Beer suggestions here

tayside hibee

What beers should we be trying that perhaps I'm missing out on.
Lager to me, is pretty much lager, all much of the same for my palate.
I quite like an IPA, with Deuchars in my fridge quite often. I do like the blonde beers , with Ossian a particular faviroute just now, brewed at Inveralmond brewery. Give it a try , thank me later.
Loads of different beers out there now, what gems am I/ we missing out on?

I am a Duechars/ Best/ Guiness pint drinker if in a boozer, at home, when not sipping wine, I like Birra Moretti.

Guinness is the best beer on the Planet however if not to your taste Fullers London Pride not far behind. Forget the Taj Mahal, the most beautiful buildings in the World are the St.James's Gate Brewery in Dublin and the Griffin Brewery, Chiswick.My fridge top shelf is occupied with 0% and less than 0.05% Dutch,German and U.S lager/beer just now.It is all by and large pretty shite.

Like drygate beers,gladeye ipa being a particular favourite just now. For more of a session beer Caesar Augustus. Bring on Friday evening!

Schiehallion, Joker IPA and Lawless Village IPA from Porty are all very good, some great Scottish beers out there these days

Kippen Brewery’s Motive session ale is top of my list at the moment.

Guinness for me , too.

Used to drink Whitbreads Pale Ale, but it disappeared many years ago.

I’m liking Hophouse 13 at the moment, a lager made by Guinness.

Cider rules
Angry orchard is my tipple just now, none of the fancy fruit flavour pish, original all the way

Cider rules
Angry orchard is my tipple just now, none of the fancy fruit flavour pish, original all the way

Cider is at the end of the road to ruin. I know because I went there many times as a youth. Never again. Brr!

At the springfest last week at Tempest Brewery in Tweedbank. 2 IPAs stood out, Long White Cloud and Pale Armadillo. Give them a bash. They’re excellent

Try Sam Adams Boston lager. It's much bolder than traditional lager. I believe it is available on draft in some pubs in Edinburgh. Two of my favorite IPAs are Sierra Nevada and Anchor Steam. Best served not quite chilled in my opinion.

Cider is at the end of the road to ruin. I know because I went there many times as a youth. Never again. Brr!

I could see that with the cheap very strong stuff

It was this - I can still taste the second coming...

6328f380aee8bd1dc6cd0cf6fb4d4199.jpg

Guinness for me , too.

Used to drink Whitbreads Pale Ale, but it disappeared many years ago.

Being brewed again Larry for a year and a half now amigo. First time brewed by the Thames since 1976. Draught and bottle. Get quaffing young man.

Thanks for that G. Hope it's in the original style bottle? Fitted into the pocket of a parka bonnie!

And off to the match we went.

Those were the days.

:applause:

At the springfest last week at Tempest Brewery in Tweedbank. 2 IPAs stood out, Long White Cloud and Pale Armadillo. Give them a bash. They’re excellent

Sampled both on a trip to the Borders at Easter and both excellent, had the long white cloud a few times since.

Might make a trip to one of the beer festivals at Tweedbank sometime

Sampled both on a trip to the Borders at Easter and both excellent, had the long white cloud a few times since.

Might make a trip to one of the beer festivals at Tweedbank sometime

They do two per year, an Oktoberfest and Springfest. Last weekend was class, around 25 beers, loads of really good independent food traders and bands/music from 1pm til 10pm and not a single one of them was shite. Highly recommended. Best bit of coming from outside the Borders is the brewery is a 2 minute walk from the train station!

Schiehallion, Joker IPA and Lawless Village IPA from Porty are all very good, some great Scottish beers out there these days

interesting to see you mentioned Lawless village,as a coeliac it's hard finding decent beer but both Bellsfield beers are good and I'm lead to believe brewed by a Hibby.
Peroni and Old Speckled hen are also good gluten free beer

interesting to see you mentioned Lawless village,as a coeliac it's hard finding decent beer but both Bellsfield beers are good and I'm lead to believe brewed by a Hibby.
Peroni and Old Speckled hen are also good gluten free beer

Aye the Bellfield beers are brewed by a fellow Porty Hibby, both excellent

Guinness is the best beer on the Planet however if not to your taste Fullers London Pride not far behind. Forget the Taj Mahal, the most beautiful buildings in the World are the St.James's Gate Brewery in Dublin and the Griffin Brewery, Chiswick.My fridge top shelf is occupied with 0% and less than 0.05% Dutch,German and U.S lager/beer just now.It is all by and large pretty $#@!e.

Gave up alcohol on 31st December and have tried every non alcohol lager since all completely rubbish.

Before that my choices were asahi, Brooklyn but my favourite was Phoenix from mauritius.

Guinness served across in Ireland is the best pint for me.

Otherwise, I had a superb pint of Caledonian Best yesterday. I found a pub in Leith that serves a good McEwans 70 shilling.

The extinct Youngers No. 3 was my favourite beer as a younger man.

Having been down in England for many years I got to know the beers well. Award winners Black Sheep, Rudgate Ruby Mild and Timothy Taylor Boltmaker are worth a try, if you can find 'em.

Gave up alcohol on 31st December and have tried every non alcohol lager since all completely rubbish.

Before that my choices were asahi, Brooklyn but my favourite was Phoenix from mauritius.

