Old 31-07-08, 15:05   #1

SuperJoeT is on the way to a first team debut

NO More Signings

Was just looking at the size of our squad and theres no way we can continue to bring in players. Mixu has stated that he wants to get 8 or 9 players out but has brought in about 8 or 9 of his own players thats almost a full team. If we keep bringing them in we're just going to end up like that mob across from us with HUGE wage bill. What i would like to know is just how does Mixu judge his players. Does he watch them or have them scouted. The boy Zarabi was bought via a DVD viewing or so the rumour goes. One other thing that I dont understand is that the last three players he bought Thicot Keenan and DVZ why cant he buy one good player ie Deeks and pay him what they three combined are on. As far as im concerned Mixu has been backed and bought absolute shite.
SuperJoeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 15:18   #2

Re: NO More Signings

Was just looking at the size of our squad and theres no way we can continue to bring in players. Mixu has stated that he wants to get 8 or 9 players out but has brought in about 8 or 9 of his own players thats almost a full team. If we keep bringing them in we're just going to end up like that mob across from us with HUGE wage bill. What i would like to know is just how does Mixu judge his players. Does he watch them or have them scouted. The boy Zarabi was bought via a DVD viewing or so the rumour goes. One other thing that I dont understand is that the last three players he bought Thicot Keenan and DVZ why cant he buy one good player ie Deeks and pay him what they three combined are on. As far as im concerned Mixu has been backed and bought absolute shite.
I sometimes think the same regarding where exactly we are looking for players?
I also agree that he has been backed so far. As you say, if it's quality over quantity then why no bring in 4 quality players for the same wage that 9 average players will be on.
Collins was the same, he brought in quantity over quality. People go on about ye can only piss wi the cock you've got, to an extent thats true, but Mixu has brought in 8 or so players already, Collins brought in about 305. If a manager would rather bring in 10 average players than 5 quality then thats his decision.
I know the maximum wage will hinder the fact we cannie bring in real quality, but I dinnie buy into all of that. There is players oot there. It's been proved time and time again throughout the years. It's up to Mixu, his contacts and our scouts to find them.
Old 31-07-08, 15:22   #3
Temp Ban as Requested by the Radge himself!

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

. One other thing that I dont understand is that the last three players he bought Thicot Keenan and DVZ why cant he buy one good player ie Deeks and pay him what they three combined are on. As far as im concerned Mixu has been backed and bought absolute shite.
because
1 petrie wouldnt allow it
and
2 he hasnt been backed, hes been told to identify players, then identify cheaper players then identify even cheaper players and thats who he has signed
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 15:32   #4

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

As Gallo says, because he's probably not allowed to. He will be told that the wage cap is X with no exceptions. Grant, you make make the point yourself but fail to see this and blame Mixu for the situation. As everyone so far on this thread has pointed out, the current economic policy of setting wage limits doesn't make sense in footballing terms or financially either for that matter.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 15:34   #5

There are good cheap players out there too. Just look what Yogi has done. Also one avenue that I would go down if I was on a tight budget like Mixu is to look at the MLS league. There are some very good young players there which would not cost that much in the wage department due to the fact they are paid dollars.
Old 31-07-08, 15:39   #6
Temp Ban as Requested by the Radge himself!

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

There are good cheap players out there too. Just look what Yogi has done. Also one avenue that I would go down if I was on a tight budget like Mixu is to look at the MLS league. There are some very good young players there which would not cost that much in the wage department due to the fact they are paid dollars.
if we sign anyone - barring beckham - from the mls there would be outrage on here, much like the fact joe keenan has been dubbed pish and bottom of the barrell by many on here.
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 15:53   #7

The standard of the MLS really aint that bad. If we played any MLS team right now they would embarress us. They guys are very fit and strong .
Old 31-07-08, 15:54   #8

if we sign anyone - barring beckham - from the mls there would be outrage on here, much like the fact joe keenan has been dubbed pish and bottom of the barrell by many on here.
TBH mate, you are right. Mixu/Petrie will not win whatever they do. People were moaning yesterday about how much we've spent on the training ground. If that is what it's came to then there's not much hope.
Old 31-07-08, 17:02   #9

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

I know a few MLS players over here and we couldn't even come close to paying their wages. One I know personally (he is at Toronto FC and is not a regular first team starter) gets $16k per week - around 8 grand British. Plus, these boys aren't looking to move to a mediocre Scottish side for peanuts, they are looking at the top European leagues and Champions League clubs.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 17:24   #10

I know a few MLS players over here and we couldn't even come close to paying their wages. One I know personally (he is at Toronto FC and is not a regular first team starter) gets $16k per week - around 8 grand British. Plus, these boys aren't looking to move to a mediocre Scottish side for peanuts, they are looking at the top European leagues and Champions League clubs.
Done some research and it turns out that apart from the big name players like Donovan Adu and Becks very few players make more than 100k a year which would work out to roughly one grand sterling a week. As for wanting to play in the SPL im sure plenty would want to play here even if its to get noticed by the bigger sides down south.
Old 31-07-08, 18:04   #11

Done some research and it turns out that apart from the big name players like Donovan Adu and Becks very few players make more than 100k a year which would work out to roughly one grand sterling a week. As for wanting to play in the SPL im sure plenty would want to play here even if its to get noticed by the bigger sides down south.
Well, I don't know what research you have done, but either TFC are grossly overpaying their players or your research is incorrect. I would imagine that Tom McManus and Kenny Deuchar will currently be on, at least, a similar wage to AOB and Fletcher.
Old 31-07-08, 18:08   #12

Incidentally, I think there is some incredible talent in the MLS just now and maybe trying to manufacture loan deals with some players may be beneficial. It would put them in the shop window for Premiership and European clubs and we would have the benefit of their talent for some time. Let's be honest, I know that loans aren't ideal, but we're drinking in the Last Chance Saloon just now.
Old 31-07-08, 18:09   #13

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Andy Dorman of St Mirren made the move from the MLS.

