Just back and our laddies just do not know when to give in…..

Gunt of Hooflothian 2 Hibernian 2

Usual rules apply, the majority of you saw the game on the box, with the benefit of commentary, replays and such like. Me and 3500 fellow Hibs fans sat, soaked in the Roseburn Stand at the Savilledome, ears ringing to the sounds of the John McGinn song. The adrenalin is still pumping as I sit on my cozy couch thawing and drying out.

Main changes today saw were Gray back in for Gunnarsson, and Big Marvin in for Fyvie. Jason was back in for Keatings and McGregor kept his place, as Fontaine was benched after getting hurt at Greenock. Caveman Neilson felt the paedos were dominant first half, I have no idea what game he was watching through his unwashed straggly hair, we started well, and only the injury to McGeogh let the hoofers into the game. Two daft goals given away, we had a mountain to climb, but climb it we did.

McGinn and Henderson looked like they were struggling to get a foothold in the game first half, Big Marvin was a rock though, this game perfect for his style of play, and he was lumping and bumping maroon clad fandans from first minute to 94th. Thommo came on for the injured Dylan, shirt untucked to hide his impressive beer belly and got better and better as the game went on. Stokes never stopped, it wasn’t his day. Jase did pretty much nowt then scored that looping header However once we scored the slow motion first the bloodied stools crumpled, and Hibs ran all over them, John McGinn and Liam Henderson ably back up by Big Marv, Thommo, Stevenson and an impressive Gunnarsson just could not cope, a goalmouth scramble following a great header by Darren McGregor and captain and fellow Hibby, Paul Hanlon rattled it home, the drookit Hibs end went ballistic, mental, barmy in ecstasy as Edinburgh’s football team came back from the brink. Dare I say it, our team at the end looked far fitter than the hoofballers, even Kev Thompson sucked in the belly and gave his all as we battered them.

The players

Mark Oxley had little chance at either goal from my seat, and was solid otherwise.

Gray was fine but you could see he was playing with a limp and was replace after 50 minutes by Gunnarsson.

Darren McGregor clearly enjoys playing against the winners of world war one, he showed no fear and his header played a big part on getting the equaliser.

Paul Hanlon took the captains armband when Gray went off and showed himself to be a leader by scoring the equaliser.

Lewis Stevenson was guilty of holding onto the ball a second too long, I think made a mistake with is header 1 inch off the grounds at their second goal, but was a big part of that mass charge towards the Gunts last 20.

Marvin Bartey, I have offered my opinion before about Marv, good strong ball player but slow. Today he was up against a team ideal for his style of play and he bossed them all game. He was magnificent.

John McGinn just didnae get going first half, but last twenty John was hard, fast and direct. He’s better than Zidane, or at least he has the same moves, as the song went fifty times in two hours today.

Dylan McGeoch went off early and I felt they scored their first because there was no Dylan there to mop up.

Liam Henderson like John McGinn just didnae get going first sixty minutes, then the spark came and off the laddie went charging at the every opportunity towards the
Stokes took abuse from the gunts this week, the wee huns dinnae like him I am sure the feeling is mutual. He wasn’t as effective as he can be but he did give us 90 minutes and will get us goals.

Jason did very little, he let his old teammates get into his psyche, then he scores the freak looping header, celebrated a full two seconds late by the Hibs fans and game on.

Subs

Kevin Thompson came on after around 30 minutes, shirt untucked, belly sooked in and looked puggled until he found the rhythm of the game. When he did find that rhythm though, he was stroking the passes around like we remembered him during his pomp. He celebrated like us and with us when we equalised.

Gunnarsson came on from Gray after 50or so minutes and I thought he was very good, he went at the Gunts, linking up well especially with Stokes and Henderson and looked like the player I suspect Stubbsy and his backroom team knew he might be.

Alan Stubbs has a belief in our football team, it rubs off on the players (not to be confused with certain Jambos who rub off on minors). Their never say die approach, the dig, the pride in the jerseys, is part of what Alan and his backroom team have instilled in Hibernian. Thank you Alan.

Them. Well other than the nippy Nicholson, one word sums them up. Hoof.

9 bookings, should have been at least one Gunt sent off. Surprisingly Thomson didn’t send a Hibs man off. I have seen worse performances from this Ref.

My man of the match today was easy, Marvin Bartley was immense. The gunts were cacking it from him, bigger, stronger and better than their midfield.

I fair enjoyed that, still sitting here chuffed. Now all you stay at home Hibby’s get yourself a ticket for the replay, get behind Hibs and we will destroy the Gunts.

An excellent second half performance :bbb:

I thought Gunnarsson changed the game for the better when he came on, he was very good imo.

Bartley was MOTM though, he was immense. His game was exactly suited for today.

Thanks buddy, good assessment as always, weirdly, I just worried every time Lewis was on the ball, one of his most uncomfortable games for me

Great report as usual mate, when I seen our line up I feared the worst as Stevenson in my opinion was our weakest link and the Gunts also spotted this. He had to put his laces through the ball at their goal why an earth he headed it I will never know, taking their two goals out of it big Ox had nothing to save, we were starting to get a grip of the game and the significant change was when Gray went off they just couldn't cope with our fast flowing football, Gunnarsson was causing them all sorts of problems, Stokesy didnae have his shooting boots on the day but that will come, Marv was outstanding as you say our rock, McGinn and Henderson got better and better, even it 2 doon I just had a feeling we are still in this, ten minutes to go and boom in the school end also in front of us all, If Carlsberg done Scottish cups eh

0a10bfb528d7fa2f38105e0aa1dca051.jpg

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Good report...was impressed by Gunnarson, best game so far and able deputy...and even as a starter. Us PATG are getting it tight next few weeks....wonga loan anyone :giggle:

Edit...Although the ref was as you said not too shoddy today, I think there was a couple of more boys in Maroon could have been booked during the bust up. Also we still had 4 bopokings to their 5..yet the stats read 22-7 in terms of fouls against with us the latter :hmmm

Your summary from the Hibs end was pretty close to what I seen from the sofa. A couple of points worth adding are 1) I think the weather had a bearing on how things played out today, Hertz used it to their advantage in the first half to shade it whilst going(undeservedly) 2 up. We dominated 2nd half but they had retreated so far back they were hard to break down 2) Cummings chalked off goal was very tight, 2 others were clearly offside but had no bearing on on the finish.

Be great if we could get the numbers along this team deserves on the 16th.

Your summary from the Hibs end was pretty close to what I seen from the sofa. A couple of points worth adding are 1) I think the weather had a bearing on how things played out today, Hertz used it to their advantage in the first half to shade it whilst going(undeservedly) 2 up. We dominated 2nd half but they had retreated so far back they were hard to break down 2) Cummings chalked off goal was very tight, 2 others were clearly offside but had no bearing on on the finish.

Cummings was definitely leaning offside, his feet were close, but he looks off to me.

Great atmosphere in the Hibs end and totally deserved at least a draw. Hopefully we get big numbers for the reply as this team deserves it!

We will get a good crowd, but the games against Alloa and Morton...at the risk of upsetting a few ST holders...really need to be looked at in terms of some kind of concession...even giving ST holders a free ticket and cutting the price for walk ups :dunno: The midweek game against Morton in particular will have less fans due to being an evening games and hard on the heals of the Alloa and cup replay games

Amit? How about raising this with Leanne

Thought Stevenson was really suspect today.

Not in his post match interactions with the Roseburn stand he wasn't!

809a940d327c91c1a79062ef99812040.jpg

Superb report thanks 1875; I must apologise I thought we were out of it after the second goal. What a comeback I must agree:
- Dylan injury/coming off was a blow(hope it's not serious)
- and The Bartman was brill; rattled a few of those Gunts; might even have had a goal
- it felt like time stood still for Jason's goal
- I thought Gray was too central when the cross came in for their goal; I think Fonts would have cleared it
- McGinn picked up a knock, then got on with it; hope not too serious

What a sh*te team team to support are the Gunts..... bunch of hackers and hoofers, tramp as a manager, dump of a ground

Cheers, M.

Appreciated.

Good report 1875

Got the Mutant Express in and back.

