Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 01-07-08, 19:09   #1

Casino cash: £1897
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough
Former Hibs player commemorated at war memorial in Derry

I wasn't aware of this until tonight's BBC NI news, but a former Hibs player from the 1904/1905 season Barney Donaghey, who was killed on July 1st 1916 at the Somme, is named on the Diamond War Memorial in Derry.

According to BBC NI, Barney was from the Bogside area of Derry/Londonderry. The Diamond War Memorial is interesting in itself as, after research revealed that 48% of those named on the memorial were from nationalist communities, a team has been given funding to find out more and to make the memorial - previously seen by some as a unionist symbol - to be more of a shared memorial.

Irish Times coverage of the project is here.

Northern Ireland Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 01:11   #2
Officla 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)

Casino cash: £3921
Re: Former Hibs player commemorated at war memorial in Derry

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby View Post
I wasn't aware of this until tonight's BBC NI news, but a former Hibs player from the 1904/1905 season Barney Donaghey, who was killed on July 1st 1916 at the Somme, is named on the Diamond War Memorial in Derry.

According to BBC NI, Barney was from the Bogside area of Derry/Londonderry. The Diamond War Memorial is interesting in itself as, after research revealed that 48% of those named on the memorial were from nationalist communities, a team has been given funding to find out more and to make the memorial - previously seen by some as a unionist symbol - to be more of a shared memorial.

Irish Times coverage of the project is here.
Good find, very interesting. Definately worth the effort to make the memorials more accesible to Nationalist communities if there were a lot of commemarated soldiers, and especially seeing how Rememberence Day is celebrated here.

Loki_Sproule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 17:53   #3

Originally Posted by Loki_Sproule View Post
Good find, very interesting. Definately worth the effort to make the memorials more accesible to Nationalist communities if there were a lot of commemarated soldiers, and especially seeing how Rememberence Day is celebrated here.
How do you mean? Remembrance Day is marked the same way in NI it is in Scotland, England, Wales etc.

You sure you aren't thinking of the annual Somme Commemoration parades, AKA 'The Mini-Twelfth', which is a whole different thing.

BTW, I've heard back from the historian behind the Diamond War Memorial. He gave me these details about Pvt Donaghey....

Private Bernard (Barney) Donaghey, 2289

Barney was born on December 23, 1882. He was the husband of Sarah, who resided at both 106, St Columb's Wells, and 1, Fulton Place, Derry. His name is recorded on the Thiepval Memorial to the Missing, Somme, France, and commemorated on the Diamond War Memorial.

Barney was a well-known and popular footballer, having played for Derry Celtic, Belfast Celtic, Glentoran, Hibernian, Manchester United, Burnley, and other teams.

Records indicate that the appearance against Scotland on August 9, 1902 at the Balmoral Showgrounds, was the only time he played for Ireland. This game was only recently declared an official international game by FIFA. At the time no caps were awarded for it. Bernard Donaghey at the time was playing with Belfast Celtic.

He also made two appearances for the Irish League representative side. He played against the Scottish League in a 3-0 defeat on 15th February 1902 in Dundee, while registered with Derry Celtic, and against the English League in a 4-0 defeat on 14th October 1905 in Manchester, again as a Derry Celtic player.

Barney was previously wounded in the head by shrapnel, and spent time recovering in a hospital at Tanta, Egypt. On that occasion he wrote a letter home saying that he was on his way to recovery, and added 'The other four solders that were beside me were killed. It was an awful sight. I am sure it was the prayers that saved me.'

Old 02-07-08, 17:53   #4

Casino cash: £330

Top stuff mate, thanks for letting us know. R.I.P. to him and best of luck for the admins of that project; I've past several times past that monument while I was in Derry, and always known it should be a shared heritage for both communities.
marlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 18:37   #5

Originally Posted by marlow View Post
Top stuff mate, thanks for letting us know. R.I.P. to him and best of luck for the admins of that project; I've past several times past that monument while I was in Derry, and always known it should be a shared heritage for both communities.
Too right - NI is a land of contradictions, and you can't pigeonhole this and that into neat wee categories as well as some people would like.

