Chinese Takeaways

The__Proclaimer

LEGEND!!
May as well keep the junk food threads going after the kebab and pastry love-ins recently.

Getting a Chinese tonight. I usually avoid at all costs cos they either turn out to be something you could easy make yourself but worse or sugary sweet which you get sick off halfway thru. My Mrs loves them tho so biting the bullet for our annual oriental feast. What annoys me is Chinese joints don't offer the lavish descriptions like you get on an Indian takeaway menu so nearly always get disappointed with the order.

Anyone got any recommendations for really tasty main meals? Preference for spicy and think nuts should be a bar snack not part of a hot meal. Also if anyone knows the best Chinese takeaway in the north Edinburgh radius I'd take that recommendation too.

May as well keep the junk food threads going after the kebab and pastry love-ins recently.

Getting a Chinese tonight. I usually avoid at all costs cos they either turn out to be something you could easy make yourself but worse or sugary sweet which you get sick off halfway thru. My Mrs loves them tho so biting the bullet for our annual oriental feast. What annoys me is Chinese joints don't offer the lavish descriptions like you get on an Indian takeaway menu so nearly always get disappointed with the order.

Anyone got any recommendations for really tasty main meals? Preference for spicy and think nuts should be a bar snack not part of a hot meal. Also if anyone knows the best Chinese takeaway in the north Edinburgh radius I'd take that recommendation too.

Try Thai. Street Box in Raeburn place [01313320031] does deliver but I'm not sure how far they go and the food is definitely spicy and not gloopy like some chinese food can be.

I really like Thai but Mrs has a hatred of lemmongrass and coconut so rarely get the opportunity to savour it.

Oh well, back to square one :roll:

I don't often get a Chinese takeaway either but when I do I usually go for deep fried crispy shredded chicken in a chilli & honey sauce with chilli & salt chips.

I get it from the Tiger Inn in Wallyford which will probably be too far for you but there's another one on/near Milton Road which may deliver to you.

Tiger In at Eastfield is average imo, hits exactly the points the op is looking to avoid...which I actually think is nearly impossible with Chinese food....MSG is the thing they use I think. There might be a chinese in either Albert or Iona Street that doesn't use it, but I can't mind it name.

Know it's not a takeaway but if it comes up on Groupon again bite their hand off to take up Chop Chop's unlimited banquet offer. Food isn't that greasy MSG fest you usually get at a Chinese and their dumplings are absolutely exquisite.

They bring it to table as and when dish is ready and can order as many times as you like. Million miles away from a Jimmy Chungs buffet.

Know it's not a takeaway but if it comes up on Groupon again bite their hand off to take up Chop Chop's unlimited banquet offer. Food isn't that greasy MSG fest you usually get at a Chinese and their dumplings are absolutely exquisite.

They bring it to table as and when dish is ready and can order as many times as you like. Million miles away from a Jimmy Chungs buffet.

I'm pretty sure Karens Unicorn in Abercromby Place is MSG free. It was when they had a shop in my street so probably still is. Not sure about deliveries but it might be worth a shout.

Don't want to come across as an ungrateful sod but it's more the dishes I'm interested in rather than the establishments - we're spoiled for choice in Edinburgh.

I've no idea about meat dishes but the veggie ones at Loon Fung are the best in Edinburgh.

Also, all my meat pals love the meat dishes there too.

Lemon chicken, shu mai, ribs, wafer paper prawns are ones that spring to mind for the carnivorous.

I've no idea about meat dishes but the veggie ones at Loon Fung are the best in Edinburgh.

Also, all my meat pals love the meat dishes there too.

Lemon chicken, shu mai, ribs, wafer paper prawns are ones that spring to mind for the carnivorous.

The meat dishes are no very good, I took a chicken dish back and told the chef it was rubbery, he said Fank u velly much!

Well somebody had tae tell it :rascal:

The meat dishes are no very good, I took a chicken dish back and told the chef it was rubbery, he said Fank u velly much!

Well somebody had tae tell it :rascal:

Reported.

The trouble with Chinese jokes is that an hour later you'll fancy another one.

And still be disappointed.

Chicken with green peppers and black bean sauce.
With fried rice or boiled rice if the missus can hear me ordering.

Reported.

