+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Zoomer set to be out for the weekend?

Bounce Admin Admin Team hasnae upset anyone -yet
    Thanks

Thinking Zoomer set to be out for the weekend?

Visit the Official Hibernian FC Clubstore
    HIBS boss John Hughes today revealed he's '90 per cent certain' that midfielder Merouane Zemmama has not suffered serious injury and could even be in the frame to

More...

Baby Radge Ian C is on the way to a first team debut Ian C's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Hibs' Zemmama set to be fit for the weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Admin Team View Post
    HIBS boss John Hughes today revealed he's '90 per cent certain' that midfielder Merouane Zemmama has not suffered serious injury and could even be in the frame to

More...
    GOOD NEWS

Heavenly Radge and all round bampot! Thomo has a spectacular aura about Thomo's Avatar
    Thanks

Unless he gets his finger oot his erse and starts looking interested it wont matter if he is fit or not as he will soon be punted onto the bench beside his mate.

KWS is on the way to a first team debut KWS's Avatar
    Thanks

As a recently recruited Hibee I may not be too well qualified to comment but when I saw him in the recent Derby game he was head and shoulders above anything else on the pitch. I assume like most players with his quality he blows a bit hot and cold?

A True Gadgie/Gadgess GalegoHibs is a glorious beacon of light GalegoHibs is a glorious beacon of light GalegoHibs is a glorious beacon of light GalegoHibs is a glorious beacon of light GalegoHibs is a glorious beacon of light
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Thomo View Post
    Unless he gets his finger oot his erse and starts looking interested it wont matter if he is fit or not as he will soon be punted onto the bench beside his mate.
    Oh well, another player who was being hailed as something of a saviour when he returned at the start of the season comes in for stick. Why am I not surprised? If Zemmama is carrying an injury then I reckon he needs to be cut a bit of slack as no player can be expected to perform to their best if not fully fit. That aside, I'm not too surprised that his form has dipped as he's the type of player we're likely to see the best of early or late in the season rather than mid-winter. If he isn't up to it at the moment then yes he should drop to the bench but he and Benji will probably be off at the end of the season in any case, then you won't need to worry about them any longer.

Adult Radge MSG_07 will become famous soon enough
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by GalegoHibs View Post
    Oh well, another player who was being hailed as something of a saviour when he returned at the start of the season comes in for stick. Why am I not surprised? If Zemmama is carrying an injury then I reckon he needs to be cut a bit of slack as no player can be expected to perform to their best if not fully fit. That aside, I'm not too surprised that his form has dipped as he's the type of player we're likely to see the best of early or late in the season rather than mid-winter. If he isn't up to it at the moment then yes he should drop to the bench but he and Benji will probably be off at the end of the season in any case, then you won't need to worry about them any longer.
    Zemmama was starting to get more involved in the game when he got injured on saturday. I think he has been decent in most games even if he hasn't been at his very best.

Undercover Radge
    Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by MSG_07 View Post
    Zemmama was starting to get more involved in the game when he got injured on saturday. I think he has been decent in most games even if he hasn't been at his very best.

The wee man is never a right winger/forward in his puff! He's a central midfielder, right midfielder or at a push played in the latapy role behind 2, yes 2 strikers.

Like Riordan his form and influence in the side is strugling because of the postion he's playing in. Why can't we keep it simple with Riordan up top with Stokes, Zemmama in the middle of the park with Wotherspoon on the right and Galbraith, Murray or Stevenson on the left? Our shape would be better although a little lightweight in midfield and players would be playing in there natural and best positions?
    He's one of us forever green - Riordan, Riordan.
    There is a bonny fitba team - Riordan, Riordan

He hates the jambo's more than most, he's got a mate the friendly ghost....

It's Derek Riordan - Hibernian's number 10

stickyRicky is just really nice stickyRicky is just really nice stickyRicky's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Thomo View Post
    Agree

Quote Originally Posted by Bambino View Post
    The wee man is never a right winger/forward in his puff! He's a central midfielder, right midfielder or at a push played in the latapy role behind 2, yes 2 strikers.

Like Riordan his form and influence in the side is strugling because of the postion he's playing in. Why can't we keep it simple with Riordan up top with Stokes, Zemmama in the middle of the park with Wotherspoon on the right and Galbraith, Murray or Stevenson on the left? Our shape would be better although a little lightweight in midfield and players would be playing in there natural and best positions?
    Although i agree he should play more central i think he is being unproffesional by taking the huff (no playing well).

