Skyscraper City: Edinburgh

southfieldhibby

Maybe not so much, but an interesting forum for all proposed large scale work in Edinburgh

Edinburgh - SkyscraperCity

This thread is a good summary of the good/bad/terrible developments...

Edinburgh | Development Summary 2017 - SkyscraperCity

A surf park, who knew?!

I'm a fan of the redevelopment taking place. Just have no faith in our council to manage the road closures that goes with it...

Aye. The Waterfront development from Seafield to Granton could be amazing ( for Hibs also), but the infrastructure just isn't there and no way would our council put it in place.

Leith st to be totally closed for 44 weeks pretty soon

I wonder if any road would ever be closed for 44 weeks where their trams go along....

Aye. The Waterfront development from Seafield to Granton could be amazing ( for Hibs also), but the infrastructure just isn't there and no way would our council put it in place.

Edinburgh Council needs some visionaries in it mate and our elected lot are a collection of fuds. I want them all voted out in May but who to vote for....

I wonder if any road would ever be closed for 44 weeks where their trams go along....

Edinburgh Council needs some visionaries in it mate and our elected lot are a collection of fuds. I want them all voted out in May but who to vote for....
Ive said fir years that ECC claim to have an international city but run it with a village mentality

That's grim. Had a wee look and they'll close it after the festival so it's re-opened before next years festival starts. Probably sensible, but leaves a taste in the mouth that the festival and tourists come before the residents.

To be fair, would it not affect residents for 44 weeks regardless, therefore minimising any further inconvenience on top of that represents a rare outbreak of common sense?

Always have, its about time the residents mattered, we do pay a fair whack in all accounts to actually live and work in the city after all.
Im sure there will be sufficient chaos to please the council with its anti car intentions

To be fair, would it not affect residents for 44 weeks regardless, therefore minimising any further inconvenience on top of that represents a rare outbreak of common sense?

Fair point, but tbh do the residents ever get taken into consideration first in any issue?

The council is a bad joke, the list of their misdemeanours great and small is almost endless.

Aye, but I wouldn't put it down to common sense. Avoiding working thru at least some of the winter months might have been more sensible, avoiding the festive period too.

I know it's the right time to do it, but the process arriving at that window ( for me) leaves a rather cynical taste.

I think we will eventually see trams running to Granton, that was the original plan. Anyone developing near the jobby factory at Seafield needs their head read IMO.

The council is a bad joke, the list of their misdemeanours great and small is almost endless.

It is most certainly that. I think I'm fairly politically interested but it amazes me that this Labour/SNP council has been held to no accountability. I've no idea who its leaders are? What is their mandate?

As [MENTION=10402]HATTIE[/MENTION] says above they run Edinburgh like a village and the lot of them need voted out.

I think we will eventually see trams running to Granton, that was the original plan. Anyone developing near the jobby factory at Seafield needs their head read IMO.

I think the 'loop' will be completed within the next 10 years. The hard part has been done, going thru the city centre.

Last year I played golf at Craigentinny a couple of times, had to stop due to the shit factory leaving a distinct taste of jobby on my tongue. The really need to put a roof over the shit mixers.

I think the 'loop' will be completed within the next 10 years. The hard part has been done, going thru the city centre.

Last year I played golf at Craigentinny a couple of times, had to stop due to the shit factory leaving a distinct taste of jobby on my tongue. The really need to put a roof over the shit mixers.

:rollfloor Is that a technical term?

:grab:spew:sfan:

Last year I played golf at Craigentinny a couple of times, had to stop due to the $#@! factory leaving a distinct taste of jobby on my tongue. The really need to put a roof over the $#@! mixers.

How do You know what jobbies taste like?

Aye, but I wouldn't put it down to common sense. Avoiding working thru at least some of the winter months might have been more sensible, avoiding the festive period too.

I know it's the right time to do it, but the process arriving at that window ( for me) leaves a rather cynical taste.

I'm no fan of ECC but post festival to pre festival makes sense not just for the tourist money brought in but the additional population grinds the city to a halt as it is, major road closures are sensibly avoiding the busiest time for the benefit of citizens as well as visitors.

That said I am of the view that ECC have been avenging themselves on the population since the congestion charge was voted down. I don't really bother about local issues as much as some but that one pissed me off. I voted against the charge, because apart from wealthy people in the city centre the 'rings' did not differentiate between Edinburgh residents who already pay higher council tax and those who come in to work. If there had even been charges for both but tiered I'd maybe have voted differently.

