Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 05-04-06, 09:58   #1

Casino cash: £1897
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough
What's the greatest pub in your town

One and all,

Bearing in mind we get a fair few people reading this forum who'd love to visit Ireland, what's the best pub in your town and why??

For me (in Belfast), it's The Crown: fair enough, it's a bit touristy but it's one of the best looking bars in the world.

Old 05-04-06, 11:15   #2
Irsko Radge

Casino cash: £5060
Rep Power: 7 Rep of Ireland Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
Re: What's the greatest pub in your town

Knightsbridge:

http://www.chicagobarproject.com/Ire...ghtsbridge.htm

Zanzibar:

http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/zanzibar.html

And on a match night Friday, MCDOWELLS in Inchicore :

http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/mcdowells.html
Old 05-04-06, 17:48   #3

Casino cash: £2824
vCash: 120000

The Yellow House
nabser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-06, 17:53   #4
Workshy Cooncil Radge

Casino cash: £798

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
One and all,

Bearing in mind we get a fair few people reading this forum who'd love to visit Ireland, what's the best pub in your town and why??

For me (in Belfast), it's The Crown: fair enough, it's a bit touristy but it's one of the best looking bars in the world.

Was in that boozer when at a stag weekend in belfast, feckin great pub, also thought the Fly was no bad aswell
Old 06-04-06, 07:43   #5
Irsko Radge

Casino cash: £5060
Rep Power: 7 Rep of Ireland Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by nabser
The Yellow House

Don't go there
Old 11-04-06, 21:36   #6
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1093

Originally Posted by PortoHibee
Was in that boozer when at a stag weekend in belfast, feckin great pub, also thought the Fly was no bad aswell
Aye the Fly is not a bad wee spot, usually only take it in while heading to another place tbh.
Old 11-04-06, 22:07   #7
An Dún Radge

The Cuan, Strangford, Co. Down.

The Dufferin Arms, Killyleagh, Co. Down

And in Dundee:

Mickey Coyle's, Westport, Dundee.
Tickety-boos, Commercial Street, Dundee (city centre)
The Phoenix, Nethergate, Dundee (owner is a bit of a bitch, but it's a nice bar)

All pubs I've mentioned in Dundee aren't anywhere near the footy grounds, they're city-centre-ish and have a wee bit of class, ya ken?

Edit: Seems some of the pubs I've posted don't like their pics used on other sites. Well, if they don't want fuckin' free publicity, that's up to them......

Last edited by Scoobie; 12-04-06 at 09:26.
Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 22:12   #8
Whatever ya Radge

Casino cash: £405

Originally Posted by Scoobie

And in Dundee:

Mickey Coyle's, Westport, Dundee.

Tickety-boos, Commercial Street, Dundee (city centre)

The Phoenix, Nethergate, Dundee (owner is a bit of a bitch, but it's a nice bar)

All pubs I've mentioned in Dundee aren't anywhere near the footy grounds, they're city-centre-ish and have a wee bit of class, ya ken?
Sorry, just choked on my cup of tea there Scoobie. aww, you had me in stitches

Zelena a Bila
Tortolinzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 22:17   #9
An Dún Radge

Originally Posted by Tortolinzi
Sorry, just choked on my cup of tea there Scoobie. aww, you had me in stitches
What? What di do? What di do dat's foonie?

They're good pubs! Mickey's is one I frequent a fair bit.
Old 11-04-06, 22:25   #10
Whatever ya Radge

What? What di do? What di do dat's foonie?

They're good pubs! Mickey's is one I frequent a fair bit.
They may be good, but claiming that Dundee has a bit of class?! Now that's a tad far-fetched is it not? Sorry to offend your new found home town and all....

Zelena a Bila
Old 12-04-06, 09:23   #11
An Dún Radge

They may be good, but claiming that Dundee has a bit of class?! Now that's a tad far-fetched is it not? Sorry to offend your new found home town and all....
Well, obviously you two have never been to a decent pub in Dundee, or you've only been in the ones during the Bounce Tours.

The pubs I've mentioned, I'll fully stick up for, as they're NOTHING like the pubs near the footy grounds. That's why I said that they had a bit of class, better type of clientel and staff.

Come on up, then..... see for yourself!
Old 14-04-06, 18:18   #12
Arty Radge

How many times have you been to Dundee other than merely a football ground?
Old 15-04-06, 00:47   #13
Northside Radge

Casino cash: £690

I think Dundee's a great spot! I had my stag there and it was superb. 24 guys from Dublin had a fantastic time and many have been back over.

