Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Irish Hibs

Irish Hibs For members of Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland Supporters' Clubs.

Old 25-08-04, 13:50   #1

Casino cash: £1797
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough
Belfast, Belfast wonderful town: A guide

Belfast, Belfast Wonderful Town: A Guide...

As the song goes: "The people of Belfast are friendly and quiet, except sometimes when they have a little riot".

Below is what I hope will become a guide to the vastly-improved and well worth visiting town of Belfast.

Our plan is to update the list below when we visit a pub or restaurant. Members or visitors can add their listings and comments to the thread below and I'll include them in this guide. If we do this every time we visit a new venue we could make this a very useful guide for visitors:

The Apartment, Belfast: Beside City Hall. Serves a decent meal. Decor is the ultra-modern dark wood and retro-glass/designer look beloved of women and social climbers. Quality of the draft lager in the upstairs bar was awful last visit. A good place to take She Who Must Be Obeyed.

The Art College, Belfast: Near Cathedral Quarter. Nightclubs and concerts sometimes held here. Was always an old-fashioned dingy concert venue but now house/techno nights appear. Worth keeping an eye out for the very, very incompetent bar staff (I think they have to employ students) who will eventually become less and less funny - and more and more annoying - as your thirst grows.

Bar 12, Belfast: In the Botanic area of South Belfast, an area fast becoming more cosmopolitan and with a wide range of bars and restaurants. Bar 12 is a good balance between the many student bars, run of the mill Saturday-night chart hits bars and more offeat DJ bars. Not too long a wait at the bar, decent mixture of people and a good DJ (at weekends) playing a range of music. Worth a look.

The Beaten Docket, Belfast: Opposite the Europa Hotel. Handy spot for a bar meal before getting a bus or train from across the road. Unexceptional except that its old-fashioned, no-frills boozer style is refreshing.

Benedict's, Belfast
: Just off Shaftsbury Square (where the huge Times Square TV screen is). A huge bar in the style of any very busy Saturday night super-bar in Edinburgh/Glasgow/Aberdeen/Dublin etc. Complete with DJ playing commercial hits and muttering incomprehensibly between songs. This is with the added bonus of sharing your night out with all the former young regulars from the now burnt-down Sandy Row Rangers Supporters' Club. Nice.

The Botanic Inn, Belfast: Bottom of Botanic area. Pronounced 'The Baat'. Excellent spot to watch matches on TV or to get the pub-crawl started. Like all huge, commercial bars of its type the overall effect is soulless but dependable. Added by jimmyhibs: "Aah! The memories. I used to frequent 'The Bot' when i lived in Belfast. Good to see it's still going strong. In fact, I used to wash the pots in there on the odd night".

Borboun, Great Victoria Street, Belfast: Across the road from the Europa and down a bit. Lavishly decorated restaurant (ie, looks as if Lawrence Llewlen Bowen went bezerk). Has a reputation for good food, but the menu was stodgy and overpriced last time NIH visited. I think people are confusing expense and lavish surroundings with quality food. Service good but - like the food - could be better.

The Crown, Belfast: Wee bar opposite The Europa Hotel, featured in every film about Northern Ireland ever made. An essential for visitors for at least one pint. Added by stu in nottingham: "I understand that the old place might be something of a tourist trap but for me I really enjoyed my several visits to the place. I think it was pretty atmospheric and after starting off the night, coming over from the hotel nearby, we tended to head oursleves back over there for a couple more later during the evening. A BIG bonus was the pizza fellah around the corner who was rustling up some of the best pizza pie this side of Naples that I've tasted."

Deane's restaurant, rear of City Hall, Belfast: Has the advantages of being possibly the best posh nosh restaurant in Belfast (the upstairs A La Carte section) as well as serving top standard everyday dishes in the downstairs Brasserie. Service is pretty good. This is definately one to visit is you are splashing out or if you are paying on expenses!

The Empire, Belfast. In Botanic area beside train station. Not a personal favourite due it its dark, odd lighting and cold layout. Once famous for its comedy club, but not sure of this is still running.

