Favourite away day with Hibs

SKII

What's the away day you look forward to or remember that makes you smile?

I look forward to the Bus Shelter and I always enjoy away games outside Scotland, competitive or otherwise. I remember a game away to Brechin, of all places, in the early 90s (I think) that was different for so many reasons. Not every day you play on a park with one side a hedge and Margaret Hen swans in wearing a full length fur coat shouting "yooo hooo Patrick!' to a well kent box to box midfielder :laff:

Archigoal was my most memorable one at Swynie.
For some reason our first game at McDiarmid Park always sticks in the memory .Massive Hibs support meant loads of us in amongst the St Johnstone fans in main stand.
I emigrated in 1995 so not been to many of the modern day away trips.

I always enjoy the Guntery too, the tension, the fear, and the delirious joy.

Trips down south used to be good and a european trip is brilliant, even though I missed probably the best one of recent years.

Aberdeen in the cup under duff jimmy was a great night. Winning when it’s not expected is always brilliant.

Millwall, Trinidad & Tobago and Dunfermline.
Good mix of cultures in there.

Done plenty of the European away games and preseason tours which were all similarly good.

And 4-3 v Falkirk at Hampden was unfirgettable

Brondby was incredible: the city itself, the atmosphere, the singing in the square, the walk to the train, the train, the walk to the stadium, David Gray scoring, winning the match (if not the tie).

The 6-1 thrashing of Motherwell was probably the most acomplished away performance I’ve ever seen from a Hibs side.

Beating Hearts 2-1 thanks to Leigh Griffiths’ stunning free kick and Ross Caldwell’s late winner.

The 2-2 draw at Tynecastle in the Scottish Cup was also special, the scenes when Hanlon scored the equaliser, and the John McGinn song echoing throughout the concourse on the way out was unforgettable.

The two cup wins at Hampden of course will never be forgotten, neither will the comeback in the Falkirk semi final.

Love going to Hampden (though for me it's not fit for purpose) as it means Hibs are on the brink....

Used to like Brockville

Kille in the Scottish cup about 5 yrs ago? Griffiths hattrick, absolutely jam packed hibs fans in the stand... you could literally feel the stand bouncing with the fans, what an atmosphere ... brilliant day

It's pretty long but can fast forward to goals

[video=youtube;n6KaA8dTE2k]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6KaA8dTE2k[/video]

And 4-3 v Falkirk at Hampden was unfirgettable
Magic. Left at half time , then watched it in international bar outside hampdump. Total carnage with beer getting chucked everywhere by delirious hibees after our legendary comeback.great day

Malmø away was fantastic. Back in the 80's , anywhere with Erich Schaedler hibs supporters bus was a laugh, always used to enjoy going to Dens and Tannadice.

Brondby and the cup final win are way out in front. Any win at Tynecastle, parkhead, Ibrox. Most nervous game was 2nd round league cup game loss at Ibrox when we lost 1-0 to I think a Davie Cooper goal and spent over half the match biting our fingers as we won 2-0 in first leg

Magic. Left at half time , then watched it in international bar outside hampdump. Total carnage with beer getting chucked everywhere by delirious hibees after our legendary comeback.great day

was the a lot in there who had left?

Used to like Brockville

Me too - favourite was a day sesh 20 Feb 1999 we won 2-1 (had to look it up). Probably the period I was most into hibs

Brondby and the cup final win are way out in front. Any win at Tynecastle, parkhead, Ibrox. Most nervous game was 2nd round league cup game loss at Ibrox when we lost 1-0 to I think a Davie Cooper goal and spent over half the match biting our fingers as we won 2-0 in first leg- - - Updated - - -was the a lot in there who had left?
Bar was mobbed.I left early at final too

could be the key to our success in the future :rascal:

Kille in the Scottish cup about 5 yrs ago? Griffiths hattrick, absolutely jam packed hibs fans in the stand... you could literally feel the stand bouncing with the fans, what an atmosphere ... brilliant day

Was in the back row for that game, if I could have made all of you dicks stop jumping up and down I would have! Serious health and safety issues.

Tynie, Millennium derby and SC 2-2 game being the obvious ones.

Brockville was almost the perfect away game...close to a station, terracing, decent club and some great goals- Davie Fellinger wonder goal? Can recall a boxing day game there smoking the biggest joint we were able to get into the ground, a gigantic cone. Happy, daft days.

0-3 Ibrox in the cup was good, my aussie cousin messages me every anniversary still

Anderlecht and Brondby amazing

Would probably have to go with the 0-3 Ivan Sproule hat-trick game. Wins let alone thumping victories at Ibrox were like rocking horse shit back then. Just felt totally stunned and euphoric leaving Ibrox after the game, kind of diluted version of my feelings on 21/05/16.

Special mention to the Millennium derby too. Who remembers, "You're no very good!" and "Shhhhhhhhhh!" :rollfloor

Was in the back row for that game, if I could have made all of you $#@!s stop jumping up and down I would have! Serious health and safety issues.

Tynie, Millennium derby and SC 2-2 game being the obvious ones.

Brockville was almost the perfect away game...close to a station, terracing, decent club and some great goals- Davie Fellinger wonder goal? Can recall a boxing day game there smoking the biggest joint we were able to get into the ground, a gigantic cone. Happy, daft days.

