Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,479 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 21-07-08, 09:00   #1

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

Big week for the cabbage

You would have thought that the marketing machine at Easter Road will be going into overdrive this week ahead of the game against Barca on Thursday.

There has been plenty time to prepare for this week.

Can't help thinkig the club will want to deliver some good news this week ahead of the game.

Let's hope there are one or two good signings to give us encouragement.
Old 21-07-08, 09:06   #2
Anyone for a cup of tea radge

broonieboy will become famous soon enough

Re: Big week for the cabbage

You would have thought that the marketing machine at Easter Road will be going into overdrive this week ahead of the game against Barca on Thursday.

Can't help thinkig the club will want to deliver some good news this week ahead of the game.

Agreed, a nice wee signing or two to make debut in Barca match would be nice. May also boost sales. Gutted i'm up north.
broonieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 09:42   #3
Mussel-bound Radge

Weehibbydrew is on the way to a first team debut

Can't help thinking that a bigger week for the Cabbage was the week before the Elfsborg game .. and that THAT would have been the ideal time for signings.

And please, spare me from that fecking marketing machine. All Hibs have done since May is bombard us with requests for more of our hard-earned. Sorry, but they'll just have to make do with a mere five hundred quid for the ST.
Old 21-07-08, 10:03   #4

Can't help thinking that a bigger week for the Cabbage was the week before the Elfsborg game .. and that THAT would have been the ideal time for signings.

And please, spare me from that fecking marketing machine. All Hibs have done since May is bombard us with requests for more of our hard-earned. Sorry, but they'll just have to make do with a mere five hundred quid for the ST.
Bedwetter!!
Old 21-07-08, 10:06   #5
Mussel-bound Radge

Weehibbydrew is on the way to a first team debut

Bedwetter!!
Guilty as charged.
Old 21-07-08, 10:11   #6

Guilty as charged.

More a case of yet another bloody frustrated Hibby.

Back to the opening post i'd agree with it's points entirely. It's all logical stuff.

If we had demonstrated a bit of ambition this close season i've no doubt season tickets sales would be where they were this time last year.

However, they are down. (no actual facts of that but i think it's stating the obvious based on the good Hibby folks you speak to and on here who haven't renewed..)

My concern now relates to how the reduced season ticket sales are affecting the budget Mixu has?

Old 21-07-08, 11:03   #7
Offensively Perceived Radge

Dinkydoo336 is on the way to a first team debut

3D Highway Champion! 5 Miles To Go Champion! Kerry Bush Bash Champion! Legend of Zelda - Can of Whoop Ass . Champion! Sack Smash 2001 Champion! Whack The Dead Champion!

More a case of yet another bloody frustrated Hibby.

Back to the opening post i'd agree with it's points entirely. It's all logical stuff.

If we had demonstrated a bit of ambition this close season i've no doubt season tickets sales would be where they were this time last year.

However, they are down. (no actual facts of that but i think it's stating the obvious based on the good Hibby folks you speak to and on here who haven't renewed..)

My concern now relates to how the reduced season ticket sales are affecting the budget Mixu has?

Yet another reason for Petrie no tae fork out on wages and giving Mixu a good transfer budget.

RP, you are soon going to find out that a shiny new stand is nae gid when it's only a quater full. Money is the only thing RP understands so I think he may start to listen if he gets hit where it hurts.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Dinkydoo336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 12:49   #8

Would not disagree. For a lot of us we wan't to see Hibs achieve a decent run in the UEFA cup. Those of us of a certain age grew up expecting to see Hibs in European competiton year after year and be a decent match for the glamour teams of Europe.

I wonder if some of the management and staff had more of an eye on the barca game though than on Elfsborg.
Old 21-07-08, 17:42   #9

It would certainly be good PR for the club to have made a few signings before the Barcelona match and who knows maybe that is what will happen!!??
Old 21-07-08, 18:44   #10

LunaCWsauzee will become famous soon enough

Would not disagree. For a lot of us we wan't to see Hibs achieve a decent run in the UEFA cup. Those of us of a certain age grew up expecting to see Hibs in European competiton year after year and be a decent match for the glamour teams of Europe.

I wonder if some of the management and staff had more of an eye on the barca game though than on Elfsborg.
Mixu admitted it was hard to keep the players minds off the Barcelona match before the Elfsborg match.

I would have given a severe boot to the tadgers of anyone that mentioned the Barca game before the Elfsborg match.

Looking at some of the players attitudes against Elfsborg, I would say more than a few had their eyes on Barca
LunaCWsauzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 11:20   #11

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

If anything is going to happen, then they are taking their time.

Old 22-07-08, 15:07   #12

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Was just thinking the same. If they'd wanted to reveal new signings in order to sell more tickets for the Barça game, then it should've been done by now.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 17:52   #13

Well hey ho. You would have thought Hibs would have had a marketing campaign for this week and try and build some momentum.
Old 22-07-08, 18:27   #14

Well hey ho. You would have thought Hibs would have had a marketing campaign for this week and try and build some momentum.
In fairness the club are trying very hard in scouring the lower level market - i hear a batch of new trialists arrived at the training centre on monday - that would bring the benefit of very little cost to the club.

With the money saved perhaps we could buy some additional land. We are after all a capital infrastructure company masquerading as a football club.
Old 22-07-08, 19:45   #15

In fairness the club are trying very hard in scouring the lower level market - i hear a batch of new trialists arrived at the training centre on monday - that would bring the benefit of very little cost to the club.

With the money saved perhaps we could buy some additional land. We are after all a capital infrastructure company masquerading as a football club.
At my age and experience of Hibs I should be beyond the stage of blind faith Kenny. You have to hope we see some inspiring moves but perhaps even I am clutching at straws.
Old 23-07-08, 01:43   #16

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

They have had since the Elfsborg games to try and get everyone geed up for this (and the new season) They have failed miserably.

Tsk, tsk. So young, yet so cynical. How can they prove to you that that's just not true?

At my age and experience of Hibs I should be beyond the stage of blind faith Kenny. You have to hope we see some inspiring moves but perhaps even I am clutching at straws.

Tsk, tsk. So old yet so gullible. How could the Club prove to you (and me) that we're not clutching at straws?

Anyone would think we were playing one of the worlds biggest and most famous clubs in a few tomorrow and that we were starting a new league campaign very soon.