Just thawed out with a beer

cheers for an excellent report

we fought back for a well deserved draw, lookin forward tae the replay

A game against them is just what Bartley is made for, standing up to bullying thugs masquerading as football players.

That was a superb match to attend , brilliant fightback Hibs

BOOM

Great report mark and pretty much spot on as per
I think I mentioned on the Fyvie thread that it could be a kinda blessing in disguse he was unavailable and that Bartley was a cert to start and this game would be right up his street
Hammer throwing ****s and apart from the gunt nicholson don't have a fitbaw player in their squad
As for stig I reckon he thought they could coast it second half sit back and we're already through at ht
I wasn't there today but sure as fuck will be at ER for the replay and I hope I'm struggling to get a ticket
A full house would give this wonderful set of players we have just now that extra wee bit that can see us through

That's a great read 1875, very amusing [emoji172][emoji108]

Them. Well other than the nippy Nicholson, one word sums them up. Hoof.

What was that celebration all about? They just can't stop playing with their bits - whether it's over the 2012 final or a silly wee goal. That celebrating fell short of him whipping it out. Be interested to see what consequences there are from the beaks. Totally out of order.

He should be in bother for that. Ridiculous and totally unnecessary.

The fact that he was booked for it tells me that Thomson saw what was going on

Ridiculous that celebration equated with Hanlon's - both got the same punishment.

Don't see how playing with your genitals for about 30 secs in front of the opposition fans equates with Hanlon standing at the edge of the pitch celebrating harmlessly with his own fans?

Ridiculous that celebration equated with Hanlon's - both got the same punishment.

Don't see how playing with your genitals for about 30 secs in front of the opposition fans equates with Hanlon standing at the edge of the pitch celebrating harmlessly with his own fans?

Aye very strange indeed , the guy's obviously pretty inadequate

Pure crazy...remember Ibroxc when their player almost jumped into the stand to celebrate and no booking...refs need to get their act together

That was a great game to be at today, thought the defence coped admirably with everything that was thrown at them. Couple of stray balls here and there but in the conditions, can't blame them.

Big Marv was sensational today and I also thought Gunnarson was tremendous when he came on, so unlucky not to score, definitely desereves to keep his place in the team.

Didn't think it was going to come off today when we made the wrong choice several times in the final third, but so happy it did after we battered them for so long.

He was probably looking at bairns while he was doing it.
creepy bastards the lot of them.

99cb829e845b9cec84623afac4ed3abd.jpg

Mayhem

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

It's their MO is it not?

Historical.

I get to most games but had to miss this one due to a pre-booked weekend away, I always read 1875's report when i get back and it is always very accurate and amusing so i will take more out of this report than any other journalist or pundit may say. 1875 i am very happy for you and all the other hibbies that were there today it must have been great for you all. I am proud of our team tonight we have had a difficult week and have came through it excellently well.

Thank you.

We have guts noo!!!!Fair enjoyed my day,lost my voice,when Hanlon scored leaped right over seats in front of me not a bad feat when u have a herniated disc.Paying for it noo,but with a big smile on MA puss.
I thought it might be a game too far this week,and in the first half it looked so.
However second we looked at it.A wee rest and we will pump these ****s.
MOM Bartley simply brill.

SCENES. That was epic. Utter pandemonium.

Mark, you've captured the 90 minutes perfectly, comrade.

Gunt of Hooflothian 2 Hibernian 2

Caveman Neilson felt the paedos were dominant first half, I have no idea what game he was watching through his unwashed straggly hair,

Darren McGregor clearly enjoys playing against the winners of world war one,

Alan Stubbs has a belief in our football team, it rubs off on the players (not to be confused with certain Jambos who rub off on minors).

Haha! Classic! These get better and better, mate!

Well said 1875 -best assessment of the match I have read.

Delighted for the support today. I watched it amongst a mixed crowd in a packed boozer in town and had to listen to some of the welts spraff their pish throughout the first half. This made the feeling after Hanlon's goal ever so sweeter... Pretty sure I nearly did a backflip in the middle of the floor:yas: highlight was an older boy like Jack from Still Game giving it the get it right up ye in their direction.

This thread has been viewed 10200 times.