The Europa, Great Victoria Street, Belfast: Stay at the upmarketish Europa or at the Culloden (just outside Belfast) if you are on an expenses account. Mad, huge upstairs bar with amazing pianist (and singer) at weekends. Outstanding service if you are staying at the hotel, which also has excellent attention to detail and probably the best rooms (especially superior+) in the city. One of Ireland's most famous hotels and quite rightly so. When I was young I always thought that you had to be a millionaire or very famous to stay there, but it's just a four star hotel (and one I have a soft spot for).

The Fly, Belfast
: In Botanic area. Big club, loads of levels, chart music. Safe, ordinary etc etc.

The Fountain, Belfast: added by stu in notthingham: "We were looking for a few of the older bars one night down the alleys for a bit of interest and began from here. Disappointing and empty, nothing happening on a Saturday night."

Hard Rock Cafe, Oyssey Complex, Belfast: Added by stu in nottingham: "Was taken in on one of my visits, (we were there for a hockey game at the Oyssey). Before and after we sunk a few lagers in the bar there and found it most agreeable and full of good natured and talkative hockey folk."

The Hercules: Added by IAteJamTarts: "For older bars try the Hercules around the corner from the Fountain Tavern on Castle Street, live music upstairs. Open to at least 2am".

The Hilton, Belfast
: En route to the Odyssey complex and close to the Lagan river. Run of the mill hotel bar with below-average but overpriced bar food.

The John Hewitt: Added by IAteJamTarts: "A good pub for afternoon and evenings is the John Hewitt on Lower Donegall Street, good food and traditional music".

La Lea, Belfast: In Botanic area. Acceptable but very ordinary all-round nightclub. Takes a very, very long time to get served as they rarely have enough staff behind the bar. Do not underestimate how irritating this will become as the night goes on.

East, around corner from Hilton/Fujitsu buildings, Belfast: Close to Central railway station and the Waterfront Hall. Big, open bar trying to be smart and a bit trendy and almost pulling it off. Lunches take a very, very long time to arrive even when the bar is empty.

The Hideout Bar, Donegall Pass: There is another similar pub next door, can't remember the name but it was covered in Loyalist flags last time I passed. Very close to the good pubs and eating places of South Belfast but you'll know when you've wandered off the beaten track. You might think it would be interesting 'meet some real Belfast people' on your visit but think again and head back towards Shaftsbury Square.

The Northern Whig, Belfast: In city centre almost facing Cash Converters. Half decent spot for a bite of lunch; open and modern but unpretentious design. Added by stu in nottingham: "Had a shot at this one for a sly pint or two in the afternoon. Interesting building, an ex newspaper office? Bit trendy but okay for a couple."

Madisson's, Belfast: Close to Botanic train station in South Belfast. A good, modern hotel with a large, open, modern bar area. Serves good lunches but is more of a business lunch spot that a choice for an all-day session. Added by PortoHibee: "we stayed in Maddisons which was great, went a wee crawl, the bot, the fly and back to Maddisons ( a night club in the basement) turned out to be a top weekend, did the old open top bus aswell. The weekend was rounded off by pulling one of the waitresses in the Hotel, we still exchange the odd email and I've met her in Edinburgh once or twice. Fond memories, top place and top people."

McHughs, Belfast: Added by stu in nottingham: "A brilliant night was had at McHughs after we went to the hockey at the Oyssey. Initially full of hockey types but later on a mixed crowd and a decent traditional band playing. We had a late Wednesday night out singing, dancing and drinking and I fell in nearly every doorway on my way back to the hostel! It was worth it though, one of the best nights out I've ever had, everything was just perfect for us visitors that night."

McGuinness', Belfast: On the street facing the BT building close to the Waterfront Hall. Decent little pub with proper old snugs and a good 'decent honest boozer' type layout. It's laidback without being 'sawdust on the floor' and old-fashioned without being plastic Oirish. Not bad at all.

Milk, Belfast: Nightclub still talked about by nightlclub-goers but has never really impressed. Was a posey, self-conscious R'n'B night when NI Hibby last visited, conclusion was reached that its customers really do need to take themselves a bit less seriously.

