Should Our Elected Fans Representatives Resign?

Should Both Fan Representatives Resign?

• Yes

Votes: 99 86.1%
  • No

Votes: 16 13.9%

• Total voters

So it was a "unanimous" board decision, with our two elected by us fans, board members part of that vote.

It's obvious they absolutely did not convey any fan representation in their vote. The fans of our club quite clearly, by a large majority, want to see EVERYTHING done that is absolutely possible to preserve the integrity of our national game.

Our club and us fans were cheated. We want to know why and how this can't be repeated in the future.

I am not doubting our two elected, by us the fans, directors are lovely well intentioned folks. I am not at all doubting they are genuine, passionate and committed Hibs supporters. This isn't at all personal.

However, they've totally IMHO lost any credibility and the support of those they supposedly represent.

They should do the honourable thing and resign.

Yes. If they didn`t know the majority view on this, which i find very hard to believe, they should`ve canvassed us to find it out. Sadly, they chose to represent themselves.

I'll wait to read their statement on this before i vote.

Me too.

I think folk think their role is a lot more indepth than it actually is. It was IMO a token gesture from the Board to keep the masses from rebelling when they came up with the fans reps idea. They're there to ask mundane things to like "why are the pies $#@!e and no hot" or "how can i find this out about the club" etc etc.It's interesting though that it was a unanimous board decision not to pursue the review on the Hun cheating. They need to explain why they voted with the board on this but its not the first time they've done it (loyalty points anyone?).I'll wait to read their statement on this before i vote.
Their statements are prepared and approved by David Forsyth. I'm sure they will happily correct me if I'm wrong.

I think they should go, there was no attempt to find out what the fans thought before they voted which, for me, makes their "fans rep" position completely pointless. I'm sure most fans would not have been so up in arms had we at least been consulted & had our views represented.

Not yet as they must be given the opportunity to explain why they decided to vote in favour of the board which is clearly and unequivocally against the wishes of the vast majority of the fan base which they are meant to represent.

However it hardly matters as their credibility is long gone and any statement is very likely going to be written by or at least approved by Leanne and Rod before it gets anywhere near publication.

I expect something mealy moothed along the lines of heartfelt and difficult/listening hard/very complicated/collective responsibility but ultimately no resignations as its amazing how a bit of quasi "power" and access changes the opinions.

Meanwhile Leanne and Rod will just smugly crease themselves as their deliberate use of the word "Unanimous" cleverly deflected part of the fan anger onto what is perceived to be a couple of patsies.

Not yet as they must be given the opportunity to explain why they decided to vote in favour of the board which is clearly and unequivocally against the wishes of the vast majority of the fan base which they are meant to represent.

However it hardly matters as their credibility is long gone and any statement is very likely going to be written by or at least approved by Leanne and Rod before it gets anywhere near publication.

I expect something mealy moothed along the lines of heartfelt and difficult/listening hard/very complicated/collective responsibility but no resignations as its amazing how a bit of power and access changes the opinions.

Meanwhile Leanne and Rod will just smugly crease themselves.

'divisive issue ' will crop up in the statement no doubt

The consultation with the fans on this issue appears to be non existent, on here at least. I haven't seen any mention of how other our other fans groups/forums (you know who I mean) have reacted. It begs the question that if the feeling elsewhere is as strong as it is on the Bounce, just who are the Hibs fans that were consulted for their opinion on whether we just 'move on'?
To be fair to Tracey and Frank, I believe they will have communicated the fan's anger and demands to the club directors but at some point they've been convinced to back the clubs corporate stance. It is this backing of the board that makes their positions untenable but again raises the question of what fans, if any, gave the reps sufficient caveat to vote with the board on this matter.

No.
None of us were privy to what has been said at the meetings. The facts, the costs the likely outcome.
This has been going on for years, top lawyers cant agree on the finer points, it was going round in circles. What exactly are/were people hoping to gain from further investigations? Nobody stood to gain financially, the old Rancid is gone(when it suits them), compensation is a non starter, titles and cups were not going to be re-rewarded.
A lot of time and money was going to be wasted to tell us what we already know, both the hun and league bosses were neck deep in corruption .Its not exactly news , is it?
It leaves a bad taste for sure, but they got liquidated, had to start again and unfortunately they are back in the top league, and of course they eventually will start winning things again.
The only real option we have is to ignore Scottish football completely, but we all love Hibs and the social side which comes with them too much to do that.
Cast your mind back to May 2016. How sweet was it, how big a f%%%n cherry was it , on an already huuuuuuuge cake, to give that despicable club its arse on a plate? We just have to make sure we continue to so.