So it can be done.

Old 31-07-08, 18:18   #14

Just a simple google search and you can find out roughly what the average wage is for these guys. Its peanuts compared to anywhere else.
Old 31-07-08, 18:18   #15

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Be as well having a scout watching the eircom League , might unearth a few gems.
Old 31-07-08, 18:27   #16

nabser will become famous soon enough

Be as well having a scout watching the eircom League , might unearth a few gems.
Have thought about that a lot there are some fine players here although the wages have increased for some over the last few years.I was going to recommend Daryl Murphy (Waterford United) when Mowbray was in charge,but because we did not pay transfer fees at the time it was pointless he went to Sunderland for 100k and was nearly going to QPR in January for 1.5 million so there are deals to be done.

nabser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 18:29   #17

Your right these leagues have talent its upto the manager to find it. Why not send some scouts out all over the world to look. Do we have scouts at ER?
Old 31-07-08, 18:33   #18

Mix Master Mikez is on the way to a first team debut

Having worked in NY and met several of the players I know some of the MLS players aren't on much at all. There are also some very good players who would do a job in the Hibs team.

Below in $ is the salaries for the New York Red Bull Players -the first number is base salary and the second is guaranteed salary. Here they are

NY Altidore Josmer F $ 105,000.00 $ 128,333.00 (transfered now to Villareal)
NY Angel Juan Pablo F $ 1,500,000.00 $ 1,593,750.00
NY Borman Danleigh M $ 17,700.00 $ 17,700.00
NY Brunner Eric D $ 36,000.00 $ 44,750.00
NY Cepero Daniel GK $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Conway Jon GK $ 115,000.00 $ 115,000.00
NY Freeman Hunter D-M $ 61,160.00 $ 71,160.00
NY Gilkerson John D $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Goldthwaite Kevin D $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Leitch Chris D $ 60,000.00 $ 60,000.00
NY Magee Mike F $ 64,637.19 $ 65,637.19
NY Mendes Carlos D $ 70,986.56 $ 70,986.56
NY Mesa Kevin M $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Palacio Mike M-F $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Parke Jeff D $ 57,487.50 $ 58,737.50
NY Patterson Caleb GK $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Reyna Claudio M $ 1,015,000.00 $ 1,265,000.00
NY Richards Dane F-M $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Schramm Ricky F $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Stammler Seth D $ 105,000.00 $ 105,000.00
NY Thornton Zach GK $ 50,000.00 $ 52,500.00
NY Ubiparipovic Sinisa M $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Van Den Bergh Dave M $ 240,000.00 $ 274,583.33
NY Wolyniec John F $ 68,906.25 $ 68,906.25

Obviously split the numbers and it gives the rough earnings in UK MONEY.

taken from

Link - [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
Mix Master Mikez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-08, 18:41   #19

Having worked in NY and met several of the players I know some of the MLS players aren't on much at all. There are also some very good players who would do a job in the Hibs team.

Below in $ is the salaries for the New York Red Bull Players -the first number is base salary and the second is guaranteed salary. Here they are

NY Altidore Josmer F $ 105,000.00 $ 128,333.00 (transfered now to Villareal)
NY Angel Juan Pablo F $ 1,500,000.00 $ 1,593,750.00
NY Borman Danleigh M $ 17,700.00 $ 17,700.00
NY Brunner Eric D $ 36,000.00 $ 44,750.00
NY Cepero Daniel GK $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Conway Jon GK $ 115,000.00 $ 115,000.00
NY Freeman Hunter D-M $ 61,160.00 $ 71,160.00
NY Gilkerson John D $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Goldthwaite Kevin D $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Leitch Chris D $ 60,000.00 $ 60,000.00
NY Magee Mike F $ 64,637.19 $ 65,637.19
NY Mendes Carlos D $ 70,986.56 $ 70,986.56
NY Mesa Kevin M $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Palacio Mike M-F $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Parke Jeff D $ 57,487.50 $ 58,737.50
NY Patterson Caleb GK $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Reyna Claudio M $ 1,015,000.00 $ 1,265,000.00
NY Richards Dane F-M $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Schramm Ricky F $ 12,900.00 $ 12,900.00
NY Stammler Seth D $ 105,000.00 $ 105,000.00
NY Thornton Zach GK $ 50,000.00 $ 52,500.00
NY Ubiparipovic Sinisa M $ 33,000.00 $ 33,000.00
NY Van Den Bergh Dave M $ 240,000.00 $ 274,583.33
NY Wolyniec John F $ 68,906.25 $ 68,906.25

Obviously split the numbers and it gives the rough earnings in UK MONEY.

taken from

Link - [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

That is helpful, the fact that contract earnings mean a lot more over here than transfer fee's, plus drafts and picks, is an eye-opener. Can you imagine if Hibs had to do the same????
Old 31-07-08, 19:46   #20

If Hibs showed some ambition we could set up a deal with one of these clubs. Pay them a small transfer fee and give them a percentage of the players transfer fee when we sell him. The club lack any ambition at all.
Old 31-07-08, 20:09   #21

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Have thought about that a lot there are some fine players here although the wages have increased for some over the last few years.I was going to recommend Daryl Murphy (Waterford United) when Mowbray was in charge,but because we did not pay transfer fees at the time it was pointless he went to Sunderland for 100k and was nearly going to QPR in January for 1.5 million so there are deals to be done.
I concur! Standard on telly doesn't look much different from SPL outwith dumb n dumber from the weege.

Always thought sauzee and blobby should've signed glen crowe
Old 31-07-08, 20:20   #22