Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > West of Scotland

West of Scotland West of Scotland Supporters' Club. Here you will find news. views, and rendevous.

View Poll Results: Favourite Pole ?
Lech Walesa. Ex President of Poland, Statesman, Nobel laureate 3 15.00%
Kazimierz Deyna. Footballer, actor, croissanteur. 1 5.00%
Marie Sklodowska-Curie. Scientist and Nobel Laureate. 2 10.00%
John Paul II. Dead pope. 4 20.00%
Jan Tomaszewski. Legendary shot stopper of yester year. Famously denied England a place at the 1974 W/Cup 5 25.00%
Jerzy Dudek. Liverpool goalie with rubbishy beard. 4 20.00%
Dr Albert Bruce Sabin. Virologist - Oral poliomyelitis vaccine 0 0%
Henryk Mikolaj Gorecki. Composer. 1 5.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Old 03-05-05, 23:05   #1
Radge From The West Side

Joe T Fan Club is on the way to a first team debut
Poll Of The Month : May 2005

Who Is Your Favourite Pole In The World...Ever ?
Joe T Fan Club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 23:12   #2

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Poll Of The Month : May 2005

Originally Posted by Joe T Fan Club
Who Is Your Favourite Pole In The World...Ever ?
clothes.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 23:12   #3
Slavia Radge

glasgowian is on the way to a first team debut

Where the feck is Jan Tomaszewski ?

glasgowian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 23:36   #4
Radge From The West Side

Could only fit in 8 options.

Which of that fine list do you suggest the poll panel considers omitting in favour of the infamous 1973 Polish shot stopping wizard ?
Old 03-05-05, 23:42   #5
Slavia Radge

glasgowian is on the way to a first team debut

Polanski. Admitting to sex with a 13 year old isnae big or clever.

glasgowian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 23:43   #6
Radge From The West Side

Yeah ? Feck. Why does nobody tell me these things. He's out, the clown's in
Old 04-05-05, 08:24   #7

Kenny will become famous soon enough

gotta be lech for the tash...

Old 04-05-05, 16:39   #8

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

pope john poll for me.

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-05, 23:14   #9
Radge From The West Side

Poll is going well this month.

It's neck and neck out in front, with Walesa, JPII and Tomasweski ducking and diving and dodging and swerving for position on the rails.

Coming up on the outside close behind are Curie and Dudek, with Funk, Sabin and Gorecki still to get off the starting line.

First prize this month incidentally is two of my own jars of "Bay View" Pickled, Smoked Polish Sausage. I'm sure I have a picture of them somewhere.
Old 05-05-05, 23:15   #10
Radge From The West Side

Ah, here we are.

Old 08-05-05, 08:51   #11

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by glasgowian
Where the feck is Jan Tomaszewski ?
And where the funk is Kazimierz Deyna? 33 goals for Poland and starred in Escape To Victory.

Kazimierz Funk should be dropped. I bet he didn't have a bakery-related nickname like Deyna - "Kazimierz Deyna was the best Polish player in history. He was nicknamd 'rogal' (croissant). His team mates called him that because Deyna's shots looked like croissants. His life was just like his shots - unforeseeable." ... Krzysio Bandych

Shoots like a croissant - class

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-05, 09:50   #12
Radge From The West Side

The poll committee debated long and hard about this one before choosing the shortlist for this poll, however Deyna was excluded specifically because they didn't want too many soccer related entries. Hence the inclusion of visionaries such as Kazimierz "The Bagel" Funk.

As he had feck all votes though, he clearly wasn't such a visionary after all. Funk's out, Deyna's in.

Hardly think he "starred" in Escape To Victory, a couple of wee dribbles here and there, maybe. Died in a car crash in America several years ago, if I'm not mistaken.
Old 08-05-05, 10:01   #13

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Deyna vote duly recorded. Top marks Brian. It's your unerring ability to listen to, empathise with and meet the demands of your public that makes you the undisputed number 1 Westie. And vote rigging too.

Old 08-05-05, 20:10   #14
Radge From The West Side

Lovely words, mate. Thanks.
Old 08-05-05, 20:23   #15
Mad Dug Radge

erskine-hibby is on the way to a first team debut

Pole dancer for me
erskine-hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-05, 13:24   #16

fieryjack is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by erskine-hibby
Pole dancer for me
Wasted vote mate. He'll be relegated with Dundee shortly
fieryjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-05, 13:27   #17
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

Jariusz Janakowski......kicker for the Oakland Raiders.....boozer and rule breaker extraordinaire, too drunk to play, too good to kick out
ZemmamasBarnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-05, 15:09   #18

Ah, here we are.

Now, if I was the marketing manager of Bay View I'd be rebranding those as 'Bobbits'.

Old 12-05-05, 00:18   #19
Radge From The West Side

Less than a day of voting to go and Dudek has made a late charge.

It's currently a three way tie between JPII and the two goalies, Tomaszewski and Dudek.

Nail biting stuff. If this one goes all the way to penalties then I don't fancy JP's chances much with those two legends between the sticks.
Old 12-05-05, 01:17   #20

Less than a day of voting to go and Dudek has made a late charge.

It's currently a three way tie between JPII and the two goalies, Tomaszewski and Dudek.

Nail biting stuff. If this one goes all the way to penalties then I don't fancy JP's chances much with those two legends between the sticks.
I'd stick a few bob on JP if he's allowed to use his own mitre.

Old 12-05-05, 08:37   #21

Kenny will become famous soon enough

I heard JP was shit hot with crosses too.

Old 12-05-05, 23:28   #22
Radge From The West Side

Poll is closed, congratulations to Glasgowian's late entry, Jan "The Clown" Tomaszewski, who pipped John "The Pope" Paul and Jerzy Dudek to the title.

We hope to see Jan at the poll winners party at Molly Malone's in December along with the other monthly winners.

Well done, Jan !

Here's a picture of him blowing snorters out of his nose.

Old 13-05-05, 02:23   #23

Apparently Jan works as a commentator on 'Magazyn Gol' on Wizja TV in Poland. So I've e-mailed the company to ask them to tell Jan that he's won our poll of Poles. If he replies I'll invite him to Molly Malone's.