The zoned parking fucking everywhere is exhibit number one.

This Leith Street nonsense.

I might have a selective memory but I can't remember in the past streets being closed for the benefit of commercial building works.

Yeah they've been closed for public works, like at Pilrig for 10 weeks with no apparent benefits.

Now it seems to happen all over the place.

And these road closures, public and private, seem to go on for a lot longer than expected or seems necessary.

How do You know what jobbies taste like?

Cue horrific "yer ma" joke...

This Leith Street nonsense.

I might have a selective memory but I can't remember in the past streets being closed for the benefit of commercial building works.

Yeah they've been closed for public works, like at Pilrig for 10 weeks with no apparent benefits.

Now it seems to happen all over the place.

And these road closures, public and private, seem to go on for a lot longer than expected or seems necessary.
Pilrig junction is much more pedestrian friendly now and the traffic flows better too. Win-Win.

Its being closed to lay major gas pipes I've been told so they're coinciding it with the work on the new centre. Seems like a good idea to me.

If that's the case it's almost reasonable, gas being privatised but of benefit to us all.

Is the gas being moved because of the new build though?

And 44 weeks?

They lay miles of gas pipes in the most inhospitable p!aces in the world in days/weeks! It seems ridiculous then for half a mile of whatever they're doing to take almost a year.

If that's the case it's almost reasonable, gas being privatised but of benefit to us all.

Is the gas being moved because of the new build though?

And 44 weeks?

They lay miles of gas pipes in the most inhospitable p!aces in the world in days/weeks! It seems ridiculous then for half a mile of whatever they're doing to take almost a year.

Agreed.

Seems to me since we voted against the congestion charge the council are happy with roads being closed by whoever for however long.

Agreed.

Seems to me since we voted against the congestion charge the council are happy with roads being closed by whoever for however long.

And we're at that time of the year, the annual spring up of road works everywhere drives you nuts

Yip. Dig a hole. Surround it with cones. Set up temporary traffic lights then leave the ensuing chaos for weeks doing SFA.

[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION]. Sorry to drag you into this ;-)

I see Hamilton Place is to be closed for 4 days.

What's going on there?

Are you Stockeree boys allowed into town? I've see the roadworks at Howe Street have been there for months and Queen Street Gardens West looks like it will be shut for some time.

Would you like us to organise food parcels? I could use the drone I got for my birthday last year!

[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION]. Sorry to drag you into this ;-)

I see Hamilton Place is to be closed for 4 days.

What's going on there?

Are you Stockeree boys allowed into town? I've see the roadworks at Howe Street have been there for months and Queen Street Gardens West looks like it will be shut for some time.

Would you like us to organise food parcels? I could use the drone I got for my birthday last year!

I didn't actually know that Jack. I had a look at the Traffic disruption - City of Edinburgh site but it doesn't show it at all. If I'm round there tomorrow I will look and see if there are any signs up and report back.

We are allowed up town. Blonde/black/brown hair types are allowed to venture up the toon any weekday between 0600 - 0700hrs. Strawberry blond/Caledonian rouge hair types have carte blanche which is the way it should be [original hair colour used in all circumstances to verify access privileges] :raisehat:

Food parcels are always welcome of course :pizza:

Must be ace being an architect in Edinburgh:

Step 1: draw boxes
Step 2: assemble boxes in sandstone and glass
Step 3: collect fat cheque

Quite a lot of shite on that lot eh?

Hyatt Regency at Granton Harbour is bold, hope it works.

Quite a lot of shite on that lot eh?

Hyatt Regency at Granton Harbour is bold, hope it works.

Quite a lot of good stuff too, if not by design then for purpose.

Lots and lots of housing. I was trying to count the various purposes, housing, students, hotels of various types, retail, cinemas, offices etc. I'd need a spreadsheet and time. Maybe if I was still working lol

One thing I noticed was that in most of the mixed developments housing was scheduled for the final phase. To my thinking that means after the developers have maxed out the profits they piss off leaving the housing not even started. The council need to address this.

Ye fecker I shat it there, then saw yer post was last years (or 2 :giggle:)

This thread has been viewed 4904 times.