Favourite Ever Hibs Manager?

Doesn't necessarily mean who you think was the best. Many might think GJP was the best but might not be their favourite for example. What manager did you just like him being Hibs manager? You felt he was just the right fit. You felt he got Hibs. He looked right being at Hibs. You wanted him to succeed as a result.

In my lifetime going to watch Hibs I've concluded the following on each respective Hibs manager:

Pat Stanton. Unfortunately he resigned a few weeks into me regularly going to ER. I had met him when pestering him for an autograph as he watched his laddie playing for St John's primary school. Then in the summer he resigned I was helping out inside Easter Road volunteering my services doing weeding etc. Pat was great with me. He sent one of the young players to the shops to get me a can of coke!

John Blackley. After each home game I'd go to the old ER main entrance and the old club shop. I was probably a wee bit of a known young face hanging about for autographs etc. After a rare Hibs win under John he enthusiastically kind of picked me up! It was so obvious he really really wanted to be a success at Hibs a club he obviously loves.

Alex Miller. I don't think in his ten years he was ever really accepted but there was grudging respect for the man. In retrospect he did more than OK. And he put together 1993-1995 one of the most exciting sides I've seen. However, it was a weird distant relationship...

Jocky Scott. His temporary manager reign went on ridiculously long. I've long felt it was this period that cost us the next few years with relegation etc. The board allowed him to sign quite a few players including John Hughes for decent money.

Jim Duffy. The board had been trying to bring in Alex Mcleish from Motherwell but their board wouldn't release him. In arrived Jim Duffy some 5 months after Miller walked. We survived the play-offs but the job was too big. In fairness he tried to build rapport with the support. And he wanted us to play in the right way. However, quickly he had from the support little if any respect as the man for the job.

Alex Mcleish. Hibs board finally got their man but not before failing to get Tommy Burns (RIP) (and Paul Sturrock?) but it was too late. We were doomed for relegation. In the First Division he got us motoring. On our futile attempt to avoid the drop beating Hearts and arguably costing them a serious tilt at the title had banked Eck much love and respect. It grew and grew. Säuzee and Latapy etc received. We were good. Promoted we returned a different beast. Eck offered us to be here as long as we wanted him. Unfortunately it wasn't long until he was meeting David Murray behind Hibs back. GJP was born.

Franck Säuzee. Shafted by ex team mates and a weak board. Still angers me. And obviously hurt him to the point of no return literally... I will always love and respect. Our loved and sadly missed The Proclaimer used to mention Franck's first outing as Hibs manager in his Don Corelone coat at East End Park. I will remember that image and not him leaving Easter Road for the last time.

Bobby Williamson. Credited by some for helping us avoid relegation. Not by me. He genuinely made me fall out of love with our club. We were awful. Derek Riordan and Steven Whittaker for Bobby Mann anyone?

Tony Mowbray. Great times. What a transformation. He knew how to use these kids and not punt them in exchange for Bobby Mann. Brought in quality like Murphy & Beuzelin. Was given much love and respect. Then he agitated for a move. Left and returned with Celtic behaving like a clown.

John Collins. A winner. Had the board appointed say Mark Proctor when Mowbray left then I doubt that amazing team would have won anything. I don't doubt JC had man management issues. I suspect Tommy Craig was an incorrect appointment to be number 2. However, Rodders was wrong, wrong, wrong to host the daft laddies with flowchart and pen down east lothian. Let down by our board.

Mixu Paatelainen. A player I loved. However, I really thought he was a terrible Hibs manager. The football was eye bleeding. I thought his PR with the support was strange. He became a hugely defensive personality.

John Hughes. Very good first season. And had us playing the right way. I thought that there was an identity that season that had been missing under Mixu. Latter part of that season though we were pretty awful. And so it continued early the next season and the board sell Anthony Stokes on the last day of the season...

Colin Calderwood. Without doubt the worst Hibs manager ever in my lifetime. I didn't like him. I don't like him. I have the same amount of respect for him as he has for us. None. Whatsoever. Couldn't even be arsed going to a testimonial match for Ian Murray. Maybe he too hadn't forgiven him for leaving Hibs something it was obvious he wanted for himself. Odious prick.