Undercover Radge
    Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino is a glorious beacon of light Bambino's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by stickyRicky View Post
    Agree

Although i agree he should play more central i think he is being unproffesional by taking the huff (no playing well).

Agreed, but the same people are saying about Riordan. Think about it.....

Riordan & Zemmama, the 2 players more than any others that have natural footballing ability over the rest of the side and are most likely to make stuff happen are both playing out of position and if a huff because of it, why not play to our tallented players strengths? Keep them happier and overall have a more productive side?

It just baffles me that Yogi mentioned before the huns game he was thinking about changing the shape, being completely shagged, drop Nish and keep the same shape against the Jambo tramps, play shite and then keep the same shape when Zemmama gets injured when Benji comes on, and only change it at half time on Saturday but still keep Derek Riordan on the left? I really just dinnae get it.

stickyRicky is just really nice stickyRicky is just really nice stickyRicky's Avatar
    Thanks

Agreed, but the same people are saying about Riordan. Think about it.....

Riordan & Zemmama, the 2 players more than any others that have natural footballing ability over the rest of the side and are most likely to make stuff happen are both playing out of position and if a huff because of it, why not play to our tallented players strengths? Keep them happier and overall have a more productive side?

It just baffles me that Yogi mentioned before the huns game he was thinking about changing the shape, being completely shagged, drop Nish and keep the same shape against the Jambo tramps, play shite and then keep the same shape when Zemmama gets injured when Benji comes on, and only change it at half time on Saturday but still keep Derek Riordan on the left? I really just dinnae get it.
    Well it could be as simple as he dosn't think Galbraith is ready for first team football, if he was Riordan may be pushed up front. And we dont have a RB so Wotherspoon plays there and Zeemama covers his position at RM giving his gifted players a game still.

Undercover Radge
    Thanks

Well it could be as simple as he dosn't think Galbraith is ready for first team football, if he was Riordan may be pushed up front. And we dont have a RB so Wotherspoon plays there and Zeemama covers his position at RM giving his gifted players a game still.

True, but Rankin and Lewis can play Left mid too.

Football management is anything but simple I suppose, but as it's not Yogis full squad just now and has been in the job 6 successfull months im willing to trust in him and give the benefit o the doubt.

Mental Radge roshi-hfc is on the way to a first team debut roshi-hfc's Avatar
    Thanks

If this hamstring problem has affected Zouma's peformances then I would accept it as he has been mince during the winter. But at the same time why on earth is Yogi playing Zouma, when Zouma said that he has had this problem for a few weeks now. But at the same time Zouma is a bit stupid for not telling Yogi about this hamstring problem a couple of weeks ago.

Thanks

True, but Rankin and Lewis can play Left mid too.

Football management is anything but simple I suppose, but as it's not Yogis full squad just now and has been in the job 6 successfull months im willing to trust in him and give the benefit o the doubt.
    Same her but imagine a team like this.

Smith

Hogg
    Bamba
    Murray

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Zeemama
    Hanlon

Stokes
    Riordan

Zeemama off the front two and Wotherspoon and Hanlon wing backs.

Cant fit Zeemama in a 442 cos to me it would be like this

Smith

McCormack/McCann
    Hogg
    Bamba
    Murray

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Galbraith/Stevenson

Stokes
    Riordan

A radge for all seasons

Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub has a reputation of Sauzee proportions Dub's Avatar
    Thanks

Smith

Hogg
    Bamba
    Murray

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Zeemama
    Hanlon

Stokes
    Riordan

I would swop Hanlon and Murray or perhaps leave Hanlon out and use Thicot in the same formation we played second half on saturday. Nowt against Hanlon but I think Murray would be more productive down the left flank that he would.
    They're gone, not here, forgotten
    The maroon brigade now cry
    The city is now Hibernian

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Dub View Post
    I would swop Hanlon and Murray or perhaps leave Hanlon out and use Thicot in the same formation we played second half on saturday. Nowt against Hanlon but I think Murray would be more productive down the left flank that he would.
    Aye that would work fine.

Heavenly Radge and all round bampot! Thomo has a spectacular aura about Thomo's Avatar
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by GalegoHibs View Post
    . That aside, I'm not too surprised that his form has dipped as he's the type of player we're likely to see the best of early or late in the season rather than mid-winter.
    i didnt realise we had a player who only performs when its sunny.
    Thats handy in Scotland.

Just A Radge Admin Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie has a brilliant future Jamie's Avatar
    Thanks
    Blog Entries

Re: Hibs' Zemmama set to be out for the weekend

anyone else hear on the radio saying he's out this weekend?