Muldoon's, Belfast: Added by U What? "I'm a bit biased but Muldoon's do a great pint and a tasty bit of grub nothing more than a burger and chips or a sandwich, Handy for the Seacat as well....I work right beside it and it's our crowds local."

Odyssey Complex, Belfast: Just below the city centre and across the bridge over the Lagan. Easy to walk to but do not walk home, get a taxi, as random assaults on drunks by neds (known as scrotes locally) do happen here. This new complex contains a good Indian restaurnant (India Ocean) and a good Chinese restaurant (Red Panda, not bad food, expensive, terrible service). Also included are two bars, one (Bar Seven) catered towards a livelier crowd than the other. These bars have been built as part of a commercial leisure complex (it also contains an excellent Warner cinema, IMAX cinema, concert venue, arcades etc etc), so you should know what to expect. There are also two nightclubs: Coyote Odyssey (full of youngsters when I last passed) and Precious, a members only supposedly-exclusive club for wannabes and those vain enough to want to be seen there.

The Oak, Grosvenor Road, Belfast: Found just behind the Royal Victoria Hospital and therefore slightly outside the city centre, it is without doubt a locals/regulars pub and not one to leave your Merc parked outside either. It has, however, always been a no nonsense, old-fashioned boozer and a has shown a good welcome to the NI Hibs lads for TV games.

Orpheus nightclub, University Street: Don't even think about it. Rough as a badgers arse, this one.

Paddys, Docks: Recommended by 'Erin Hibee'...."Traditional pub in Belfast for me is Paddys right beside Belfast docks, drove lorries in the North for 12 years and on a cold winter night walking in there you are greeted with a blast of heat coming from the beautiful coal fire, great finish to a hard days work."

Pizza Hut, Dublin Road, Belfast: In Botanic area. A handy spot for fast stomach-lining food ahead of a drinking session, or for a hangover-sapping pizza the following day. Note that NI Hibby recently received the worst service he has ever experienced in a restaurant and felt ill after his meal there.

Red Panda, Belfast: At Great Victoria Street and at the Odyssey Complex. Good Chinese-style food, fairly expensive and with probably the worst service you will ever find anywhere, ever.

Red Square, Belfast: Behind City Hall. Would be found in George Street if it was an Edinburgh bar. Based on a recent visit you can expect over-priced drink, poor service, posing/ wannaba customers, shoulder to shoulder people, long waits at the bar despite tons of staff and (at one point) warm glasses with no ice. Avoid avoid avoid!

Robinson's, Great Victoria Street, Belfast: Handy spot, this, as it has a large downstairs bar, smaller traditional Irish-style bar with live music, nightclub and swish pre-club BT1 bar (complete with unisex toilets and hired flunkey to hand out hand-towels). The BT1 bar has a DJ at weekends playing excellent classic hip-hop, funk and house. The overall complex is as good a place to start a night out as any. Added by stu in nottingham: "We had a lively time in there, (there were three fights that particular Saturday night, the best being a superb 'cat fight' between two local 'ladies'!) Again, great atmosphere got talking to many locals too who were interested to hear our story."

Ryan's Bar, Lisburn Road, Belfast: Just a bit on the trendy side but overall not the worst pub in student bar infested South Belfast by a long stretch. Modern-looking place with a decent big bar and artwork painted by a mate of mine years ago at start of his career. Have a pint, make sure you tell the manager that the paintings are great and my mate might get another we turn o' work out of them!

Pizza Express, Belfast
: Opposite BBC Broadcasting House. Dependable and handy spot for a decent pizza during or before a night out. Average service.

The Parliament Bar, Belfast: Widely known to be Belfast's main gay bar, so not recommended for those who are offended by such things.

Queen's Bar, Belfast: Added by stu in nottingham: "Queen's Bar in the arcade as another I recall we visited. A bit trendy but not bad. Okay for a starter for the night maybe."

Scalini's, Belfast: In the Botanic area. One of a few Italian restaurants in the South Belfast area, had fairly good food but poor service on last visit.

Shine, QUB Students' Union, Belfast: Found opposite Queen's University. Massive techno and house club that also covers old school hip-hop, jungle and has guests such as Dave Clarke and Tim Westwood, all spread throughout loads of different sections (depending on the night). A personal favourite, but purely a matter of taste. Door staff and the various other rent-a-student polo shirted 'stewards' are becoming more petty and irritating by the week. A club that's really, really losing its vision but still capable of a good night.

