Witch Hunt against St. Patrick's Branch

Roving_Reporter

Yesterday the talk of the Steamie at Starks Park was the goings on by Chairman Mike Riley and the Trustees of the Hibernian Supporters Association (HSA) with regards to talk of expulsion of St. Pat's from the HSA. Details of what has happened, as outlined to St. Pat's members, has been obtained and reproduced below to explain some of the questions asked.

A source close to the Branch said that 'I am told that the Branch Committee are furious that at a time when all Hibs Supporters should be getting behind the team and building bridges with the Club there are those who would rather conduct an ill thought out petty witch hunt.'

R_R

A serious situation has arisen over the past period, as eluded to at our last Branch meeting. To recap for those not present, Chairperson Dougie McLeod prior to the end of business and the entrance of our two Turnbull's Tornadoes speakers that night, John Brownlie and John Blackley, informed the 50 members present of a meeting which had taken place along with Branch Secretary Gordon McKinley and the 5 Trustees of the Hibernian Supporters Association/Club a few weeks previously. The meeting was suggested by our Branch Committee in order to explain in a friendly manner the reasoning behind our proposed changes to further modernise and HSA rulebook (see attachment). This was intended to help prevent any misunderstanding at the Hibernian Supporters Association AGM, on Sunday the 5th of April.

Within a fairly short period of discussion HSA Chairperson Mike Riley was accusing our Branch of all sorts and behaving quite frankly in a manner not befitting a person in his position. At one point he reacted to the suggestion by a fellow Trustee that 'some people out there, would like St. Pat's expelled from the Association' by hissing 'and we have the f****** power to do that'. To his credit HSA Treasurer Colin Rich said they could not do that. At another point when we suggested that the right to amend HSA Rules is enshrined in the Rule book he shouted 'Democracy, I will show you f****** democracy at the AGM'. To which Dougie said that he was acting like a bully and Gordon said that neither he, Dougie nor St. Patrick's Branch members would be bullied by him. The swearing continued and Gordon asked that he refrain from doing so twice. He said that he did not have to f****** listen to this and stormed out of the meeting.

The other four Trustees did not follow him out and continued to have a calm, reasoned meeting where on some items we agreed to disagree.

Whilst we were having our very successful Branch meeting someone pointed out that the Trustees were having a meeting upstairs with the Officials of a minority of Supporters Branches at the same time as ours and of which we had neither been informed of nor invited to.

It transpired subsequently that this meeting which was purported to be to discuss St. Patrick's resolutions, however inevitably became a vehicle to discuss the apparent obsession that HSA Chairperson Mike Riley has with the possible expulsion of our Branch from the HSA. It should be remembered that at last years AGM he had to deny the accusation from a Branch member, that he had raised expulsion of St. Patrick's Branch with her and others . At their meeting they also discussed the need to take legal advice, as to whether they could actually expel us ( It seems our presence to defend any allegations, Natural Justice at Law, nor valid and sufficient reason to progress this, crossed their minds). Again a big thanks goes out to HSA Treasurer Colin Rich who had the nouse to oppose the suggestion of such calamitous action.

Whether or not this threat to our Branch's very existence transpires, I for one, knowing how much work that I and many others have put in to create our truly active Hibernian Supporters Branch, from 5 members 5 years again to our present membership of 330+ and do not propose to wait or sit back and let this happen and am sure that you will all feel the same way.

We, as you know have been working with Hibernian FC at every level we possibly can and feel that at a time when Hibs seem to be turning the corner, a Semi Final and possibly a Final within our grasp, promotion back to where we belong a real possibility and good new initiatives being introduced by the Hibernian Management, that anyone engaging in self indulgent statements, or in distractions which take away from this course of action, will not be forgiven by fellow Hibs Supporters.

We have been told that HSA Chairperson Mike Riley and cohorts are straining every sinew to mobilize as many people to attend the AGM on Sunday 5th April at 12.00 as possible. The Branch Committee ask that our members also make an almighty effort to attend this meeting, to ensure that St. Pat's survive any potential attempt at the first witch-hunt of any Branch in the history of the Hibernian Supporters Association.