Undercover Radge
    Thanks

Re: Hibs' Zemmama set to be out for the weekend

Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    anyone else hear on the radio saying he's out this weekend?
    I heard on Monday Zemmama is oot until mid Feb.....

Smurf is a glorious beacon of light Smurf is a glorious beacon of light Smurf is a glorious beacon of light Smurf is a glorious beacon of light Smurf is a glorious beacon of light Smurf's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Zoomer set to be out for the weekend?

Out for Saturday back next Wednesday.

Source? Yogi...

BBC Sport - Manager John Hughes expects Hibernian to bounce back

Undercover Radge
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Smurf View Post
    Out for Saturday back next Wednesday.

Source? Yogi...

BBC Sport - Manager John Hughes expects Hibernian to bounce back

Believe it when I see it.

Rock n' Roll Radge HibeeZab will become famous soon enough HibeeZab's Avatar
    Thanks

Smith

Hogg
    Bamba
    Murray

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Zeemama
    Hanlon

Stokes
    Riordan

Cant fit Zeemama in a 442 cos to me it would be like this

Smith

McCormack/McCann
    Hogg
    Bamba
    Murray

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Galbraith/Stevenson

Stokes
    Riordan
    The way I see it (only my opinion) 3-5-2 doesn't get used anymore for a reason...

Teams these days play with wide midfielders and overlapping full-backs, which would leave our singular wide players exposed. The midield would be so croweded that neither side could play any real football, leading to the ball being lumped forward to the strikers - which would require a big target man (i.e. Nish) with the other striker and the player in the hole looking for knock downs. Also if the other team only play one up front, we've got too many players marking on man.

I think we should be playing the 442/4231 we have been using, but making sure we pick the right players for the game (horses for courses as they say). Riordan playing off Stokes could work against some teams, but not against the likes of Rangers, Hearts or Hamilton. This is where we need Nish IMO. I'd rather have Murray at left back and Hanlon in the centre, but I think Murray has to play centrally as he has more experience to deal with Antoine-Currier.

Smith

Thicot
    Hogg
    Murray
    Hanlon

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Rankin

Nish
    Stokes

No Riordan from the start, but Rankin's work rate (I'd also say Stevenson, but he won't play ahead of Rankin) is more important at the start against the Accies than Riordan's flair.

Undercover Radge
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeZab View Post
    The way I see it (only my opinion) 3-5-2 doesn't get used anymore for a reason...

Teams these days play with wide midfielders and overlapping full-backs, which would leave our singular wide players exposed. The midield would be so croweded that neither side could play any real football, leading to the ball being lumped forward to the strikers - which would require a big target man (i.e. Nish) with the other striker and the player in the hole looking for knock downs. Also if the other team only play one up front, we've got too many players marking on man.

I think we should be playing the 442/4231 we have been using, but making sure we pick the right players for the game (horses for courses as they say). Riordan playing off Stokes could work against some teams, but not against the likes of Rangers, Hearts or Hamilton. This is where we need Nish IMO. I'd rather have Murray at left back and Hanlon in the centre, but I think Murray has to play centrally as he has more experience to deal with Antoine-Currier.

Smith

Thicot
    Hogg
    Murray
    Hanlon

Wotherspoon
    McBride
    Miller
    Rankin

Nish
    Stokes

No Riordan from the start, but Rankin's work rate (I'd also say Stevenson, but he won't play ahead of Rankin) is more important at the start against the Accies than Riordan's flair.

Steady like, he has one good half and now everyone wants Thicot in the team?

Swap Thicot for Barr and get Rankin oot and you might be onto something

Rock n' Roll Radge HibeeZab will become famous soon enough HibeeZab's Avatar
    Thanks

Steady like, he has one good half and now everyone wants Thicot in the team?

Swap Thicot for Barr and get Rankin oot and you might be onto something
    It's more that we've tried every other option, Wotherspoon will have to play midfield without Zemmama, and Barr's no signed yet

Undercover Radge
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeZab View Post
    It's more that we've tried every other option, Wotherspoon will have to play midfield without Zemmama, and Barr's no signed yet
    Just noticed the Hamilton game mate sorry.

Kevin McCann

Babyshambles Radge ROSSCO1875 is on the way to a first team debut
    Thanks

I think we would be better with a Mowbray type formation that syncronises a 4-4-2, a 4-3-3 and a 4-5-1 all in one go.