Speranza's, Belfast: In the Botanic area. One of a few Italian restaurants in the South Belfast area, had fairly good food but shocking service on last visit.

Telford's, Belfast: Faces the River Lagan. 'Proper' restaurant with seafood menu etc. Said to be good, but no personal experience.

Water Margin, Donegall Pass, Belfast: Just off Shaftsbury Square (where big TV advertising screen is). Supposed to be a good Chinese but food was below average and service appalling when NI Hibby called. Donegall Pass is handy for walking but a taxi is better as the area is a bit hairy thanks to two Loyalist bars on the route.

Wetherspoon's, Belfast: Close to BBC Broadcasting House and across the road from the cinema on the corner of Dublin Road. Would give this one a miss as the Wetherspoon's discount drinks strategy has left then with a fairly dodgy bar.

The final words go to 'stu in nottingham'....

"Finally, and more important than any of the bars we called by were the people of your fair town. I have been to many places but nowhere have I travelled in this world and found more friendly, kind and helpful people. This was not just my opinion but of every person present on my two trips. For that you should give yourselves a pat on the back. You can be very proud of your fellow Belfast folk as they are a credit to the city and the country."

and 'wexy' ....

"All in all, it has to be said, meself and herself were a little bit
nervous going out in Belfast (with our accents)..... but after a while we
realised that there wasn't going to be any problems. In fact anyone we
met, we had great craic with, and even the taxi driver we got to the
train station the next day was extremely friendly. He encouraged us to
'bring your friends, next time....'."

Last edited by Northern Ireland Hibby; 26-09-06 at 10:06.
Old 25-08-04, 22:42   #2
Stu

Casino cash: £4965
Re: Belfast, Belfast wonderful town: A guide

I've had two weekend visits to Belfast during the past three years Conor. I'd like to kick you off with a word or two about,

The Crown
I understand that the old place might be something of a tourist trap but for me I really enjoyed my several visits to the place. I think it was pretty atmospheric and after starting off the night, coming over from the hotel nearby, we tended to head oursleves back over there for a couple more later during the evening. A BIG bonus was the pizza fellah around the corner who was rustling up some of the best pizza pie this side of Naples that I've tasted.

A few doors up from there was a pub with several different bars which I'm sure you will enlighten me as to the name of? Robinsons? We had a lively time in there, (there were three fights that particular Saturday night, the best being a superb 'cat fight' between two local 'ladies'!) Again, great atmosphere got talking to many locals too who were interested to hear our story.

The Hard Rock at The Odyssey
was taken in on one of my visits, (we were there for a hockey game at the centre. Before and after we sunk a few lagers in the bar there and found it most agreeable and full of good natured and talkative hockey folk.

A brilliant night was had at McHughs after the hockey on that occasion. Initially full of hockey types but later on a mixed crowd and a decent traditional band playing. We had a late Wednesday night out singing, dancing and drinking and I fell in nearly every doorway on my way back to the hostel! It was worth it though, one of the best nights out I've ever had, everything was just perfect for us visitors that night.

Northern Whig Had a shot at this one for a sly pint or two in the afternoon. Interesting building, an ex newspaper office? Bit trendy but okay for a couple.

Queen's Bar in the arcade as another I recall. again a bit trendy but not bad. Okay for a starter for the night maybe.

I encountered

The Fountain??? I think on Fountain Street. We were looking for a few of the older bars one night down the alleys for a bit of interest and began from here. Disappointing and empty, nothing happening on a Saturday night.

There were a couple of Belfast's very well known older pubs situated on alleys in kind of the north west of the city centre that I visited. Though they were very quiet for the Saturay night we were there, they were pretty impressive. Wish I could remember their names.

Finally, and more important than any of the bars we called by were the people of your fair town. I have been to many places but nowhere have I travelled in this world and found more friendly, kind and helpful people. This was not just my opinion but of every person present on my two trips. For that you should give yourselves a pat on the back. You can be very proud of your fellow Belfast folk as they are a credit to the city and the country.
Old 26-08-04, 14:14   #3

Stu,

Thanks for the post and for taking the time to add to our pub guide.

