Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 29-10-04, 15:15   #1
Irsko Radge

Casino cash: £5060
Rep Power: 7 Rep of Ireland Hibee is on the way to a first team debut
West Dublin Hibs

HI THERE. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THE DUBLIN SUPPORTERS CLUB ARE NO MORE? PERSONALY I THINK THEY WERE A WASTE OF SPACE. THEY NEVER TRAVELED TO MATCHES, AND ONLY TWO OR THREE TURNED UP FOR MEETINGS, SORRY BUT I DON'T CALL THAT SUPPOT. ANYWAY, A FEW OF US HAVE ATARTED A NEW SUPPORTERS CLUB HERE IN DUBLIN. AT THE MOMENT THERE ARE ON TEN OF US, BUT WE ALREADY DO CUB MERCHANDISE AND TRAVEL TO ALMOST ALL HOME GAMES, SO IF ANYONE IS INTERSTED IN JOINING LET ME KNOW. CHEERS.

Last edited by Rep of Ireland Hibee; 07-04-05 at 08:11.
Rep of Ireland Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-04, 16:19   #2

Rep Power: 5 I Ate JamTarts is on the way to a first team debut
Re: WEST BUBLIN HIBS

The next home match NIHibs are travelling to we should meet up in edinburgh.
Hibernian Go Bragh
I Ate JamTarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 11:55   #3

Casino cash: £1897
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

Good to here from you.

I haven't been in contact with anyone from Dublin Hibs (Erin Go Bragh Hibs) for a while as their website and forum is down but I know that there are a large group of die-hards down there who travel across a few times a season. I think they've been doing this since the early 90s.

The supporters' club (EGB) seemed to be getting bigger and bigger, though, and even held a fans' forum for something like 70 people a couple of years ago.

In the meantime you want to make contact with a a guy who uses the Hibeesbounce called Dublin Hibee (you can send him a PM through 'members list') as he was a good contact for me amoungst the supporters in Dublin. He'll tell you what the craic is with the EGB club.

Otherwise, I'm going to send you a PM with my email address and will ask you to do the same. I'll let you know when some of us are going to be at ER as we'd be keen to meet your lads for a jar.

A couple of us will be at the New Year's derby and then we'll probably head to a game in Glasgow in the New Year.

Also, we're having a supporters' club night out in Belfast on November 19th and welcoming the West of Scotland supporters across for a weekend in March next year. Any of your boys would be welcome at either.

All the best,

NIH

Old 04-11-04, 00:27   #4
Northside Radge

Casino cash: £690

Hi West Dublin Hibs,

First of all, best of luck to you with your new supporters club. The 'Waste of Space' SC is basically no longer, largely due to the apathy/disinterest of members and time constraints of the founder members. But in it's time, the Erin go Brágh SC (ie the Waste of Space) managed to advertise the SC every week in a national paper, produce club merchandise, produce a large Dublin Hibs flag, make our presence felt at many Hibs games home and away, attract the Hibs chairman, financial director and club manager to a meeting in Dublin attended by 80/100 people, have monthly meetings in a city centre pub, produce and post 4 Newsletters to over 60 people, make a presentation of an embroidered bronze harp (value- €150) to Ken Lewandowski which was featured in an article in the Irish Star. The fact that every user on this website and Hibs.net have heard of the Dublin Hibs is a testament to the hard work that was put into the SC by a few dedicated individuals. That is just a very brief outline of some of it's main achievements.

The SC is in 'hibernation' at present, but in the words of Gerry Adams, they haven't gone away y'know. All of the founder members still travel regularly to games albeit not under the guise of a SC. As I said, best of luck to you and your new SC. I will be taking a close interest in your development. Slagging off another SC is perhaps not the best way to endear yourself so you have now set the bar. The EgB SC achieved everything I've outline above. A waste of space? I don't think so, but hopefully when you and your new SC do all this and a lot more besides, you will have the right to call it such.

Where do you meet? How often? What merchandise do you have? Do you organise flights and hotels for games? Can you send me out your latest newsletter? Is Tony Mowbray coming over to visit? etc etc I look forward to hearing your answers. In the meantime, good luck.

