Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 19-08-08, 22:55   #1

Scotland v N Ireland

Anyone watching this in town on Wednesday night? I am over for my weekly visit and think it probable the hotel bar will show the ROI and England games and thought of heading into town for it?

Old 19-08-08, 22:58   #2

OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough
Re: Scotland v N Ireland

Really wanted to go to the game but wasn't allowed cause last time i went on a school night i got back at 2 in town and went to bed at 4 and then had school at 9

Gutted as I have kind of adopted NI as my team thanks to Ivan and Deano. I even have a top with Ivan on the back

Infact the game where I went on a school night was when Ivan scored against spain (i think) and we were jumping up and down at hampden with a few other hibs fans dotted around jumping up too

Edit : oops sorry didn't notice this was in Irish Hibs

OwenWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 23:29   #3
Radge Of The Rovers

Leno is on the way to a first team debut

Hope the Scots hammer those dirty biggoted bastards....

Leno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-08, 13:13   #4

angie/1875 will become famous soon enough

Does anyone no if the game going ahead there was a pitch inspection at 12.30 not heard the out come yet nothing on the web site,
angie/1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-08, 13:15   #5

superbam is on the way to a first team debut

Anyone watching this in town on Wednesday night? I am over for my weekly visit and think it probable the hotel bar will show the ROI and England games and thought of heading into town for it?
I was planning to watch it in the Czech Inn but im not sure they will give it a telly given that the czechs are playing the sassenachs. The kip formerly known as Frazers will probably have it on though, I think its called Murrays Bar now.

superbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-08, 13:41   #6

I was planning to watch it in the Czech Inn but im not sure they will give it a telly given that the czechs are playing the sassenachs. The kip formerly known as Frazers will probably have it on though, I think its called Murrays Bar now.

Actually it should be on in most pubs as the Norway v Ireland match starts at 6

Old 20-08-08, 15:38   #7

Dinnae think I will bother, I hate the soapdodgers bar.

Old 20-08-08, 16:05   #8

Im probably gonnae head for the Czech Inn, if its no on there then il watch it across the road in the Turks Head.

Incidentally The Czech Inn staff party was held last week in McDowells in Inchicore of all places. We were all invited by Petr with the promise of free drink and beautiful girls. Couldnt make it myself like.

Old 20-08-08, 16:09   #9

Location: Newry bout 5 miles from the border of the Republic of Ireland South Armagh/Down
Newry Hiby is on the way to a first team debut

Hope the Scots hammer those dirty biggoted bastards....
oi oi there are loads of un bigoted norn irn fans mate

Newry Hiby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-08, 16:11   #10

Location: Newry bout 5 miles from the border of the Republic of Ireland South Armagh/Down
Newry Hiby is on the way to a first team debut

Good luck to Ryan Mcgivern on his debut for n ireland the night.

Newry Hiby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-08, 20:16   #11
Radge Of The Rovers

haah.. brilliant... dirty nordies pub song being booed at the start by the scottish...
rule britania me arse.... reminds me of the last friendly we played against the nordies a while back, only the irish anthem was played.

Old 21-08-08, 00:19   #12

Dalianwanda is on the way to a first team debut

Respect to them mate & I'm sure there are plenty, pity to the others..
Dalianwanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-08, 00:22   #13
Radge Of The Rovers

will echoe the post above... but the usual knobends stole the show... booing any celtic related player.... how on earth where they voted "best fans" or something along the lines of that..in europe..... theyre fans are full of slime that as you mentioned ruin it for "most".

Old 21-08-08, 00:22   #14

Dalianwanda is on the way to a first team debut

Im probably gonnae head for the Czech Inn, if its no on there then il watch it across the road in the Turks Head.

Incidentally The Czech Inn staff party was held last week in McDowells in Inchicore of all places. We were all invited by Petr with the promise of free drink and beautiful girls. Couldnt make it myself like.
If only that was the case there tonight, could have taken our minds of the sinitlating game
Good night though, cheers guys..
Dalianwanda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-08, 07:57   #15

will echoe the post above... but the usual knobends stole the show... booing any celtic related player.... how on earth where they voted "best fans" or something along the lines of that..in europe..... theyre fans are full of slime that as you mentioned ruin it for "most".
As Marco said, there are plenty of decent folk in the NI support - and the home support is very, very different from the folk who went to that game. Many of them aren't even the usual away supporters but went because it was so close.

Saying that, I reckon you see/ hear what you choose to see and hear from the NI suppport Leno so this this is a debate I won't go any further with as I don't think there's much point.

Old 21-08-08, 07:59   #16

haah.. brilliant... dirty nordies pub song being booed at the start by the scottish...
rule britania me arse.... reminds me of the last friendly we played against the nordies a while back, only the irish anthem was played.
Good thing the English showed more respect to the Irish anthem when they played at Croker.

Old 21-08-08, 08:47   #17

As Marco said, there are plenty of decent folk in the NI support - and the home support is very, very different from the folk who went to that game. Many of them aren't even the usual away supporters but went because it was so close.

Saying that, I reckon you see/ hear what you choose to see and hear from the NI suppport Leno so this this is a debate I won't go any further with as I don't think there's much point.
Its a shame though as I have met NI fans who have no time for all that pish. They should sing up though, cos at times last night listening to it you would have thought Scotland were playing england or the huns.

Old 21-08-08, 10:31   #18

How's the heid? Konrad may be €3.50 a pint but its a skullspliter and I have been on the bog half the night. Groooooooooh.

Old 21-08-08, 13:08   #19

How's the heid? Konrad may be €3.50 a pint but its a skullspliter and I have been on the bog half the night. Groooooooooh.
That will be that authentic chinese cuisine in Parnell Street. I cannae drink those radge czech lagers, last time I ended up in the gutter.

Old 21-08-08, 15:43   #20

Its a shame though as I have met NI fans who have no time for all that pish. They should sing up though, cos at times last night listening to it you would have thought Scotland were playing england or the huns.
They were.

A good section of the NI support would have been folk who don't usually go to games - cheap buses were being run from every town in NI, but only one of the NI fans I know (who all have their own seats at WP) wanted to go for this reason, and that person just happened to be over in GB at a wedding at the time.

There's a big, big difference between folk who own an NI shirt and folk who actively follow the team. It's a reason why I don't fancy the Celtic Cup idea much, as the lines would start to get very blurred between the two.

The folk you have met sound like genuine NI fans. Anyone who sings 'Rule Britannia' at an NI game is very likely to be a day-tripper.

Old 21-08-08, 16:07   #21

OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough

[quote=Northern Ireland Hibby;898022]
There's a big, big difference between folk who own an NI shirt and folk who actively follow the team.

OwenWright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-08, 16:58   #22
nihibs.c