Don't like the google ads?

Registered users can remove them by donating towards the up-keep of the site! Click here to donate

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: International breaks and nostalgia

Hybrid View

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

International breaks and nostalgia

They're utterly shite. Couple of weeks ago after the derby I was still pretty much buzzing about the season. Now I have to build up the enthusiasm again. We've had 11 games in the league so far this season. And there's been 3 free weeks already. We started in August, it's nearly December, and we've not even played a third of the season yet.

Fitba was better when internationals during the season were played exclusively midweek and there was no cancellations of the league programme imo. Although I didn't mind the winter break we tried.

And while I'm bemoaning stuff that happens now that never used to happen, why are all evening games now pretty much 7:45 kick offs rather than half 7?

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Re: International breaks and nostalgia

Quote Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
    They're utterly shite. Couple of weeks ago after the derby I was still pretty much buzzing about the season. Now I have to build up the enthusiasm again. We've had 11 games in the league so far this season. And there's been 3 free weeks already. We started in August, it's nearly December, and we've not even played a third of the season yet.

Fitba was better when internationals during the season were played exclusively midweek and there was no cancellations of the league programme imo. Although I didn't mind the winter break we tried.

And while I'm bemoaning stuff that happens now that never used to happen, why are all evening games now pretty much 7:45 kick offs rather than half 7?
    You need a break from the humdrum world of league fitba now though for internationals. Cannae have the wee lambs playing as many as 2 games a week now can you, the cotton wool might fall off with the exertion.

As to nostalgia - remember when the halftime scores were only listed by letter and you needed the programme to work out who was who
    They're gone, not here, forgotten
    The maroon brigade now cry
    The city is now Hibernian

denots radge
    Thanks

nostalgia was much better in the olden days!!

Scruffy Radge
    Thanks

Although I'm not that old I have nostalgia for the away side running out the tunnel first so we could boo them.
    I also used to like the first scorer sweep on the bus to away games but squad numbers murdered it.

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Trouble is, these days you never see a dog on the pitch.

Even men with steel hearts love to see a dog on the pitch
    It generates a warmth around the ground that augurs well for mankind
    And that’s what life’s about

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvwA7BK4-6A"]YouTube- Even Men With Steel Hearts...[/ame]
    "Son, no one gives a shit about all the things your cell phone does. You didn't invent it, you just bought it. Anybody can do that."

Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

This is the old black'n'white clip in the film above -

Spare a thought for former Brentford goalie Chic Brodie, whose professional career was brought to an untimely end by a dog. The incident in question happened in a game against Colchester United in November 1970. The dog, a black-and-white terrier, had invaded the field of play a couple of minutes beforehand and was tearing around up-ending players and linesmen alike but the referee refused to bring a halt to proceedings. Just as Brentford's centre-half Peter Gelson played a back pass to his goalie, the mutt decided to chase the ball. Not expecting to see a dog on the pitch running towards him, Brodie kept his eye on the ball and as he bent down to scoop the ball up the energetic pooch leapt towards the keeper and sent him crashing to the ground. The ball span out for a corner, leaving Brodie writhing in agony on the floor with a shattered kneecap.

+ Reply to Thread Go Back to forum