I appreciate your comments about Belfast people as well; I also think it's a pretty good place for a night on the razzle and, most of all, it's the people around you who make that happen.

I'm at work now with bosses ahovering so I'll update the guide with your comments at the weekend.

Thanks again and best wishes,

NIH

Old 27-08-04, 10:33   #4

Rep Power: 5 I Ate JamTarts is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by stu in nottingham
I've had two weekend visits to Belfast during the past three years Conor. I'd like to kick you off with a word or two about,

The Crown
I understand that the old place might be something of a tourist trap but for me I really enjoyed my several visits to the place. I think it was pretty atmospheric and after starting off the night, coming over from the hotel nearby, we tended to head oursleves back over there for a couple more later during the evening. A BIG bonus was the pizza fellah around the corner who was rustling up some of the best pizza pie this side of Naples that I've tasted.

A few doors up from there was a pub with several different bars which I'm sure you will enlighten me as to the name of? Robinsons? We had a lively time in there, (there were three fights that particular Saturday night, the best being a superb 'cat fight' between two local 'ladies'!) Again, great atmosphere got talking to many locals too who were interested to hear our story.

The Hard Rock at The Odyssey
was taken in on one of my visits, (we were there for a hockey game at the centre. Before and after we sunk a few lagers in the bar there and found it most agreeable and full of good natured and talkative hockey folk.

A brilliant night was had at McHughs after the hockey on that occasion. Initially full of hockey types but later on a mixed crowd and a decent traditional band playing. We had a late Wednesday night out singing, dancing and drinking and I fell in nearly every doorway on my way back to the hostel! It was worth it though, one of the best nights out I've ever had, everything was just perfect for us visitors that night.

Northern Whig Had a shot at this one for a sly pint or two in the afternoon. Interesting building, an ex newspaper office? Bit trendy but okay for a couple.

Queen's Bar in the arcade as another I recall. again a bit trendy but not bad. Okay for a starter for the night maybe.

I encountered

The Fountain??? I think on Fountain Street. We were looking for a few of the older bars one night down the alleys for a bit of interest and began from here. Disappointing and empty, nothing happening on a Saturday night.

There were a couple of Belfast's very well known older pubs situated on alleys in kind of the north west of the city centre that I visited. Though they were very quiet for the Saturay night we were there, they were pretty impressive. Wish I could remember their names.

Finally, and more important than any of the bars we called by were the people of your fair town. I have been to many places but nowhere have I travelled in this world and found more friendly, kind and helpful people. This was not just my opinion but of every person present on my two trips. For that you should give yourselves a pat on the back. You can be very proud of your fellow Belfast folk as they are a credit to the city and the country.
For older bars try the Hercules around the corner from the fountain tavern on castle street, live music upstairs. Open to at least 2am.
I Ate JamTarts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-04, 10:43   #5

A good pub for afternoon and evenings id the John Hewitt on Lower Donegall Street, good food and traditional music.
I am suprised at you NIH its a well known journo hotspot in the afternoons.
Hibernian GO Bragh
Old 27-08-04, 16:12   #6

aah! the memories. i used to frequent 'the bot' when i lived in belfast. good to see it's still going strong. in fact, i used to wash the pots in there on the odd night. 'the egg' was another haunt of mine and a pub called drury lane. it was next to the art college. jeezus, i'm getting all sentimental now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgS-W...elated&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itZ8yXNue_g
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-04, 16:32   #7

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
aah! the memories. i used to frequent 'the bot' when i lived in belfast. good to see it's still going strong. in fact, i used to wash the pots in there on the odd night. 'the egg' was another haunt of mine and a pub called drury lane. it was next to the art college. jeezus, i'm getting all sentimental now.
Wen't with a girl on and off for a year or so who worked in drury lane, now long closed.
Old 27-08-04, 20:04   #8

Nice one lads - I've added all your comments to the main thread and will try to keep doing this so we have a bigger and better guide to boozers in Belfast!

Thanks again - hopefully you'll be able to come to Belfast again and we could all revisit the best ones.