With, for example, schools of different religions starting to swop with each other for gaelic football/ rugby lessons there's no excuse for folk not to look again at things they prevously thought 'belonged' to one sude or another.

Forgive the rant

Old 03-07-08, 11:16   #6
Officla 'Radge Auntie' to a small Ballyclare child, and radge about nihibs(.com)

How do you mean? Remembrance Day is marked the same way in NI it is in Scotland, England, Wales etc.

You sure you aren't thinking of the annual Somme Commemoration parades, AKA 'The Mini-Twelfth', which is a whole different thing.
Mot what I was trying to put across C, forgive me if I came across a bit unclear there. What I meant was more that it is viewed, by Nationalist communities, as a very Loyalist or Protestant celebration, where it should be both sides who join in as both lost soldiers to the war. I meant more the people who chose to celebrate RD, rather than the actual celebrations themselves.

With, for example, schools of different religions starting to swop with each other for gaelic football/ rugby lessons there's no excuse for folk not to look again at things they prevously thought 'belonged' to one sude or another.
Aye, basically that.

BTW, I've heard back from the historian behind the Diamond War Memorial. He gave me these details about Pvt Donaghey....

Private Bernard (Barney) Donaghey, 2289

Barney was born on December 23, 1882. He was the husband of Sarah, who resided at both 106, St Columb's Wells, and 1, Fulton Place, Derry. His name is recorded on the Thiepval Memorial to the Missing, Somme, France, and commemorated on the Diamond War Memorial.

Barney was a well-known and popular footballer, having played for Derry Celtic, Belfast Celtic, Glentoran, Hibernian, Manchester United, Burnley, and other teams.

Records indicate that the appearance against Scotland on August 9, 1902 at the Balmoral Showgrounds, was the only time he played for Ireland. This game was only recently declared an official international game by FIFA. At the time no caps were awarded for it. Bernard Donaghey at the time was playing with Belfast Celtic.

He also made two appearances for the Irish League representative side. He played against the Scottish League in a 3-0 defeat on 15th February 1902 in Dundee, while registered with Derry Celtic, and against the English League in a 4-0 defeat on 14th October 1905 in Manchester, again as a Derry Celtic player.

Barney was previously wounded in the head by shrapnel, and spent time recovering in a hospital at Tanta, Egypt. On that occasion he wrote a letter home saying that he was on his way to recovery, and added 'The other four solders that were beside me were killed. It was an awful sight. I am sure it was the prayers that saved me.'
Very interesting, did they have any info about when he played for Hibs or who he played against? Hibs and Manchester United...reminds me of another Norn Ironer..

BTW I was thinking (and it's just a thought) if that oldest living Hibs player someone mentioned in the Cowshed thread does indeed live in Northern Ireland, maybe we can invite him along as our GOH for the next function... (providing he's still breathing without assistance, or breathing at all for that matter)

Old 04-07-08, 19:11   #7

BTW I was thinking (and it's just a thought) if that oldest living Hibs player someone mentioned in the Cowshed thread does indeed live in Northern Ireland, maybe we can invite him along as our GOH for the next function... (providing he's still breathing without assistance, or breathing at all for that matter)
I was thinking the same thing, but the newspaper article was written at the start of the year and, I think, said he was living in a hospice or care home, so we shouldn't get our hopes up. At the very least I'd be all in favour of a donation to the hospice/ care home please in his name.

I wouldn't mind visiting thon war memorial in Londondoire some day. The historian seems like a helpful chap and might be able to tell us if Donaghey has any surviving relatives, they might enjoy a bit of VIP treatment at one of wur functions.

Talking of which, some year it would be great if a few Nibbies could get outselves down to Ballingarry (birthplace of Canon Hannan) for a pesh-up and, if we're lucky, to meet one of his great, great grandchildren (or suchlike) who, I think, still lives there. Ballingarry AFC seem to be aware of the connection so it might be a laugh for half a dozen peshed Nordies to turn up and suport them!

Old 04-07-08, 19:13   #8

Very interesting, did they have any info about when he played for Hibs or who he played against? Hibs and Manchester United...reminds me of another Norn Ironer..
Will put it out to the Hibs historians on the main forum and see what they can find out.