Don't give a sh1te who disagree's with me.
Old 15-04-06, 20:08   #14
Whatever ya Radge

Well, obviously you two have never been to a decent pub in Dundee, or you've only been in the ones during the Bounce Tours.

The pubs I've mentioned, I'll fully stick up for, as they're NOTHING like the pubs near the footy grounds. That's why I said that they had a bit of class, better type of clientel and staff.

Come on up, then..... see for yourself!
Aah, well, I'll say we'll agree to disagree then Scoobs!...since you're emphasizing the bit of class!!...maybe I just caught it on the wrong nights, or, lowered the tone of the place myself....

Zelena a Bila
Old 15-04-06, 20:13   #15
Whatever ya Radge

Originally Posted by Bridie
How many times have you been to Dundee other than merely a football ground?

I've been to Dundee for non-footie related purposes more than I have for football games Bridie!

My best friend goes to university in Dundee, over the last three years have been quite a fair few times....so actually been to a couple of places that Scoobie mentioned, Tickety-boo's and The Phoenix.

Zelena a Bila
Old 15-04-06, 23:58   #16
Arty Radge

I've been to Dundee for non-footie related purposes more than I have for football games Bridie!

My best friend goes to university in Dundee, over the last three years have been quite a fair few times....so actually been to a couple of places that Scoobie mentioned, Tickety-boo's and The Phoenix.
Well, in that case you'll know that Dundee is a brilliant place for a pub crawl.
Old 15-04-06, 23:59   #17
Arty Radge

Originally Posted by Hibernian_Dub
I think Dundee's a great spot! I had my stag there and it was superb. 24 guys from Dublin had a fantastic time and many have been back over.

Don't give a sh1te who disagree's with me.

Soooperb
Old 17-04-06, 00:30   #18
Whatever ya Radge

Originally Posted by Bridie
Well, in that case you'll know that Dundee is a brilliant place for a pub crawl.

Oh yes, it's great for a night out or two......I never, and wouldn't debate that!

Zelena a Bila
Old 18-04-06, 10:38   #19
Stu

Casino cash: £5125

Thanks for the heads-up from all the Irish Hibby's. I love The Crown, it's truly a fantastic place and I look forward to my next opportunity to visit it. May I offer you one in return from this part of the world, in return?

The Trip To Jerusalem, Nottingham

'The Trip' takes it's name from the crusaders who were reputed to have stopped of at the hostelry back in the middle ages. Dating back to 1189 AD, it's argued that it's the oldest pub in England and even the world according to some. This is debated by a couple of other pubs in Nottingham though. The argument revolves around when The Trip actually became a pub - not the actual age of the building.

What is very unusual about the place is that part of the pub is hewn out of caves set at the foot of Nottingham Castle rock. From the medieval game set in the wall of the initial downstairs bar up to the most recent bar opened from a 'new' cave upstairs, the pub reeks of originality. A legend surrounds the model galleon ship that resides above an upper bar in a glass case. The ship used to hang in a hole in the cave roof for many years, covered in cobwebs as it was reputed that anyone touching it would come to grief, (everal people died!)

The fact that the pub is a well-visited tourist destination does not detract from it's appeal. Although completely unique, it still retains the feel of a decent 'local'. If you should find yourself in Nottingham, try not to miss this place, it's situated five minutes walk away from the city's central Old Market Square.

The interior.

Downstairs bar

Downstairs lounge

Steps up to third-storey 'new' cave

View of cave ceiling receding into castle rock

Upstairs bar (with galleon)

View down from 'new' cave

http://www.triptojerusalem.com/

Old 19-04-06, 14:22   #20
Half Hung Radge

Casino cash: £330

here,,,,

that Jerusulum was featured in britain's oldest pub guide the other week on ch5...

Or was it dodgiest???

You'll never beat the North West for drink...

Best pub in Ireland for Guinness is the Drift Inn... Buncrana.

Great bar in Derry is The Metro or Peadars..
Old 20-04-06, 18:49   #21

robinson's across from the europa has to be up there with the best in belfast.
so much better than the vastly overated crown.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgS-W...elated&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itZ8yXNue_g
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-06, 15:21   #22
Half Hung Radge

Casino cash: £330

I would agree Jimmy..

At least in Robinsons you might get a seat.....sometime..