Scotland Vs Northern Ireland - Tartan Army Message Board
If attending,Will you boo GSTQ?![]()
There's no other way
All that you can do
Is watch them play
Of Course!
Still should respect anyones anthem
Course, I can't fathom this problem with booing oppositions national anthems.
Although in future I will wait til lafter the national anthem finishes to sing derogatory songs and call the opposition all sorts of colourful names.
It's also our anthem which makes it even more bizarre why some might boo it.
Not as a footballing association it's not.
Not going, but I would if I was.
absolutely never
aye boo hiss to this one as always
though i do that tae all national anthems/other teams songs anyway except la marseilles cos i jus think its a crackin tune so i usually join in
arme vos citizens
forme los battalions
marchand
marchand
SAOR ALBA
AyeThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I will be there and I will be booing the Loyalist anthem.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
You should have respect for another nations anthem. That said, they should surely choose a better one than that dirge - especially in the spirit of unity across the religious divide.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Screwed if I can come up with one though. Danny Boy?Would be a tear jerker!!
We use Flower of Scotland, no?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
England shouldn't use it either as it is a British anthem. They should use Jerusalem or something.
Frankly, I disagree with GSTQ's central sentiment - they should replace it with Land of Hope and Glory.
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
personally i wouldnt boo it and have very little positive to say about the union. i just cant fathom booing another countries anthem its highly disrespectful.
also on the subject of a nirish anthem how about hes here, hes there?
would they sing irelands call? the rugby anthem or is it to soon?
fwiw i can see a joint football team within 3 generations
If Scotland played the republic and they played the soldiers song would half the scotland crowd sing alongThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
No, as its sung in Gaelic, only soapdodging tramps sing Amhrán na bhFiann in English.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If I go, I won't boo their anthem. I never boo any other country's national anthem, as I'd expect them to show the same respect for ours.
I don't actually think anyone should be singing GSTQ, apart from British teams in the Olympics or whatever other competition it might be.
It might be yours but it is not ours. You can take it and your union flag and stick it where the sun does not shine.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
From Skye to Leith, the home of the Hibees
I booed it at both Poland v NI games during the last WC qualifiers and at Old Trafford v Ingurland-even though i was in the Ingurland end.As an athiest & a republican i find it offensive.
Most definitely.
By booing GSTQ we simply come across as the parochial, narrow minded, insular "wee Scots" that so much of the media loves to portray us as.
Perhaps time to grow out of it a wee bit?
Well said.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Did any of you stop long enough to think that GSTQ is used by the IFA to represent NI because NI doesn't have an anthem of its own.
So you wouldn't be booing the Union, Queen Liz or any other thing - you'd be booing Northern Ireland, because that is what - on this occasion - the song is representing.
I'm shocked by the number of folk in favour of booing another country's anthem (albeit it's our anthem by only default and until we get our own to use in same way that Flower of Scotland is used by the Scots).
Someone remind me why most folk on here were against an Orange walk in Leith. Something to do with intolerance IIRC.![]()
Quote of the year - 'Sure what do you know about Ireland, you're not even from Scotland' ForzaHibs 2009
The song in the fourth verse is anti Scots.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don't get you.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
How does that change anything I said in my last post?
Quote of the year - 'Sure what do you know about Ireland, you're not even from Scotland' ForzaHibs 2009
[QUOTE=Colr;824161]You should have respect for another nations anthem. That said, they should surely choose a better one than that dirge - especially in the spirit of unity across the religious divide.
Screwed if I can come up with one though. Danny Boy?Would be a tear jerker!!
[/QUOTE]
Many a true word said in jest - the Londonderry Air, given new words and a new name would recognise the fact that NI includes two main groups with very different views. I'd be all for it.
[QUOTE=Northern Ireland Hibby;824760]Well, according to Wiki:-This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The Londonderry Air (or Derry Air) is an anthem of Northern Ireland. It is also popular among the Irish diaspora and very well known throughout the world. The tune is played as the Northern Ireland anthem at the Commonwealth Games. "Danny Boy" is a popular set of lyrics to the tune. Australian composer Percy Grainger wrote numerous settings of this tune.
