Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,391 | Posts: 598,486 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

View Poll Results: If Murray had to play in defence would you leave Jones out to fit him in?
Yes, I would leave Jones out 38 59.38%
No, Jones is better than Murray 22 34.38%
I would have neither in my defence 4 6.25%
Voters: 64. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-08-08, 15:34   #1
Offensively Perceived Radge

Dinkydoo336 is on the way to a first team debut

3D Highway Champion! 5 Miles To Go Champion! Kerry Bush Bash Champion! Legend of Zelda - Can of Whoop Ass . Champion! Sack Smash 2001 Champion! Whack The Dead Champion!

Jones or Murray

I have noticed alot of people have been leaving Murray out of thier line ups. If it because of his knee injury or is there something else, IE ability etc. IMHO he is alot better than Rob Jones, I know they play different positions but would you sacrafice Murrays place in the team in order to keep Jones in defence. For example imo this is our strongest back 4:

DVZ----Canning----Hogg-----Murray

This obviously means leaving out Jones.

So whats everyones feelings on this, Jones or Murray?

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Dinkydoo336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 15:37   #2

Re: Jones or Murray

I would not have Ian Murray in my back four at all..

He is a midfield player and nothing else IMO. I would be looking to play him in the centre of midfield with Thicot just behind to protect the back four. Murray should only be played at left-back or central defence in an emergency during a game.

My back four with the players we have at the moment would be Van Zanten Jones Hogg Hanlon.
Old 04-08-08, 15:38   #3

Ross Scott1991 is on the way to a first team debut

I'd have neither in defence if i had it my way Murray's best position is sitting infront of the back four breaking things up while Jones i feel is just too dodgy and we need a good solid centre half to partner hoggy
Ross Scott1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 15:40   #4

My back four with the players we have at the moment would be Van Zanten Jones Hogg Hanlon.
That's a defence that makes me pretty shirt scared...

Weak on either flank IMHO..
Old 04-08-08, 15:41   #5

3D Highway Champion! 5 Miles To Go Champion! Kerry Bush Bash Champion! Legend of Zelda - Can of Whoop Ass . Champion! Sack Smash 2001 Champion! Whack The Dead Champion!

Please note by selecting "I would have neither in my defence.", you are implying that in your honest opinion, we have better people to put in defence than Jones or Murray.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Old 04-08-08, 15:43   #6

Please note by selecting "I would have neither in my defence.", you are implying that in your honest opinion, we have better people to put in defence than Jones or Murray.
Canning
Old 04-08-08, 15:44   #7

Canning

I dont rate him but would rather see him in the defence than Jones.

I really should have phrased the question better to read, would you sacrafice Murrays place in the team to keep Jones in defence......

Och well.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Old 04-08-08, 15:50   #8

That's a defence that makes me pretty shirt scared...

Weak on either flank IMHO..
I would agree with that..however Van Zanten is Mixu's signing so he will be our right-back this season IMO, and we don't have any other available left-back's apart from Paul Hanlon. One of the reasons why I think a left-back has to be signed before the end of the window.

What Mixu will have to do is get a proper balance in midfield so that we protect the full-backs properly when defending as a team, and at the same time enable the flair players like Zemmama, Shiels, Yantorno, O'Brien etc to get forward in numbers to support our strikers when we are attacking.
Old 04-08-08, 15:57   #9

I would agree with that..however Van Zanten is Mixu's signing so he will be our right-back this season IMO, and we don't have any other available left-back's apart from Paul Hanlon. One of the reasons why I think a left-back has to be signed before the end of the window.

What Mixu will have to do is get a proper balance in midfield so that we protect the full-backs properly when defending as a team, and at the same time enable the flair players like Zemmama, Shiels, Yantorno, O'Brien etc to get forward in numbers to support our strikers when we are attacking.

Sounds like a plan to me. Lets hope it works.

Just reminded me of what Morais was saying after the Elfsborg game, something along the lines of "Their wingers are so fit, getting back to cover thier full backs, it meant I had to try and run past two players to get to the by line."

Eh hello, is that no what wingers are supposed tae do when thier team lose the baw? Get back and provide a bit of cover for your full back ffs.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Old 04-08-08, 16:31   #10

rgb1875 is on the way to a first team debut

I honestly can't see what people see in Murray, don't get me wrong if he's playing I'll back him but for me he's highly overated by a majority of the Hibs support (is this because he's a Hibee??). And from the team that started on Saturday I reckon he was our weakest link, I know he's out of position at left back and should be playing in midfield but I can' think of anyone that started on Saturday that I would drop for Murray.

