Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 03-01-07, 21:31   #1
Perth Radge

jakey boy is on the way to a first team debut

fao irish hibees

hope you dont mind me invading your sub forum!!

with the january tranfer window now open it got me thinking about the next wee gem that hibs could pick up, and players from the top leagues in NI and ROI. as your probably aware, we hardly hear much about these two leagues in scotland??
what kind of standard do you think the fitba in ireland is compared to the spl??
what footballing ambitions do most irish footballers have, the premiership??
what about the pay, is it similar to that at hibs??
is there any up and coming stars, that you'd like to see at your local team or the hibs??
pete thompson, from the few games and youtube vids ive seen of him, i reckon he could do a job. you guys rate him?? maybe there is another reason he hasnt moved on to a bigger stage??

just a wee bit nosey as we dont get much coverage of these two leagues in scotland

jakey boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-07, 23:12   #2

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

Re: fao irish hibees

hope you dont mind me invading your sub forum!!

with the january tranfer window now open it got me thinking about the next wee gem that hibs could pick up, and players from the top leagues in NI and ROI. as your probably aware, we hardly hear much about these two leagues in scotland??
what kind of standard do you think the fitba in ireland is compared to the spl??
what footballing ambitions do most irish footballers have, the premiership??
what about the pay, is it similar to that at hibs??
is there any up and coming stars, that you'd like to see at your local team or the hibs??
pete thompson, from the few games and youtube vids ive seen of him, i reckon he could do a job. you guys rate him?? maybe there is another reason he hasnt moved on to a bigger stage??

just a wee bit nosey as we dont get much coverage of these two leagues in scotland

the glens are the best thing in ireland.
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-07, 00:20   #3

Bohemians is on the way to a first team debut

Personally i think a few of the clubs in ireland(derry,drogheda,bohemians,pats,linfield and maybe glentoran)would stand up very well in the spl.Im not too sure about the pay in scotland bu many of the top players could be earning anything from €1000 to €2500 i'd say.There are a lot of young players who could do very well in the spl and even england.I dont know too much about young players at other clubs,but john-paul kelly and stephen ward from bohemians are too of the most talented players i've seen play in the eircom lge.Many championship sides in england are inerested in them both incl. ipswich,wolves and sunderland have been linked with them at many different times.Personally i would rather see them remain at bohs because they are great talents and will develop into great players capable of playing for the national team.
Old 04-01-07, 12:24   #4

Blast The Enemy Champion! Fucking Killer Champion! Power Driver Champion!

the glens are the best thing in ireland.
I didn't know you were a Glenavon fan Jimmy

Old 04-01-07, 18:17   #5
Perth Radge

Personally i think a few of the clubs in ireland(derry,drogheda,bohemians,pats,linfield and maybe glentoran)would stand up very well in the spl.Im not too sure about the pay in scotland bu many of the top players could be earning anything from €1000 to €2500 i'd say.There are a lot of young players who could do very well in the spl and even england.I dont know too much about young players at other clubs,but john-paul kelly and stephen ward from bohemians are too of the most talented players i've seen play in the eircom lge.Many championship sides in england are inerested in them both incl. ipswich,wolves and sunderland have been linked with them at many different times.Personally i would rather see them remain at bohs because they are great talents and will develop into great players capable of playing for the national team.
id say the wages at easter road would vary between £600 - £2000 per week making many irish players affordable ( under a bosman or small transfer fee )

thanks for the reply
Old 05-01-07, 20:47   #6
Half Hung Radge

U What? is on the way to a first team debut

Personally I reckon.
Quigley/Devine (keepers)
Jason Byrne/Mark Farren/Roy O'Donovan (Forwards)
Darren Kelly/Colin Hawkins (Defenders)
Ndo/Barry Molloy/george O'Callaghan (Midfielders)

Any of those players as well as a few others would easily fit/slot into just about any SPL team with out to much trouble..

Regarding the little league that Jimmy's team play in not too sure about their players....
Although there's a midfielder called Gault at Linfield who is excellant.
The las Thompsonwho Grena tried to sign last year is over rated (IMHO).
Old 05-01-07, 21:00   #7
Perth Radge

Personally I reckon.
Quigley/Devine (keepers)
Jason Byrne/Mark Farren/Roy O'Donovan (Forwards)
Darren Kelly/Colin Hawkins (Defenders)
Ndo/Barry Molloy/george O'Callaghan (Midfielders)

Any of those players as well as a few others would easily fit/slot into just about any SPL team with out to much trouble..

Regarding the little league that Jimmy's team play in not too sure about their players....
Although there's a midfielder called Gault at Linfield who is excellant.
The las Thompsonwho Grena tried to sign last year is over rated (IMHO).
some names to look out for, cheers U What?
Old 06-01-07, 23:00   #8

jimmyhibs is on the way to a first team debut

I didn't know you were a Glenavon fan Jimmy

jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-07, 22:12   #9

Alan in Dublin is on the way to a first team debut

It will be interesting to see how Trevor Molloy gets on at Motherwell. One of the best players in the Eircom league during my time watching it. There are a few good players here, I watch Bohemians and Ward, Hunt and Kelly are probably the best players, Ward is heading to Wolves in the transfer window. Hunt is mr consistent and could play in the spl. Kelly is the young fresh faced talent but he is still to prove himself.
The so called best club in theIrish Republic only cause they won the league are Shelbourne and they havent paid their players in 7 weeks. The clubs are toiling financially and it doesnt help that most Irish folk couldnt give a feck about the Eirtcom league cos they are too busy watching the Premiership on Sky.Average attendances are maybe no more than 2 to 2.5 thousand so the players at each club cant be getting paid that much.
Alan in Dublin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-07, 21:26   #10
Perth Radge

It will be interesting to see how Trevor Molloy gets on at Motherwell. One of the best players in the Eircom league during my time watching it. There are a few good players here, I watch Bohemians and Ward, Hunt and Kelly are probably the best players, Ward is heading to Wolves in the transfer window. Hunt is mr consistent and could play in the spl. Kelly is the young fresh faced talent but he is still to prove himself.
The so called best club in theIrish Republic only cause they won the league are Shelbourne and they havent paid their players in 7 weeks. The clubs are toiling financially and it doesnt help that most Irish folk couldnt give a feck about the Eirtcom league cos they are too busy watching the Premiership on Sky.Average attendances are maybe no more than 2 to 2.5 thousand so the players at each club cant be getting paid that much.

thanks for the feedback

HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs