What’s the worst weather you’ve watched hibs?

Two spring to mind for me:

Kilmarnock game at er about 96 freezing and windy

And Dundee United at new year around 2002 - minus five or something

I remember that Killie game. Did spotty not haunt us?

Game at McDiarmid that was abandoned at half time due to snow.

Easy - Cowdenbeath a few years ago. Had three German friends decide that they were coming over for that too. What an away game to pick!!

That was it for me, the wettest, soaked through feeling I have ever had at the football.

The Millennium Derby was well below zero, but we felt no pain after skelping the dafties.

That was it for me, the wettest, soaked through feeling I have ever had at the football.

The Millennium Derby was well below zero, but we felt no pain after skelping the dafties.

A couple of honourable mentions for two recent games at Alloa too.

Two trips to Cowdenbeath are coldest I think

Squad of Groningen folk there too. One on seeing the tip after ascending the stairs said 'Is this fucking legal in Scotland?'

I don’t remember the exact game, but I recall being at Tynecastle in the opposite end from where we get now. It was pissing wet, and I was in the front row where there was no shelter from it.

It's already been called but it's no because it's still in the memory. Cowdenbeath in the Scottish Cup run of 2012 - 3-2 win. It was a relief to get home, nevermind get through the tie.

Wettest has to be when we played a Lithuanian (possibly) team in the intertoto cup.

Sat in the lower right corner of the famous 5 and a slide tackle got me and my mum soaked by the tsunami that followed.

Couple snowy games when I was younger, but nothing really since has been too unbearable

Wettest has to be when we played a Lithuanian (possibly) team in the intertoto cup.

Sat in the lower right corner of the famous 5 and a slide tackle got me and my mum soaked by the tsunami that followed.

Couple snowy games when I was younger, but nothing really since has been too unbearable

Great shout Hammi! I didnt go for this one though as I was under cover at the game.

We travelled through by car from Glasgow and there were loads of roads closed on the way there. Several 'dips' were like that crossroads down from Starks Park when there was a similar downpour during the first half of a preseason friendly about five years ago - game got abandoned at half time.

Mid eighties , midweek against Partick I think at E.R. the match was abandoned due to fog, I was in the old enclosure and you couldn't see the goals at the Dunbar end .
The rearranged fixture was free entry and I think less than 10000 turned up. Attendances in the grim Bertie Auld days were sometimes 4/5 thousand.
Strange thing was , or away support wasn't much less at the time.
Shit football, but happy days .

I honestly reckon that game went ahead because the Lithuanian mob could not afford to come back to Leith. Literally tons of water swept off the pitch with giant squeegees before and at half time.

I'm sure that's the story I remember from then too, they had travelled however far and it was impossible for them to get back for their own fixtures and deal with a rearrangement.
Would have sucked for any fans too. I remember the half time effort too vaguely.

I like how American football fans regularly clear and prepare their pitches, seen plenty scooping snow n such like.

A game at McDiarmid Park about 25 years ago- it snowed for an hour before kick off and got heavier during the game.

I think we lost 0-2 and I would bet Paul Wright scored at least once- he usually did! I do remember the orange ball being used and a miserable journey back that took about 3 hours.

P

That Vetra game was post a Bounce .Net game iirc. Weather was lovely for that but torrential by 2pm.

Have to say that I am old enough to remember days at Easter Road when as long as the line markings were visible.....kick on.

16ao7wk.jpg

Mid eighties , midweek against Partick I think at E.R. the match was abandoned due to fog, I was in the old enclosure and you couldn't see the goals at the Dunbar end .
The rearranged fixture was free entry and I think less than 10000 turned up. Attendances in the grim Bertie Auld days were sometimes 4/5 thousand.
Strange thing was , or away support wasn't much less at the time.
Shit football, but happy days .

It was Dundee, I paid to get into the first one and sat in the centre stand in the second one on a point of principal!

Hibs V Huns about 45 or so years ago at Easter Road. Freezing cold and piling it down with snow and it was the proper East Terracing of old which, as older bouncers will recall, was open to the elements. It was so dismal I don't even recall if we won or not.

I don’t remember the exact game, but I recall being at Tynecastle in the opposite end from where we get now. It was pissing wet, and I was in the front row where there was no shelter from it.

Early 90's , open terracing at the gorgie road end, driving ice cold rain as Husref Musemic scored the only goal of the game ??

That was the game I was going to choose. I was there with a young @braeheadcabbage

One of our many,many horrible games against those gunts.

Edit: it was 26/8/89

It was Dundee, I paid to get into the first one and sat in the centre stand in the second one on a point of principal!

It was the third time we tried to play it that it was free, second time it was called off with about 20mins till kick off, I gave some disgruntled dundee fans the news as I left ER and headed back for a green bus.

I think we won 2-0 in the end? Maybe a penalty? I used to know this stuff...

I remember that Killie game. Did spotty not haunt us?

Think so, and if I rem correctly we wouldve went top if we'd won.

Game at McDiarmid that was abandoned at half time due to snow.

Wasn't it just after half-time? Meaning we weren't entitled to refunds? May be wrong, but I remember feeling particularly hard done by.

Away to Dundee Utd in the old uncovered away end behind the goals.There was a 10min hailstorm and I thin it's the coldest I've ever been.

Honourable mention of the intertoto game monsoon conditions and myself and [MENTION=5688]brianmc[/MENTION] had walked down from Waverley!

I remember a game their in the late 80s and it was pissin doon non stop
I managed to dig up a carrier bag from where? I don't have a clue but it made a good hat and saved me from the worst of it

I remember a game their in the late 80s and it was pissin doon non stop
I managed to dig up a carrier bag from where? I don't have a clue but it made a good hat and saved me from the worst of it

Was a very very wet new year derby at Tynie about 1984, one all draw Willie Irvine for us

3 for me

The wettest Cowdenbeath little while back , coldest dens park late 80s in the Albert kid end ! freezing , funniest was Dumbarton away mega warm and loads of us sunbathing on the grass bank Pmsl

There's been a few times but one came to mind recently - did we not have a game against the Dodgers cancelled midgame when we were winning 2-0 through there? Not long before Stanton left for them. He was instrumental that day. It was pretty misty. Sure their fans invaded the pitch?

Not necessarily the worst feeling weather but the worst feeling given we inevitably didn't win the rematch....

There's been a few times but one came to mind recently - did we not have a game against the Dodgers cancelled midgame when we were winning 2-0 through there? Not long before Stanton left for them. He was instrumental that day. It was pretty misty. Sure their fans invaded the pitch?

Not necessarily the worst feeling weather but the worst feeling given we inevitably didn't win the rematch....

We did indeed, I went with my Celtc supporting school pals and a teacher on a Celtc supporters bus.

2 for me but the joy warmed me up , mid 80`s tynie in the gorgie road end that magical day when Stevie Archibald scored the winner , absolutely pished doon the whole day from beginning to end but what a day.
Also the 2007 CIS final v killie ,me and the wee man had canvas shoes on and it was baltic closest i have ever come to hyporthermia had to take the wee mans troosers socks and jaikit off and put them on the heater on the journey home.

Another shout for that day in a Siberian gulag, I mean Cowdenbeath. Just horrible that day.

This thread has been viewed 2944 times.