With farce always comes along irony not far behind. Two weeks ago our Branch Patron and Honorary Branch member Patrick Gordon Stanton presented a gift and an Honorary Branch membership to Sammy Martinez in appreciation of the wee man's 70 years of devotion to Hibernian FC. If some folk have their way the oldest living Hibernian Supporter could become the shortest lived Honorary member!!

ST PATS is a fantastic branch , and like the BOUNCE , HSA seem to have any issues with both bodies . dontmknow why ?

Mike Riley ? Don't speak for me . maybe the HSA should embrace the sterling work St. Pats do .... Or is that the issue :detective:

Problems and issues should aired at public meetings not ad hoc coalitions. Whatever the problems Mike Reilly has shown time and again that he is out of step with most of the supporters and does not speak for the Hibs support. Time to have someone who is in tune with the many voices amongst the support.

i'm not a member of the St. Patricks branch but I admire the work they have done so far.

Witch Hunt

I cant see why anybody would want St Patrick's Branch kicked out of the HSA we have done nothing wrong . We are an ambitious branch and only want stronger links between the HSA & Hibernian FC .

Problems and issues should aired at public meetings not ad hoc coalitions. Whatever the problems Mike Reilly has shown time and again that he is out of step with most of the supporters and does not speak for the Hibs support. Time to have someone who is in tune with the many voices amongst the support.

i'm not a member of the St. Patricks branch but I admire the work they have done so far.

I'm no a member either mate but have followed the goals they have achieved with interest . have travelled on St.pats bus , met G a couple o times and myself and ma wee nephew were made very welcome . don't know the politics of what's going on BUT ,what's not to like about St.pats . ? :dunno:

Bullying Tactics as I read it. Wont be tolerated by any Hibs Supporter. :read:

I'm glad this has finally made its way onto a public forum. The behaviour of some of those elected to serve us, the Hibs support, has been nothing short of disgraceful. The club and branch were founded to erradicate bullying but now the very existence of one of the most progressive/democractic branches is in danger..? You couldn't make it up.

What's the membership overall of the Hibs club and what is the membership of St pats?

I think about 1500. With almost 340 members St.Pat's is possibly the largest Branch now Bobby.

Bullying Tactics as I read it. Wont be tolerated by any Hibs Supporter. :read:

Spot on Kenny.

[video=youtube;K6P7g_qz2OU]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6P7g_qz2OU[/video]

ST PATS is a fantastic branch , and like the BOUNCE , HSA seem to have any issues with both bodies . dontmknow why ?

Mike Riley ? Don't speak for me . maybe the HSA should embrace the sterling work St. Pats do .... Or is that the issue :detective:

I can understand why some people/ or a body may have trouble with the Bounce.

Its democratic,& that can cause problems for those with dictatorial tendencies (see other sites).

As for St Pats branch, from what I read on here & its own site, I fail to see why anyone could have a problem with the work it has done, or the people running the branch.

But as the line from the film goes'you're never sure when some arse hole is going to take exception'

I think about 1500. With almost 340 members St.Pat's is possibly the largest Branch now Bobby.

Spot on Kenny.

[video=youtube;K6P7g_qz2OU]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6P7g_qz2OU[/video]

Thanks G - I didn't realise quite how significant St pats were now which is probably implied criticism of how the club has been run over the years.

When Riley was first elected as chairman,it took three very dubious counts to elect him that day,from a hall of complete strangers,there were rumours that he had arranged taxis to drum up support,half the hall left when he was elected.I have been a member of the HSA for over 30 years and i can count on one hand how many times i have been back since he's been chairman,he runs the club as if it his own pub,hang tight guys St.Pats will be there long after he is gone.Stanton branch member.

This is Fans News' first post on the Bounce, We normally don't get involved with the obvious politics that surrounds the HSA and it's members as we are not an "official" fans group, but with 4.8 thousand members I can say with almost complete confidence that there is growing concern over the antics and behaviour of Mr Riley.

