Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,391 | Posts: 598,493 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 03-11-08, 19:02   #41

nabser will become famous soon enough

Re: Who was the best keeper hibs have had??

Goram for me

nabser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 19:11   #42

Alexc1875 is on the way to a first team debut

That is my recollction of it too.

He was actually picked for Scotland when they got humped 9-3 by england...fortuantely he was injured and Frank Haffey ended up in goal.

as for thh best HIbs gaolie I've seen...Ronnie Simpson easily.

He at one end, and Gerry Baker at the other saved us from relegation one year.
Lawrie went to West Ham from Hibs then on to Milwall I think. Can't remember if he finished with Airdrie, but played a lot higher level when he moved from ER. Great keeper for us.
Alexc1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 21:01   #43

greenfrog is on the way to a first team debut

Lawrie went to West Ham from Hibs then on to Milwall I think. Can't remember if he finished with Airdrie, but played a lot higher level when he moved from ER. Great keeper for us.
Lawrie definetly played for Airdrie. Hibs got about 5000 pounds for him. One image that always sticks in my mind was the day we beat Airdrie 6-1 at ER. Joe Baker scored 4 goals that day and I was down at the wall close to the Dunbar end. Joe beat about three Airdrie defenders and took it round the diving mud covered Lawrie Leslie who despite the scoreline had played an absolute stormer that day. Just before Joe rolled the ball into the empty net, he glanced down at his ex-teamate with a wee smile as if to say "sorry mate, but I had to do this."
greenfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-08, 21:22   #44

Lawrie is on the way to a first team debut

an honourable mention should go to the underated mike mcdonald...gordon banks' understudy at stoke was a big imposing character with a perm that could frighten a centre forward from 25 yards....i remember getting a 'supermac' badge from gilzeans badge shop on fleshmarket close..
Lawrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-08, 10:06   #45

blue toon hibby is a jewel in the roughblue toon hibby is a jewel in the rough

Andy Goram
Jim Leighton
Thomson Allan

(I suspect I might have chosen Ronnie Simpson if I'd seen him when he was at Hibs though).
Old 07-11-08, 23:34   #46

russ dinse will become famous soon enough

Asteroids Champion!

In the past 40yrs there's been no-one near as good as Goram.

Rough has to come 2nd.
russ dinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-08, 23:50   #47

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Far and away Goram then Leighton and I'd have Daniel Anderson ahead of Roughie.

About half way through Gorams career Hibs had a backs to the wall away game at Tynecastle maybe around 1988 and with about 10 minutes to go he pulled off yet another in along line of miraculous saves.

It was at the School end of the ground and the Hearts fans were behind this goal in these days and they began to applaud and even those in the 'loony shed' where the Roseburn meets the Wheatfield began to join in and sang 'Goram Goram sign for us'.

I've no idea of the result that day but that incident summed up the man's brilliance which transended tribal rivalry.

What a tragedy though that the footballing memories of the man are tarnished by the person he became once exposed to the hate and intollerance that surrounds 'Scotland's Shame'.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 00:09   #48

moathibby is just really nicemoathibby is just really nice

You didn't say you had to have seen them so I'm going to go for Tommy Younger
For Goalies I've seen-Goram or Roughie
moathibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 09:46   #49

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Colgan was nothing great - certainly no better than Zibbi.

Mike Franks played two games, coming on as a sub v Celtic in November 2000 and then following game at Motherwell on the sunday which Zitelli scored with a 100mph shot from the left wing.

Goram might be an apology of a person, but was the best goalkeeper I seen at Hibs.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 10:59   #50

Nefu is on the way to a first team debut

Rougie is up there so is Budgie,
but Goram was the better keeper IMO
Nefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 11:03   #51

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Leighton just shades it over Goram. maybe by 1 %.

Goram was a spectacular keeper, but when it came to shot stopping, now matter how , then I'd stake my money on Leighton .

and of course closely behind this pair was Roughy.

Goes to show how we used to be spoiled for keepers. If it wasnae for these three we'd have been relegated more times than we were.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 11:05   #52

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

About half way through Gorams career Hibs had a backs to the wall away game at Tynecastle maybe around 1988 and with about 10 minutes to go he pulled off yet another in along line of miraculous saves.

It was at the School end of the ground and the Hearts fans were behind this goal in these days and they began to applaud and even those in the 'loony shed' where the Roseburn meets the Wheatfield began to join in and sang 'Goram Goram sign for us'.

I've no idea of the result that day but that incident summed up the man's brilliance which transended tribal rivalry.