This verse was only ever used briefly, before the song was considered an anthem, and the line was intended to refer to the Jacobites specifically rather than the Scottish nation as a whole.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
That of course is only a section of opinion though.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
Manchester?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
It is a very good reason why some folk have strong feelings about the song.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A bit hypocritical surely ? after sending Edward home to think again ?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
In fairness, it's not really mate.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If O Flower of Scotland, was the English national anthem, then it would be hypocritical.
Would itThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
Well yeah, because it's the fact that "our own" National Anthem of God Save the Queen is insulting to the people who it is supposed to be representing.
Whereas O Flower of Scotland, is our national anthem, and is insulting to other nations.
Depends if it actually is our anthem or not i suppose , some say yes some say noThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Actually, its not and never has been. GSTQ is the British national anthem and is anti-Scots so it's understandable that Scottish people don't like it, even if sung by other nations such as NI.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
"Son, no one gives a shit about all the things your cell phone does. You didn't invent it, you just bought it. Anybody can do that."
No it isn't. As I said before, that verse was added in, not by the original author, after it was written and dropped out again quite a while before it was adopted as the anthem. There are numerous other verses that have been added then dropped over the centuries - mostly anti-French.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As it stands the anthem is not anti-Scots. It is however a dirge which does not appeal to athiest republicans like myself.![]()
Welcome to Scotland (home of the little people)This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The English should change their anthem to the Lydon/Jones/Cook/Matlock version. That I would quite happily sing along with.
The other song is the worst load of pish ever written.
Still, let's not boo it, that's disrespectful to the Irish. Lampoon it by doing a conga whilst it is getting played.
Go with that!!This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
I thought that was Ireland.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I thought it was LilliputThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote![]()
@ Hibadelic and Skyehibs - that's one way of looking at it.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But, IMHO, the fact that the Scots have a beef against the English is no reason to take it out on NI guests in your country - they are only using the song because they don't have one of their own yet.
Saying that, I reckon you'll have some absolute dregs of so-called NI supporters in Scotland for the game. I'll be giving it a miss and so are most of the folk I know.
[QUOTE=Colr;824782]'An anthem of NI'. That's true, sort of. But it's only recognised by some.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'd like to see it used by the NI team, in time. It might be necessary to have two anthems - LA/DA and GSTQ - for quite a while first, as anything else would cause such a row it would bring out the worst in the support and set cross-community football here back by a decade.
[QUOTE=Northern Ireland Hibby;825075]As part of the new NI, why dont you have a respected NI composer come up with a new anthem, with words that only deals with the landscape, and avoids any "human" elements. ie Lough Neagh?This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Or use a classic like "the black velvet band". Top tune.
[QUOTE=Stennyhibee;825091]I'd love a new anthem for NI, but like I said if it is done too early or handled wrongly them the politicians could turn it into a big enough row to pull Stormont apart.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'd go for the Londonderry Air tune. Getting new words written which everyone would be happy with would be a very, very tall order but they did it with the police crest so in theory it is possible.
Personally, the day when folk in NI stand to an anthem of their own will be a very, very happy one for me as it will mean that folk here have developed a bit of pride in their own home instead of always, at any cost, keeping their blinkered vision towards London or Dublin.
[QUOTE=Northern Ireland Hibby;825075]@ Colr - a quick bit of research suggests that the original name for the tune is Londonderry Air, so - like Derry City Council and Apprentice Boys of Derry - it isn't properly interchangable.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I reckon we'd need a new name for the tune anyway as there'd be no mileage in contininually dragging up the sordid little debate the folk of Londondoire have been having for years about their own name every time the thing is sung!
I'd boo English Royalist anthem GSTQ against England, it sounded hilarious when we drowned it out completely in 1999. It's no the North's fault that it's their only anthem though is it?