Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,479 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 23-07-08, 09:19   #1

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

Hibs games that turned out to be classics you could have went to but didn't

One of the main reasons that's encourages me to go to every derby came is the 'what if'...factor. You never know walking into a ground that you'll be walking out a 6-2 winner.

Same goes for this Barca game. Imagine Hibs roll out 3-2 winners and your grandkids ask you about the game in 40 years time and you're forced to say 'I actually watched that on the telly son, the Herts played them first and the game was a 15 min bus journey fi Leith Walk so I didnae bother.

So, with that in mind - what's the best Hibs game you've missed? It doesn't count if you were on holiday, in hospital, a best man at a wedding etc. I mean games you could have feasibly went to if you could have been bothered, asked someone to swap your shift at work or not spent the ticket money in the pub.

For me its Hibs 9 Montrose 0. It was the height of the Williamson era and a league cup game, so the thought of forking out even more money for that pish on a freezing Wednesday night was unlikely. Decided to stay in that night, even though I only live round the corner from the ground and probably had money for a ticket. A lot of folk came on the bounce that night with a gloating, Hibbier than thou attitude for being one of the 5,000 or whatever that turned up - that stuck in the craw a wee bit too. Anyways, I'll probably never see Hibs score 9 again for a while so wish I was there.

What's yours?
Old 23-07-08, 09:22   #2

alexi will become famous soon enough

Re: Hibs games that turned out to be classics you could have went to but didn't

Easy...ive missed 2 Derbys in 10 years..the 3-0 at Tynie and the 6-2 game.

Old 23-07-08, 09:23   #3

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

One of the main reasons that's encourages me to go to every derby came is the 'what if'...factor. You never know walking into a ground that you'll be walking out a 6-2 winner.

Same goes for this Barca game. Imagine Hibs roll out 3-2 winners and your grandkids ask you about the game in 40 years time and you're forced to say 'I actually watched that on the telly son, the Herts played them first and the game was a 15 min bus journey fi Leith Walk so I didnae bother.

So, with that in mind - what's the best Hibs game you've missed? It doesn't count if you were on holiday, in hospital, a best man at a wedding etc. I mean games you could have feasibly went to if you could have been bothered, asked someone to swap your shift at work or not spent the ticket money in the pub.

For me its Hibs 9 Montrose 0. It was the height of the Williamson era and a league cup game, so the thought of forking out even more money for that pish on a freezing Wednesday night was unlikely. Decided to stay in that night, even though I only live round the corner from the ground and probably had money for a ticket. A lot of folk came on the bounce that night with a gloating, Hibbier than thou attitude for being one of the 5,000 or whatever that turned up - that stuck in the craw a wee bit too. Anyways, I'll probably never see Hibs score 9 again for a while so wish I was there.

What's yours?
Funny, I have watched Hibs for over 35 years and the one game I missed and wish I had gone to was..........Hibs 9 Montrose 0!!!!! It was Mrs 1875's birthday and I stayed home (something I never do) and got 9 texts from Doctor Shrink as each goal rolled in. Like Proccie, I wished I havd been there, just to see us score nine.

Old 23-07-08, 09:32   #4

HailHail has a spectacular aura aboutHailHail has a spectacular aura about

League cup final last year, though it worked out OK.

6-2. Had been at the previous week's game when we beat the huns and didn't think our luck would last to a 'hun double'. Was skint and was also on a last warning from work, so didn't want to get smashed on a sunday either so I just watched it on SKY and had a party that night instead anyway.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 09:36   #5

Celtic 1 Hibs 3 back in 2005. I got a phone call in the morning from a mate encouraging me to go. I promised the Mrs i'd spend the day with her and the wee man.

Out and about that day i kept on saying that i just had a wee feeling we'd get a result. My mate kept on phoning after each goal...

I said to the Mrs as i put the radio on "I knew i should have went..." and i got the "You'd have been as well - you've not been with us"
Old 23-07-08, 09:39   #6

GerryGilli is on the way to a first team debut

SAD Re: Hibs games that turned out to be classics you could have went to but didn't

01-01-73 - I enjoyed my first real drinking Hogmany (16 years old!) and was totally unable to travel up from the Borders to Edinburgh for the game the morning after - first time I'd missed a game in years - couldn't believe the score and my bad luck - still bugs me after all these years
src="
border="0" alt="" title="stretch" class="inlineimg" />.gif!
GerryGilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 09:48   #7

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Rangers CIS Cup Semi Final 2004. I'd broke my foot the week before and was cast up and in some pain and on crutches.

Still should have made the effort.

PS but I was at the Montrose 9-0 game.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 09:50   #8

tricky will become famous soon enough

that Alloa game when Chico scored from 60 yards...

combination of being lack of funds, inertia and being out half the night on the Friday, could have got a sub and made the effort but just didn't bother, wasn't televised either so never seen the goal.

my mate turned down a ticket and lift through to Ibrox on Ivan Sproule hat trick day to kick about Debenhams with his ex birds ma
Old 23-07-08, 09:55   #9

Vanquinho is on the way to a first team debut

The 6-2 game

Had a fecking season ticket that year tae
Vanquinho is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 09:58   #10

PS but I was at the Montrose 9-0 game.
Me too.