I have sat in several meetings and heard St Paddys branch discuss their ideas and their accomplishments. I don't know the members personally but I can say we are very impressed with the achievements that the group have delivered on behalf of the fans.

The branch has our full support and anything we can do to help communicate the issue to the fans will be provided on request. Please contact us via Facebook or Twitter if we can be of assistance.

Hibernian FC Fans News

Welcome to the Bounce.

Just a heads up. Your first couple of posts are moderated to stop gunts ans spammers. :thumbgrin

I can understand why some people/ or a body may have trouble with the Bounce.

Its democratic,& that can cause problems for those with dictatorial tendencies (see other sites).

As for St Pats branch, from what I read on here & its own site, I fail to see why anyone could have a problem with the work it has done, or the people running the branch.

But as the line from the film goes'you're never sure when some arse hole is going to take exception'

i strongly suspect this is the case, especially the 'dictatorial tendencies'. I admit to knowing next to zero about Mike Reilly apart from reading he has a tendency to make statement's 'on behalf of the Hibs-supporters' without actually consulting anyone - unless it's his own inner-circle.

When Riley was first elected as chairman,it took three very dubious counts to elect him that day,from a hall of complete strangers,there were rumours that he had arranged taxis to drum up support,half the hall left when he was elected.I have been a member of the HSA for over 30 years and i can count on one hand how many times i have been back since he's been chairman,he runs the club as if it his own pub,hang tight guys St.Pats will be there long after he is gone.Stanton branch member.

The AGM is sunday 5th april 12 noon. Aye easter sunday, wonder if mr riley thinks easter sunday will effect the st pats members.

I'll be there bandit

Stanton Branch? Nice one, please come along in support of st pats.

Can anyone call for vote of no confidence against mr riley?

He seems to have upset lots fellow hibbys.

He seems to have a grudge agaisnt st pats? He keeps rabbiting on no members use the club on non match days.

The attendance in the hsc is dire with not many branches if any having a high midweek presence.

He needs to understand the club isnae that easy to get too. And no one can drink drive now :lookaround:

I can't understand why anyone would have issues with a branch who are getting new members to the HSA and are actually encouraging supporters to join a supporters club. Like the way they have regular meetings with guests.

Surely doesn't matter what branch you are in, we are all Hibs supporters after all.

Welcome to the Bounce.

Just a heads up. Your first couple of posts are moderated to stop gunts ans spammers. :thumbgrin

Thanks for the welcome... And the heads up. Hope you will allow us to share our media on your forums (After moderation of course)... For example..

One huge positive to come from yesterday was the return of Hibs number 9..... FARID EL ALAGUI....

Please enjoy a short tribute to his return....

Farid El Alagui The Story Continues... - YouTube

Fans News

Sounds like an aspiring Sepp Blatter.

Sounds like a bit of Machiavellianism* has crept in to the HSA.

*Aye, fcukin google it mate.
:coffee:

I remember the Pentland Branch was subject to a bit of grief in days of yore, although to be fair it was a bunch full of mentalists and more often than not returned from away games missing a few stalwarts who had misbehaved in some way or other.

I'm at a loss as to what the St P's have done to incur the wrath of Mr Riley - surely it's not simply that the Branch is made up of in the main 'out of towners' who don't frequent the premises midweek, or don't spend a lot at the bar due to driving?

We need to be told.
:glassraise:

Out of Towners in the Branch from Queensferry to Qatar, Glasgow to Groningen, Kirkcaldy to Kristiansand, Dundee to Dunedin, Aberdeen to Atlanta, Nitten to New Jersey......all welcome in St. Pat's however not to have the right to vote at the AGM as rules stand. We are trying to change that this year but is not popular. 70 Out of Town members out of 340 Doc.

Cheers for that Big G.
I knew there were lots of members that came from 'the four corners' but still a decent load from the 'burgh itself.
So is it just about 'out of towners' voting rights that is the nub of this or have I picked that up wrong?