PS I didn't even mention providing accomadation for smelly and drunken NIHibs during their stay in Dublin
Old 04-11-04, 09:03   #5
Purple & Gold Radge

Originally Posted by west dublin hibs
HI THERE. DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THE DUBLIN SUPPORTERS CLUB ARE NO MORE? PERSONALY I THINK THEY WERE A WASTE OF SPACE. THEY NEVER TRAVELED TO MATCHES, AND ONLY TWO OR THREE TURNED UP FOR MEETINGS, SORRY BUT I DON'T CALL THAT SUPPOT. ANYWAY, A FEW OF US HAVE ATARTED A NEW SUPPORTERS CLUB HERE IN DUBLIN. AT THE MOMENT THERE ARE ON TEN OF US, BUT WE ALREADY DO CUB MERCHANDISE AND TRAVEL TO ALMOST ALL HOME GAMES, SO IF ANYONE IS INTERSTED IN JOINING LET ME KNOW. CHEERS.
As a former member of the 'waste of space' SC I find your introduction of yourself and your new WEST BUBLIN HIBS SC an embarrassment. To start off by putting down a group whom made a lot of effort to support and promote their club is, in my opinion, a little stupid. As you are probably aware, there aren't a huge amount of Hibees in Ireland and to immediately insult the Erin Go Bragh SC has put your SC in a bad light in my eyes. As I no longer live in Dublin, I am probably not eligible to join your new SC, but you probably wouldn't have me anyway because I wouldn't be able to attend meetings regularly and due to personal circumstances do not travel to many games. However, ask anyone that knows me and they will tell you I am still, and always will be, a die-hard Hibee.

Glad I'm not living in Dublin anymore Go Bragh

Wexy.

p.s. learn to use a spell-checker and TURN OFF YOUR CAPS-LOCK. muppet.
Old 04-11-04, 10:43   #6
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1093

Originally Posted by wexy
muppet.
Old 04-11-04, 10:58   #7

Reckon there's a bit of bridge-building to be done here - I'm staying out of this one and leaving it to the Dubs.

And as for 'providing accommodation for drunken and smelly NIHibs'; it was one of the worse nights of my life and I can't blame the fine accomodation either. I might put together a wee team from Belfast together and pay a visit to a cerain chef, though!

Old 04-11-04, 11:00   #8
Northside Radge

Originally Posted by Scoobie
Old 04-11-04, 11:11   #9
Irsko Radge

Hello Lads,

REALLY didn't want to upset anybody, but I guess we did. Sorry Wexy. I was at 3 or 4 EGB meetings, and at these meetings about 5 or 6 peple turned up. We are only starting, so NO we don't have Tony Mowbray coming over next week. We do already have a full range of merchandise and travell to most games. Sorry to hear the EGB SC are no longer. I have heard about what they have done, it is great. If you feel that if another SC doesn't do this then they are not worthy of the name, then sorry. We started our SC because we travel to ER very regularly. This is our way of being a supporters club, going to Edinburgh to support the team, and meeting up for the odd piss up in Dublin. If we don't print newsletters, bring chairmen and managers to Dublin, or make gifts for the club, it doesn't mean we are not proper supporters. After our final visit to EGB we recieved a letter from one member pretty much saying we were not welcome, because we asked why people didn't turn up, and why they didn't travel to matches very much. This is why we had to try our own thing, and so far so good. As I said at the start, VERY SORRY to EGB. Very best of luck restarting your SC.
Old 04-11-04, 11:35   #10
Purple & Gold Radge

Sorry Wexy. .
Apology accepted.
Thought it was you.

Best of luck with your new venture.

Wexy
Atha Buí Hibs SC (current membership 2, no merchandise available, no regular meetings, no regular trips to ER, but still part of the Hibee family....)
Old 04-11-04, 11:39   #11
Irsko Radge

Cheers
Old 04-11-04, 11:48   #12

While we've got everyone from North, South and even Dundee together in the one the thread can I point out that everyone is welcome up in Belfast on Friday November 19th for the great NI Hibs night out*.

Format will be a tour of the city centre bars. We'll find space for any Hibbys visiting from a distance. I feel that I particularly owe Hibernian Dub a bit of hospitality

Anyway, sorry to interrupt....................

* We'll also be celebrating making Chris Robinson our NI Hibs Honorary Member for 2005.

Old 04-11-04, 11:56   #13
Irsko Radge

Is anyone from Dublin Hibs going over for Motherwell game on Saturday, maybe we can meet for drink in cabbage?
Old 04-11-04, 14:19   #14
Northside Radge

Hello Lads,

REALLY didn't want to upset anybody, but I guess we did. Sorry Wexy. I was at 3 or 4 EGB meetings, and at these meetings about 5 or 6 peple turned up. We are only starting, so NO we don't have Tony Mowbray coming over next week. We do already have a full range of merchandise and travell to most games. Sorry to hear the EGB SC are no longer. I have heard about what they have done, it is great. If you feel that if another SC doesn't do this then they are not worthy of the name, then sorry. We started our SC because we travel to ER very regularly. This is our way of being a supporters club, going to Edinburgh to support the team, and meeting up for the odd piss up in Dublin. If we don't print newsletters, bring chairmen and managers to Dublin, or make gifts for the club, it doesn't mean we are not proper supporters. After our final visit to EGB we recieved a letter from one member pretty much saying we were not welcome, because we asked why people didn't turn up, and why they didn't travel to matches very much. This is why we had to try our own thing, and so far so good. As I said at the start, VERY SORRY to EGB. Very best of luck restarting your SC.
Ok, now I can put a face to the name. First of all, mature of you apologise and it's accepted. Secondly, and this part is really pissing me off, the letter you got was from me and in NO WAY did it say that you were not welcome. I have the letter still saved on my PC here and what I did say to you was something similar to my first post here that the best way to endear yourself to other Hibee's is by not insulting them. You came along to a meeting/match in the city centre and basically slagged everything and anything that the EgB SC were doing. I wrote to you and asked you that rather than put down the SC, why don't you help out. Funnily, we never heard of you again till now. You're "waste of space" comments, I think, backs me up here.

Thirdly, there's is a big difference between being supporters and being a supporters club. All former members of the EgB SC are still supporters and still travel to games (10 of whom were at the Hearts game recently). So, are you a few mates that travel regularly to Hibs games or are you actually a supporters club. I'm not being smart here, I'd genuinely like to know cos there's occasions when I'd like to travel to games with fellow Hibbees. So, if I said I wanted to travel to the Motherwell game on Saturday, would you organise flights, accomadation,tickets etc There are other former members of the EgB who I'm sure would like to get involved. How could they find out about this SC, how do they make contact, how do they buy the merchandise etc.

As I said, best of luck to you if it is indeed a SC you've organised. If it's a few mates who enjoy a weekend away together, don't waste your time making false accusations against the likes of me and others.

Conor, don't think I'll make it on the 19th, but keep me informed about the session in March.
Old 04-11-04, 15:20   #15
Irsko Radge

the day we got the letter from you we rang Mark, said sorry and asked were we still welcome, he said he had no problems with us what so ever, and would ring you straight away and then call me back. we never heard from him again, he saw us in frazers for hearts match and ignored us totally. and we did NOT slag you's off!!! we asked why people didn't turn up for meetings and why you's did not trvel to matches too much, which you admitted you's didn't. also, yes we are a bunch of fans who travel over on a lot of day trips and weekends for matches. and we meet more people each week who do the same, and we meet up with them too. sorry if you are unable to book a flight on ryanair and need someone to do it for you, maybe someone will tach you how to do it someday. but i doubt if the other members of your club really relied on you to book things for them! i said sorry for my comments earlier, they were wrong and i said that, but if you want to continue being a bitch about it then fine. and stop preaching the gospel about your great SC. look where it is now.

THANKS
Old 04-11-04, 16:00   #16
Purple & Gold Radge

the day we got the letter from you we rang Mark, said sorry and asked were we still welcome, he said he had no problems with us what so ever, and would ring you straight away and then call me back. we never heard from him again, he saw us in frazers for hearts match and ignored us totally. and we did NOT slag you's off!!! we asked why people didn't turn up for meetings and why you's did not trvel to matches too much, which you admitted you's didn't. also, yes we are a bunch of fans who travel over on a lot of day trips and weekends for matches. and we meet more people each week who do the same, and we meet up with them too. sorry if you are unable to book a flight on ryanair and need someone to do it for you, maybe someone will tach you how to do it someday. but i doubt if the other members of your club really relied on you to book things for them! i said sorry for my comments earlier, they were wrong and i said that, but if you want to continue being a bitch about it then fine. and stop preaching the gospel about your great SC. look where it is now.

THANKS
I accepted your apology beforehand, but now you've really pissed me off. You can take your apology and stick it as far up yer arse as possible.
If you had a problem with the letter Keith sent you, why the hell did you ring me??? why not Keith? If you didn't have his number I could've given it to you. When I did talk to Keith about it, I remember thinking it wasn't such a big deal, but obviously it was to you. I don't remeber 'ignoring' you in frazers after that.... did you approach me and did I look the other way? Did you ignore us?

this is all getting very petty, I apologise to NIHibs for all this being dragged onto their message board. In fact, it is an embarrassment that this "discussion" is being aired in a public arena at all.

Sad, sad, sad.
Old 04-11-04, 16:02   #17

Casino cash: £647

West Dublin Hibs

Fair play to ye for setting up an SC - good luck with it.

To slag off the EGB is just plain wrong. I was one of the founder members and a few of us worked our arses off to promote the SC. We held monthly meetings in a city centre pub as advertised in the Evening Herald. Everyone who had made contact with us, e-mailed, saw the website etc knew EXACTLY where and when we were meeting BUT we cannot FORCE people to turn up for meetings! The EGB was almost 5 or 6 different "SC's" from different parts of Dublin and we attempted to get all Dublin Hibees under one umbrella so to speak and we almost succeeded. Hibernian Dub has outlined all the things the EGB did so not going to repeat anything. There is only so long you can put in the effort without getting any return on it and you have to unfortunately draw the line somewhere.

I left Dublin in late 2003 to go travelling and have only returned in the last few weeks and couldn't help run an SC from the other side of the world, and as Wexy said he is no longer in Dublin either. It's very very difficult to run an SC and try and keep people interested. If you have started an SC I wish you every success with it and would defo be interested in hooking up to travel to a game or 2 with youse but am in no financial position to consider a trip to ER at the moment.

As I'm sure you're well aware us real greens are thin enough on the ground in Dublin/Ireland as it is, so lets not start a civil war eh?

Good luck again and hopefully meet you at some stage in the future.
Dublin_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-04, 16:14   #18
Irsko Radge

Thanks Dublin Hibee,
I said something wrong earlier, and I admitted it and said sorry, and I meant that. We don't want ANY arguements with anyone. But it seems someome else has a BIG problem with us, and there's nothing I can do about that. He asks us what we have achived and how people find out about buying our merchandise even though I said we've only just started our SC. He should know, it doesn't all happen in a couple of weeks. Who knows he might get his way and we will fail in what we're trying to do. But we have to try anyway.

Cheers.
Old 04-11-04, 16:21   #19
Irsko Radge

And Wexy the reason we rang you is because we were led to believe you were incharge of you SC. It was your number being advertised. AND you took the call, AND you said you'd call back. Stop being a child. It's not a big deal.
Old 04-11-04, 23:30   #20
Northside Radge

"you took the call, AND you said you'd call back. Stop being a child."

"it seems someome else has a BIG problem with us"

"Who knows he might get his way and we will fail in what we're trying to do."

"if you are unable to book a flight on ryanair and need someone to do it for you, maybe someone will tach you how to do it someday"

"stop preaching the gospel about your great SC. look where it is now"

Well, wdh, I can see you've really changed...NOT! The above quotes from you certainly don't do you any favours. You came on here looking for an argument and quite frankly, you don't want to listen to whats been said and you're boring me now. Thanks also for clearing up that you are just a few mates that go over to games regularly. Both myself, Dublin Hibee and Wexy have all wished you luck but you still are spoiling for a fight and have reduced yourself to petty and snide remarks. If you want to know what a REAL SC is all about, have a look at the superb job that Conor and the NIHibs are doing. But coming out with all this 'we were not welcome', 'you ignored me', 'no one rang me' nonsense is making you sound immature to say the least. The truth is quite the opposite because myself, Wexy and Dublin Hibee burst our bollix to try to attract people into the EgB so any suggestions to the contrary is both absurd and laughable.

And yes, the EgB WAS great for a short while, thanks for saying, and yes look where it is now... a few drinking mates that go over to Hibs games. Sound familiar?
Old 05-11-04, 07:47   #21
Irsko Radge

Grow up Kieth, I said sorry to both of you, and asked if any of you's were going to Motherwell match so we could meet for a drink. YOU just replied to it by arguing some more about what an SC is. It seems what we are TRYING to do really bothers you. How sad. Best of luck.
Old 05-11-04, 08:39   #22
Purple & Gold Radge

And Wexy the reason we rang you is because we were led to believe you were incharge of you SC. It was your number being advertised. AND you took the call, AND you said you'd call back. Stop being a child. It's not a big deal.
I'm sorry, but it looks like YOU are the one who is making a big deal of this. As I said in my last post, this is getting petty, so I'm not even going to bother with any more replies. If you want to discuss it further you can PM me, this senseless bickering in a public forum is just embarrassing.

I just think it's a shame all ye Jackeens can't get along and follow the Hibs.