Bargain Hunt

My mum and I have been catching this programme as we get up since it's inception.I used to go with my mum and brother and sister to the lane sales every week.Lyon and Turnbulls lane sales were part of my growing up, and since my mum was a school teacher, she would have six weeks in summer to persue her hobby.So when the likes of Bargain Hunt came along it was right down our street.David Dickenson with his'cheap as chips' patter and his permatan kept us occupied in the middle of the day.
Over the years the format has changed little although the host is now Tim Warnacott,with his ever so slight posh boy demeanour.However I think it would be fair to say I have been able to pick up a bit of knowledge along the way.I now would be able to pick out my Poole from my Moorcroft,my Claris Cliffe from my Lambeth Dalton.
I like to see the various 'experts' to see if they do well or go down in a shower of flames each day,I particularly like Anita Manning and Caroline Hawley,as I reckon they've got a bit of taste.I would love to go to Anita's showroom in the great Western Road sometime.It is noticeable that the prices always shoot up when it is based there.
One thing that I have noticed over the years is the experts obsession with inkwells! Nearly every day the show seemed to involve an inkwell.It was if the BBC had shares in the damn things!Somebody must have a word in their ear as they seem to have dissapeared.
I think if my mum had had the chance she would have loved to own a shop somewhere.
Anyway does anyone have any thoughts on the show?:coffee:

Among the saddest times for this board it's fucking great to have you back Moaty

CheersEGB!heard Newhoose finally met you, but on a sad occassion,whish I had made it.

Jesus wept. I think we need another forum on the Bounce for all you ladies to discuss coffee mornings, sewing bees and bingo as well as daytime tv viewing habits.

Add Brass bands to that list :wink:

You prefer the current tumbleweed strewn cowshed, where all former bonhomie was leeched out in repeats of the same few political arguments?

I think moatys threads are most welcome , personally.

Welcome back moaty

You wouldnae' be referring tae' yonder fellae' that bangs on aboot the "elitist" liberals or left now, would ye' egb?? :wink: Or maybe it's @Smurf you're thinking of .... the scourge that is DE-Nationalisation...except when it comes to the NHS of course :wink:

Cheers
gulity m'lud although I was making a different point. I never favoured the division of cowshed and pie stand and that is even more the case now there is less activity. My view was and is that seperating the 'serious' and light hearted stuff detracted from the overall 'spirit' of the forum and contributed to some people only crossing paths when juking it out on a political point, versus doing that and then next moment sharing in a joke or something from the lighter side of life. I think it creates a different dynamic.

Didn't they change the format to both teams getting money if they were in profit from it only being the one with the largest profit?

Preferred it when DD was on it TBH.

Nah, if both teams are in profit they both get to keep it.

I prefer Tim Wannacott to Dickensen: His antics on Real Deal do my head in from his "Oh Sole mio" everytime something remotely romantic or italian turns up to his shocking attempts at a Scottish accent.

As I was working from home for all of 2016 as I had the pleasure of taking in many an episode of bargain hunt! To me the entire concept of the show is bizarre: contestants buy antiques wholesale from experienced antiques dealers (at antiques fairs etc) and then attempt to turn a profit buy selling them on at auction! You're on a hiding to nothing. Surely the other way around would at least yield more profit.

Agree Dickenson's Real Deal is utter nonsense; seller brings his item to a dealer who proceeds to whap out notes (gradually, to fill up time) in an attempt to buy the item. There is really no need for Dickenson to be there but he randomly sticks neb in to offer "advice" during this process. A load of rubbish.

This thread is still an improvement on the "what's your favourite motorway service station?" thread I started years ago :giggle:

Easy. Tebay on The M6. Cracking breakfast.

When I was a nipper I used to spend summer holidays in Manchester because my mum and dad were working. Vivid memories of my aunt and uncle driving me back up the road -sometimes to Wick!- and motorway services. Developed a love of cheese and tomato sauce sandwiches which thankfully I grew out of.

Little Chefs and Eddie Stobart!

Yes, I know that is the case now with BH but I think when it first started (Dickenson era) only the winning team kept the profit.

No, the contestants always kept their winnings.

My next post is about haircuts! You have been warned!:rollfloor

Damn. I was hoping for one on fridge magnets :banger:

gulity m'lud although I was making a different point. I never favoured the division of cowshed and pie stand and that is even more the case now there is less activity. My view was and is that seperating the 'serious' and light hearted stuff detracted from the overall 'spirit' of the forum and contributed to some people only crossing paths when juking it out on a political point, versus doing that and then next moment sharing in a joke or something from the lighter side of life. I think it creates a different dynamic.

Agree. Why was it divided, do we know?

Screambled Eggs, started by Beefy,5/1/17,Burger Rolls, started by Jack13/1/17,What Choons Yi Listening To?started by Hibby billy 7/11/12,turntable free to a good home,startedby Tricky 11/1/17,Kezia Dugdale, started by Moathibby,16/1/17.Just saying.:fyi:

No had a cheese thread in a while

Easy. Tebay on The M6. Cracking breakfast.

When I was a nipper I used to spend summer holidays in Manchester because my mum and dad were working. Vivid memories of my aunt and uncle driving me back up the road -sometimes to Wick!- and motorway services. Developed a love of cheese and tomato sauce sandwiches which thankfully I grew out of.

Little Chefs and Eddie Stobart!

stopped at Tebay on way to Manchester in October, excellent steak pie and a wide range of home baking style items, very good indeed.

No had a cheese thread in a while

mr%20cheesestring%20mascot%20costume.png

Screambled Eggs, started by Beefy,5/1/17,Burger Rolls, started by Jack13/1/17,What Choons Yi Listening To?started by Hibby billy 7/11/12,turntable free to a good home,startedby Tricky 11/1/17,Kezia Dugdale, started by Moathibby,16/1/17.Just saying.:fyi:

You've just named the members of the Bounce Womens Institute

It's the Institute of Bounce Women!

peoples-front-of-judea-splitter.jpg

stopped at Tebay on way to Manchester in October, excellent steak pie and a wide range of home baking style items, very good indeed.

It's a good un! One of a few not under the ownership of RoadChef or Moto I think?

I don't think they did Dub. I'll see if i can find out more.

The only differences are that the contestants initially got £200 to buy as many items as they wanted and that changed to £300 and 3 items. They always kept any winnings.

Glad someone's been paying attention over the years!:applause:

Daytime tv is pretty awful.

I only see it when I'm off sick, so that in itself keeps me healthy.

Well that's not the only difference coz they do something different with the item the antique expert buys.

Yep - the 'Bonus Buy'! That wasn't in it during the David Dickerson years!

Well that's not the only difference coz they do something different with the item the antique expert buys.

Aye I should have put that one in: Mea Culpa. They still always kept the money though :giggle:

Damn. I was hoping for one on fridge magnets :banger:

We get a fridge magnet everywhere we go!

Follow Is banned on twitter he seems to post a lot of womens.bouncers

I do. I have to wait until I'm outwith a public place or the wife's not looking before opening twitter though. :rollfloor

Thought Tebay was a Yorkshire auction site.:doh

They've bloody ruined it! Now you've got to buy an item worth more than £75 and they tell you to look for a specific type of item. This is not what I called for when I started to withhold my license fee!

This thread has been viewed 4466 times.