| West of Scotland West of Scotland Supporters' Club. Here you will find news. views, and rendevous. |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
Help Required - Glasgow Restaurants
There is a group of us heading up from Bolton on Friday and staying in Glasgow. One of the group is celebrating his 50th birthday. Could anyone point me to a restaurant, something a wee bit special in Glasgow?
Any help would be much appreciated. |
Re: Help Required - Glasgow Restaurants
The Cabin, Dumbarton Road, Whiteinch (Scots/Irish)
The Ubiquitous Chip, Ashton Lane off Byres Road, 0141 334 5007 (Scottish) Rab Ha's 83 Hutcheson Street G1 1SH 0141 572 0400 (Scottish) Bouzy Rouge 111 West Regent Street G2 2RU 0141 221 8804 (Brasserie/French) Mister Singh's 149 Elderslie Street G3 7AW 0800 195 3195 (Indian) some of my favourite restaurants anyway
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Many thanks Moray |
Radge From The West Side
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Aye, it depends what you are looking for.
Sauchiehall Street is curry heaven, one Indian restaurant after another, although my personal fave is Panjea, opposite the Mitchell Theatre up at Charing Cross. For a good all-round night out, with quality resaturants and pubs, though, the best choice is either the West End or The Merchant City. Loads of different types of restaurants and pubs, and both are buzzing at the weekend. Jump in a cab and ask for either Ashton Lane (as per The Vinster) or The Merchant City, with Ashton Lane shading it IMO. Both are close to the city centre. Enjoy, anyway, dude, you'll have a tip top time. It's the best city in the world. PS Does that mean I get a pint too ? |
Official 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
For a great curry, The Village near Tradeston is ace. Authentic Indian food, but it's not licensed so maybe not great for a birthday do.
Ubiquitous Chip is lovely, quite pricey but if you sit upstairs it's a bit more reasonable. There's a lovely Tapas restaurant in the Merchant City, can't remember the name of it but it's inside the Merchant Square. Lovely authentic Spanish food, quick service and good prices. Tapas are really good for a party type affair as you can just keep ordering for ages, a lot less formal. Mother India's cafe opposite the Kelvinhall Museum is really good too, they do thall which is basically Indian tapas, and again quite informal and relaxed. They're licensed too. And, if you want really special, Ichiban is a lovely Japanese restaurant, one on Queen Street and one in the West End. They do a wide variety of stuff, not just sushi. Hope this helps, but just noticed it's tonight you're going so this may be too late. Anyways, some ideas for the next time. Mine's a Guinness To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Thanks lads, Curry is not on the Agenda as we get enough of that down here ( love it by the way). Scottish fare is the order of the day and am booked into the Ubiquitous Chip ( I'm no payin')
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I will be up again in Glasgow in due course and for all your help will of course supply you each with one half pint of lager shandy To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Cheers lads Moray |
Official 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)
I'm a girl, but I'll forgive you for the assumption ;)
UC is ace, only been there once though. I recommend the Scottish Salmon, or the veggie haggis. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Paisley Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2003
Just to let u know there is a supporters branch for the hibs based in Glasgow if you fancy coming along to the next meeting.... all meetings etc are posted on this board so keep an eye out for the next one.... Cheers Mark
Ah nice one mate thanks, was gonna look into that too. What's the crack of the meetings, are they pub-based, in a small dark ungerground basement with blacked-out windows..? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Email me on To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. to be added to our mailing list, and be kept up-to-date with all the goings on at NI Hibs HQ. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
vCash: 500 Thanks: 9
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. How did you know? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Email me on To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. to be added to our mailing list, and be kept up-to-date with all the goings on at NI Hibs HQ. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Although the windows aren't boarded up, it just doesn't have any!
Loki is one of the major deities in the Norse pantheon. He is a son of the giant Farbauti ("cruel striker") and the giantess Laufey. He is regarded as one of [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register], but is on occasion their enemy. He is connected with fire and magic, and can assume many different shapes (horse, falcon, fly). He is crafty and malicious, but is also heroic: in that aspect he can be compared with the trickster from North American myths. The ambivalent god grows progressively more unpleasent, and is directly responsible for the death of [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register], the god of light.
Loki's mistress is the giantess [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register], and with her he is the father of three monsters. His wife is Sigyn, who stayed loyal to him, even when the gods punished him for the death of Balder. He was chained to three large boulders; one under his shoulders, one under his loins and one under his knees. A poisonous snake was placed above his head. The dripping venom that lands on him is caught by Sigyn in a bowl. But every now and then, when the bowl is filled to the brim, she has to leave him to empty it. Then the poison that falls on Loki's face makes him twist in pain, causing earthquakes. On the day of [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register], Loki's chains will break and he will lead the giants into battle against the gods. Loki is often called the Sly One, the Trickster, the Shape Changer, and the Sky Traveler. Any clues there?
I'm impressed Bill, did you just happen to know that?
Things were discussed, plans were put into action. Not sure if it was a Hibs Supporters Group meeting though. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
That's me, aye. On my days off from causing mischief, darkness and evil throughout the globe, I go to football matches. Unfortunately, I'm bound by ancient rules of Valda to not cause any mischief that will directly affect any game of any sport, which is why Hibs haven't won the league and celtic still exist. I'm working on a loophole though. Bear with me. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Slavia Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
And here was me thinking Loki was a reference to the reformed Lokomotiv Leipzig - I've a one track mind so I have ...
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I thought Loki was Thor's arch-enemy in the Marvel comics. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
__________________ To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Email me on To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currentl |