| Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs. |
Casino cash: £1927 vCash: 24000 Thanks: 135
Former Hibs player commemorated at war memorial in Derry
I wasn't aware of this until tonight's BBC NI news, but a former Hibs player from the 1904/1905 season Barney Donaghey, who was killed on July 1st 1916 at the Somme, is named on the Diamond War Memorial in Derry.
According to BBC NI, Barney was from the Bogside area of Derry/Londonderry. The Diamond War Memorial is interesting in itself as, after research revealed that 48% of those named on the memorial were from nationalist communities, a team has been given funding to find out more and to make the memorial - previously seen by some as a unionist symbol - to be more of a shared memorial. Irish Times coverage of the project is here.
Officla 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)
![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £3921 vCash: 10000
Re: Former Hibs player commemorated at war memorial in Derry
You sure you aren't thinking of the annual Somme Commemoration parades, AKA 'The Mini-Twelfth', which is a whole different thing. BTW, I've heard back from the historian behind the Diamond War Memorial. He gave me these details about Pvt Donaghey.... Private Bernard (Barney) Donaghey, 2289 Barney was born on December 23, 1882. He was the husband of Sarah, who resided at both 106, St Columb's Wells, and 1, Fulton Place, Derry. His name is recorded on the Thiepval Memorial to the Missing, Somme, France, and commemorated on the Diamond War Memorial. Barney was a well-known and popular footballer, having played for Derry Celtic, Belfast Celtic, Glentoran, Hibernian, Manchester United, Burnley, and other teams. Records indicate that the appearance against Scotland on August 9, 1902 at the Balmoral Showgrounds, was the only time he played for Ireland. This game was only recently declared an official international game by FIFA. At the time no caps were awarded for it. Bernard Donaghey at the time was playing with Belfast Celtic. He also made two appearances for the Irish League representative side. He played against the Scottish League in a 3-0 defeat on 15th February 1902 in Dundee, while registered with Derry Celtic, and against the English League in a 4-0 defeat on 14th October 1905 in Manchester, again as a Derry Celtic player. Barney was previously wounded in the head by shrapnel, and spent time recovering in a hospital at Tanta, Egypt. On that occasion he wrote a letter home saying that he was on his way to recovery, and added 'The other four solders that were beside me were killed. It was an awful sight. I am sure it was the prayers that saved me.'
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £330 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
Top stuff mate, thanks for letting us know. R.I.P. to him and best of luck for the admins of that project; I've past several times past that monument while I was in Derry, and always known it should be a shared heritage for both communities.
With, for example, schools of different religions starting to swop with each other for gaelic football/ rugby lessons there's no excuse for folk not to look again at things they prevously thought 'belonged' to one sude or another. Forgive the rant ![]()
#6 | |||
Officla 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)
![]() Quote:
![]() BTW I was thinking (and it's just a thought) if that oldest living Hibs player someone mentioned in the Cowshed thread does indeed live in Northern Ireland, maybe we can invite him along as our GOH for the next function... (providing he's still breathing without assistance, or breathing at all for that matter)
I wouldn't mind visiting thon war memorial in Londondoire some day. The historian seems like a helpful chap and might be able to tell us if Donaghey has any surviving relatives, they might enjoy a bit of VIP treatment at one of wur functions. Talking of which, some year it would be great if a few Nibbies could get outselves down to Ballingarry (birthplace of Canon Hannan) for a pesh-up and, if we're lucky, to meet one of his great, great grandchildren (or suchlike) who, I think, still lives there. Ballingarry AFC seem to be aware of the connection so it might be a laugh for half a dozen peshed Nordies to turn up and suport them!
Once we've found out all we can I thought I'd add all the info about Pvt Donaghey and Jimmy Kelso to NIHibs.com
#9 | ||
#10 | ||
![]() Quote:
I'd be mad keen on a wee visit. New year would be best due to finances (lack of ), and I reckon we could enlist the help of the local newspaper to make sure the Canon Hannan's relative and the Ballingarry AFC folk will be in town. Once we know the details, some of the Dublin lads might fancy coming up for a jar as well.Sounds class to me ![]()
Waaaaaaan........ Just waaaan Cornetto, give it to mye....just waaaan Cornetto like, from Italy.....
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/irish-hibs/72456-former-hibs-player-commemorated-war-memorial-derry.html
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums | This thread | Refback | 05-07-08 13:01 | |