Bought this mother of an album 43 years ago. Still quality.
St. Patrick's a Progressive Supporters Branch
"I did not need any persuasion to play for such a great club, the Hibs result is still one of the first I look for"
Sir Matt Busby
good wee tune
until the sky turns green
Something old:
Something new:
Something borrowed:
Something blue:
Seems the Boss covered the Suicide song above as a tribute to his fans. What an unlikely pairing, but it works.
Flagged for @Greenmachine on the remote off chance he's not come across it
One of my auld man's favourites - RIP Dad x
Thanks for that EGB...great video and song which Bruce put together as a tribute to his fans at the end of the 2013/14 World TourThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sorry for your loss Bomber
Give the original a whirl if you haven't - you'll see what a non-obvious choice it is for Springsteen and yet I think he's done it really well. Sort of a bit like Nine Inch Nails / Johnny Cash 'Hurt'This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Bruce must have been performing that song live on and off for 10 years or more before the video and recording released on High Hopes recently...superlative coverThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
picked up Wrecking Ball on vinyl in Fopp earlier today for 11 quid, delighted with that
Bomber very sorry to read there of your sad loss, RIP.
forever we'll be singing
I didn't know that T. I am a big admirer of Springsteen but in no way a dedicated fan. I was fortunate enough to see him on that tour through various convoluted circumstances and he was fantastic.i like the way he speaks to me as I get older versus things that are more stuck in youth.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What I really like about the cover is what it suggests about his own breadth of listening. That song is an accessible effort from an otherwise fearsomely 'out there' duo, who while Bruce was ripping it up we're putting out stuff that only electro geeks like me could possibly go near. I like to think it shows a musical curiosity in the fella, which is wan element of his genius albeit he himself expresses that in more Everyman form - which I mean as the polar opposite of a slight, for the avoidance of doubt.
If you curious, check out ghost rider, che or, if you're a really going for it, Frankie teardrop by suicide. In fact stick with ghost rider and then make a decision
Thanks for bringing Chvrches to my attention, egb - they're my new favourite thing!This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteI've discovered that they've even covered an old favourite Bauhaus track of mine from my teenage years in the '80s!
Think I might nip over to Gorgie Farm and count some Chickens before they've hatched
Listen to Florence + The Machine on @appleMusic.
https://itun.es/gb/RXmWq Quite like this
It is in truth not for glory nor riches nor honours that we are fighting but for freedom
"I did not need any persuasion to play for such a great club, the Hibs result is still one of the first I look for"
Sir Matt Busby
Think I might nip over to Gorgie Farm and count some Chickens before they've hatched
Dub on Air with Dennis Bovell (06/09/2015) by Soho Radio | Mixcloud
Dennis Bovell tribute to the late Rico Rodriguez, play it loud.
Something old:
Something new:
Something borrowed:
Something blue:
Nobody, but nobody is better than Tom Waits when you're drunk on whisky. Accept no substitutes!
Pretend that you owe me nothing
And all the world is green
We can bring back the old days again
Kto buja wysoko, bywa próżny.
My mates ,Mick,John,Iain and Pete performing at this gig when me and my lads were in the company of the Gallagher brothers. At one point half way through a section of the audience at the front started chanting 'Oasis, Oasis we want Oasis' or some such thing at which Mick and the band stopped playing and to paraphrase Mick said ' Shut the $#@! up, we're doing 12 numbers and that's what we're $#@!in gonna do'. Applause, the chanting stopped and they finished their set. A very memorable day and night.
Sir Matt Busby
I know people have varying opinions on Mogwai. Personally, i $#@!in love them. Stunning soundscapes and wonderful guitar. Post-Rock at it`s beautiful best.
This is a terrific live offering from an American TV show, of one of their faster tunes, 'San Pedro' from the 'Hardcore wont Die..' album.
I started out with nothing and i`ve still got most of it left.
" Without people, you`re nothing.." - Joe Strummer.
Mogwai are greatThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Off to see these guys tomorrow night courtesy of 'oor' Ex goalkeeper Andrew McNeil's father. Andy snr is celebrating his 50th at The Royal Overseas Club in Princess St and is still active in the mod scene and has been since the beginning of the revival days. He's really pulled out the stops by inviting the Redstarts to play for which is going to make for a really decent birthday bash.
@Sancho Panza
That psb track is nearly brilliant. There's something annoyingly elusive that juts falls short for me: maybe the geetar and keyboard riff being a bit too obvious, I dunno. But it's so close to being the bomb. I shall be looking into their stuff. Thanks for bringing to my attention.
I used to post about these guys a decade a go but it wasn't on YouTube then. For electronic heads - too little too late now, but an Edinburgh band that should have made it;
Kto buja wysoko, bywa próżny.
Yes they are. Any of you Mogwai fans watch The Returned? New series started on Friday on More4.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
@egb
Glad you liked the PSB track. The album The Race For Space is really rather good. It's a concept album (but in a good way!) covering the main events of the space race between the USA and the USSR. I particularly like The Other Side, which samples the dialogue between mission control and the crew of Apollo 8 as they briefly lose contact while the craft passes behind the back side of the moon. It's strangely tense and ultimately uplifting. Looking back on that era I think there's something very heroic about the men and women who were prepared to be hurled into low-earth orbit in a tin can.
Like that Magnificents track btw. Echoes of Kraftwerk and the samples from the PSB stuff.
Here's something else you might like in an electronica / ambient techno stylee:
Last edited by Sancho Panza; 17-10-15 at 23:20.
Glamtastic, so good my bairn pinched the cd!
And still folk say that white American bands are pish. Joking apart EEG... This is just superb.
Sir Matt Busby
Love The Supremes so i do, more so their early 60's RnB stuff, but i've been playing one of their LP's from the 70's tonight - one of the tracks...
Utter quality!
Sir Matt Busby
For yet another one I lost - fur immer mate
Been spinning an early 60's to mid 60's LP from the O'Jays and this track is such a standout...
Sir Matt Busby
I've been giving "Different Class" by Pulp a spin.
The album was released 20 years ago today (30/10/1995) and still sounds great. On a personal note, this was an important album for me as it was one of the first I really obsessed about as teenager and I found Jarvis $#@!er's tales of working class weirdos incredibly relatable. It's definitely the reason I started learning to play instruments, trying to write songs and ended up pissing about in bands well into my 20's.
For me it now stands tall as the best album of the Britpop era bar none. They've been incredible live each time I've seen them too.
Take it away Jarvis and co...
For the lost boys. My heart was broken.
Sir Matt Busby
Triple espresso and the young Scousers of the Tea Street Band. A great way to start any day. Weather pish but cannae dampen anticipation for tonights game.
Sir Matt Busby
A wee shout for a friends band, I think Dan ( the singer) is really very talented with a lovely tone.
Canvey Island's finest.
Ballboy - The Sash My Father Wore - YouTube
the young Porty boy Danny is superb, not sure about the Scumderland style kit though..This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sir Matt Busby
its a biggie