Pat Fenlon. He got Hibs. He respected and obviously still does respect Hibs. Unfortunately though Hibs appointed the wrong man. Michael O'Neil was available and wanted it. Pat honourably walked. I like Pat.

Terry Butcher. He was doing an excellent job at Inverness. I thought as did others he was the obvious candidate. How wrong was I.... What a fuckin idiot. Him and aye me as well. What manager needing points on the board comes in and tells them that they are all useless ****s and he's emptying them all?

Alan Stubbs. It was all reminiscent to Mowbray. Ex Celtic centre half. Young and hungry who wanted us to play the correct way. Communicated with us well. His language excited us. We bought into it. And although he didn't deliver on his objective to get us up he delivered what we probably never expected... I really wish he had stayed on to finish the job. He must regret and rue the day he gave good reason for her indoors to demand he went home.

Neil Lennon. At Celtc as player and manager I didn't at all like him. Had zero respect for him. However, he came in saying all the right thing's. He's a celtc man. We all know that. But his affinity and warmth for us is obvious. And it's growing. He gets us. He respects what we have given him. He's the most natural winner I've experienced as Hibs manager. Winning is everything. The last few minutes v the Gunts at ER as we put them out (again) from the Scottish Cup. His celebrating when we equalised at Hampden v The Sheep. His interview in the latest club DVD is brilliant. I felt love for the man. You understand why opponents don't like Lennon. He's EVERYTHING for his side. Neil Lennon will again manage at a higher platform but I'd imagine it'll need to be a genuine step up as I doubt he's ever been much happier. And being truthful my club has never been in a happier position.

So who is my favourite? It's hard to pick between Alan Stubbs and Neil Lennon.

However, having come FULL CIRCLE with Neil Lennon I'm declaring honestly that he's now my favourite ever Hibs manager.

And furthermore there's no reason why he can't go on and prove to be the best....

Yours?

I grew up enjoying Turnbull's Tornadoes but know Ned wasn't perfect. I wanted Stanton and Sloop to be successes but neither were able to manage as they had played. Calderwood and Butcher I honestly despise. Moonface came in after GJP broke the bank and I feel sorry a little for him but not enough to forgive his turgid football. Fenlon was a nice guy but out of his league although he is part responsible for us turning into a decent cup side.

Sauzee was hung out to dry by snakes in the dressing room. Scott was but a janny. Hughes brought a future legend to the club but I never did appreciate his managerial style. The day he skelped Makalambay on the head at half time whilst still on the park and the player's reaction will live on in my memory.

Mixu came to us too early in his managerial career. The football was ugly.

JC won us a trophy and gave us some fine results but something clearly was amiss. Player power won the day (again).

Mogga inherited the Golden Generation and put an arm round them. I don't think he would have won the CIS Cup though.

GJP betrayed the club. The End.

Stubbs will always be a legend, signed some cracking players and gave us our club back. We learned to like them again.

However I am with Smurf re Lennon. If he hangs around I have a feeling the best is yet to come...

Probably an unpopular choice and it all ended in tears but I really liked John Collins if we're talking about a 'favourite'. Stylish, classy and a deeper thinking manager with an interesting and professional philosophy on how the game should be played and how players should look after themselves. Also loved his dismissive attitude towards the 'pub team' across the way.

It seemed a great pity that by many accounts he had crucial weaknesses regarding the full armoury of traits needed by a successful manager.

I liked Mowbray. A class act.

I loved Stubbs. The classiest act.

Great post smurf.

For me it’s a tough one between sir Alan of Stubbs for delivering the cup and Lennon. I’d say Lennon is edging it with his desire and attitude. Both Stubbs and Lennon both get hibs and clearly have a soft spot for us

McLeish, Mowbray, Collins and Stubbs all created my best memories as a Hibs fan. Some classic individual games, great players brought in, some excellent players brought through our youth system, great style of play and silverware.

Have to pick Stubbs though. We all know why.

I've got on board the Lenny train after being inherently suspicious of him when he first came in. Can't say he is a favourite yet though.

Collins in his first session was magic, it seemed like a match made in heaven until the infamous player revolt... he was a winner like Neil Lennon, but didn’t have the man management (or perhaps the right coaching staff) to make his ambition a reality.