And to the question Jones or Murray, I'd take Jones any day, especially if he plays the way he did on Saturday. I don't think Jones is captain material but to me neither is Murray. I reckon this is probably the hardest squad of players to pick a leader from and from what we have I'd take Hogg.
rgb1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 16:41   #11

Dazza is on the way to a first team debut

I actually thought that keenan was signed for LB but noticed he was playing midfield, Also it was stated in today's paper that mixu said he is after a strong CH to play alongside Jones
, So what about hogg is he gonna get dropped?
Dazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 16:44   #12

I honestly can't see what people see in Murray, don't get me wrong if he's playing I'll back him but for me he's highly overated by a majority of the Hibs support (is this because he's a Hibee??). And from the team that started on Saturday I reckon he was our weakest link, I know he's out of position at left back and should be playing in midfield but I can' think of anyone that started on Saturday that I would drop for Murray.

And to the question Jones or Murray, I'd take Jones any day, especially if he plays the way he did on Saturday. I don't think Jones is captain material but to me neither is Murray. I reckon this is probably the hardest squad of players to pick a leader from and from what we have I'd take Hogg.

Fair enough, I wasnt at the game so couldnt comment on his performance. I have just been going on his average performances imo for last season. I thought he had a really poor season, looked like bambi on ice alot of the time.

Murray turned our season around last year, without him we would have finished in the bottom half. He was the one player who kept everything together, I would have him as captain.

Or maybe once iv seen more of keenan, he could have the armband, hes seems like captain material but I cany judge just yet based on a couple of games.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Old 04-08-08, 16:46   #13

I actually thought that keenan was signed for LB but noticed he was playing midfield, Also it was stated in today's paper that mixu said he is after a strong CH to play alongside Jones

He had better f'ing no. A very bad move on Mixu's part if he does drop Hogg.

Just wait and see how many goals we leak without Hoggy in defence.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Old 04-08-08, 16:50   #14

DonegalHibee is on the way to a first team debut

id be outraged if hogg got dropped and jones played
DonegalHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 16:54   #15

rgb1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Fair enough, I wasnt at the game so couldnt comment on his performance. I have just been going on his average performances imo for last season. I thought he had a really poor season, looked like bambi on ice alot of the time.

Murray turned our season around last year, without him we would have finished in the bottom half. He was the one player who kept everything together, I would have him as captain.

Or maybe once iv seen more of keenan, he could have the armband, hes seems like captain material but I cany judge just yet based on a couple of games.
I totally agree with you regarding Jones last season, and he himself has come out and stated he wasn't good enough and now he wants to lead by example. Lets hope he keeps his word as he's a good goal threat as proven in his first season as well as a half decent defender on his day.
rgb1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 17:28   #16

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

daft thread. Murray is now Hibs' left back, Jones Centre Back.
Old 04-08-08, 17:42   #17

Mix Master Mikez is on the way to a first team debut

I understand why people think Jones should be dropped and his attitude towards being captain.

I personally don't think he has leadership/captain material. I am actually surprised he is actually still at the club and not left.

Murray - palyed very well when he came back to Hibs but isn't a left back but gets played there as he is more reliable than what we have. Though Hanlon I think will hopefully get better. Last season when he marked Chris Burke out the game at ER he did well so it's in him to play well - just needs to produce more.

The reality is that Jones does win alot of headers though is prone to making some bad decisions e.g when to commit to the ball etc.

We also don't have anyone to take his place so until someone does he is the best we have back there for being an old ball winning centre back and I remember when he wasn't playing against Aberdeen and McCann played centre back and we were awful in the air. Mcann decision by JC was a disgrace but Jones would be missed more than we think.
Mix Master Mikez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 18:01   #18

calcal11 hasnae upset anyone -yet

I think we need to sign a good full back to get a great defence.

Best at the moment I would say is

Hanlon/stvenson
Jones
Hogg
Murray

Although murray is better in mid than defence but were a bit screwed now weve just signed ST and JK
Old 04-08-08, 18:40   #19

alangordon09 is on the way to a first team debut

i'd play them together & get hogg tae fuck
alangordon09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-08, 18:43   #20

i'd play them together & get hogg tae fuck
ooooooooooooooooo be prepared for a backlash dude
Old 04-08-08, 18:44   #21

calcal11 hasnae upset anyone -yet