Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 11-05-07, 18:32   #1
Irsko Radge

Casino cash: £5060
Rep Power: 7 Rep of Ireland Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
What now for NI

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...am/6646959.stm

Not very nice from Mr Sanchez
Old 11-05-07, 18:56   #2

Casino cash: £2834
vCash: 120000
Re: What now for NI

Got to say i am not surprised, interesting to see who the ifa will get now
Old 11-05-07, 19:10   #3

Casino cash: £447

When i initially read it i thought it was pretty shit of him, but after i thought abou the situation for a few moments afterwards i think it was sticking out like a sore thumb that it was inevitable. He said that he would stay to the end of the Euro Campaign but if my memory serves me correct his contract was up in the middle of the summer. I wont hold it against him, he's taken us to a highly respectable position on the world-wide rankings, has us playing pretty effective football and has gotten the best out of Healy. Hopefully he can sign Healy aswell and have him improve even more as a professional - perhaps we can sign a well respected and experienced coach and move on even further. Good luck Lawrie.

Last edited by Rep of Ireland Hibee; 12-05-07 at 01:29.
garethni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 01:30   #4
Irsko Radge

Originally Posted by garethni View Post
When i initially read it i thought it was pretty shit of him, but after i thought abou the situation for a few moments afterwards i think it was sticking out like a sore thumb that it was inevitable. He said that he would stay to the end of the Euro Campaign but if my memory serves me correct his contract was up in the middle of the summer. I wont hold it against him, he's taken us to a highly respectable position on the world-wide rankings, has us playing pretty effective football and has gotten the best out of Healy. Hopefully he can sign Healy aswell and have him improve even more as a professional - perhaps we can sign a well respected and experienced coach and move on even further. Good luck Lawrie.

But what now? Is the next man gonna do it? Who's in contention as next man?
Old 12-05-07, 02:07   #5

Originally Posted by Rep of Ireland Hibee View Post
But what now? Is the next man gonna do it? Who's in contention as next man?
But what now?? - Your guess is probably as good as mine and my fellow NI supporters. You'd hope that we as a nation have considerably more to offer a potential suitor than we did 3-4 years ago - we're in the top 35 in the world, leading our group in the Euro's, have just unveiled a lucrative TV rights deal with SKY worth 6 times more than the deal with BBC - so you'd hope they'll be able to afford considerably more in terms of finance.

I can only hope that the next manager can continue the huge strides that Lawrie enabled us to make and we continue to grow on the International scene.

On BBC theres talk of a few people, in terms of Northern/Southern Irishmen: Iain Dowie, Nigel Worthington, Jimmy Nicholl, Jim Magilton, Marin O'Neill and David O'Leary, and in terms of mainland UK, Chris Coleman, Bryan Robson, Glenn Roeder. From the aforementioned i don't know who i'd want possibly Martin O'Neill but i don't believe theres any chance of that happening, and even as a MAN U fan Bryan Robson can piss right off...... i'd even be willing to give O'Leary a shot but if he did well and Staunton continues the way he's going i think he'd be off to the Republic in a flash. Would love Big Sam but i very much doubt he'd look in our direction!!

All in all its a pretty shitey situation but TBH it could be a shite sight worse!
Old 12-05-07, 09:20   #6
Irsko Radge

We can trade, you can have our manager, in return you can give us 4 ice cold cans of Harp.

Fair trade I think

(I'd be AMAZED if O'Leary went for the Northern Ireland job by the way, can't see any former Rep of Ireland player/manager going for it)

Last edited by Rep of Ireland Hibee; 12-05-07 at 10:16.
Rep of Ireland Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-07, 10:42   #7

We can trade, you can have our manager, in return you can give us 4 ice cold cans of Harp.

Fair trade I think

(I'd be AMAZED if O'Leary went for the Northern Ireland job by the way, can't see any former Rep of Ireland player/manager going for it)
Three years ago i'd be amaxzed.....not so much now. But granted i do feel he's highly unlikely but someone i'd perhaps deem worthy.

Thank God you dont work "Fair-Trade" for all the Supermarket chains!!
Old 12-05-07, 21:42   #8

Casino cash: £1917
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

Was pretty shocked and pissed off by the news at first since I wanted Sanchez to stay until the end of the qualifiers, but - even though I think a man should keep his word - his decision is understandable.