Back to the point, the reps don't deserve to be another casualty of them cheating c u next Tuesdays.
The Glasgow 2 have dragged us back centuries already with their 1690 pish and the rest, lets move on , don't let them drag us back again, its getting truly boring.

I haven't seen any mention of how other our other fans groups/forums (you know who I mean) have reacted. It begs the question that if the feeling elsewhere is as strong as it is on the Bounce, just who are the Hibs fans that were consulted for their opinion on whether we just 'move on'?

General feeling on .net seems to be in-line with the feeling on here. There's poll with 67% dissatisfied with the club's statement, only 10% satisfied, and 23% no fussed.

Fans rep...thankless task

No.
None of us were privy to what has been said at the meetings. The facts, the costs the likely outcome.
This has been going on for years, top lawyers cant agree on the finer points, it was going round in circles. What exactly are/were people hoping to gain from further investigations? Nobody stood to gain financially, the old Rancid is gone(when it suits them), compensation is a non starter, titles and cups were not going to be re-rewarded.
A lot of time and money was going to be wasted to tell us what we already know, both the hun and league bosses were neck deep in corruption .Its not exactly news , is it?
It leaves a bad taste for sure, but they got liquidated, had to start again and unfortunately they are back in the top league, and of course they eventually will start winning things again.
The only real option we have is to ignore Scottish football completely, but we all love Hibs and the social side which comes with them too much to do that.
Cast your mind back to May 2016. How sweet was it, how big a f%%%n cherry was it , on an already huuuuuuuge cake, to give that despicable club its arse on a plate? We just have to make sure we continue to so.

Back to the point, the reps don't deserve to be another casualty of them cheating c u next Tuesdays.
The Glasgow 2 have dragged us back centuries already with their 1690 pish and the rest, lets move on , don't let them drag us back again, its getting truly boring.

I'm not sure what costs would be attributed to Hibs if the SFA held an investigation. I don't think anyone wants Cups or Titles awarded elsewhere, they simply want them expunged from the Huns record. To do nothing is to condone years of cheating. Imagine if it was Hibs in this position; Do you really think the SFA would hold off hammering us?

Aye, the fans reps should bolt.

I'm not sure what costs would be attributed to Hibs if the SFA held an investigation. I don't think anyone wants Cups or Titles awarded elsewhere, they simply want them expunged from the Huns record. To do nothing is to condone years of cheating. Imagine if it was Hibs in this position; Do you really think the SFA would hold off hammering us?

This

My own view is that appointing them was never more than a meaningless PR exercise in the first place, but their position now is untenable. I don't much care what their excuse for it is; the fans are clear about their views, and they voted to the contrary.

They've got to go.

Yes, how can the club push for fairer thing in future when we all no other clubs will vote any changes down anyway, farce.

The whole position is more or less a waste of time..it's been proved time and again they are only there to represent the Boards plans after the fact and not to represent the views of the fans to the Board.

Time to end this farce. As Sam says I'd be considering my position as they've been set up nicely by the Board to take a lot of the heat.

Nobody was naive enough to think we'd have any real power at Board level but what we've got is worse than nothing imo.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yes, they've just become what the rest of the board already were, Petrie's stooges.

They knew how the fans felt about this and decided to sell us out. They sided with the board, NOT the fans. Now a big IF here. If they didn't know how the fans felt, they did feck all to find out. So they are either both extremely incompetent, or a couple of stooges for the board. Either way they should both piss off.

On what basis do the self proclaimed majority base their view that they are representative of the majority. Vocal they may be but I have seen no evidence of a consultation exercise which would validate their speaking on behalf of the majority. Merely ascertaining that it is does not make it so.

Imagine if it was Hibs in this position; Do you really think the SFA would hold off hammering us?

HoMFC got away with far worse and the precedent was set then in my view hence the reason I couldn't give a monkeys. The only reason this is still in the news is because of the weight of Celtc fans and that this is about the Huns rather than diet Huns. There's also the fact that the Celtc support unite for such "causes" and are active and organised which can't be said about Scottish fans as a whole or on an individual club basis.

As for the fans reps they have been well and truly stiffed by the club here with puppetmastery on a higher level than Levein treats us to. These positions have never held any real weight and will bring the reps far more grief than any benefit and most fans have always realised that. Those who apply just want well kent Hibby status, insider knowledge, a CV/LinkedIn boost and/or a fukn blazer.

Imagine taking pelters on here and not being able to call Smurf a fanny or drama queen. F that.
Resign ya bastards and get stuck in - you know you want to.