Mowbray got me back into Hibs after being scunnered by Williamson - some of the football was great to watch, but I always felt there was an aspect of style over substance.

Hughes started well but went off the rails, while Mixu was too negative.

Calderwood and Butcher are tied for the worst ever. Fenlon was equally dreadful, but at least gave his all.

Stubbs is a legend for the Scottish Cup, but twice failed to get us promoted and left on a high (but at the right time).

Neil Lennon is a winner, his team is set up to win but also play some great football. I can’t think of another Hibs manager who has such a desire to win, and is fearless of all opponents. If he stays for a few seasons, gets us regularly into the top 4 and wins a trophy (or two) he’ll go down as an all time great.

Eddie Turnbull was Hibs manager when I was growing up in the 70's and he built and then dismantled a great side. I admired him though..he knew his football although his man-management was poor. He made a massive contribution to our club both as a player and a manager.

An unpopular opinion I know, but I thought Alex Miller was a very good manager for Hibs. Ten years was way too long in charge, but his record in the transfer market was exceptional. He signed many excellent players for Hibs. He was tainted by his hun background (unfairly IMO), and his derby record. However Hearts were just a better team than us during most of his time and they had John Robertson.

Mowbray turned Hibs around and put together a wonderful young team who at their best were a joy to watch. He knew the lower league English market well and brought some real quality to Hibs.

Collins had a great professional attitude to the job, but couldn't handle senior footballers and quickly lost the dressing room. He will always be a legend at Hibs though as he was a great player for us and his preparation work for the 2007 LC Final was exceptional.

Auld apart from getting the club promoted in 1981 was a total disaster, as was Jim Duffy although he tried to make too many changes too quickly from the Miller years. He was out of his depth at Hibs and should have been shown the door earlier. Pat Fenlon was a nice guy who got the best out of Leigh Griffiths but ultimately found the pressures of managing a big Scottish club too much. The support structure both Stubbs and Lennon have enjoyed was not there during Fenlon's time and it showed.

McLeish built the best Hibs team of my adult life. He shafted the club though in the worst possible way and he tarnished much of the good he had done previously.

Frank Sauzee should never have been appointed Hibs manager. It was terrible decision which ultimately led to an unsavoury end to his time at Hibs which could and should have been avoided. The board played to the gallery by appointing Franck as boss and he paid the price for their foolishness.

Williamson was a bad fit at Easter Road. I was glad when he left.

Calderwood should never have got the job. A total knob-end who just used Hibs as a stopping point before getting back to coaching in England.

Butcher ultimately was a disaster...but I can understand why Petrie went for him. He had done a fantastic job at Inverness with very limited resources. His management style was counter-productive to say the least and his inability to organise the team and failure to just get the few points we needed to avoid relegation towards the end of that season 2013/14 took incompetence to a new level.

Mixu wasn't ready for the Hibs job...and similar to Fenlon there was not enough support behind the scenes for him.

John Hughes had the right ideas...but Yogi doesn't handle pressure or criticism well. Things started well under him but quickly evaporated and he had clearly lost the respect of the players and the board by the time he was fired.

Stubbs done a great job and gave us our club back. He also gave us the Scottish Cup and will rightly be a Hibs legend forever.

Lennon has so far done what he was hired for...it remains to be seen if he can continue to develop the squad and bring success to the club. The signs are good but let's just wait and see.

Lennon
Mowbray
Stubbs
GJP
Miller

In that order for me, either too early or out of their depth for the others in my view. I guess Stein may also be worth a mention for our more mature contributors.

Criticism of sauzee, and positives about miller.

Radges

Criticism of sauzee, and positives about miller.

Radges

Do you think Sauzee was a success as Hibs manager?

Ned, if only he'd stopped four years earlier. Could have been Stein, if only he'd stayed four years longer.

I'd say it's impossible to say? Judged on what?

