Old 05-09-08, 18:19   #41

woodster is on the way to a first team debut

Re: On this day in history 23 years ago Hibs 4 Celtic 4

i remember this game, its up there in my top five faves.this was my first night time game and got to stay up late on a school night, it was a great game had everything and to top it of my old man was a sellick fan, even till this day i stilll seem to enjoy a night game

woodster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 19:09   #42

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

That was the last Hibs cup game I missed home, away or abroad so cant comment but would love to see footage if there is any about
Aye, you were certainly at the 4-3 game right enough eh Jack?
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 19:15   #43

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

surely someone with the knowledge can shove the goals on yotube
I'm trying to upload some very dodgy quality footage of the 4 goals taken from the telly screen with a compact digital
! Need to get it on DVD soon.

Meanwhile here's Eddie celebrating the winner - I bought this picture from the Sunday Mail, it was their main picture the next day.

Old 05-09-08, 19:32   #44

I'm trying to upload some very dodgy quality footage of the 4 goals taken from the telly screen with a compact digital

Meanwhile here's Eddie celebrating the winner - I bought this picture from the Sunday Mail, it was their main picture the next day.

never tire of seeing this pic
Old 05-09-08, 21:11   #45

alangordon09 is on the way to a first team debut

q/f game. pure magic.
got horsed 5-0 at er 4 days later by the fookers

knocked them out the s/c q/f same season 4-3 and drew 2-2 aswell if memory serves me correctly

beat cowdenbeath 6-0
mothersmell 6-1
then smeltic on pens after 4-4 game
huns 2-0 er
beat 1-0 ipox
horsed by the dandies in the final
alangordon09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 21:57   #46

q/f game. pure magic.
got horsed 5-0 at er 4 days later by the fookers

knocked them out the s/c q/f same season 4-3 and drew 2-2 aswell if memory serves me correctly

beat cowdenbeath 6-0
mothersmell 6-1
then smeltic on pens after 4-4 game
huns 2-0 er
beat 1-0 ipox
horsed by the dandies in the final
horsed by the dandies in the sc semi as well

would have got the gunts in the final as well
Old 05-09-08, 22:50   #47

hiberactive is on the way to a first team debut

Music stopped a couple of minutes before kick off. No music after a goal. No cheer squads, ultras, cheerleaders, singing sections or, for that matter, many fecking seats. No family sections, no face painting, no kick off being moved for tv coverage. No being stretchered off for a wee cuddle from your mum to make you better, then waiting for the ref to wave you back on.
Muddy pitch, blood and snotters, 110% effort from both sides and near enough 16000 guys singing, shouting, bouncing and screaming from start to finish creating an electric atmosphere with that underlying feeling of danger that lets you know you're alive and you're fucking loving it.

And was there no a pitch invasion at the end?? or am i thinkiing of another game.Also we used to sing "o'leary did,nt like it-over the crossbar ,over the crossbar" to the tune of "Rock the casbah" by the clash.
hiberactive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 23:13   #48

Also we used to sing "o'leary did,nt like it-over the crossbar ,over the crossbar" to the tune of "Rock the casbah" by the clash.

brillant
Old 05-09-08, 23:50   #49

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Glop 2:Glops Revenge Champion! Glop 3:Final Battle Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!

Check the white hankies going up in the enclosure near the end of the 4-3 game on that video. My mate broke his ankle celebrating the 4th goal.
Ah! The white hanky days.

A NY Derby game saw my best mate wander in front of a car on the way to the game. We hadn't been home for a day or two. Happy days.
As he spun up in the air, the bottle came out his jacket pocket (we wore suits to the derby games in these days) and spiralled through the air.... caught between me and another bloke. Unbroken. Ya beauty.
Our pal meanwhile had cartwheeled about twenty feet before landing in a crumpled heap,
The driver was distraught "On ye go, he's fine" we said.
My mate was in agony but insisted on going to the game, we had to carry him. Was propped up on a barrier until half time, with a big lump on his leg.... every time he cried out, another dram..... half time.... the white hankies came out. He just couldn't take any more.
Ambulance came and the St John's guys took him away.

And who do you think missed the second half to accompany him to hospital?

Correct.

Nobody. It was a derby game ffs.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 06-09-08, 00:01   #50
2tone Ska The Specials Are Re-forming Bus Driving Hibby Radge

Marinehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Hibs win on penalties.