£36 quid and a lot less hassle wearing this - ASOS | ASOS Skinny Suit Jacket In Khaki

On what basis do the self proclaimed majority base their view that they are representative of the majority. Vocal they may be but I have seen no evidence of a consultation exercise which would validate their speaking on behalf of the majority. Merely ascertaining that it is does not make it so.
on the basis that its the majority on here, the majority on .net , any other fans site that you want tae look at and other hibs supporters that i and probably everybody else on here speaks to. i have yet to talk to any Hibs fan that agrees wi' or supports the boards statement, i realise its a bit of a straw poll but i would suggest it points towards a majority.The HSA should,IMO, ask branches to lobby members about releasing a statement either supporting the clubs stance, if that is the majority view, or distancing ourselves from it. just my opinion of course

I am taking the view that the HFC statement appears to be a 'Petrie shoring up Reagan' statement. Petrie wanted it and everyone at the club fell into line.

I do not think it is a resigning issue but it might be worth bearing in mind come the next fan's rep election.

PQ123

Where's the statement from the reps then?

David Forsyth yet to approve?

Cannon Hannan has waited since the 15 of last month on a reply S, put the kettle on, we might have a bit of a wait.

Think doing some very important non executive work or finding out in kids allowed in the pop up bar... Has the NHS moved in yet to BTG??

HoMFC got away with far worse and the precedent was set then in my view hence the reason I couldn't give a monkeys. The only reason this is still in the news is because of the weight of Celtc fans and that this is about the Huns rather than diet Huns. There's also the fact that the Celtc support unite for such "causes" and are active and organised which can't be said about Scottish fans as a whole or on an individual club basis.

As for the fans reps they have been well and truly stiffed by the club here with puppetmastery on a higher level than Levein treats us to. These positions have never held any real weight and will bring the reps far more grief than any benefit and most fans have always realised that. Those who apply just want well kent Hibby status, insider knowledge, a CV/LinkedIn boost and/or a fukn blazer.

Imagine taking pelters on here and not being able to call Smurf a fanny or drama queen. F that.
Resign ya bastards and get stuck in - you know you want to.

£36 quid and a lot less hassle wearing this - ASOS | ASOS Skinny Suit Jacket In Khaki

Spot on mein freund, clever moving all the blame to the two patsies whilst the real snakes slither off untouched cheering for the Huns and their polyester blazer.

Nae surprise Petrie disnae want an investigation, self serving **** is in it up tae his neck like the rest of them.

Spot on mein freund, clever moving all the blame to the two patsies whilst the real snakes slither off untouched cheering for the Huns and their polyester blazer.

If it is was me I’d resign. Sporting integrity is beyond purchase and all that. I wouldn’t have stood in the first place, mind.

I think the only way to salvage there reputations is resign with a strongly worded statement.

I agree.

Nae surprise Petrie disnae want an investigation, self serving **** is in it up tae his neck like the rest of them.

And that statement says to me he`s using our great club to try and cover his own arse.

When you think about it how spineless was it of Petrie/Forsyth/Dempster to put "unanimous" into their grubby long delayed statement?

They knew full well plebs like me would direct our frustrations on the fans representation on the board as a result of this "unanimous".

These two really ought to walk. I genuinely do not doubt they are two very well intentioned big Hibs supporters. However, they've been totally out maneuvered by the real boardroom power who have been cowards in every respect of this shameful episode.

And that statement says to me he`s using our great club to try and cover his own arse.
Exactly what he is doin', disnae give a fuck about this club, never has, just using it tae further is own ambition. Anybody still fooled by his crocodile tears efter our relegation or any other fuck up he's caused? Disnae give a fuck about anything but himself. Anybody who believed that he is still at this club only as a figurehead non-exec chairman with nae real say has surely now be disabused of that ridiculous notion efter that statement, he's all over it.

Never mind sporting integrity! That **** has none at all and as far as I'm concerned neither does anybody who put their name tae that statement, they're no a board, they're Petrie's patsies, if anybody disagreed with it they should have walked, if they agreed with it they're nae better than he is and only interested in preserving their own position. That bastard should have been driven from this club efter relegation but too many people gave up too easily.

Just read the statement for the third time now and what's glaringly obvious is the lack of a name attached to it. It's all "The Board" this "The Board" that. What really irked me was the line "Your board". If this board were truly OUR board, it would back the fans, or at least have the common courtesy to communicate with us first.

That doesn't cut it.

The only statement they needed to make was to vote against the board, and with the fans. That's it. The club would have gotten on with Petrie's wishes so as not to rock the boat with the SFA, and their reputations would have remained in tact with no further explanation needed. Any "strongly-worded" statement would now look like a bungled back-track to put out some flames, because they've already done what the fans didn't want them to do.

Hibernian Football Club, and indeed the entirety of the Scottish game, is entirely dependent upon us, the supporters, to survive. We've no TV money to speak of, and sponsorship revenue is low; all they've got is our ticket and merchandise purchases to run the game. This was a perfect opportunity to remind the club of that fact, and to perhaps nudge it into the realization that board members are appointed from the terraces for a reason.