Doesn't necessarily mean who you think was the best. Many might think GJP was the best but might not be their favourite for example. What manager did you just like him being Hibs manager? You felt he was just the right fit. You felt he got Hibs. He looked right being at Hibs. You wanted him to succeed as a result. In my lifetime going to watch Hibs I've concluded the following on each respective Hibs manager:Pat Stanton. Unfortunately he resigned a few weeks into me regularly going to ER. I had met him when pestering him for an autograph as he watched his laddie playing for St John's primary school. Then in the summer he resigned I was helping out inside Easter Road volunteering my services doing weeding etc. Pat was great with me. He sent one of the young players to the shops to get me a can of coke!John Blackley. After each home game I'd go to the old ER main entrance and the old club shop. I was probably a wee bit of a known young face hanging about for autographs etc. After a rare Hibs win under John he enthusiastically kind of picked me up! It was so obvious he really really wanted to be a success at Hibs a club he obviously loves.Alex Miller. I don't think in his ten years he was ever really accepted but there was grudging respect for the man. In retrospect he did more than OK. And he put together 1993-1995 one of the most exciting sides I've seen. However, it was a weird distant relationship...Jocky Scott. His temporary manager reign went on ridiculously long. I've long felt it was this period that cost us the next few years with relegation etc. The board allowed him to sign quite a few players including John Hughes for decent money. Jim Duffy. The board had been trying to bring in Alex Mcleish from Motherwell but their board wouldn't release him. In arrived Jim Duffy some 5 months after Miller walked. We survived the play-offs but the job was too big. In fairness he tried to build rapport with the support. And he wanted us to play in the right way. However, quickly he had from the support little if any respect as the man for the job.Alex Mcleish. Hibs board finally got their man but not before failing to get Tommy Burns (RIP) (and Paul Sturrock?) but it was too late. We were doomed for relegation. In the First Division he got us motoring. On our futile attempt to avoid the drop beating Hearts and arguably costing them a serious tilt at the title had banked Eck much love and respect. It grew and grew. Säuzee and Latapy etc received. We were good. Promoted we returned a different beast. Eck offered us to be here as long as we wanted him. Unfortunately it wasn't long until he was meeting David Murray behind Hibs back. GJP was born.Franck Säuzee. Shafted by ex team mates and a weak board. Still angers me. And obviously hurt him to the point of no return literally... I will always love and respect. Our loved and sadly missed The Proclaimer used to mention Franck's first outing as Hibs manager in his Don Corelone coat at East End Park. I will remember that image and not him leaving Easter Road for the last time.Bobby Williamson. Credited by some for helping us avoid relegation. Not by me. He genuinely made me fall out of love with our club. We were awful. Derek Riordan and Steven Whittaker for Bobby Mann anyone?Tony Mowbray. Great times. What a transformation. He knew how to use these kids and not punt them in exchange for Bobby Mann. Brought in quality like Murphy & Beuzelin. Was given much love and respect. Then he agitated for a move. Left and returned with Celtic behaving like a clown. John Collins. A winner. Had the board appointed say Mark Proctor when Mowbray left then I doubt that amazing team would have won anything. I don't doubt JC had man management issues. I suspect Tommy Craig was an incorrect appointment to be number 2. However, Rodders was wrong, wrong, wrong to host the daft laddies with flowchart and pen down east lothian. Let down by our board.Mixu Paatelainen. A player I loved. However, I really thought he was a terrible Hibs manager. The football was eye bleeding. I thought his PR with the support was strange. He became a hugely defensive personality. John Hughes. Very good first season. And had us playing the right way. I thought that there was an identity that season that had been missing under Mixu. Latter part of that season though we were pretty awful. And so it continued early the next season and the board sell Anthony Stokes on the last day of the season...Colin Calderwood. Without doubt the worst Hibs manager ever in my lifetime. I didn't like him. I don't like him. I have the same amount of respect for him as he has for us. None. Whatsoever. Couldn't even be arsed going to a testimonial match for Ian Murray. Maybe he too hadn't forgiven him for leaving Hibs something it was obvious he wanted for himself. Odious prick. Pat Fenlon. He got Hibs. He respected and obviously still does respect Hibs. Unfortunately though Hibs appointed the wrong man. Michael O'Neil was available and wanted it. Pat honourably walked. I like Pat. Terry Butcher. He was doing an excellent job at Inverness. I thought as did others he was the obvious candidate. How wrong was I.... What a $#@!in idiot. Him and aye me as well. What manager needing points on the board comes in and tells them that they are all useless ****s and he's emptying them all? Alan Stubbs. It was all reminiscent to Mowbray. Ex Celtic centre half. Young and hungry who wanted us to play the correct way. Communicated with us well. His language excited us. We bought into it. And although he didn't deliver on his objective to get us up he delivered what we probably never expected... I really wish he had stayed on to finish the job. He must regret and rue the day he gave good reason for her indoors to demand he went home.Neil Lennon. At Celtc as player and manager I didn't at all like him. Had zero respect for him. However, he came in saying all the right thing's. He's a celtc man. We all know that. But his affinity and warmth for us is obvious. And it's growing. He gets us. He respects what we have given him. He's the most natural winner I've experienced as Hibs manager. Winning is everything. The last few minutes v the Gunts at ER as we put them out (again) from the Scottish Cup. His celebrating when we equalised at Hampden v The Sheep. His interview in the latest club DVD is brilliant. I felt love for the man. You understand why opponents don't like Lennon. He's EVERYTHING for his side. Neil Lennon will again manage at a higher platform but I'd imagine it'll need to be a genuine step up as I doubt he's ever been much happier. And being truthful my club has never been in a happier position.So who is my favourite? It's hard to pick between Alan Stubbs and Neil Lennon.However, having come FULL CIRCLE with Neil Lennon I'm declaring honestly that he's now my favourite ever Hibs manager.And furthermore there's no reason why he can't go on and prove to be the best....GGTTH Yours?
Having watched Hibs for 55 years I have a.few to choose from but Alex Miller for me was never allowed the recognition he deserved, he knew his stuff and after spending 2 weeks in his company on pre season training with the royal Scots mid eighties realised how much he actually felt about my team, good man and Manager.