Mowbray packed the midfield with the likes of Beuzelin, Thomson and Brown (sometimes Glass). These 3 were the prodomenent central midfielders, but as i recall Beuzelin used to sometimes be required to play right midfield to accomodate Dean Shiels or Steven Fletcher, before Ivan signed.. it looked a bit like this...
    ...................................Thomson(McBride).........................................................
    ......................... Beuzelin(Miller)...........Brown(Stevenson/Cregg).................................................
    .................Shiels(Zemmama)..................................Riordan....................................
    ...................................O'Connor(Stokes).........................................................

When we don't have the ball a 5 man midfield would form, when we did, Riordan would join the attack and Brown or Glass who did it more obviously would occupy the left midfield berth with Shiels moving on to the right, creating a 4-4-2 with Riordan in his best position. Also, at times Shiles would join Riordan and O'Connor in a 3 man attack, leaving a flat 3 in midfield and creating a 4-3-3... I think we have the players currently to suit this system.

This gives Zemmama and Riordan more of a free role that they crave and also encourages Zemmama to get into the box a bit more, in a role similar to what Shiels had. Riordan would also be in the position where he produced his best goal return for us.

What do we think?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ROSSCO1875 View Post
    I think we would be better with a Mowbray type formation that syncronises a 4-4-2, a 4-3-3 and a 4-5-1 all in one go.

Mowbray packed the midfield with the likes of Beuzelin, Thomson and Brown (sometimes Glass). These 3 were the prodomenent central midfielders, but as i recall Beuzelin used to sometimes be required to play right midfield to accomodate Dean Shiels or Steven Fletcher, before Ivan signed.. it looked a bit like this...
    ...................................Thomson(McBride).........................................................
    ......................... Beuzelin(Miller)...........Brown(Stevenson/Cregg).................................................
    .................Shiels(Zemmama)..................................Riordan....................................
    ...................................O'Connor(Stokes).........................................................

When we don't have the ball a 5 man midfield would form, when we did, Riordan would join the attack and Brown or Glass who did it more obviously would occupy the left midfield berth with Shiels moving on to the right, creating a 4-4-2 with Riordan in his best position. Also, at times Shiles would join Riordan and O'Connor in a 3 man attack, leaving a flat 3 in midfield and creating a 4-3-3... I think we have the players currently to suit this system.

This gives Zemmama and Riordan more of a free role that they crave and also encourages Zemmama to get into the box a bit more, in a role similar to what Shiels had. Riordan would also be in the position where he produced his best goal return for us.

What do we think?
    I would be willing to give it a whirl but imo theres a couple of reasons i reckon it wouldn't work.

McBride/Stevenson could never lace the boots of Brown let alone give his kind of performance in that role.

I don't think Stokes is a target man like O'Connor, Stokes is more last man on the shoulder of the defender to break through defenses where as O'Connor was more play into feet and hold onto the ball to bring other players into the attack.

Babyshambles Radge ROSSCO1875 is on the way to a first team debut
    Thanks

I would be willing to give it a whirl but imo theres a couple of reasons i reckon it wouldn't work.

McBride/Stevenson could never lace the boots of Brown let alone give his kind of performance in that role.

I don't think Stokes is a target man like O'Connor, Stokes is more last man on the shoulder of the defender to break through defenses where as O'Connor was more play into feet and hold onto the ball to bring other players into the attack.
    Good points there however, I feel that McBride would act more as a sitting player similar to the Thomson role. Stevenson is not the player Brown is but probably more suited to a left central midfield role.

Stokes can still be a target man, but only to slip through balls into, which with players like Riordan, Zemmama and Miller behind him, who can all thread a weighted pass, could be effective. Ultimatley our play would materialise through the midfield, leaving no need for the Striker to hold up the ball. Stokes however could drop deep, but he would then have an outlet in Riordan and Zemmama on either side to play the ball too before making a forward run.

Thanks

Visit the Official Hibernian FC Clubstore
    Quote Originally Posted by ROSSCO1875 View Post
    Good points there however, I feel that McBride would act more as a sitting player similar to the Thomson role. Stevenson is not the player Brown is but probably more suited to a left central midfield role.

Stokes can still be a target man, but only to slip through balls into, which with players like Riordan, Zemmama and Miller behind him, who can all thread a weighted pass, could be effective. Ultimatley our play would materialise through the midfield, leaving no need for the Striker to hold up the ball. Stokes however could drop deep, but he would then have an outlet in Riordan and Zemmama on either side to play the ball too before making a forward run.
    I meant Cregg sorry

+ Reply to Thread Go Back to forum