0-3 Ibrox in the cup was good, my aussie cousin messages me every anniversary still

Anderlecht and Brondby amazing

Yeah, was a tad wary but awesome atmosphere... but outside cup final, Brondby was special, amazing weather and the craic at the square/Dubliner/escorted walk to station, the train, how that stayed on the tracks i will never know, like Killie, it was bouncing and swaying with the mad brilliant jam packed Hibs fans... best trip ive ever been on with the boys...
Saw you at the front of stand

Yeah, was a tad wary but awesome atmosphere... but outside cup final, Brondby was special, amazing weather and the craic at the square/Dubliner/escorted walk to station, the train, how that stayed on the tracks i will never know, like Killie, it was bouncing and swaying with the mad brilliant jam packed Hibs fans... best trip ive ever been on with the boys...
Saw you at the front of stand

Aye man, was a quality support that day in Killie, thankfully the team turned up too!

Fairly sure we had a chat/slaver at the dubliner before the game. Was an amazing trip, and thankfully, the team turned up for us there too!

Aye man, was a quality support that day in Killie, thankfully the team turned up too!

Fairly sure we had a chat/slaver at the dubliner before the game. Was an amazing trip, and thankfully, the team turned up for us there too!

Haha could well have done, was erm.....tipsy for 3 days

Going to through one in that isn't my ultimate best (Too many Glasgow and Tynecastle wins stick out in front) - Dundee Utd away, Boxing day 2005? 4-0 win to the Cabbage. What an atmosphere.

Another one from the past was a trip up on the iec bus to Aberdeen when we used to get the beach end. Got suitably mashed on the coach, decided a wee sleep on the benches of the terracing was in order, woke up just in time to see Mickey Weir score a back post header!

Aberdeen away in December 2009. 2-0 win with Stokes scoring both. It was baltic but the Hibs support was bouncing.

The whole trip (Bounce Bus) was brilliant and it was on our bus where the 'Sheep are on fire' song started along with some other weird ones I cannae mind of but remember them being sung at the game and there being more than a few bemused faces among the rest of the Hibs support.

:yeah:

Another one from the past was a trip up on the iec bus to Aberdeen when we used to get the beach end. Got suitably mashed on the coach, decided a wee sleep on the benches of the terracing was in order, woke up just in time to see Mickey Weir score a back post header!

There was some chat about that game on one of the other threads the other day, reekin in brechin..

A midweek game away to Partick in the Cup in the 90s springs to mind. Jim Leighton saving 3 penalties.

I remember that. We made it to the final that year I think. Had loads of great days out at firhill actually; met a load of the guys from this forum at some of them.

A recent cup win at killie was mentioned but there was an earlier cup win there in 2001. Tam McManus scored a last minute winner after we had lost most of the defence to injury. I think mixu ended up at left back!

The same stand shook in the same way that day. Post match, we ended up in a boozer on the street near the station and it soon became apparent that everyone else in the place was ‘one of us’ as the proclaimers came on the jukebox. Brilliant fun.

P

I remember that. We made it to the final that year I think. Had loads of great days out at firhill actually; met a load of the guys from this forum at some of them.

A recent cup win at killie was mentioned but there was an earlier cup win there in 2001. Tam McManus scored a last minute winner after we had lost most of the defence to injury. I think mixu ended up at left back!

The same stand shook in the same way that day. Post match, we ended up in a boozer on the street near the station and it soon became apparent that everyone else in the place was ‘one of us’ as the proclaimers came on the jukebox. Brilliant fun.

P

Quarter final 2001

What a bounce when McManus scored

could be the key to our success in the future :rascal:
That'll be the 2012 cheats final .
So it means xxxx all

The cup semi final when we beat the huns on penalties. I can't remember the year but it was high tension and we won it :banana:

Hardly anyone there by recent standards. Made it all the better, in some ways. 2004 LC?

Conga at the end was entertaining.

Hardly anyone there by recent standards. Made it all the better, in some ways. 2004 LC?

That sounds about right boss. It was a brilliant night. i went back to the Antiquary with my mate Ginty and drank until I fell over.

Late 2003 if you mean the League Cup. Pishing with rain, IIRC, and only about 5000 Hibbies there. Try not to think about the final.

Only Hibs game at Hampden I've missed since 1979..

Got the score in an internet cafe on Kenya / Ethiopia border.

Came home from trip early for the final v Livi..

Late 2003 if you mean the League Cup. Pishing with rain, IIRC, and only about 5000 Hibbies there. Try not to think about the final.

Feb 2004. Final was March 2004.

Very good shout. Epic night. Back to The Star Bar for a session.

Feb 2004. Final was March 2004.

So it was. I was at that game, and remember a tinge of regret at the final whistle because the wife and I were flying to NZ on Feb 28 for the birth of our first grandchild. Ended up flying to Melbourne on cup final weekend so that I could watch the game on the telly courtesy of the Aussie Hibs branch, but that's another story.

Aye am with [MENTION=10402]HATTIE[/MENTION] killy away was somit special and the cup final was just amazing!!

But my fav away day by a country mile has to be that 2 nights in Copenhagen!! Best support going!! What a laugh it was!! Drank loads sang till we were hoarse and had the Brondby stand rocking, dont think the locals knew what had hit them!

Just brilliant from start to finish!!

What a trip!!

Going to through one in that isn't my ultimate best (Too many Glasgow and Tynecastle wins stick out in front) - Dundee Utd away, Boxing day 2005? 4-0 win to the Cabbage. What an atmosphere.

Yeah remember that game brilliant support up that day.
I think Grant Brebbner scored a couple, up on a bus from the Buckstone inn, Superb!!

This thread has been viewed 3632 times.