HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums the hive night club Bounce-Shop
WANT to join the bounce? Click here to register.Already a member? Login below.
Connect with Facebook

COWSHED For the discussion of politics, current affairs and religion - it's sort of moderated, board rules still apply.

Casino Banner

Old 25-02-08, 22:51   #1
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is just really nicesnoots is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £130121

A Velvet Underground Holy Grail

This just appeared last week from Nowhere.

http://download.yousendit.com/0ADEDDAD00E8C740

Review and artwork below from elsewhere - grab this even if your just a casual fan. Great sound quality as well as an unreleased song.

The Gymnasium, New York City, New York

The son of the Dom's Polish owner approached Andy Warhol with the idea of a new club in New York called The Gymnasium. The venue, located in the East 70s, was originally a Czechoslovakian health and social club. The gym equipment would be left out for the nightclubbers to use. But without an exclusive lease and a poor location, the club failed.

Ad: in Village Voice, April 1967: "Andy Warhol Presents The Complete Spectrum Of Sound With The Velvet Underground, The Dick Hyman Trio & Tony Scott, One Of The World's Greatest Clarinetists; Every Fri & Sat"

Cale said in some interviews he owns the tape of the entire Gymnasium show, including Walk It As You Talk It with a really good guitar sound. There's an 'old' recording of Guess I'm Falling In Love, broadcasted on WPIX FM by John Cale on June 3, 1979, and available on some bootlegs like And So On LP or Everything You've Ever Heard... 3LP box set. This version sounds clearly different (seems without drums) from the Peel Slowly And See box set version and has some lyrics differences (the box set version begins with "I got fever..." while the 'old' version begins with "I got MY fever..."). On the WPIX tape where Cale plays the 'old' version he clearly says that it is from a tape he stumbled across. He definitely says "Gymnasium, April 1967". So where comes from the 'box set' version?

The Exploding Plastic Inevitable………………..Ad: for April 30 date, "A NEW HAPPENING DISCOTHEQUE JOINS THE SWINGING SIDE OF SINGLE NEW YORK" in New York Guide To The Swinging Side Of Single New York, vol. 1, issue 18, p. 3. Reproduced in c/o The Velvet Underground catalogue p. 66. Photo: in Esquire, December 1967 issue. Press article: by Howard Smith in The Village Voice, May 11, 1967.

At some point during a three-week residency at the New York Gymnasium, which began just three days after their Michigan meeting, the Velvets-who were billed beneath both Warhol and Nico in Gymnasium press ads-jettisoned their imposed prima donna and her artistic ally.

snoots is online now   Reply With Quote
Custom Search
Old 25-02-08, 23:40   #2
psychocandy

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £128358

Re: A Velvet Underground Holy Grail

much appreciated

got a copy of 'down is up for you' (live, but not the best sound quality) if you want me to upload
psychocandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 14:18   #3
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by psychocandy View Post
much appreciated

got a copy of 'down is up for you' (live, but not the best sound quality) if you want me to upload

Cheers - have some more live Velvets which I can post to you - maybe privately as it seems no one else is interested :.)

This boot is great - I'm only a casual fan but have heard of these legendary shows as they were part of the promotion for the Banana cover LP. Can't believe the sound quality- fantastic. This shoudl have been the second album.
Old 26-02-08, 16:29   #4
aggie

ER Seat: Plough, Wandsworth, in front of the big screen
aggie is on the way to a first team debut

Virtual Cash: £127257

Mood
Gay

Good work fella- this is mint
aggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 16:36   #5
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by aggie View Post
Good work fella- this is mint

A guy called Andy Rooney did all the leg work.

It's surprisingly brilliant isn't it.
Old 26-02-08, 18:38   #6
Archie

Archie will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £127497

Looks fantastic - wow - looking forward to this one. I've a few Velvet's boots, but haven't seen this one. Anybody go to the Edinburgh concert - maybe 15 years ago - saw them and the Trashcan Sinatras in the same night.

