Old 29-07-08, 11:11   #1

If Mixu was to go...

What would your actual feelings be?

I'm not alone in mine after getting the same reaction from a couple of friends.

First of all, I'd think the board were a fecking disgrace for putting another manager into a position where he felt he had no options but to walk out. Letting that happen once is careless, to do it twice is incompetent. If it's for the same reasons as Collins, then it suggests we have a board who simply refuse to acknowledge their mistakes and learn from them. I'd also be deeply deeply concerned about their ability to attract anyone decent to the job.

Second of all though, I wouldn't be that disappointed if Mixu was to go
I think the football we've played under him has been absolutely abysmal. And when I compare this pre-season to last years under Collins I'm frankly just shaking my head in disbelief. Last season you could see the plan in progressively harder games, loads of fitness work with Propos which seemed to be going great, and it set us up for a flier of a start to the league campaign. This season? No so much to put it mildly. In fact, the words "a fucking shambles" is the closest I can come to describing it. If you want to give yourself nightmares, I'd suggest trying to work out what our league position would have been without picking up 21 points in our first 9 games. This season we are starting with an almost inarguably weaker squad, imo a weaker manager tactically, and discontent amongst the support which is comparable to the tailend of Williamsons reign.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 29-07-08, 11:15   #2

Re: If Mixu was to go...

Nothing to add to the OP.
Old 29-07-08, 11:18   #3

mixu_dave is on the way to a first team debut

First of all, I'd think the board were a fecking disgrace for putting another manager into a position where he felt he had no options but to walk out. Letting that happen once is careless, to do it twice is incompetent. If it's for the same reasons as Collins, then it suggests we have a board who simply refuse to acknowledge their mistakes and learn from them. I'd also be deeply deeply concerned about their ability to attract anyone decent to the job.

I think the football we've played under him has been absolutely abysmal. And when I compare this pre-season to last years under Collins I'm frankly just shaking my head in disbelief. Last season you could see the plan in progressively harder games, loads of fitness work with Propos which seemed to be going great, and it set us up for a flier of a start to the league campaign. This season? No so much to put it mildly. In fact, the words "a fucking shambles" is the closest I can come to describing it. If you want to give yourself nightmares, I'd suggest trying to work out what our league position would have been without picking up 21 points in our first 9 games. This season we are starting with an almost inarguably weaker squad, imo a weaker manager tactically, and discontent amongst the support which is comparable to the tailend of Williamsons reign.

Spot on Wee162, couldn't have phrased it better myself.
Old 29-07-08, 11:20   #4

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Spot on.

Have had more than enough of this one up front and the constant long ball game.
Old 29-07-08, 11:21   #5

You do have to wonder though at just what has brought Mixu to the brink...

My thinking is that a player is being sold that Mixu doesn't want to lose. Mixu then asked how much he was getting of the sale and well we all know the answer...
Old 29-07-08, 11:22   #6

Angry Re: If Mixu was to go...

First of all, I'd think the board were a fecking disgrace for putting another manager into a position where he felt he had no options but to walk out. Letting that happen once is careless, to do it twice is incompetent. If it's for the same reasons as Collins, then it suggests we have a board who simply refuse to acknowledge their mistakes and learn from them. I'd also be deeply deeply concerned about their ability to attract anyone decent to the job.Second of all though, I wouldn't be that disappointed if Mixu was to go
We are going down the same road as hearts we will never get a good manager with the current board

striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-08, 11:25   #7

EasterToad is on the way to a first team debut

Are we forgetting the utter shambles that Collins presided over mid season? Word on the street is that RP refused to sanction 2.5k a week for JJ, and Mixu was understandably miffed. TBH I think Mixu will go at some point this season, managing this club is no easy task, and Mixu doesn't have the golden generation to fall back on like Mowbray. The kids I saw last night are not good enough by a long chalk.
Old 29-07-08, 11:25   #8

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Says it all wee162

Old 29-07-08, 11:27   #9
Offensively Perceived Radge

Dinkydoo336 is on the way to a first team debut

3D Highway Champion! 5 Miles To Go Champion! Legend of Zelda - Can of Whoop Ass . Champion! Sack Smash 2001 Champion! Whack The Dead Champion!

Agreed

Although Mixu SHOULD show a bit more faith and stay untill January at least. If he doesny then he obviously does not have as much affection for this club as he once said. Ok fair enough he has many good reasons to go. But if you truely care about the club, you would not abandon it 2 weeks before the season starts.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Dinkydoo336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-08, 11:27   #10

JamieHibby will become famous soon enough

Sums things up prefectly for me, Al

JamieHibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-08, 11:30   #11

Agree with that Al.

Old 29-07-08, 11:34   #12

Sorry, meant to add that of course I would be disappointed if the end came for Mixu. I really want to be wrong about him. I don't consider him a legend by any manner or means for our club, but I will always be fond of him.

If I was someone who was prone to indulging in conspiracy theories (I am) to have a third one of our favourite sons completely shafted by the board in the space of 7 years could start to look like a plan of action rather than utter incompetence. Makes it kindae tough for someone to make an approach for taking over the club when everyone they could line up to be a new manager who would get the fans on that persons side is already damaged goods in the eyes of the support.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 29-07-08, 11:37   #13
Gav
Formerly Cockney Radge

Gav is on the way to a first team debut

On a personal level he seems a good bloke and from that point of view I'd be sad to see him go. As a manager (at this point in his career anyway) he imo seems hopelessly out of his depth at a club the size of Hibs. It was clearly a big ask to have a relatively rookie manager rebuild the team after the great fire sale of the last couple of seasons. Perhaps he needed another couple of years learning the ropes elsewhere out of the glare of an SPL side.

If he does go tho' I'd be very apprehensive about who we might get in his place as I have no confidence in the Board to make the right appointment. The right appointment would mean not employing the "cheapest options" and I see no evidence that they'd be prepared to suddenly alter their prudent policies.
Old 29-07-08, 11:42   #14

Doddie is on the way to a first team debut

... I dunno. I don't think he's the primary problem.

The primary problem is that we need someone who cares about football and the Hibs team as chairman.

We're way down the same road as the Yams, IMO.

Screwed.
Old 29-07-08, 11:50   #15

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Glop 2:Glops Revenge Champion! Glop 3:Final Battle Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!

Can't find anything to disagree with here............ and I've tried.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 29-07-08, 12:02   #16

boomtown green is on the way to a first team debut

Totally agree,the football we have played under mixu has been dreadful to watch where we struggle to put three passes together.
Also last season i remember the games against aberdeen and gretna at easter rd when we were two goals behind,at least under jc i thought we could come back into the game and even win it.But under mixu no such enthusiasm i'm afraid.