I've heard the same names being bandied about as Gareth posted. Whoever the IFA get (and they need to show some leadership on this one) is inheriting a team is pretty good shape considering the size of NI.

Old 12-05-07, 23:07   #9
Irsko Radge

Chris Coleman is a name I'm hearing quite a bit for the NI job
Old 13-05-07, 09:04   #10

Casino cash: £2834
vCash: 120000

Chris Coleman is a name I'm hearing quite a bit for the NI job
He was interviewed at half time at the setanta cup final and said he had no interest in the job.
Old 13-05-07, 12:02   #11
Irsko Radge

Brian Kerr is being mentioned in a lot of papers down here. Apparently he has a flexability clause in his contract with the Saints

GREAT MANAGER
Old 21-05-07, 21:15   #12
Half Hung Radge

Casino cash: £330

Colin Clark is also being bantered about......

Apparently he's built quite a CV in the states
Old 21-05-07, 21:18   #13
iRadge™

Casino cash: £18734
vCash: 80000
Rep Power: 21 OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough

Will Sproule still be in the NI squad with a new manager coming in?

Got myslef an NI strip to wear over here in Edinburgh with sproule on the back
Old 22-05-07, 01:49   #14

I think he should be hes quite highly regarded by the other professional squad players (roomed with Healy and Lafferty on separate occassions) plus he has generally been a regular starter for Hibs in the past season or two, although in the last few weeks he's been used a bit sparingly. Hes an explosive player, ubber quick and equally hungry i'd say hes in the squad for a fair amount of time yet.
Old 22-05-07, 09:59   #15

Originally Posted by garethni View Post
I think he should be hes quite highly regarded by the other professional squad players (roomed with Healy and Lafferty on separate occassions) plus he has generally been a regular starter for Hibs in the past season or two, although in the last few weeks he's been used a bit sparingly. Hes an explosive player, ubber quick and equally hungry i'd say hes in the squad for a fair amount of time yet.
Agreed - he should be an important player for the future for NI.

I think Lawrie wasn't keen to make too many changes to a winning side, but I'm looking forward to Ivan making his mark on a big way at Windsor (or Ormeau - but NOT at the Maze).

Old 01-06-07, 16:04   #16
iRadge™

Casino cash: £18734
vCash: 80000
Rep Power: 21 OwenWright is a jewel in the roughOwenWright is a jewel in the rough

Mr Nigel Worthington it is...

Old 03-06-07, 13:50   #17

Originally Posted by OwenWright View Post
Mr Nigel Worthington it is...

Seems like a bit of a boring appointment but he has penty of experience so I'll wait and see.

Old 03-06-07, 19:43   #18
Half Hung Radge

Casino cash: £330

I wouldn't say boring but the guy only signed a 6 atch contract and even that is flexible to the point that he will do the job part time if an offer comes in from a club side.......
Old 04-06-07, 19:20   #19

Originally Posted by U What? View Post
I wouldn't say boring but the guy only signed a 6 atch contract and even that is flexible to the point that he will do the job part time if an offer comes in from a club side.......
We've heard that one before

Old 05-06-07, 17:33   #20

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby View Post
Agreed - he should be an important player for the future for NI.

I think Lawrie wasn't keen to make too many changes to a winning side, but I'm looking forward to Ivan making his mark on a big way at Windsor (or Ormeau - but NOT at the Maze).
Whats wrong with the Maze?
fizzure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 19:37   #21

Originally Posted by fizzure View Post
Whats wrong with the Maze?
I don't want a stadium in the erse end of nowhere - it should be in Belfast (at Ormeau, Maysfield or somewhere like that).

Visitors want a decent pub and good surroundings, instead of some corporate government-build souless Odyssey-style place.

Old 05-06-07, 21:30   #22

Casino cash: £405

So no national stadium for Ballyclare then? The comrades could ground share.
Ned Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
<
Old 05-06-07, 21:43   #23

Originally Posted by Ned Kelly View Post
So no national stadium for Ballyclare then? The comrades could ground share.
Hopefully not. Belfast aside, I'm holding for Lurgan.