Last edited by Archie; 26-02-08 at 19:10.
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 18:57   #7
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by Archie View Post
haven't seen this one.
This only became available last week, Archie. No one knew it existed till then.
Old 26-02-08, 19:11   #8
Archie

Archie will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £127497

Originally Posted by snoots View Post
Cheers - have some more live Velvets which I can post to you - maybe privately as it seems no one else is interested :.)
Don't jump to conclusions now!
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 20:06   #9
mick55

ER Seat: east stand
mick55 is on the way to a first team debut

Virtual Cash: £127279

Farking great bro ye dont have to send it now .
mick55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 20:10   #10
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by mick55 View Post
Farking great bro ye dont have to send it now .
Told ye. Worth it for the new song alone.
Old 26-02-08, 20:13   #11
mick55

ER Seat: east stand
mick55 is on the way to a first team debut

Virtual Cash: £127279

aye it is that
mick55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 20:53   #12
Riordan
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £127508

Mood
Amazed

Stunning cheers. I love the velvet underground big fan of cale and reed on thier own too, but this is real music.. imho obviously
Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-08, 23:35   #13
psychocandy

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post
Stunning cheers. I love the velvet underground big fan of cale and reed on thier own too, but this is real music.. imho obviously
good to see someone whose a bit younger into them. i remember getting the pish ripped into me when i was about 15 for wearing a velvets t-shirt.

ill sort down is up for you out tomorrow, got to get it off my other harddrive.
Old 27-02-08, 02:09   #14
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post
big fan of cale and reed on thier own
Love Slow Dazzle and my fav all time record connected to the VU is Lou's "Berlin" which he played live last year in it's entirety. Wish I'd caught that.

Originally Posted by Archie View Post
Don't jump to conclusions now!
OK

I've also got a Four CD set which gathers a lot of the best VU indivdual song recordings. Trickier to upload using yousendit as I'd have to split them up into 5 or 6 zip files but worthwhile over a couple of weeks if anyone wants them.
Old 27-02-08, 10:15   #15
Hibee Kev

ER Seat: West Stand Upper
Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £254686

Mood
Amused

I'm not a massive fan of the velvets but I can appreciate why folk like them, plus their influence on modern day bands such as The Strokes is indisputable.
I have an R.E.M. album called "dead letter office" which has several velvets covers on it, I'd be interested to hear what the originals sound like
Hibee Kev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-08, 10:21   #16
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by Hibee Kev View Post
I'm not a massive fan of the velvets but I can appreciate why folk like them, plus their influence on modern day bands such as The Strokes is indisputable.
I have an R.E.M. album called "dead letter office" which has several velvets covers on it, I'd be interested to hear what the originals sound like
What are the song titles?
Old 27-02-08, 11:16   #17
Hibee Kev

Mood
Amused

What are the song titles?
Pale Blue Eyes, There She Goes Again, and Femme Fatale. Great songs, though I've no idea how close they sound to the originals.
Old 27-02-08, 11:45   #18
aggie

ER Seat: Plough, Wandsworth, in front of the big screen
aggie is on the way to a first team debut

Virtual Cash: £127257

Mood
Gay

Pale Blue Eyes, There She Goes Again, and Femme Fatale. Great songs, though I've no idea how close they sound to the originals.
Pale Blue Eyes is probably one of my favourite songs of all time, let alone favourite Velvets. The usual entry level Velvet Underground is generally The Velvet Underground & Nico, but for me if you're gonna buy or download one album, make it the eponymous one. Some Kinda Love, What Goes On, Jesus- in fact the entire thing is without exception some of the best music you will ever hear.
I remember being about 19, sitting in my flat smoking gear (when it still made me giggle and have long interesting conversations....!), and I heard What Goes On for the first time on some 60s compilation album. Suffice to say I listened to it about 3 times utterly dumbstruck. Seminal stuff.
And try shagging to Venus in Furs- can be quite intense...
aggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-08, 12:52   #19
psychocandy

my favourite velvets records is white light/white heat, the production on it is mental. so raw. reminds me of a psychadelic version of the sonics
Old 27-02-08, 13:37   #20
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Pale Blue Eyes, There She Goes Again, and Femme Fatale.
Check 'em out and report back. For academic purposes only of course.

http://download.yousendit.com/46CCD9BB59238ACE
Old 27-02-08, 13:41   #21
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by aggie View Post
I heard What Goes On for the first time on some 60s compilation album. Suffice to say I listened to it about 3 times utterly dumbstruck. Seminal stuff.
The only thing wrong with the above bootleg is there isn't a version of What Goes On there.
Old 27-02-08, 16:17   #22
Riordan
Tetris Playing Radge

Riordan is just really niceRiordan is just really niceRiordan is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £127508

Mood
Amazed

Love the track "guess im falling in love"

as for younger people liking velvet underground, i love loads of real music. reed, velvet, santana, old chilis, stones, who... its my dads fault lol
Riordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-08, 19:50   #23
Hibee Kev

Mood
Amused

Check 'em out and report back. For academic purposes only of course.

http://download.yousendit.com/46CCD9BB59238ACE

Wow, actually better than the versions by Athens' finest! Not too dis-similar, obviously apart from the distinctive vocals of Lou Reed and Michael Stipe. Pale blue eyes is beautiful song. Cheers for that.