The trouble with Chinese jokes is that an hour later you'll fancy another one.

And still be disappointed.

Chicken with green peppers and black bean sauce.
With fried rice or boiled rice if the missus can hear me ordering.

The trouble with Chinese jokes is that they all sound the same.

:lookaround:

I phoned upto complain once, I asked tae speak tae the manager, the guy on the other end said sum ting Wong? I said if he's the manager then aye.
Nearly half an hour later:rascal:

Take two - now on right thread;

If you don't want msg sauce id recommend salt and pepper or salt and chilli dishes (same thing named differently in different places). Crispy battered chicken / prawn / whatever in savoury mix of chilli, spring onion, salt. I'm also a big fan of shredded beef in chilli sauce.

Agree with you about chop chop especially dumplings - worth looking for them on other menus but check cos it can mean very different things to the ravioli style dumpling.

In north Edinburgh Id recommend China palace in Bernard street if you were taking the missus for a sit in - not sure if they do takeaway but they almost certainly do.

I reckon my Mrs secretly reads the Bounce as when I got home from work she said she really fancied a Chinese tonight. Spooky.

Take two - now on right thread;

If you don't want msg sauce id recommend salt and pepper or salt and chilli dishes (same thing named differently in different places). Crispy battered chicken / prawn / whatever in savoury mix of chilli, spring onion, salt. I'm also a big fan of shredded beef in chilli sauce.

Agree with you about chop chop especially dumplings - worth looking for them on other menus but check cos it can mean very different things to the ravioli style dumpling.

In north Edinburgh Id recommend China palace in Bernard street if you were taking the missus for a sit in - not sure if they do takeaway but they almost certainly do.

good shout china palace mate . Myself and mrs T love the place , and they do do takeaways.

Anyone know of good chinese takeaway down lochend way? Gutted when the one beside lochend inn closed down last month, tried a couple of others but crap so far.

See Taties post

Hope all goes well, all the best to you and your future Mrs

Can now get Chop Chop delivered by this new lot, they only deliver from restuarants rather than takeaways.

Chop Chop | Dean Village, Edinburgh | Deliveroo

I reckon my Mrs secretly reads the Bounce as when I got home from work she said she really fancied a Chinese tonight. Spooky.

Spooky is a funny name for a Chinese guy.

Open relationship I'm guessing.
You youngsters and your crazy crazy lives.

Ask yourself, have you ever seen your Mrs and [MENTION=20]Sir Shrink[/MENTION] in the same room at the same time :detective:

Somebody had to tell you the truth :Sparkle_Cool:

Spooky is a funny name for a Chinese guy.

Open relationship I'm guessing.
You youngsters and your crazy crazy lives.
Haha!

Ho Lee Fuk that's funny!

Which is coincidentally is the guys brothers name.

Ho Lee Fuk?

I think I've met him.
A Chinese guy I worked with said that was his name when I told him I thought all Chinese guys looked the same.

No wait.

It wasn't him. It was his brother. Or his mate. Or his uncle or some other Chinese dude.

This thread is like a Bernard Manning concert

Ho Ho Ho.

singapore fried noodles (nice and spicy)

chicken in ginger and spring onion

crispy duck in pancakes & hoi sin sauce

Ye cannae beat salt n pepper chips

This thread is like a Bernard Manning concert

Ho Ho Ho.

YOU FAT BASTARD YOU FAT BASTARD:rascal:

Right Proccie, we all need to know what you got....let's be having you :coffee:

Got fuck all (in every sense) last night! Her 'spot the difference' haircut where she took a millimetre off the length and hair dye that went one square down the dulux brown chart took hours so was too late to eat by time she got back. Returned with a limited edition bottle of Sailor Jerry and a case of coke tho so not complaining. But uncouth getting a takeaway midweek when you're not hungover anyway so doing it tonight instead. Glad we waited cos jockney put me in the mood for that ginger chicken.

Always get a portion of curry sauce on the side, added to your chips you've got an extra main meal for £3. Only side dish that's worth ordering from the Chinese. Indian starters and sides are sublime - at the Chinese you've got ribs with less meat than a vegan buffet or big Quavers to mop up your sauce.

