Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 07-12-04, 13:20   #1

Casino cash: £2387
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 18 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough
New NI Hibs office-holders (and update)

All,

Excellent meeting last night. Great ideas from everyone and a good division of work - functions rooms at the social club look fantastic to boot.

Just to confirm the new office-holders (in no particular order):

The Committee:

Ned: El Presidente and general All Seeing Overlord. Also possible Fundraising Officer and Bookings Officer
Ed: Chairman, Pace Drinker and Bannerman
Garry: Youth Co-ordinator and Chief Negotiator
Mike: Travel Officer (to be confirmed)
Scoobie: Design Guru and Honorary Member
Conor: Secretary and Assistant Negotiator/Diplomat

I'm in the middle of sending emails all over the place about the big Turnbull function and will keep you up to date. Please check in here regularly.

I'll start advertising the event once everything is confirmed and the tickets are ordered: we'll use an advert in the official programme, a mention in the official e-newsletter, a wee line in the Irish News, articles on as many Hibs sites as possible, emails and possibly phone calls to all supporters clubs, posters (and phone calls for help to get the message to all SCs) at the Hibs Club.

I'm still working on the issue of the membership cards and will keep you all up to date.

We'll also confirm the date for a night on the razzle at the end of the month as soon as possible. Hopefully Soobie, who is going to work on the design for the Turnbull function invite, will be able to join us.

Finally, I'll have a meeting with Mike to update him with all progress.

NIH

Old 08-12-04, 08:44   #2

Re: New NI Hibs office-holders (and update)

Confirmed date for Turnbull function is Friday March 11 - make a date in your diary.

A great deal of work is being put into this, therefore speak to your girlfriend/boss/both about getting the night 'off'.

ALL MEMBERS TO ATTEND. No excuses.

Old 08-12-04, 12:22   #3

Rep Power: 5 I Ate JamTarts is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby
Confirmed date for Turnbull function is Friday March 11 - make a date in your diary.

A great deal of work is being put into this, therefore speak to your girlfriend/boss/both about getting the night 'off'.

Don't need to speek to anyone, the night like every night is mine
Hibernian Go Bragh.
By the way plan to head to new york on wednesday 16th march,
any idea what day you plan to go.
I Ate JamTarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-04, 12:25   #4

There is a fella from west of scotland who always talks about glentoran, i dont think there would be a problem getting a signed glentoran shirt, nor would eddie have any problem getting a signed cliftonville shirt.
What do you think.
Hibernian Go Bragh
Old 08-12-04, 14:31   #5
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1258

Can we get this etched with the NI Hibs Crest and words something like 'In honour to Mr Eddie Turnbull 2005'

If any kind of Crystal is going to be involved, it has to be N.Irish! Plus the price is quite reasonable for a SC this size.

http://www.tyronecrystal.com/Enquiry...=3&PC=001AC204

Scoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-04, 19:14   #6

Originally Posted by I Ate JamTarts
There is a fella from west of scotland who always talks about glentoran, i dont think there would be a problem getting a signed glentoran shirt, nor would eddie have any problem getting a signed cliftonville shirt.
What do you think.
Hibernian Go Bragh
Good call mate.

The answer is yes to all raffle prizes - the more the better. We want to pull in plenty of money for the former players and the historical trust.

NIH

Old 08-12-04, 19:16   #7

Originally Posted by Scoobie
Can we get this etched with the NI Hibs Crest and words something like 'In honour to Mr Eddie Turnbull 2005'

If any kind of Crystal is going to be involved, it has to be N.Irish! Plus the price is quite reasonable for a SC this size.

http://www.tyronecrystal.com/Enquiry...=3&PC=001AC204

Absolutely Scoobie - we'll look into this in the new year.

It would make total sense to give Tyrone Crystal and it would look fantastic with an NI Hibs crest on.

NIH

Old 08-12-04, 19:27   #8

UPDATES -

- Signed shirt is on the way from the club. Also The Bounce, London Hibs and more sending prizes.

- Eddie will be travelling with a rep. from the former players association who will also bring raffle prizes.

- One and all are happy with Friday 11th as the date.

- Fantastic design for the ticket through from Scoobie.

- We have been advised by a person with some expertise that £5 is too cheap. Opinions???

- Big function room is booked.

That's all for now!!

NIH

Old 09-12-04, 23:07   #9
An Dún Radge

We have been advised by a person with some expertise that £5 is too cheap. Opinions???
A Scottish source has informed me that a £10'er would be perfectly acceptable in Scotland for such a event; but for our location (NI in particular) this would encourage more visitors to attend (especially from Edinburgh and Dublin), so a £5'er sounds just right.

They have an expense to get to us, so a decent Ticket is fully reasonable. The thing is, that they have to turn up, just like we did at the Bounce POTY.

Scoobs.
Old 10-12-04, 08:40   #10

All good points Scoobie and I agree with every one of them.

I'll see what the rest of the lads think also, but there's a lot to be said for the argument that, while a lot of those who will attend would come if it is £5 or £10, it would be a better gesture for the ticket to be as cheap as possible due to the expense they've already gone to.

