Don't like the google ads?

Registered users can remove them by donating towards the up-keep of the site! Click here to donate

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rock Steady Monkeys pay compensation

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Rock Steady Monkeys pay compensation

Visit the Official Hibernian FC Clubstore
    Could this see the end of Rock Steady employing overly aggressive, brain dead monkey-men as security in Edinburgh pubs and clubs?

http://news.scotsman.com/scotland.cfm?id=273812006

I doubt it TBH.
    "Son, no one gives a shit about all the things your cell phone does. You didn't invent it, you just bought it. Anybody can do that."

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Re: Rock Steady Monkeys pay compensation

220K isn't enough compensation IMO.

The whole situation is a joke. A mate of mine was punched in the face by a bouncer for nothing. I reported it to the Police. I was told to shut up and go home or face a weekend in the cells.

I quite fancy going undercover and filming what goes on in Edinburgh nightlife. Security staff and Lothian & Borders finest deserve to be outed for what they are.

An idea of mine to take to a certain Edinburgh publication...

Get it up ye ya radge
    Thanks

Big Scott was a mate of mine for a while, what the story doesn't tell, if memory serves, is that particular incident not only involved him being nutted, but the boy in question threatening the door staff with a broken bottle earlier. IMO it can't be easy withstanding that kind of provocation.

Still, no defending the gang mentality [instilled by the likes of Rock Steady] and the arrogance of bouncers thinking they are above the law.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ghfc
    Big Scott was a mate of mine for a while, what the story doesn't tell, if memory serves, is that particular incident not only involved him being nutted, but the boy in question threatening the door staff with a broken bottle earlier. IMO it can't be easy withstanding that kind of provocation.

Still, no defending the gang mentality [instilled by the likes of Rock Steady] and the arrogance of bouncers thinking they are above the law.
    In fairness, it was pointed out in court that the Irish guy was argumentative and abusive. There is no mention of the bottle thing in the paper and it doesn't sound like he deserved an attack that left him brain damaged.

Quote Originally Posted by scotsman
    Lord Emslie said CCTV footage taken just before Mr Ashmore was punched showed him being "intermittently argumentative and abusive".

However, Lord Emslie said, while there was contact between Mr Ashmore's head and Mr Moncrieff's face "any headbutt was minor and ineffectual" and did not justify Mr Moncrieff's response. The judge accepted Mr Ashmore's behaviour had been provocative, but said he was satisfied "the major share of responsibility for what subsequently happened must remain with Moncrieff".
    "Son, no one gives a shit about all the things your cell phone does. You didn't invent it, you just bought it. Anybody can do that."

Big Baldy Radge

Thanks

As an ex doorman myself I feel I have to take issue with what is being said on this thread.

While I appreciate this is a bad incident and have every sympathy for the boy,to call all door staff 'brain dead monkey-men' hardly adds to the debate.

I've worked for a number of security companies and was a supervisor with Rock Steady for many years. I can assure you that anyone who is in the job simply to look for bother is in the minority.

I have always made sure any staff I work with could be trusted to back me up,but also be trusted not to start any bother. I was in the job for extra cash,not for hassle.

People get refused entry to pubs/clubs for a reason,generally for being drunk however dress codes,overcrowding and male/female balance can also come into it. While this is frustrating and I have been refused entry to venues myself, what good do people feel it will do to become aggressive and/or abusive to the staff on the door? Not only is it illegal to allow someone who is drunk onto the premises,it also causes trouble. How many fights have you seen caused by some bevvied radge bumping into folk or touching up some boys girlfriend? Wouldnt you prefer they were kept outside?

While in an ideal world doorstaff should show restraint and not get involved in violence,how many of you would put up with being headbutted or threatend without reacting?

Working the doors in edinburgh is by no means an easy job and some of the abuse that doorstaff take is completely unacceptable. While I am certainly not saying all doormen are angels, to class them all as aggressive psychos is wrong.

And if anyone disagrees I'll gie them a slap!

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Moodz
    While I appreciate this is a bad incident and have every sympathy for the boy,to call all door staff 'brain dead monkey-men' hardly adds to the debate.
    It was supposed to start the debate rather than add to it.

I've worked for a number of security companies and was a supervisor with Rock Steady for many years. I can assure you that anyone who is in the job simply to look for bother is in the minority.
    I'll have to take your word for that but in my experience there are a large number of security guys out there who are quite happy to use violence as a way of solving any problem they encounter.

I have always made sure any staff I work with could be trusted to back me up,but also be trusted not to start any bother. I was in the job for extra cash,not for hassle.

People get refused entry to pubs/clubs for a reason,generally for being drunk however dress codes,overcrowding and male/female balance can also come into it. While this is frustrating and I have been refused entry to venues myself, what good do people feel it will do to become aggressive and/or abusive to the staff on the door? Not only is it illegal to allow someone who is drunk onto the premises,it also causes trouble. How many fights have you seen caused by some bevvied radge bumping into folk or touching up some boys girlfriend? Wouldnt you prefer they were kept outside?
    I agree that the job has to be done, it's the methods employed that I have a problem with.

While in an ideal world doorstaff should show restraint and not get involved in violence,how many of you would put up with being headbutted or threatend without reacting?
    My reacting to being headbutted wouldn't be very likely to cause anyone serious harm.