What a tragedy though that the footballing memories of the man are tarnished by the person he became once exposed to the hate and intollerance that surrounds 'Scotland's Shame'.
You saved me a post. That day at the Pink Bus Shelter (except it wasnt a PBS then, just a non-pink dump) is my abiding memory of him - he was a colossus amongst pygmies for Hibs that day. Outstanding.

He is one of the modern game's best keepers that have played on these shores - and definitely one of the very best keepers produced by a home nation in the modern game.

In these days of goalkeeper navel-watching at ER though he would be written off as "too wee to be a top keeper" by many sadly

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 11:05   #53

Pretty sure it was a draw Sam, but Goram was fantastic and was even awarded MoM at Tynie by the the sponsors. Unheard of.
Old 08-11-08, 11:08   #54

dazzhfc is on the way to a first team debut

I can't believe the amount of people who think Colgan was good! He couldn't catch a cross if his life depended on it. But he was better than Zibi(I'm probably better than Zibi). Goram was the best.
Old 08-11-08, 11:09   #55

Andy Goram
Jim Leighton
Thomson Allan

(I suspect I might have chosen Ronnie Simpson if I'd seen him when he was at Hibs though).
Simpson was a very good keeper. But what is forgotten is that when Jock Stein flogged him to Celtic for 5 grand ( a bargain if there ever was, and one wonders if Stein entertained thoughts of a move to parkheid himself at that time), Simpson was languishing in the reserves, displaced by the late Willie Wilson (yet another Wallyford keeper), who was a pretty good keeper as well ( even if he was a jambo).
Old 08-11-08, 11:11   #56

I can't believe the amount of people who think Colgan was good! He couldn't catch a cross if his life depended on it. But he was better than Zibi(I'm probably better than Zibi). Goram was the best.
I'll never forget Colgan's 'attempt' at trying to prevent the first goal in the 2001 Cup final, and auld granny could have done better.
Old 08-11-08, 11:14   #57

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

Andy Goram followed by Pat McGinley! fantastic saves when goalie sent off! cannae remember the team we were playing though.
Old 08-11-08, 11:15   #58

Pretty sure it was a draw Sam, but Goram was fantastic and was even awarded MoM at Tynie by the the sponsors. Unheard of.
Nope we got tanned I think by 3-0. To the tune of the yams singing "Miller must stay"

I remember the yams applauding Goram after he pulled off an near impossible save from Scott Crabbe (who never managed to score against us while with the yams
)
Old 08-11-08, 12:08   #59

Alexc1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Lawrie definetly played for Airdrie. Hibs got about 5000 pounds for him. One image that always sticks in my mind was the day we beat Airdrie 6-1 at ER. Joe Baker scored 4 goals that day and I was down at the wall close to the Dunbar end. Joe beat about three Airdrie defenders and took it round the diving mud covered Lawrie Leslie who despite the scoreline had played an absolute stormer that day. Just before Joe rolled the ball into the empty net, he glanced down at his ex-teamate with a wee smile as if to say "sorry mate, but I had to do this."
I was so confident that he moved directly to West Ham I checked and found at that you are dead right! Moved to Airdie in 1959 for the price you quoted and on to West Ham in 1961 for £12,000.
Nearly 50 years on I question the wisdom of the board underselling a great keeper to Airdie! Get it sorted.
Alexc1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 13:31   #60

russ dinse will become famous soon enough

Asteroids Champion!

Nope we got tanned I think by 3-0. To the tune of the yams singing "Miller must stay"

I remember the yams applauding Goram after he pulled off an near impossible save from Scott Crabbe (who never managed to score against us while with the yams
)
I think he is talking about a 0-0 draw,they pounded our goal and he pulled off save after save. Pissing with rain that day as well,we all got soaked as usual.
russ dinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 15:55   #61

Mapleleaf Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Ronnie Simpson

with a close second

Jim Heriott

Sorry if know one had the great pleasure to watch these greats

Being an old fart has its benifits

Mapleleaf Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 16:03   #62

greenfrog is on the way to a first team debut

I was so confident that he moved directly to West Ham I checked and found at that you are dead right! Moved to Airdie in 1959 for the price you quoted and on to West Ham in 1961 for £12,000.
Nearly 50 years on I question the wisdom of the board underselling a great keeper to Airdie! Get it sorted.
Jeez - some of my brain cells are still intact then
greenfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-08, 23:12   #63

I think he is talking about a 0-0 draw,they pounded our goal and he pulled off save after save. Pissing with rain that day as well,we all got soaked as usual.
I might be wrong and you may be right about the game but Goram pulled off save after save, but we still got humped. If I mind right the save that got the yam applause was at the Mcleod St end.
and it rained that day as well