Hibs dominated, we were and are better than St Johnsone, but if we don't take our chances, we will not win games. There were chances, I think we had fifteen attempts at goal? But we do not score enough of them. Murray had a couple of chances, Stokes too, even Swanson who came on late in the game might have got us a winner. But we didn't. Don't get me wrong, it was not all one way traffic, first 10 - 15 minutes and for 10 minutes second half, Saints bettered us and might have added to their goal.
Hibs are nice to watch, we are dangerous, we link up well. In John McGinn we have a real player, Stokes makes chances but is also a greedy bugger, Simon Murray when given a ball he can actually do something with looks a handful and Boyler is like a new signing. Defensively, after our usual early match wobbles, we are solid and confident, especially Efe and Paul today. But we dinnae kill teams off. Had we done so at Dundee and again today, we would be top end of the league, as it stands, we are sixth.
The Hibs fans back the team, nearly half the 5500 crowd were backing Hibs today and were still trickling in after 25 minutes due to the shambles that is central Scotlands roads. Some wont get home for hours yet. Bit of a "Family" reunion too with plenty old faces out for a day away. I suggest the M9 is the way north, its longer, but it moves, the bridges are a shambles.
Still, we are clearly a good solid team, we are capable of doing very well, we just need to work out how to score?
The Team
Marciano's kicking was poor today I thought, although he had no chance at the goal, he was rarely tested, which says it all.
David Gray, captain of Hibernian on the day he scored the winner v the Huns in the 2016 Scottish Cup Final had a decent game today and linked up well with Boyler in front of him.
Efe had a great game, smoking jacket on, large cigar on the go, lovely pair of gold lame(y) slippers afoot, he strolled through the game, nudging the Saints strikers out the way as he tidied up the mess and looked every bit the great fitba player he can be. After the first 10 minute wobbles of course.
Paul Hanlon too was magnificent at the back, its great having a fit, switched on Paul playing, a graceful defender who has class and nowadays, plenty strength.
I dinnae like Whittaker at left back, and first half O'Halloran gave him a hard time. He was much, much better second half, he dealt with the Irish Hun and got forward well. Improving.
Marvin Bartley done the Marvin Bartley job in the middle, its no pretty, its no graceful, its no exciting, but we need someone to do it. His rash kick out at the Saint J player with a minute of injury time to go was stupid and could have lost us the game.
I thought John McGinn was excellent, especially first half. He looks strong, loves beating 2 3 4 players, but his weakness is his inability to pull the trigger and he is no too good at corners.
Martin Boyle came back in and frankly I thought he was great. OK he does make the odd mistake, but his all round game was first class and he is the most improved player in a Hibs shirt I have seen since Paul Hanlon went to boxing training. Very impressed with Boyler, he really has kicked on.
On the contrary, I thought Barker was woeful and should not be starting. I spent the first half thinking Stokes was out of position and guff, turns out he and Barker look so similar and the 20 and 28 numbers so confusing ye cannae tell the difference. That is til you notice the stupid cut outs on his socks behind his calfs. Buck up son, and wtf are the socks about? I would have hooked him after an hour.
Anthony Stokes will be a Hibs hero the rest of his life. However he is a greedy bugger, lazy and needs to learn to be a team player. He does thread the odd pass through to Murray and the wingers, he has at least half a dozen lovely touches every game, but if there is a chance, he shoots. He didnae score, it was an own goal although Hibs fans in the main stand assumed Tony has scored due to his celebration. Team pal, team. Should have scored near the end but blasted it over. He is very frustrating.
I felt a bit sorry for Simon Murray, he has to feed off of scraps, often passed to him between his neck and waist and playing beside Stokesy who really never wants to pass. His mazy run for our goal was a sight to behold though. If I was critical it would be to say he has to be more physical, he stood waiting for a Saint to make a mistake at a corner where a barging half header might have got him a goal. Should have scored first half.
Subs
Swanson came on for the hopeless Barker and other than pass up a decent chance to score, pissed about too much and done little.
Matu Fi Lith came on for Stokes for 30 seconds, he didnae get a touch. Why bother?
Whilst I can see what Neil is doing with the shape, our formation is very positive, very attacking and almost cheeky given the opposition. However Barker no kicking a ball meant that it was left to the 9 others to do the work. I dinnae like Whitts at left back, maybe that is just me? Make some changes earlier Neil, and get Slivka on, he is a player.
I thought the referee was excellent. There is a line you don't read very often.
I also thought that St Johnstone were a very good team to watch, but they are not as good as Hibs. It was clear early in the second half, they were happy with a draw. We need to grasp these situations. Best for them were O'Halloran and Witherspoon. Cannae be easy when less than 3000 home fans bother to come along.
The Hibs support was large, although somewhat muted. Fair play for the applause when Spoony was subbed, and fair play the Saintees for doing the same when Swanson came on for Hibs. Isn't fitba cuddly, ffs.
Best for Hibs today for me were Barts, who was solid, John McGinn who I have a man crush on, Boyler who came back in and looked really good yet again and Paul Hanlon who is simply classy. However I thought Efe was great today, calmness personified, he is so confident in his ability, even his one Efe moment didnae bother him.
Next one, high flying Motherwell at the Holy Ground, a tough one again, but it is good to be back in the top league, and better that Hibs really do look like a good premier team, just lacking the clinical finishing we require to do well.
See you behind the goals!