Brew Dog and budvar both do alcohol free. Both honking, as I’ve found out accidentally from the work beer fridge

Just about a year without alcohol. Wish I’d done it years ago.

Well done,I must admit I'm tempted,but not sure I could. Did you find it easy? , did it get harder as the months went on ?
It's such a social event in this country, funny this thread popped up as can't get a taxi for hogmanay party and thought I'd drive, then I thought it would be a good start to the year to go all.January dry.

Well done,I must admit I'm tempted,but not sure I could. Did you find it easy? , did it get harder as the months went on ?
It's such a social event in this country, funny this thread popped up as can't get a taxi for hogmanay party and thought I'd drive, then I thought it would be a good start to the year to go all.January dry.

Was it easy? Well I’ve rapped it in January for a few years so the initial bit wasn’t too tough - but I think I was ready for it. I go out now with friends but either drink becks blue or soft drinks. I used to hate doing that and be bored but now I’m fine with it. I think I was conscious of how grotty I felt even after 1 and the two or three day hangovers after a heavy sesh. There’s a group on reddit I check, I found it helpful.

The trigger was probably my youngest who didn’t sleep well until the middle of this year. Funnily enough he sleeps fine now!

Gonna try the dry January too , have been caning it a bit and not feeling too healthy.

Brew Dog and budvar both do alcohol free. Both honking, as I’ve found out accidentally from the work beer fridge

There’s a lot more choice re alcohol-free beers unfortunately a lot of them still have that slight chemical aftertaste. Brew dog masks this with industrial levels of hops. Erdinger alcohol-free is very drinkable and in terms of lagers Heineken and Tennants have been the most drinkable I found. Becks Blue is just like normal Becks down to the tiny 275ml bottles

Attempting to give up the drink full stop,using it to supplement my depression meds.
Having Coeliac disease means I cannae even have a alcohol free beer

Attempting to give up the drink full stop,using it to supplement my depression meds.

Good luck.

The only time I managed to stay off the drink for a few weeks was when meds prevented me imbibing!

It’s bloody difficult to cut it out, and bloody impossible to cut it down. I can get a cork out no bother but it never seems to go back in.

I’m sure your willpower is better than mine though.

Cheers.

Good luck with that mate. I know a few have done the same withing and it helps.

I planned to have a Dry January, I popped in to see my Mum & Dad as you do on New Years Day, one Birra Moretti and one large Dark Rum and Diet Coke later, plans already scuppered.

Treat yourself to a bottle of Duvel.Its a Belgian beer and 8•5%.
I worked in Belgium a few years back where I first met it. Its available in supermarkets.Some pubs may stock it.

Guinness served across in Ireland is the best pint for me.

Otherwise, I had a superb pint of Caledonian Best yesterday. I found a pub in Leith that serves a good McEwans 70 shilling.

The extinct Youngers No. 3 was my favourite beer as a younger man.

Having been down in England for many years I got to know the beers well. Award winners Black Sheep, Rudgate Ruby Mild and Timothy Taylor Boltmaker are worth a try, if you can find 'em.
Youngers no 3 otherwise known as a pint of heavy.

There’s a lot more choice re alcohol-free beers unfortunately a lot of them still have that slight chemical aftertaste. Brew dog masks this with industrial levels of hops. Erdinger alcohol-free is very drinkable and in terms of lagers Heineken and Tennants have been the most drinkable I found. Becks Blue is just like normal Becks down to the tiny 275ml bottles

Update on alcohol free beer - finally found one I like - estrella free damm limon. Basically you can get the same effect by taking any alcohol free beer and pouring enough lemon cordial in to hide the taste.

Might not work for everyone.

I gave up for 4 months,didn't suit me.
The beer and the cider wasn't the issue missed wine too much

Never understood why folk buy alcohol free stuff. Who drinks beer for the taste?

Bo’ness real ale Festival on this coming weekend for anyone interested.

Never understood why folk buy alcohol free stuff. Who drinks beer for the taste?
Me. I have enjoyed many various beers from all over the world. Used to be some good North American and Canadian ones imported, same with our near continental ones. Then, for some reason that completely bemuses me, almost every beer that I used to enjoy is 'brewed in the UK under licence'. They now all taste of the same piss from fucking Carling. Bastards!
Fortunately they've left the German stuff as it is (probably due to the German purity laws). Watch brexit fuck up the import of those as well.

Me. I have enjoyed many various beers from all over the world. Used to be some good North American and Canadian ones imported, same with our near continental ones. Then, for some reason that completely bemuses me, almost every beer that I used to enjoy is 'brewed in the UK under licence'. They now all taste of the same piss from fucking Carling. Bastards!
Fortunately they've left the German stuff as it is (probably due to the German purity laws). Watch brexit fuck up the import of those as well.

I am off to Germany in October, any recommedations on the beer front? I am in Berlin and plan to drink beer every day, possibly for breakfast, lunch and tea!

Haven't been to Berlin. Mainly the Munich area so I just go with Erdinger or Paulaner. You'll find that most towns will have a Hofbrauhaus where they make their own brews. It's not a drinking culture like it is here though. Beer is a part of a meal so be sure to get a nice schweinehaxe and all the trimmings.
Basically, ask the locals what they drink.
Damn, I'm needing another holiday there noo. Just back far Italy 2 weeks ago tae but you've spiked my interest?

This thread has been viewed 5678 times.