A very good question which isn't easy to answer, I'll always remember post Williamson my dad wasn't going to renew his season ticket after god knows how many years of having one and the club asked him to come along to listen to Tony Mowbray, seeing how much the chat had installed confidence in my dad excited me and I was right to be excited!

Those years were some of my favourite following hibs and will be hard to beat. Everything just seemed a good fit. In fact I want to go back to then In general 18 and loving life!

The other contender was McLeish who had us amazing to watch. Unfortunately he went to the huns which is unforgivable in my book, Even Latapy never got away with that.

I'm going to reserve judgement on Neil Lennon until he departs but he is doing a good job so far and I just like him in general. As long as he doesn't go to the huns, I think that he might be up there.

I'd say it's impossible to say? Judged on what?
Judged on results and performances for me, whilst views on performances are subjective, results are not; 1 win in 15(against Stranraer) is not success in my view. Probably taken this off topic as the OP was about favourite manager rather than most successful.

John Collins or Alan Stubbs

Badly wanted JC to succeed, his ideas on transforming the club into a 'European' styled regime was really interesting. The cup final was amazing too. Shame it went wrong.

Stubbs for Obvious reasons, plus he had John Doolan, who clearly got Hibs

John Collins or Alan Stubbs

Badly wanted JC to succeed, his ideas on transforming the club into a 'European' styled regime was really interesting. The cup final was amazing too. Shame it went wrong.

Stubbs for Obvious reasons, plus he had John Doolan, who clearly got Hibs

Where are you with Neil Lennon now?

Judged on results and performances for me, whilst views on performances are subjective, results are not; 1 win in 15(against Stranraer) is not success in my view. Probably taken this off topic as the OP was about favourite manager rather than most successful.

Often forgotten that GJP was struggling a wee bit before he left us having only won one in seven with 4 defeats. He left problems.

Accepting him as our manager, appreciating he's doing a relatively good job, not really interested in him other than that.

Lennon for me. Just love the way he gets hibs, takes no bullshit and will always stick up for us where previous managers would've just left it and said nothing!

Probably Stubbs. Delivered the holy grail and got the team playing some great football. Think he would have been more suited to is being in the top League as well.

Often forgotten that GJP was struggling a wee bit before he left us having only won one in seven with 4 defeats. He left problems.

We were already in decline. Sauzee inherited a mess.

The biggest problem with Sauzee's side was that it didn't have Sauzee in it.

Inherited a mess and bad eggs...

