance of the season. We just didnt get the breaks in front of their goal or we'd have won comfortably.

As it stands we're half way to seeing the first Hibs team in the club's history to make it through 3 rounds in Europe.

Thought he had a great game ( 1 rash tackle ) and is a great prospect. I hope we have him tied up on a contract.

Porteous that is.

We can definitely win this tie , Molde played some pretty football but never really troubled us though their movement was excellent . Ambrose best game in ages and Porteous a star in the making . With just a wee bit of luck we could've won last night , I love how Mallan needs no invitation to shoot from distance and
Slivka is coming onto a game at the right time

I didn't really rate Molde if I'm honest. They kept the ball well but it was all quite stodgy and sideways, I only really remember them being threatening when they ditched that went long, Laidlaw's only saves of the game were from headers right?

I thought we were very unlucky not to score last night and should have won. Hyndman looks like a player we should have on from the start once he is integrated, his goal bound shot would have been a peach and he looked sufficiently pissed off that it didn't go in.

For all our decent play there was a super sized chunk of creativity missing though eh?

You read that article gie quick...

I thought you were making a fundemental statement!! I use the bounce work screen so didnae look like a link.

I was speaking to a Bournemouth/Hibs fan last night whose seen Hyndman play a few times. Thinks we've got a cracking player!

I woke up twice last night convinced we had scored and won the tie. I don't normally dream so it must have been a premonition of the away tie in which we'll score twice and win the tie!

With SJM probably off I can't see anything other than Bartman slotting into the CDM position and Mallan moving into a more attacking role.

With Jamie coming in, the big question is who we now play at RWB. Boyle isn't needed up top anymore so does SDG drop to the bench? It would be harsh because he's been in great form?
SDG is a must for start line up , in any game . IMO

I wonder if Lennon will bring in another central defender due to McGregor's situation ?
After tonight , Ryan can definitely cover

After tonight and other games Daz might struggle to take Ryan's place! The youngster has been superb.

I think Porteous is being nurtured and prepared to take over from Darren McG. Similar type of defender. I think we need four central defenders competing for places and as long as Darren McG can keep on playing I am happy with him, Porteous, Efe Ambrose and Paul Hanlon being these four.

I agree.

Particularly about Porteous.

The lad looks to be the real deal.

As for the tie...

It's not a bad result. Clearly, Molde will approach the home game differently but the reality is that they'll be desperate to avoid losing an away goal. As we didn't lose one, scoring first in Norway will give us a MASSIVE advantage and it's certainly not beyond us. Save some goalkeeping heroics, we'd be ahead in this tie already.

What's more interesting is that Dinamo Minsk thrashed Zenit last night. It could well be a trip to Belarus that awaits the winner, and I think that tie looks a lot more winnable.

I thought Molde looked a bit less than threatening, although they were neat and tidy enough.

I strongly suspect they will be a much more effective outfit on their own plastic pitch.

I thought Molde looked a bit less than threatening, although they were neat and tidy enough.

I strongly suspect they will be a much more effective outfit on their own plastic pitch.

They sold their best striker yesterday, I am sure that played a part?

Very odd substitution
Exactly , all that did was waste 20 seconds , punt in their box , we might've scored .

As I've said on numerous occassions Efe has lots of qualities , defending not usually one of them , now and again , as last night , he has an error free defensive game , it would be great if he could continue in that vein , time will tell ?

Interesting all the comments on here - for what it’s worth (little) Preston and Michael Stewart were singing Porteous’ praises on the radio. Almost immediately it sounded like he had a terrible ten minutes. They also though Efe tries to play the ball too much rather than picking up his man and that gave Molde opportunities they shouldn’t have had.

(Don’t shoot the messenger now).

They sold their best striker yesterday, I am sure that played a part?
And as he is being loaned back to them you may find out next week

Does that mean he can play in the second leg? Surely if salzburg have bought him and then loaned him back would mean that he would have broken his contract with molde and become a salzburg player who would then have to draw up a new contract for molde to take him back on loan. Given that the cut off point for registering players was wed midnight cet he wouldn't be illegible for the second leg mate?

I have looked and can't find anything to definitely confirm that he put pen to paper. He's still registered for Molde on the UEFA site. Dortmund came in for him on Thursday too?
Who knows....

Hibs fans have the upper and lower tiers of section k of their ground. Pretty impressive stadium.

Herkommermolde

Hibs fans have the upper and lower tiers of section k of their ground. Pretty impressive stadium.

Herkommermolde

We’ve got tickets for the upper tier, tenner a pop, bargain! Think it’s unallocated seating?

We did a Google translate when we got hold of the match tickets. Does appear to be unallocated.

Us too, its 'fri' seating. Hope is no fri like the fisk and kips in the faroes, I had indigestion for a week afterwards.

This thread has been viewed 16490 times.