FAO Those Pro Independence

If I could I would impose Independence for Scotland

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

No doubt in my mind that the 45% who voted Yes are not happy with the 55%. I think many within the 45% regard many within the 55% of being just wrong so their opinions are dismissed. It was the old that won it too scared about their pensions. It was the vow on the front page of The Daily Record that fooled them...

So to those of you who voted Yes. Imagine this scenario. You are in a position of high Scottish Government and you are able to impose Independence. Do you do it? Do you do it knowing it is against the will of the Scottish people? Yes? No?

I would never impose it, it's for the Scottish people to decide though the democratic process.

Our day will come, though.

No doubt in my mind that the 45% who voted Yes are not happy with the 55%. I think many within the 45% regard many within the 55% of being just wrong so their opinions are dismissed. It was the old that won it too scared about their pensions. It was the vow on the front page of The Daily Record that fooled them...

So to those of you who voted Yes. Imagine this scenario. You are in a position of high Scottish Government and you are able to impose Independence. Do you do it? Do you do it knowing it is against the will of the Scottish people? Yes? No?

FFS, really?

I would never impose it, it's for the Scottish people to decide though the democratic process.

Our day will come, though.

Respect to you and FWIW I agree. It's inevitable.

FFS, really?

All the time even in a democracy decisions are taken disrespecting the majority viewpoint for selfish purposes. In a position of power I'd introduce a death tax which would be hugely unpopular but if I could do it I'd do it and fuck the majority of selfish bastards....

No for me, and nor do I think yes voters are 'just wrong'. I think it is a very complex matter with legitimate arguments on either side and no way of knowing for sure what is for the best.

I appreciate there are a lot of strident yes voices but I think you are getting a wee not carried away here.

Respect to you and FWIW I agree. It's inevitable.

All the time even in a democracy decisions are taken disrespecting the majority viewpoint for selfish purposes. In a position of power I'd introduce a death tax which would be hugely unpopular but if I could do it I'd do it and $#@! the majority of selfish $#@!s....

Ah... Maybe you are projecting your own anti democratic impulses onto others? Some yes folk get a bit carried away but I think you'll find this is labour thinking K, ie found more among supporters of your own political preferences?

Certainly not. I'd be astonished if any of the well-known pro-indy voices on here would either. It pretty much misses the point entirely.

FWIW, K, I think maybe you are exaggerating for effect here? If not, perhaps you need to take a wee step back and ask yourself if the more moderate Indy guys on here ever suggested anything else but respecting the will of the majority.

If there's a kernel of truth in what you're poking at here, it's only this: it's difficult not to feel a) given that it ended up soooo fcuking close despite the unprecedented arsenal of voices and outlets, both politically and in the media, that were ranged against a movement which basically had the SNP and the Sunday Herald, that had it been a fairer fight we would have won, and b) if more people were less concerned with money in its most abstract and unquantifiable iterations, then we would have won. If that's what you're getting at, then yes: I do think that.

But override the democratic process? Do me a favour, man.

The funny thing is i know very few people who voted no, but a lot that said yes? We are a country that allows another country to manage our affairs, that to me is highly embarrassing. I could'nt give a rats ass if we are better off or not, we would rather advocate responsibility, Scotland is like a teenager who mouth's of wanting to be treated like a adult but still play's with their toys. All i want is for us to make our own decisions, and not let a evil houses of parliament impose their will on us.

Have you stolen some of Kezia Dugdale's magic dumbo potion Kenny?

What a larf.

Certainly not. I'd be astonished if any of the well-known pro-indy voices on here would either. It pretty much misses the point entirely.

FWIW, K, I think maybe you are exaggerating for effect here? If not, perhaps you need to take a wee step back and ask yourself if the more moderate Indy guys on here ever suggested anything else but respecting the will of the majority.

If there's a kernel of truth in what you're poking at here, it's only this: it's difficult not to feel a) given that it ended up soooo fcuking close despite the unprecedented arsenal of voices and outlets, both politically and in the media, that were ranged against a movement which basically had the SNP and the Sunday Herald, that had it been a fairer fight we would have won, and b) if more people were less concerned with money in its most abstract and unquantifiable iterations, then we would have won. If that's what you're getting at, then yes: I do think that.

But override the democratic process? Do me a favour, man.
its not unprecedented - it's typical of issues where the establishment position is at stake - questions as diverse as gay marriage and the EU get the same treatment, while the assault on UKIP was greater than anything directed at the SNP. Interestingly, this time around the eu is not getting the treatment it has in the past - I wonder if Corbyn deserves credit for this in opening it up as a left wing concern?

The funny thing is i know very few people who voted no, but a lot that said yes?

This means you just know fewer old people, fewer folk that live in posh houses and play rugby and fewer wanks. I'd see it as a positive.

K I have a lot of time for you, this is utter pish though mate sorry. I would not impose independence on people who did not want it, despite what you seem to think of us Yessers!

I probably would. To take this fanciful question on, I'd want to be able to go back to 1979 and do it, not today.

I'd like to allow a democratically arrived at choice be implemented, set out a few basic ground rules then fire back to present day Scotland and see whats what.

Unionist seem to forget, we should have 35+ years of independence behind us today.

Aye, fuck it, why not. What's the worst that could happen? Who's going to depose me? You? The rest of the 55%? I've got the 45% on my side and I'm in a position of high Scottish Government, I can do what the fuck I want:yas:

(Should obviously be read and taken with the ridiculousness in which it was intended).

I probably would. To take this fanciful question on, I'd want to be able to go back to 1979 and do it, not today.

I'd like to allow a democratically arrived at choice be implemented, set out a few basic ground rules then fire back to present day Scotland and see whats what.

Unionist seem to forget, we should have 35+ years of independence behind us today.

And, hopefully, some of the £375 billion pounds oil has poured in to the treasury [assuming the info I heard on telly the other night is correct].

And the rest. That's taxation and selling rights. In my magical mystery tour I'd insist the Scottish govt created an oil company to drill and sell and tax the oil themselves.

This means you just know fewer old people, fewer folk that live in posh houses and play rugby and fewer wanks. I'd see it as a positive.

I'm going to steal this :rollfloor

Yup.

And then I'd invade England, nip into Wales for a nice leg of lamb for Easter Sunday lunch. Monday would be Europe and I'd probably fill in the rest of the week giving the other continents a day or so each.

I'd have to be back by Thursday though coz I'm going on a fag run. I suppose being the world leader by then I've wasted my fuckin time actually buying Euros!

Kenny you cant impose independence you can only impose rule :giggle:

This thread has been viewed 1859 times.