Working the doors in edinburgh is by no means an easy job and some of the abuse that doorstaff take is completely unacceptable. While I am certainly not saying all doormen are angels, to class them all as aggressive psychos is wrong.
    Who classed them all as aggressive psychos? I simply asked if Rock Steady would stop employing ones who are.

You'll have to catch me first

Big Baldy Radge

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by hibadelic
    It was supposed to start the debate rather than add to it.

How do you start a debate without adding your opinion?

I'll have to take your word for that but in my experience there are a large number of security guys out there who are quite happy to use violence as a way of solving any problem they encounter.

Thats just not possible. If you were to use violence in every situation nobody would ever go to your pub, you would lose your job and licence plus it's guaranteed your gonna get a second prize at some point!

I agree that the job has to be done, it's the methods employed that I have a problem with.

Unfortunatley there is no nice way to knock someone back, you can apologise while you do it, advise them to come back the next day but nobody likes it being done to them.

My reacting to being headbutted wouldn't be very likely to cause anyone serious harm.

Probably best you dont then...

Who classed them all as aggressive psychos? I simply asked if Rock Steady would stop employing ones who are.

The thread title is Rock Steady Monkeys...it sounded like you classed everyone who worked for the company the same.

You'll have to catch me first
    I dont do running...let you off this time.

Thanks

I'll be honest, I'm no fan of Rock Steady which is why I gave the thread that title. It's probably a bit unfair and I am quite willing to accept that most Rock Steady security staff are not looking for trouble.

There is a very definite minority of security who regularly wind up people (and it's easy to wind up drunks) and use heavyhanded tactics in solving disputes or conflict. Anecdotal evidence would point to this being fairly common among door staff. Most people I know have various stories of security staff acting like complete thugs, Smurf's earlier story is not an uncommon example. Personally I think that it's unacceptable.

Being the victim of an abusive drunk is not an excuse to physically abuse that person. If there is a problem on the door and someone is getting abusive, they should close the door and call the police. It there is a problem in the pub/club, ask them nicely to leave, if they refuse, call the police. Physically removing someone from a premesis should only happen if that person is harming someone or breaking things IMO.

Incidentally, I've never personally been assaulted by a bouncer but I've been with people who have on several occasions in circumstances that could easily have been avoided by the staff.

Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Bouncer was quite right to hit the boy if what ghfc says is true. The Irish guy shouldn't have started trouble and shouldn't have been so pished. Lets keep in mind that the "victim" wasn't made brain damaged by the punch, but by falling and hitting his head. If he hadn't been so drunk i doubt he would have suffered such an injury.

Big Baldy Radge

Thanks

All fair points well made,bud.

I'm by no means an advocate on behalf of Rock Steady,it's a number of years since I worked with them and I'm sure they have their rogue element as much as any other group.

The unfortunate thing about being a doorman is you only get noticed when things have a negative effect on your night. Getting refused entry or getting caught up in violence is crap and can spoil your evening. Hopefully there are some for whom the doorstaff have had a positive effect on their evening by helping them avoid a kicking or by making them feel welcome.

I'm sure if you took the amount of times you have got home thinking that a bouncer had ruined your night and compared it to the amount of times you have got home and couldnt even say what the doorstaff looked like,you'd find the second option much higher.

And thats how it should be.

Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by hibadelic

Incidentally, I've never personally been assaulted by a bouncer but I've been with people who have on several occasions in circumstances that could easily have been avoided by the staff.
    Same applies to me, never been in trouble with them myself but I have seen lots of situations badly mishandled by bouncers. When will organisations like Rock Steady wise up and employ people who can direct rather than simply confront?

At a certain club I used to frequent in London (), the bouncers were a very glamorous and charming young lady who could get customers eating out of her hand, and a small Asian man who stood behind her and said and did nothing, but was clearly there as back up if she needed it. Whether he was a martial arts expert or packing a nightstick was never quite clear. There was never any bother.

Thanks

I'm sure if you took the amount of times you have got home thinking that a bouncer had ruined your night and compared it to the amount of times you have got home and couldnt even say what the doorstaff looked like,you'd find the second option much higher. And thats how it should be.
    Aye, very true.

Calvados Cup 3rd Place Radge

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie Chicken
    Same applies to me, never been in trouble with them myself but I have seen lots of situations badly mishandled by bouncers. When will organisations like Rock Steady wise up and employ people who can direct rather than simply confront?

At a certain club I used to frequent in London (), the bouncers were a very glamorous and charming young lady who could get customers eating out of her hand, and a small Asian man who stood behind her and said and did nothing, but was clearly there as back up if she needed it. Whether he was a martial arts expert or packing a nightstick was never quite clear. There was never any bother.
    Thing is though you can only employ those that apply .
    In my experience bouncers are no different to anyone else , some good some bad

Thanks

As an ex doorman myself I feel I have to take issue with what is being said on this thread.

And what about door staff who refuse you entry when you have had no drink whatsoever and then refuse to even give you a reason with the "...just no the night mate" pish? It is pretty difficult not to get angry in these instances and I have often found myself almost getting into bother with door staff for that very reason. In cases like that it is THEM that are causing the bother.

Not all door staff are like that of course, but there are a few arseholes out there who are full of their own self-importance

Thanks

After living in Manchester for a few years where the bouncers are huge and violent i find the boys and girls in Edinburgh who like to spend there weekends hanging around pub doors tame in comparison.

+ Reply to Thread Go Back to forum