I'm tempted to join, just because I don't like the smell of this.
:boxing:

Cheers for that Big G.
I knew there were lots of members that came from 'the four corners' but still a decent load from the 'burgh itself.
So is it just about 'out of towners' voting rights that is the nub of this or have I picked that up wrong?

I'm tempted to join, just because I don't like the smell of this.
:boxing:

Not popular in some quarters Doc but even by their standards not a sackable offense. A whole lot of useless babble about this or that which don't amount to a hill of beans have been muted. The support for St. Pat's in written complaints to the Trustees about his behavior and their complicity vis a vis the E word has been overwhelming, from members and non members alike, with Branches who chose not to attend their meeting, backing us.We have made it clear to them that we will not stand by and be bullied, abused or expelled.

Who the $#@! does this guy think he is!!!!! he should be removed from his post forthwith!! :bye:

Can this actually be done?? surely this guy is not untouchable!!:dunno:

Support for St. Patrick's from the Netherlands

Dear mister Riley,

This email is meant to give you the opportunity to correct the impression your behaviour has made on me so far. I do hope you will take the chance to make things right for every Hibernian supporter.

As I was made painfully aware of at the last attended branche meeting of St. Pat's, the HSA doesnot give the impression to represent the whole of branches supporting our football club.
To organise a meeting at the same time as my branche's without inviting St. Pat's to discuss the ideas put forward is outrageous.

It seems hard that you will need an out of town member to remind you of our history. From the very start we have been a social club. Raised by the Irish, open to anyone. Open to other points of view, always striving to do best for the collective.

In this light, the unwillingness to discuss matters brought forward by one of the branches with the sole aim of improvement, is unacceptable. Even worse, the idea of excluding members, just for the reason they are not living in the country Hibernian FC is based at, is in simple contrast with the very meaning of our club.

I will not go into detail about the abusive language used by you to express your personal feelings towards our St. Pat's chairperson. As any civilised person would do, not even considering your position as a representative for all of us, I expect you to humbly apologise for your inappropriate behaviour. And with that we shall move forward.

As forward should be the aim for all of us. Not withstanding a difference of opinions, not withstanding personal resentments. We should, as branches united, aim for the best way of developing our interests and our Hibernian FC.

I expect you to guide this process in a democratic and rightful way. Taking in concern not only the majority, but with an eye open to a minority as well. As our club is meant to be.

Therefore I expect you, as well as the whole of HSA and the Hibernian Association Trustees, to welcome the St. Pat's branche and our ideas as an opportunity to make Hibernian FC and the HSA even better then we are today.

As always, openness is the key to our club. I therefore invite you to answer this email.

I don't expect you to agree on every point made. This is not my goal. My goal is to be a member of a club, an association and a branche open to the world. Taking into account different opinions. And from there on collectively aiming forward. This I do expect of you.

Kind regards and awaiting your response,

Just Krijn
j.krijn@hotmail.nl
Uilenburgstraatje 6
5211 ED 's-Hertogenbosch
The Netherlands

I'm not a member of HSA or any supporters groups,as I have a journey of approx 140 miles 2 every game home or away.Not missing one game this season.
So I'm independent of all affiliations.
But my impression,of Mr Riley is not a positive one,he does appear to be quite dictatorial in his approach.
The club are reconstructing,in a positive manner,and Mr Riley does not appear to be embracing that change.
I would encourage change.

G

Out of town members only pay a few quid membership, if they really want voting rights all they have to do is become a full member, there's nothing stopping them doing that.

Colin Rich (the voice of reason) :)

I along with a few others will be there on Sunday to show my support to arguably the most informative and commutative branch of the HSA.

My one and only personal experience of Mike Reilly was the day of the fan protest outside the main stand and Leanne Dempster held a meeting for the bestest fans they could find at the same time [MENTION=209]JFTB[/MENTION] couldn't make it so I went instead ( a clear upgrade :yeah:)

Everyone exchanged pleasantries and took a seat round the table, except two folk in green blazers who made a conscious choice to remove their seats and sit 15 foot away, arms folded. Refused to engage at all.