Worst case scenarior is that we might make a small loss on the door against the cost of orgsanising the gig but spread amoung the four/five organisers we could live with it. The event was never a fundraiser for us anyway as the raffle has always been earmarked for HIbs charities.

As for getting people to come - this was originally billed as a West of Scotland HSC trip and they will be our special guests. I'll also offer tickets to the whole Bounce and then to all supporters' clubs. Advertising will be through posters at the Hibs Club/Cabbage and Ribs etc, an advert in the Hibs programme, a mention in the Irish News and articles/forum mentions on some Hibs websites.

As another wee update, I've been asking various groups to donate raffle prizes (and with some success). I'll work on at trying to find more - any recommendations or ESPECIALLY contacts would be gratefully received.

NIH

Old 10-12-04, 10:27   #11

Another wee update on raffle prizes - Hibsgallery.co.uk are sending a Hibs picture, Easter Road are sending a signed strip, the Bounce is sending something and I think London Hibs are too.

I'll try to identify businesses we could touch for a prize also!

NIH

Old 10-12-04, 15:03   #12

Latest update:

I've sent an email to every supporters' club registered. However, these emails are often either out of date or not checked very often so may have to phone them all in January.

I've also sent email to London Hibs and the Dublin lads as well as everyone on the NI HIbs email list. We're starting get some responces back and it looks good but there's load of work to be done to get a good turnout.

Scoobie is putting a poster together for us and we can get it put up in the Hibs Club and a few of the Hibs bars.

I think Ned has also picked up a new member. (What do you mean what was wrong with his old one ).

NIH

Old 10-12-04, 19:08   #13
An Dún Radge

The poster will have to be Monday, mate. I got sent a decent pic of Eddie as manager, but being the dumbass as I am I forgot to send it home to do it on the weekend.

Sorrry.

I'm also trying to rack my brain for good sponsors/prizegivers but not having a good time. It's easier on a local level, but I can't help seeing a full Northern Ireland / Edinburgh level. Boy, you really miss those contacts that you discarded years ago.
Old 10-12-04, 19:49   #14
An Dún Radge

Also, I thought it'll be a good thing if I showed my 'face' over there for a while to promote this. First time in a long long while posting there, so I hope it helps.

And for now, I won't be calling them the 4th Reich.

Well, a good cause calls for good measures. This is for Hibs.
Old 13-12-04, 10:29   #15

Cheers Scoobie.

Thanks for your work on the poster and for keeping us up to date. We weren't rushing you at all anyway, we're just glad to have your help.

As for the 'other side'. Anything you could do to promote the event over there would be excellent - a good plan, ta.

Speak later.

NIH

Old 13-12-04, 12:41   #16

Casino cash: £2597

Connor, when I send you that recent programme in the post I'll also chuck in some programmes from the 70's/early 80's I have kicking about my room for you to use as a raffle prize.

What year were most of you peeps born, cos I once found a programme from the very day I was born at a car boot sale and to me its priceless. Even if its no the very day, a programme from the season you were born would make a nice collecters item.
Old 13-12-04, 12:50   #17

Fantasic stuff and an excellent idea for the raffle - thanks.

My DOB is December 29th 1976, so I should keep a lookout for a programme from in and around then. Another cracking idea.

Thanks for all your help - hopefully we'll see you in March??

NIH

Old 13-12-04, 13:06   #18

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer
Connor, when I send you that recent programme in the post I'll also chuck in some programmes from the 70's/early 80's I have kicking about my room for you to use as a raffle prize.

What year were most of you peeps born, cos I once found a programme from the very day I was born at a car boot sale and to me its priceless. Even if its no the very day, a programme from the season you were born would make a nice collecters item.
26/10/1968
Hibernian Go Bragh
Old 13-12-04, 13:21   #19

26/10/1968
Hibernian Go Bragh

So much for being older and wiser!!!

Old 13-12-04, 13:43   #20

So much for being older and wiser!!!
No Worries For Me

NED's the daddy

Hibernian Go Bragh
Old 14-12-04, 09:45   #21
An Dún Radge

No Worries For Me

NED's the daddy

Hibernian Go Bragh
26/09/1973. I believe it was a Wednesday, but don't quote me on that!
Old 14-12-04, 12:26   #22

A wee update ladels and jellyspoons -

I'm going to send the invitiations away to be printed. We're about a fiver short each on the cost so we can either balance it out or I'll cover it and mark it off to be paid out of the door money in March. I'm keeping a tally of what everyone is owed out of the door money in March anyway.

The poster and ticket designs are excellent. We'll put the poster design on here shortly and will also get it added to nihibs.com and sent over to the Hibs Club and pubs to display.

I'm also going to send off a design for membership cards to be printed. I think everyone should rejoin at a cost of a couple of quid, I've been working on proper membership forms and they should be filled out so we have proper contact details for everyone. The extra money will also help us with things like postage and when people email about joining the club they'll have something we can send to them.

That's all for now!

NIH

Old 14-12-04, 13:11   #