Instead, our representatives have either cravenly voted in their own best interests, or have been instructed on what to do and meekly gone along with it.

It's too late. They have to go. They've made their bed, and it's now time to lie in it.

I'd be very very surprised if the reps resigned.

So would I.

I'd still like to hear from them why they took the decision they did rather than have others make up their own versions of what occurred.
We have to be careful not to form a lynch mob too early, and also bear in mind the logistics of lynching Frank.

I'm firmly in the camp of an independent investigation, but it seems that other than (I guess) the majority of fans wanting the same - I haven't seen a queue of chairmen lining up behind Lawell.

Looks like 'all of football' (other than those who actually count) are happy to just get on with it.

The blazers and the media are complicit in allowing the Hundog PR machine to claim the moral high ground - if there is such a thing in a cesspit - by not simply agreeing that certain titles are simply null and void, and that the new club has no claim on any 'history'. Let The Rangers instigate the legal actions to prove otherwise.
Seems pretty straightforward.

Now there's a real risk that rank and file football fans are turning against their own clubs.

Well done blazers and media.

Maybe youse arra peepul after all.

For me, this is less to do with the individual reps - though they do burden some of the responsibility and should answer to the fans for their role in the process and explain what we should expect from supporters reps on the board, beyond smiling and waving from the open top trophy bus. The bigger issue is to do with club structure, and the extent to which appointed 2 non-executive supporter 'representatives' is a genuine effort to see some level of supporter agency in how the club is run, or, a tokenistic surface-level change. If it was the former, you'd think that each role would come with an expectation of dialogue in order to represent the support. Meetings, votes (there would be ways to do this aside from Facebook/twitter polls) etc. As it stands, the board seem to view the presence of the reps on the board as enough in itself to say 'the support have been consulted'.

In this case, were they under pressure NOT to consult the support for their views on the matter, perhaps as it would have given away the club's position prior to the release of the statement? If so, in what form does that pressure come in, and what does that mean for the worth of the role of supporter rep on the board? Our reps would do well to give us some kind of answers to these questions.

It's also convenient for the board and for, let's face it, Rod Petrie, for supporters' ire to be directed at supporter reps as opposed to those who really do hold power at our club.

I see the Ross County chairman has now echoed the ‘let’s move on’ mantra. Part of the drip feed PR machine I suspect. No doubt we will get another one in a few days…….

The SFA are entirely to blame for this fiasco; not Hibs Board, Hibs Fan Reps, or dare I say it – even Rodders as Chairman.

If Hibs took independent legal advice which echoed what others have said “there is no point, and it will cost you a fortune only to gain fcukall” then the Board of Hibs have to consider what is best for Hibs. Being the Frank Serpico of Scottish football may seem noble, but it carries with it penalties. We (Hibs) would gain nothing other than a big legal bill.
If the Board (and the Fans Reps are Board Directors too) decided that OUR legal advice was we’d be farting against thunder, then perhaps it’s not so unreasonable that Frank and Tracy would support that view. They HAVE to put Hibs first. That’s a legal requirement.
And (risking being a Board apologist again) the thought of Rodders hiding behind Tracey really is a laugh. He’s never been too frightened of upsetting us before – and facing up to it. So I reckon the ‘coward’ taunts are borne from genuine anger and frustration rather than looking at the reality.
His role at the SFA however……………………………… now that may be entirely different.

EBTs getting awarded to Souness & Walter Cardigan when they are employed elsewhere but buying players from Rangers is now an established fact.
Why has that not been investigated?
The governing body has failed.

The blazers and the media are complicit in allowing the Hundog PR machine to claim the moral high ground - if there is such a thing in a cesspit - by not simply agreeing that certain titles are simply null and void, and that the new club has no claim on any 'history'. Let The Rangers instigate the legal actions to prove otherwise.
Seems pretty straightforward.
That's exactly it, bud. Exactly. Nothing could be more straightforward than the SFA/SPFL coming out and saying:

"We've taken legal advice with regard to sanctions that could be placed on either incarnation of the Rangers brand, and find that it's an extremely difficult legislative process to work in. As such, the SFA have concluded that the liquidation of the original Rangers Football Club PLC is binding and the current football club is a new legal entity without the old club's history. We have also concluded that the original club deliberately aimed to gain a sporting advantage via their EBT schemes, as claimed by Sir David Murray during the aforementioned legal investigations, and that silverware won during that period was won fraudulently. Those titles will be stripped, and records amended to state that there were no winners".

That's it. There's no cost involved, no legal wrangling, no difficulty with anyone other than the mutants. It's a question of will.

This thread has been viewed 20338 times.