Basically, he presented himself to Dempster and a complete fannie, and not someone who should be the 'leader' of the HSA.

A vote of no confidence at the agm isn't the worst idea.

G

Out of town members only pay a few quid membership, if they really want voting rights all they have to do is become a full member, there's nothing stopping them doing that.

Colin Rich (the voice of reason) :)

Must admit I only recently realised I did not have a vote as an out of town member. I had given the difference between my reduced fee and the full fee to another Hibs cause. Next year i definately will become a full member.

It's a little known rule, an out of town member is in fact only a temporary member allowed in on match days at the discretion of the committee :)

But you're right, if you want a vote become a full member.

It's a little known rule, an out of town member is in fact only a temporary member allowed in on match days at the discretion of the committee :)

But you're right, if you want a vote become a full member.

Maybe having these "little known rules" is part of the problem. Im an Out of town member and had no idea I was a temporary member on matchdays only.

Surely everyone should be equal?

Very welcoming. Imagine someone invited you to their house but said your only welcome here at my discretion, you would tell them to bolt. Think the whole situation is pathetic, power goes to people's heads

The AGM is sunday 5th april 12 noon. Aye easter sunday, wonder if mr riley thinks easter sunday will effect the st pats members.

I'll be there bandit

Stanton Branch? Nice one, please come along in support of st pats.

Can anyone call for vote of no confidence against mr riley?

He seems to have upset lots fellow hibbys.

He seems to have a grudge agaisnt st pats? He keeps rabbiting on no members use the club on non match days.

The attendance in the hsc is dire with not many branches if any having a high midweek presence.

He needs to understand the club isnae that easy to get too. And no one can drink drive now :lookaround:
Yes i will be there,and yes you can call for a vote of no confidence,i totally back St Pats and i know big g personally,the work these guys do is fantastic,personally,i think Riley is spitting jealous of S.P.

Maybe having these "little known rules" is part of the problem. Im an Out of town member and had no idea I was a temporary member on matchdays only.

Surely everyone should be equal?

To be fair it is in the rule book and is published on our website and your branch secretary should probably have explained it to you when you joined as an 'oot'

As I have said before, there is nothing to stop anyone living out of town joining the club as a full member.

To be fair it is in the rule book and is published on our website and your branch secretary should probably have explained it to you when you joined as an 'oot'

As I have said before, there is nothing to stop anyone living out of town joining the club as a full member.
What rule book?

The association on or the club one?

The website is outdated and could do with a wee facelift.

Very welcoming. Imagine someone invited you to their house but said your only welcome here at my discretion, you would tell them to bolt. Think the whole situation is pathetic, power goes to people's heads

It's been in the rule book for around 50 years and the reality is no 'oot' member has been turned away from the club.

And at the risk of repeating myself, there's nothing to stop anyone living 'oot' becoming a full member.

What rule book?

The association on or the club one?

The website is outdated and could do with a wee facelift.

The club rules, here's a link.

http://hibsclub.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/rulesclub.pdf

You sure you're looking at the current website?

[MENTION=209]JFTB[/MENTION]... Can you post the link for a St. Patricks membership form please.

I've never been a member of any Hibs supporters club (unless the CCS counts :lookaround:) St. Pats, though, are the type of supporters club I would join. A proactive club which has raised cash for memorials which the club itself had ignored. I'd say their views on both the history and future of our club are more in line with my views than any other supporters club I have come across.

I think Mike Riley has been in the presence of Petrie too often and the arrogance has become contagious!

It's been in the rule book for around 50 years and the reality is no 'oot' member has been turned away from the club.

And at the risk of repeating myself, there's nothing to stop anyone living 'oot' becoming a full member.

You can tell it's that old, how outdated. The wording as a minimum obviously has to be changed, then a majority rule on rule change surely.

As old and outdated as having your Bebo account in yer sig? :giggle::wink:

This thread has been viewed 18523 times.