As a P.S. it's not a word I ever use but glad hibs class has shown itself and no one has called it 'the chinky' a similar thread on Kickback would have descended into 'HOW CAN AH NO CALL HIM PAKI WHEN ITS SHORT FIR PAKISTANI, SAME AS CALLIN ME AH SCOT' well before now.

Got $#@! all (in every sense) last night! Her 'spot the difference' haircut where she took a millimetre off the length and hair dye that went one square down the dulux brown chart took hours so was too late to eat by time she got back. Returned with a limited edition bottle of Sailor Jerry and a case of coke tho so not complaining. But uncouth getting a takeaway midweek when you're not hungover anyway so doing it tonight instead. Glad we waited cos jockney put me in the mood for that ginger chicken.

Always get a portion of curry sauce on the side, added to your chips you've got an extra main meal for £3. Only side dish that's worth ordering from the Chinese. Indian starters and sides are sublime - at the Chinese you've got ribs with less meat than a vegan buffet or big Quavers to mop up your sauce.

As a P.S. it's not a word I ever use but glad hibs class has shown itself and no one has called it 'the chinky' a similar thread on Kickback would have descended into 'HOW CAN AH NO CALL HIM PAKI WHEN ITS SHORT FIR PAKISTANI, SAME AS CALLIN ME AH SCOT' well before now.

I have to challenge the starters point; the dumplings you yourself mentioned the stuff of legend, I m very partial to a satay chicken on skewers, and - when it is on the menu - the kind of mince stuff served with lettuce leaves to use as A kind of Chinese fajita, is quite remarkable Jeff.

The Chinese also have the Indians chased when it comes to soup. :coffee:

I have to challenge the starters point; the dumplings you yourself mentioned the stuff of legend, I m very partial to a satay chicken on skewers, and - when it is on the menu - the kind of mince stuff served with lettuce leaves to use as A kind of Chinese fajita, is quite remarkable Jeff.

The Chinese also have the Indians chased when it comes to soup. :coffee:

Dumplings are far too rare a hit and much more common a miss from a takeaway. One of those things you need to go to a place that specialises in them.

Satay skewers are shan as fuck - Kerry Katona Iceland buffet job those boys. The best Chinese takeaway soup in the world doesn't compare to an average kebab starter from the Indian with all the dips. Who wants to sit with a bowl and spoon sipping soup when everyone is firing into juicy meaty starters anyway. Only get soup if it's free on your set meal and even then it's tomorrows lunch. You must admit their 'mopping up the sauce' options are pathetic - your average Indian has at least half a dozen choices of nann bread alone.

Never heard of that mince dish, what's it called?

Dumplings are far too rare a hit and much more common a miss from a takeaway. One of those things you need to go to a place that specialises in them.

Satay skewers are shan as $#@! - Kerry Katona Iceland buffet job those boys. The best Chinese takeaway soup in the world doesn't compare to an average kebab starter from the Indian with all the dips. Who wants to sit with a bowl and spoon sipping soup when everyone is firing into juicy meaty starters anyway. Only get soup if it's free on your set meal and even then it's tomorrows lunch. You must admit their 'mopping up the sauce' options are pathetic - your average Indian has at least half a dozen choices of nann bread alone.

Never heard of that mince dish, what's it called?

Don't get me wrong, Indian is my preference by far. I think you are going to the wrong places if you're getting Iceland style satay. I can't mind the name of the lettuce thing, I shall try and find out.

Cool Jade opposite the Zoo is fantastic. They don't deliver, but you can collect. Prefer the food whilst sitting in.

Thanks to you and Eegie for the tip. Tried it on Saturday night and was happy with what we ordered. Cheers chaps!Although when heading home from game, noticed that the Chinese beside Lochend pub has just reopened, with new owners I think, so we'll try that out too and see which one we prefer.

happy tae help WH .

Taken a notion for a Chinese delivery the night - anyone got any recommended places?
Also very nostalgic to look back on this thread - I miss the Proclaimer and Egb :cryy:

Shaun egb

Mrs So in portobello high street is very good, they don’t use MSG.
As @egb_hibs suggests, the dry dishes are pretty good...they do a nice chilli and pepper prawn effort

Juiding Albert Street is very good and although you've probably already eaten you'll fancy another one now :))

Their Indonesian spicy noodle dishes are superb, best have had in the uk.

This thread has been viewed 9281 times.