NIH

Old 03-09-04, 18:39   #9
Purple & Gold Radge

Conor,

had a brief visit to Belfast with the missus several years ago, and had a great night out! We went to The Crown and ended up joining in with a few groups of people, one of which included a Glentoran fan who had 'seen some of the finest prisons in Europe' while following his team in euro competitions. He was actually a sound bloke, and we had great craic. We also hit Robinson's (downstairs, I think - memory's a bit hazy), and also somewhere else close by, but again my memory fails me (alcohol-induced failure).
All in all, it has to be said, meself and herself were a little bit nervous going out in Belfast (with our accents)..... but after a while we realised that there wasn't going to be any problems. In fact anyone we met, we had great craic with, and even the taxi driver we got to the train station the next day was extremely friendly. He encouraged us to 'bring your friends, next time....'.

Curiously, one of the most popular pubs in Wexford is also called 'The Crown'.
Old 03-09-04, 19:36   #10

Wexy,

Good to hear from you and thanks for your comments - I'll add them to the main pub guide.

The bottom line is that Belfast is a pretty good place to go and out and get p1shed in.

By a funny coincidence I'm off out now myself and will update the main pub guide later when I get a chance!

Cheers again Wexy, hopefully see you over in Scotland soon,

NIH

Old 03-09-04, 19:37   #11

By the way - tried to get on the EGB Hibs site the other day but couldn't.

Do you know is it still online or do I need to use a different address to get to the EGB Hibs forum?

HGB

Old 13-09-04, 19:56   #12
Half Hung Radge

Casino cash: £330

I'm a bit biased but Muldoon's do a great pint and a tasty bit of grub nothing more than a burger and chips or a sandwich, Handy for the Seacat as well....
I work right beside it and it's our crowds local :sonar:
Old 14-09-04, 20:59   #13

Good call partially hung man - I'll add it to the main post

Old 01-10-04, 15:40   #14

Originally Posted by I Ate JamTarts
Wen't with a girl on and off for a year or so who worked in drury lane, now long closed.
on and off? the mind boggles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgS-W...elated&search=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itZ8yXNue_g
jimmyhibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-05, 13:57   #15
An Dún Radge

Casino cash: £1093

Is The Front Page still on the go? It was a trendy nitespot if I remember rightly (or wrongly). It was sorta on a corner not far from the city centre itself. I'm rubbish at remembering where places are, its been so long.
Old 08-01-06, 18:05   #16

Not sure about the Front Page, I'm fairly sure it's still going.

But here's a new addition to the list:

Red Square, Belfast: Behind City Hall. Would be found in George Street if it was an Edinburgh bar. Based on a recent visit you can expect over-priced drink, poor service, posing/ wannaba customers, shoulder to shoulder people, long waits at the bar despite tons of staff and (at one point) warm glasses with no ice. Avoid avoid avoid!

Old 14-09-06, 12:40   #17

Isn't macGuiness actually Magennis's Whisky bar?

Used to like going there a lot, so was a wee bit shocked when I heard about the murder by those "off-duty" IRA men of that guy whose name escapes me with the 5 sisters from Short Strand.

I mean, you expect that kind of thing in The Rock, but not in a place that actually serves food.
Observer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-06, 12:54   #18
Workshy Cooncil Radge

Casino cash: £743

Was over in Belfast a few years ago for a stag weekend, must admit at first I wasn't really chuffed at the thought of going, however, we stayed in Maddisons which was great, went a wee crawl, the bot, the fly and back to Maddisons ( a night club in the basement) turned out to be a top weekend, did the old open top bus aswell. The weekend was rounded off by pulling one of the waitresses in the Hotel, we still exchange the odd email and I've met her in Edinburgh once or twice. Fond memories, top place and top people
Old 15-09-06, 11:17   #19

Originally Posted by Observer View Post
Isn't macGuiness actually Magennis's Whisky bar?

Used to like going there a lot, so was a wee bit shocked when I heard about the murder by those "off-duty" IRA men of that guy whose name escapes me with the 5 sisters from Short Strand.

I mean, you expect that kind of thing in The Rock, but not in a place that actually serves food.