On this day in history 23 years ago Hibs 4 Celtic 4
Hibs win on penalties.
Team: Alan ROUGH Gordon RAE Gordon HUNTER Mark FULTON Ally BRAZIL Alan SNEDDON Iain MUNRO John COLLINS Micky WEIR Gordon DURIE Steve COWAN Crowd was 15770 Anyone care to share their memories of Pierce and his aptitute for penalty kicks?
Re: On this day in history 23 years ago Hibs 4 Celtic 4
what a cracker this game was, one of my all time favourites!
was in the Cowshed as most of the terracing was closed as they were putting the roof ( and pillars ) up... Cowan and Durie were on fire at that point and scoring loads, lot of defenders in that team were Benny Brazil and Munro playing in midfield? the abiding memory will of course be O'Leary blasting the decisive penalty over the bar in front of us. I think Colin Harris came on and scored one who were the other scorers?
Listened to this on the radio but went to the league game at ER 3/4 days later...
K McKee C Harris
were the subs and S Cowan G Durie (2), C Harris were the scorers.
i can remember hearing the cheers all night out in my back garden i think i listened to that whole cup run on radio-apart from the 2nd leg huns game none of it was on tv
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
just as good was the SC tie the same season 4-3
![]() Join Date: Aug 2007
i hate being young all the good memorys were before my time!
![]() Join Date: Oct 2007
We had two incredible cup ties against them that year and won them both, two of my all time best games
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. The old cowshed was bouncing that night and I seem to recall there being more than few ski hats about that night, ah the memories... |
![]() Join Date: Dec 2003
23 years, Jesus that makes me feel old!
I can't really remember very much about it. What I do remember is: 2-2 at half-time, 3-3 at full time and 4-4 after extra time, 3-3 after 5 penalties each. First sudden death penalty scored by Hibs (no idea who) then Pierce O'Leary ballooned his effort way over the bar at the bottom of the slope. One of Celtic's goals was a huge deflection. One of Durie's goals was really an o.g. by Danny McGrain. I was in the enclosure near the tunnel and the atmosphere and non-stop singing was so mental I had to stop and crouch down to get my breath back and stop myself from passing out. I remember, whilst crouched amongst a sea of legs thinking, "This must be what Beatlemania was like". Previously I'd always wondered why screaming girls would pass out and be carried out of gigs in Beatles concert footage. I think some of the unwashed piled onto the park at the end, but might be wrong about that. Wonderful night. The Scottish Cup 4-3 game later that season came close, but wasn't quite as good. |
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
I was in the old enclosure as well. One of the most exciting games I've seen. Apart from the game itself I remember at the end Roy Aitken leaving the pitch wearing the most sickened pus anyone has ever worn. Also remember Mickey Weir, who had been subbed, going mental whem O'Leary blasted over the bar. Just as mental as the fans only he was running all over the pitch.
They beat 0-5 at ER the saturday afterwards. :.( BTW that was the same season we beat them 6-3 in a friendly and Benrodilinho got a Hat-Trick
![]() Join Date: Apr 2008
just can't believe it was all those years ago. Was a great game as was the next round first leg when we beat the Huns 2-0 at ER. also enjoyed the 4-3 game as my shellick mate was in the terracing with us. Think it was the 4-3 game where there was a bit of a scrap on the pitch after. I've got the full 90 mins on video , minus the commentary. Need to dig it out and let the memories flood back.
Everybody is a Radge
Check the white hankies going up in the enclosure near the end of the 4-3 game on that video. My mate broke his ankle celebrating the 4th goal.
![]() Join Date: Jan 2008
I mind by the time we humped the huns in the semi-final 1st leg the papers were going on about how Hibs should play all their games midweek....and no wonder -
Sat 10th Aug lost 3-0 to Aberdeen Sat 17th Aug lost 3-1 to the huns Wed 21st Aug beat Cowdenbeath 6-0 Sat 24th Aug lost 3-2 to St Mirren Wed 28th Aug beat Motherwell 6-1 Sat 31st Aug lost 2-1 to Hearts Wed 4th Sep beat Celtic on pens Sat 7th Sep lost 5-0 to Celtic Sat 14th Sep lost 1-0 to Dundee Wed 25th Sep beat huns 2-0 in semi 10 consecutive games Six Saturday defeats - for 4 against 17! Four Wednesday wins - for 18 against 5! Talk about Jeckyll and Hyde! A wee historical footnote, it was just 6 days after the 4-4 Celtic game, Tuesday 10th September, that Jock Stein collapsed and died at Ninian Park. |
Everybody is a Radge
A typical Diddy McDonald team in those days.
even the shootout was a nailbiter; didn't we surrender a two goal lead at one point? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. pearce o'leary's pen will stay with me to my dying day. the 4-3 later in the season was great too, but this was the best game i've ever seen. the fact it was under floodlights just added to the magic. impossible to recreate in a modern stadia i fear. |
plus didn't we go on a wee bit of an unbeaten/winning run around oct/nov time? also one more before i go hh-who was the scorers etc in the 2-1 hearts game on 31st august?
![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
As a Tim... I was in the old enclosure(away part), next to the pie stand. Judas got a couple for us(yes one a huge deflection), Davie Provan hit a great shot and Roy Aitken scored the best goal of his career. I remember Colin Harris coming on for Hibs and scoring within a minute. Memory serves, Hibs couldn't buy a win in the league, but were brilliant in the cup. Celtic used to lose a lot of games like that in those days due to the centre of defence (The aptly named "Sieve"). The atmopshere was fantastic and I remember Pierce O'Leary skying the ball past the ad(was it for "Insave") on the cowshed and that was that. TBH i'd be lying if I said I could remember who deserved to win but it was truly a fantastic game.
Bettered only by our 5-0 win at Easter Road on the Saturday To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
The best game I have ever seen at Easter Road...
"There's only one Pierce O'Leary ! "