I don't know how to use that file exchange thingy, but if you PM me an email address and I can send you the R.E.M. versions if you like?
Old 27-02-08, 20:08   #24
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Wow, actually better than the versions by Athens' finest! Not too dis-similar, obviously apart from the distinctive vocals of Lou Reed and Michael Stipe. Pale blue eyes is beautiful song. Cheers for that.

I don't know how to use that file exchange thingy, but if you PM me an email address and I can send you the R.E.M. versions if you like?

Thanks mate but REM aren't really on my radar. I'll be able to check them at a pals house - he has all their records.

Glad you liked the VU stuff. Cheers.
Old 27-02-08, 21:06   #25
Brainwrong
Spaktacuradge

ER Seat: in the area full of Eastern promise
Brainwrong is just really niceBrainwrong is just really niceBrainwrong is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £130064

Mood
Twisted

Thanks for this Snoots. Waiting For My Man was one of the first songs I learnt on the guitar. Used to be really into Velvets, Lou Reed etc. this has rekindled lots of nice memories. Cheers.
Old 28-02-08, 02:42   #26
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by Brainwrong View Post
Thanks for this Snoots. Waiting For My Man was one of the first songs I learnt on the guitar.
Starting with the difficult ones, eh!

Used to be really into Velvets, Lou Reed etc. this has rekindled lots of nice memories. Cheers.
S'cool glad everyone is getting it and enjoyin it. Boots should be free.
Old 28-02-08, 08:18   #27
tricky

ER Seat: The Terrazio
tricky will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £127115

lifted a copy of this and was listening to it loud as fcuk before going to the game last night and again when I got in, really enjoyed it and as stated sound quality is great for a bootleg.

cheers
Old 28-02-08, 16:33   #28
gun ainm

gun ainm is a jewel in the roughgun ainm is a jewel in the rough

Virtual Cash: £129002

Mood
Psychadelic

Nice one Snoots - been a while since i listened to VU but am loving their work all over again.
Even the most wretched individual of our present society could not exist and develop without the cumulative social efforts of countless generations. Thus the individual, his freedom and reason, are the products of society, and not the vice versa: society is not the product of individuals comprising it; and the higher, the more fully the individual is developed, the greater his freedom -- and the more he is the product of society, the more does he receive from society and the greater his debt to it."
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-08, 18:29   #29
Green Sleeves

Green Sleeves is just really niceGreen Sleeves is just really niceGreen Sleeves is just really niceGreen Sleeves is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £129824

Mood
Sunshine

This just appeared last week from Nowhere.

http://download.yousendit.com/0ADEDDAD00E8C740

Review and artwork below from elsewhere - grab this even if your just a casual fan. Great sound quality as well as an unreleased song.

The Gymnasium, New York City, New York

Outstanding. Been listening to it all day.
Green Sleeves is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-08, 22:13   #30
Brainwrong
Spaktacuradge

ER Seat: in the area full of Eastern promise
Brainwrong is just really niceBrainwrong is just really niceBrainwrong is just really nice

Virtual Cash: £130064

Mood
Twisted

Starting with the difficult ones, eh!
Hey, I was only 14, ya bastard!

S'cool glad everyone is getting it and enjoyin it. Boots should be free.
Agreed.
Old 06-03-08, 14:28   #31
tricky

ER Seat: The Terrazio
tricky will become famous soon enough

Virtual Cash: £127115

spotted this in the List earlier, tickets £40 or £50

Lou Reed has announced he is to embark on a substantial European tour to play his 1973 classic album Berlin in its entirety.

He will play Edinburgh Playhouse on 25 June and will be accompanied by a 30-piece ensemble that will include his band, string and horn sections and a children's choir.

The European tour starts on 23 June in Cork, followed by dates in Northern Ireland, Scotland, England, France, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Denmark, Sweden, Poland, Belgium and Spain.

Tickets for all gigs go on sale at 10am on Saturday 8 March. Call 0844 847 2269 or visit www.ticketmaster.co.uk.

Those looking to buy tickets for the Edinburgh gig can register for pre-sale tickets which are available from 9am on Thursday 6 March via 0871 230 0333 and www.artistticket.com.
Old 06-03-08, 15:30   #32
snoots
Everybody is a Radge

Wow