I very nearly missed the Yams first game of the season last. It was really a very last minute bolt down to the ticket office to get a ticket.

Within reason any game we can get to we should.

Another game i much regret missing out on was the day we clinched promotion back to the SPL (Feckin shameful when you think about it.. us being relegated - surely never ever again...) in 1999 at Firhill (I can't remember who were playing - Hamilton?)

I was working in London at the time and despite coming back up on the Friday evening got wrecked on the sauce and listened to it all on the radio.
Old 23-07-08, 10:02   #11

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Sir Tom Farmer was there too. Not bad for someone who isn't a big Hibby.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 10:04   #12

Sir Tom Farmer was there too. Not bad for someone who isn't a big Hibby.
Aye but he was measuring at the time for our then planned move...
Old 23-07-08, 10:20   #13

Hibbywolf is on the way to a first team debut

6-2 game.

Had been down to see Wolves on the Saturday and the Wolves boys were saying sorry for selling us Mixu!Told them he was playing well in a good team and to watch the game on Sunday.

Driving back up feeling hungover took bout 6 hours to get hame stopped off at iona gave my ticket away and decided to head back to Mid Calder and watch it on the telly.

The rest as they say is history.......
Hibbywolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 10:25   #14

Rangers CIS Cup Semi Final 2004. I'd broke my foot the week before and was cast up and in some pain and on crutches.
Still should have made the effort.
missed that classic game as I was on an extended trip round Africa remember fallin to my knees and howling in triumph in a kenyan internet cafe.

came back for the final..cheers Blobby
Old 23-07-08, 10:55   #15

boydy 1875 is on the way to a first team debut

6-2 game but what makes it even worse was having my 5th birthday the exact same day and not being able to celebrate any of it with my dad who was on a golfing trip in spain IIRC

RIORDAN IS HOME
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: ma b`day
boydy 1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 11:00   #16

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

apart from the 6-2 and 0-7 games i made all of the ones mentioned.

i was on holiday for 6-2(i was about 13 so couldnt argue about it) and i was -14 when the 0-7 game was on.

I cant think of any game i regret missing apart from maybe 1-1 at parkhead when librra scored
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 11:29   #17

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Can't recall any games I could easily have gone to and regret missing. It's more a case of being too far from home to attend some great games. I missed almost the whole of the 2000-2001 season including the 6-2 game.

The millenium derby is one I could maybe have attended as I remember watching it at the Pitz (?) in Portobello after playing fives. But I've never been a big one for away games and haven't been to Tynecastle since about 1996.

Also, regret not being at home for the 3-2 home win against AEK. We didn't qualify but it sounded like a great match and these proper European nights don't happen too often at ER nowadays.

However, I was at the 9-0 against Montrose and the game against Alloa when Chico scored from inside his own half.

It's the telly for me for the Barça game as well as it would take me a lot longer than 15 minutes to get to the game and it'd cost a lot more than 25 quid!
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 11:33   #18

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

Ivans hat-trick at Ibrox.

I was doing community service for being a naughty boy and got three texts. First one to say it looked like we were getting a draw, second and third about his first two goals. Finally a hysterical phone call saying he had got a hat-trick.

Over the moon and kinda gutted at the same moment.

Old 23-07-08, 12:22   #19

Doddie is on the way to a first team debut

I've missed a few big games over the years but the one I really regret is the game in February 1961 against Barca.

My dad was going with the guy he worked beside, and offered to take me, but I was 11 years old, and my 11-plus exam was coming up the following month, and my mother decided that it would be too late for me coming home after 11.00pm when I had school in the morning.

Dad went with his pal Leonard, and I was put to bed about nine o'clock, and didn't sleep a wink until the old man came in about half past eleven and told me the score.

It would have been my first visit to ER.
Old 23-07-08, 12:23   #20

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

that Alloa game when Chico scored from 60 yards...

combination of being lack of funds, inertia and being out half the night on the Friday, could have got a sub and made the effort but just didn't bother, wasn't televised either so never seen the goal.
The first game I took my future wife too...none of the usual crowd seemed to be attending so I sat right on the half way line right down the front.As Chico lifted his wand to dispatch the goal Emma dropped something and missed the event.I hugged the nearest understanding man while she looked totally bemused by the whole thing.

Possibly not considered a classic, but the 4-4 derby at the pit was one that springs to mind...was in Lanzarote airport (so was Giraffe McPherson) getting texts from Tricky so I was happy to swagger past the eedjit whistling Hibs tunes until the smelly ****s came back at us.

Dave McPherson was staying in the same hotel and seemed to take great delight in going to the same places on the same day as me.He ruined my feckin holiday the knob.
southfieldhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 12:51   #21

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

6-2 game for me as I was leaving for Las Vegas and probably could have made the game.

Though I did take my annoyance at missing the game out on a yank who asked 'What the score had been in the big game' as the New York Mets were playing the New York Jets in the Rounders World series finale.

My reply that ''It was 6-2 and Mixu scored a @@@king hatrick' was just completely lost on him though I felt much better.

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-08, 12:58   #22

Dave McPherson was staying in the same hotel and seemed to take great delight in going to the same places on the same day as me.He ruined my feckin holiday the knob.

you should have pushed the ticket touting jambo **** doon the stairs.
Old 23-07-08, 13:02   #23