Once we've found out all we can I thought I'd add all the info about Pvt Donaghey and Jimmy Kelso to NIHibs.com

Old 05-07-08, 13:24   #9

I was thinking the same thing, but the newspaper article was written at the start of the year and, I think, said he was living in a hospice or care home, so we shouldn't get our hopes up. At the very least I'd be all in favour of a donation to the hospice/ care home please in his name.

I wouldn't mind visiting thon war memorial in Londondoire some day. The historian seems like a helpful chap and might be able to tell us if Donaghey has any surviving relatives, they might enjoy a bit of VIP treatment at one of wur functions.
That's a good idea C, a donation would be great. I'd be up for a wee trip up to Stroke City myself actually, it's been a while since I've taken the piss out of a Derry accent. 'There's just waan cyar there, just waan'...

Talking of which, some year it would be great if a few Nibbies could get outselves down to Ballingarry (birthplace of Canon Hannan) for a pesh-up and, if we're lucky, to meet one of his great, great grandchildren (or suchlike) who, I think, still lives there. Ballingarry AFC seem to be aware of the connection so it might be a laugh for half a dozen peshed Nordies to turn up and suport them!
Superb plan! That's somewhere in Co. Limerick, isn't it? A chap from that part of the island is in the Socialist Party, I'll try and glean some onfo from him, see if he knows anymore about it. Might not, but worth a go. I reckon a small busfull of poleaxed Nibbies turning up ina small town in Co. Limerick and sscreaming for the local team would be a treat in anyone's books, let's do it

Old 05-07-08, 18:46   #10

That's a good idea C, a donation would be great. I'd be up for a wee trip up to Stroke City myself actually, it's been a while since I've taken the piss out of a Derry accent. 'There's just waan cyar there, just waan'...
You need a brain bypass to do it properly

Superb plan! That's somewhere in Co. Limerick, isn't it? A chap from that part of the island is in the Socialist Party, I'll try and glean some onfo from him, see if he knows anymore about it. Might not, but worth a go. I reckon a small busfull of poleaxed Nibbies turning up ina small town in Co. Limerick and sscreaming for the local team would be a treat in anyone's books, let's do it.
Been speaking to a Hibby who has visited there a few times. The place is a village, but there's a hostel. Canon Hannan's great-grand-niece (or suchlike) lives in the village, there are some Hibs things in Barrett's pub from previous visits and the people at Ballingarry AFC are aware of the connection. I've heard that the odd Hibs shirt is being worn there, now that people are aware of the connection.

I'd be mad keen on a wee visit. New year would be best due to finances (lack of), and I reckon we could enlist the help of the local newspaper to make sure the Canon Hannan's relative and the Ballingarry AFC folk will be in town. Once we know the details, some of the Dublin lads might fancy coming up for a jar as well.

Sounds class to me

Old 05-07-08, 21:01   #11

You need a brain bypass to do it properly
Waaaaaaan........ Just waaaan Cornetto, give it to mye....just waaaan Cornetto like, from Italy.....

Been speaking to a Hibby who has visited there a few times. The place is a village, but there's a hostel. Canon Hannan's great-grand-niece (or suchlike) lives in the village, there are some Hibs things in Barrett's pub from previous visits and the people at Ballingarry AFC are aware of the connection. I've heard that the odd Hibs shirt is being worn there, now that people are aware of the connection.

I'd be mad keen on a wee visit. New year would be best due to finances (lack of), and I reckon we could enlist the help of the local newspaper to make sure the Canon Hannan's relative and the Ballingarry AFC folk will be in town. Once we know the details, some of the Dublin lads might fancy coming up for a jar as well.

Sounds class to me
Sounds like a class plan to me also compadre, be good to spread the Hibernian word around a wee bit more. Next year would suit me also, maybe when the southern Eircom league's still going but the SPL has ended? Sort out the football withdrawal for a bit?

Old 06-07-08, 11:34   #12

Sounds like a class plan to me also compadre, be good to spread the Hibernian word around a wee bit more. Next year would suit me also, maybe when the southern Eircom league's still going but the SPL has ended? Sort out the football withdrawal for a bit?
Coolio