Team:
Alan ROUGH
Gordon RAE
Gordon HUNTER
Mark FULTON
Ally BRAZIL
Alan SNEDDON
Iain MUNRO
John COLLINS
Micky WEIR
Gordon DURIE
Steve COWAN

Crowd was 15770

Anyone care to share their memories of Pierce and his aptitute for penalty kicks?
Listened to that game on the tranny that night (it was the 80s and I was jobless thanks to Thatcher, so couldnt afford to go). I worked with Benny for a while when I was at Central garage driving buses, I worked with him for a year before I realised who he was. One of lifes good guys!.
Marinehibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 21:21   #51

moathibby has a spectacular aura about

It was one of the best games I've ever been to. I was in the East stand
towards the corner flag.I believe my brother and dad were there too but I cant quite remember.Is there any footage?
moathibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 21:36   #52

moathibby has a spectacular aura about

I think I must have senile dementia was the East stand closed? What game am I thinking of then?
moathibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-08, 22:40   #53
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

chez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nice

Sonic Champion!

I think I must have senile dementia was the East stand closed? What game am I thinking of then?
No "East Stand" then - still the old terracing
:

THE BEST HIBS STRIKER EVER!!!

chez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 00:16   #54
Radge from La Mancha

Sancho Panza is on the way to a first team debut

23 years, Jesus that makes me feel old!
I can't really remember very much about it. What I do remember is:
2-2 at half-time, 3-3 at full time and 4-4 after extra time, 3-3 after 5 penalties each. First sudden death penalty scored by Hibs (no idea who) then Pierce O'Leary ballooned his effort way over the bar at the bottom of the slope.
One of Celtic's goals was a huge deflection.
One of Durie's goals was really an o.g. by Danny McGrain.
I was in the enclosure near the tunnel and the atmosphere and non-stop singing was so mental I had to stop and crouch down to get my breath back and stop myself from passing out. I remember, whilst crouched amongst a sea of legs thinking, "This must be what Beatlemania was like". Previously I'd always wondered why screaming girls would pass out and be carried out of gigs in Beatles concert footage.
I think some of the unwashed piled onto the park at the end, but might be wrong about that.
Wonderful night. The Scottish Cup 4-3 game later that season came close, but wasn't quite as good.
And do you remember walking along the Cowgate to Sneeky Pete's after the game and being passed by the Pearce O'Leary Celtic Supporters Bus? They were so gutted they barely responded to us ripping the complete pish out of them. One of those brilliant 'what are the chances of that happening' moments.
And know the place for the first time
Sancho Panza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 04:27   #55

SuffolkHibee is on the way to a first team debut

And do you remember walking along the Cowgate to Sneeky Pete's after the game and being passed by the Pearce O'Leary Celtic Supporters Bus? They were so gutted they barely responded to us ripping the complete pish out of them. One of those brilliant 'what are the chances of that happening' moments.

I had forgotten, but you've just brought that particularly sweet memory flooding back

SuffolkHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 11:12   #56

alangordon09 is on the way to a first team debut

that was the scottish cup were may scored the winner in the 4-3 game
alangordon09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-08, 12:08   #57

Aye, this goal - dodgy quality warning!

<embed width="448" height="361" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" src="http://img.photobucket.com/player.swf?file=http://vidmg.photobucket.com/albums/v195/schiehallion/4thgoal.flv">
Old 08-09-08, 22:08   #58
Yam Hating Uncle Radge

Bukta will become famous soon enough

Aye, this goal - dodgy quality warning!

<EMBED src=http://img.photobucket.com/player.swf?file=http://vidmg.photobucket.com/albums/v195/schiehallion/4thgoal.flv width=448 height=361 type=application/x-shockwave-flash wmode="transparent">
Are you talking about the dodgy quality of the pitch or the footage? That pitch is terrible. NAEBODY!! & I mean NAEBODY show this video to the Godfather of Grass McCourt!!!

I farking hate the Yams...
Bukta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-08, 14:13   #59

Geohfc is on the way to a first team debut

sang that much that night that i couldny speak the next day..
Geohfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-08, 20:22   #60
Lix
Sharky Radge

Lix will become famous soon enough

That was the season I first went to Easter Road.

On that particular night I hadn't yet been to ER, but thanks to remembering going completely tonto listening to it on the radio I realise I was quite a fanatical Hibby before I even made it to a game!