Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,479 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 24-07-08, 15:28   #1

Squad for the season

Mixu has said he wants to reduce the overall size of the squad. What do you want it to look like by the time the first game comes round? Here's my thoughts;

Keepers

Happy enough with Ma-Kalambay and McNeil tbh. With Ma-Kalambay away to the Olympics a keeper in on loan till the end of August would be a decent addition. Getting shot of Zibby might be the best way to strengthen this department imo!

Full backs

Currently have McCann, Gathuessi, Hanlon, with maybe Stevenson, Murray, & Canning as cover. Only really three of them are full backs though, and if Hanlon has a case of second season syndrome like a few others have, we're going to weaken midfield to pull Stevenson or Murray back into his place. Wouldn't mind an experienced back up to Hanlon of maybe some boy who's career is winding down who can guide him and the other youngsters through whilst being fairly steady if needed. Someone like Glass wouldn't be a bad signing here tbh.

Start off the season with McCann & Hanlon as the full backs.

Centre Halfs

Got Hogg, Jones, Canning, & McCormack. Murray could play here if it came down to it. Only way I'd be signing anyone here would be if someone from this group goes. We'll start off with Jones & Hogg I'd imagine.

Midfield
Defensive/ sitting players

Got Kerr, Murray, Chisholm, and possibly Stevenson here. If we're only going to play one or two that's too many for a pretty specific role imo. Murray is a stick on for one of the places. I don't think he's been as awful as has been made out by the support, but if you could find a taker for Kerr I'd punt him to free up a wage. If we're going to play with two sitting players, I'd give Stevenson the nod to play beside him. Another Boozy who can sit and give you very good passing and ball retention would be ideal.

Wide/ attacking midfielders

Got Shiels, Zemamma, Morais, Rankin, and O'Brien (no sure if you'd call Rankin either a wide or attacking midfielder tbh). Only one of the lot of them who can play a killer ball is Zemamma imo. Shiels is good with the ball at his feet, and gets a few goals. O'Brien has pace, but has delivered the square root of feck all so far. Morais has been moderately reasonable sometimes, but his lack of a final ball means he's completely expendable imo. Rankin has a good delivery of a ball but isn't involved in games enough when sitting centrally. In all honesty, I'd only keep Zemamma to be starting from this lot, with Shiels to fill in occasionally but being mostly a good option off the bench. Rankin would be okay on the bench.

This is where we most need strengthening imo. Yantorno might be useful here if he signs as expected, but there's no way we should be relying on him to be a superstar. He should be looked at as a bit of a gamble who you hope turns out well.

Strikers
ATM we have Benji, Fletcher, Nish, Donaldson, Campbell, and Gray. Would not be averse to getting Gray and Campbell out on loan till the turn of the year, but only to somewhere they will be playing most weeks, and at a level that is top of the 1st Division/ bottom half of the SPL. If someone leaves (ie Donaldson) then you keep one of them. We don't need to strengthen here imo, it's the area of the side where we have the most depth and options. Unless of course either Fletcher or Benji leave, and then imo we have a gaping hole up front.

I haven't included the laddies who I don't know much about or haven't seen in here (ie Cropley, Byrne etc).
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 24-07-08, 15:41   #2

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Squad for the season

agree with most of the except the full backs, Van Zanten is a stick-on for right-back.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-08, 15:45   #3

agree with most of the except the full backs, Van Zanten is a stick-on for right-back.
Ken what, I have been so enamoured with his signing I'd forgotten he now played for us
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 24-07-08, 15:49   #4

alexi will become famous soon enough

Maybe move Sheils into a forward/secondary striker role and not a midfileder. Id move alot of the young laddies out on loan especially the strikers to get them some regular football that they wont get with us for a bit. Bin Kerr,Morais & Zibi, but who'd want them.
Old 24-07-08, 15:50   #5

Decal Joe is a jewel in the roughDecal Joe is a jewel in the rough

Ken what, I have been so enamoured with his signing I'd forgotten he now played for us
Don't worry about that, even he forgot he played for us every time Elfsborg pushed down the left flank last weekend!
Old 24-07-08, 16:05   #6

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

looking at that squad (btw what about yantorno(i think its pretty much a stick on he will sign)) i dont think we're in anywhere near as much trouble as some people are predicting. the back 5 are solid and know each other pretty well by now.

murray plays the holding role well and with deano, zouma and fletch we have flair up the other end of the pitch. if we could add 2 box to box midfielders or a striker with that extra bit of class(e.g. benji with his head out his arse) we would be looking good for a european push Imo.

talk of relegation/bottom 6 is imo pish
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-08, 16:33   #7

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

looking at that squad (btw what about yantorno(i think its pretty much a stick on he will sign)) i dont think we're in anywhere near as much trouble as some people are predicting. the back 5 are solid and know each other pretty well by now.

murray plays the holding role well and with deano, zouma and fletch we have flair up the other end of the pitch. if we could add 2 box to box midfielders or a striker with that extra bit of class(e.g. benji with his head out his arse) we would be looking good for a european push Imo.

I'd agree that on paper it doesn't look nearly as bad as some are making out.
As you say, add a wee bit more quality and we should be in with a good shout of Europe.

We shouldn't be anywhere near being relegated but top 6 is far from guaranteed. We have only finished sixth the last two seasons with a squad similar or better than what we have right now. On paper, I'd agree we should do better, but the game is played on grass.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-08, 17:55   #8

I mentioned Yantorno under wide players/ attacking midfielders?

My problem is that we have about two or three players who if they get injured or sold I honestly think we're fucked. Those players would be Zemamma, Fletcher, and possibly Murray.

Thinking your first choice side is going to be playing most of the time is unrealistic imo. I also don't see a lot in the manager so far to suggest he's going to be inspirational re tactics or us playing the sort of football that would best utilise those players.