Seem to have missed Bertie Auld..(edit, I see he has been mentioned) .unless I missed reading that. I shook his hand at Ibrox as he came off the team bus...more to wind the orcs up than anything else...it didn't do much good he was sacked after that game.

The right fit? Hmm like has been said McLeish was blessed to have the best players and gave us plenty thrills. I would like to think the ebst fits would have been the guys who really wanted to manage HIbs, like Stanton, Blackley and Sauzee and not simply see Hibs as a stepping stone to something else. Unfortunately they did not have the best of runs. I actualay liked Fenlon as a guy, he was passionate and gave us a couple of cup finals, but unfortunately were also part of his downfall. Mowbray brought us some good times if no trophies so Miller in this respect was a good manager to have at the time. I think if you look at every manager we have had there will be games we won that made us think they were the man, but few could sustain the one off results.

Stubbs is def a favourite, but I also wonder if he could have changed the pass pass pass regime into something more direct and effective for league games.

Eddie Turnbull for me is the obvious winner, however I only started going to games shortly before he left. I am going to be slightly contoversial here and say that Stubbs will always have my utmost respect, but Lennon is actually a very good fit for us. He is a no nonsense type of guy who wants to see attacking play and a winning mentality. He would not tolerate prima donnas and he knows how to bring players on. He is not a Hibs supporter, but he also realises both Hibs and himself need each other right now, he will move to a better club soon as he sees one that is right for him, but for now I see our club is in very safe hands. Plus heloves winding our rivals up

I wish Stanton had succeeded though if you ask were my heart lies.

I don’t think you can tell in 69 days, and I did feel at the draw with dunfermline he felt out of luck.

I do remember two games at home v Kilmarnock & Aberdeen the football was exhilarating if the results weren’t.

We’ll never know how it would have turned out, but I feel to this day it was a journey denied and there were some inside the club who were focussed on getting him off the playing wage bill. I don’t like the way he’s cut himself off from us, if not the signed prints, but he deserved better.

Does that answer the question?

Collins describing hearts as a pub team is right up there

I don’t think you can tell in 69 days, and I did feel at the draw with dunfermline he felt out of luck.

I do remember two games at home v Kilmarnock & Aberdeen the football was exhilarating if the results weren’t.

We’ll never know how it would have turned out, but I feel to this day it was a journey denied and there were some inside the club who were focussed on getting him off the playing wage bill. I don’t like the way he’s cut himself off from us, if not the signed prints, but he deserved better.

Does that answer the question?

It answers my question, thanks.

Collins describing hearts as a pub team is right up there

Alongside 81%!

For me it’s Alan Stubbs. He took a club on its knees and won it’s the holy grail from the championship.

His appointment is the reason we are playing Aberdeen at a full house the morn instead of the old days of apathy and 7-8000 home fans.

After my long and rather drawn out post earlier in which I gave my views about each and every Hibs manger of my lifetime as a Hibs fan, I forgot to (a) mention Pat Stanton and John Blackley's time as manager and (b) state my choice for the best Hibs manager of all time so here goes:

Stanton: Managed Hibs at a bad time for the club financially, didn't get on with Kenny Waugh. We had a poor team but Pat's great achievement was to bring through and introduce a great crop of young players several of whom went on the serve the club superbly for years. John Collins was one of them and he is one of the best Hibs players I have ever seen.

Blackley: Tried hard and signed some great players like Durie, McBride and the prolific Stevie Cowan. By his own later admission he thought he wasn't really cut out to be a manager, but instead was a decent assistant boss at various clubs.

Best manager ever then ..probably Hugh Shaw as he was the most successful ever. In my lifetime it would be Eddie Turnbull, Alex McLeish or Alan Stubbs. If it came down to a choice it would be Turnbull. Hopefully Neil Lennon can go on and become an all time great Hibs boss.

Stubbs.

Has to be Alan Stubbs.

He gave us the greatest day in our history.

For me, Neil Lennon. I had a real dislike of him as a player and as Celtic manager, but on reflection I didn't like him because he was so uncompromising in his drive to succeed for his team. Something I now applaud in his approach with us. I love how passionate he is and how he doesn't accept mediocrity. Long may it continue.

This thread has been viewed 2398 times.