Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,482 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 20-07-08, 14:57   #1

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Do Hibs dish out the same wages as Aberdeen/Dundee Utd?

Just out of interest, do you reckon that over the last 2/3 years Hibs have paid the same or better wages than the above 2 and are currently on similar wage structures?

Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-08, 16:41   #2

Baldy hasnae upset anyone -yet

Re: Do Hibs dish out the same wages as Aberdeen/Dundee Utd?

we pay far less on average, look at people like Severin, Nicolson, Miller etc all reportedly well above our top earners

Unfortunately John came fifth and got a toaster.
Baldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-08, 16:49   #3

too_many_djs will become famous soon enough

I dont know about Aberdeen, but think we are paying about the same as Utd though (or according to what my United mate says). Reckons their new striker from Valencia must be about the top earner and it doesnt seem to be any more than what Fletch is on!
too_many_djs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-08, 17:53   #4

JDanielR1875 is on the way to a first team debut

De Vreise must be ona few pounds Dundee def spend more than us on players

"SUPER MURRAY 6"
JDanielR1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-08, 18:28   #5

too_many_djs will become famous soon enough

Im pretty sure another club were paying part of MDVs wages, no way could Utd have afforded him themselves.
too_many_djs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-08, 22:59   #6

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

According to Petrie, it's 'Comparable.

What ever that means.

Old 20-07-08, 23:11   #7

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

We have a bigger squad than most others, so total wage bill has to be spread further. That's why Mixu wants to reduce the size of the squad.

The new guy at Yams is going to do the same.

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 08:12   #8

As above. Our squad is bigger than the 2 named teams. So we will dish out the same wages overall. 2 players coming from the premiership last season will be on a decent whack as will Fletch. There is no way Maka and O'Brien, and especially O'Brien, who was on the verges of the Newcastle first team would be on a shite wage doon there, and with championship clubs interested in him, Hibs must have offered him a no bad deal to come up here. Bearing in Mind the toon offered him a new deal as well.
Once the squad is reduced we may end up with more players earning a wee bit more. So I think the answer to your question is yes (only IMO of course)
Old 21-07-08, 08:47   #9

alexi will become famous soon enough

Highest wage at Todders is 2k, Nicholson was one more and is away,same is true for Lovell. Severin is a big earner but they are trying to get him to sign a deal for a smaller wage or offload him.

dundee Utd,no idea about the wages there.But given the movement off players from there to Aberdeen this summer id guess it is on a par or possibly lower than up in sheep City.

Us. One of our non regular youngsters is on 1k-this i know for a fact,and we know that AOB is on a decent wage probably over 3k,Flech & Murray will be on a simular level(i assume).

Overall id say we pay comparitive wages-its just down to the managers to idetify the talent first and get them in.

It could be worse-we could be paying 10k+ a week to total donkeys like a certain club we all know and hate.
Old 21-07-08, 09:54   #10

Bossie will become famous soon enough

Hibs pay more than Dundee United, but less than Aberdeen.

The last figures I have are:

Hibs - Salary bill: £4 million, 107 employees, £37.4K average

Aberdeen - Salary bill £5.2 million, 98 employees, £52.6K average

Dundee United - Salary bill £2.6 million, 76 employees, £34.2K average.

It has to be borne in mind though that Aberdeen wage bill, in particular, is not sustainable. As a result, Aberdeen is desperately hoping that the council will foot the bill while the club sell Pittodrie to clear its debt. We've been there, and we don't want to go back.
Old 21-07-08, 10:01   #11

It has to be borne in mind though that Aberdeen wage bill, in particular, is not sustainable. As a result, Aberdeen is desperately hoping that the council will foot the bill while the club sell Pittodrie to clear its debt. We've been there, and we don't want to go back.
A breakdown of the actual playing staff would be even more interesting/revealing..
Old 21-07-08, 10:45   #12

greencol will become famous soon enough

Air Balls Champion! Bank Shooter 2 Champion! Border Patrol Champion! Cub Shoot 2 Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Penguin Shot Champion! SpeedPong Champion! Submarine Champion! WRX! Champion!

This is the same council which spent £27m it didn't have.

As it turns out the figure is nearer £50M because it used its 'slush fund' to try & get out of the doo doo.

I think the dandies may have to start selling the toasters & kettles again.

Of course they may have a new stadium built at Balmedie beside Trumps new golf course/conservation area.

Castles made of sand.
Old 21-07-08, 10:58   #13

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

A breakdown of the actual playing staff would be even more interesting/revealing..
Indeed Smurf, we might find that Dundee Utd have a leaner and smaller infrastructure - therefore the amount that players take out of the wages pot is higher?

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 11:28   #14

Doesn't exist in the public domain.
Old 21-07-08, 11:41   #15

Doesn't exist in the public domain.
Yip unfortunately not.

I'd be confident in sticking my neck out (although it's hardly a bold prediction..) in saying that our wage bill for players only is less than Dundee Utd's and Aberdeen.
Old 21-07-08, 12:25   #16

Yip unfortunately not.

I'd be confident in sticking my neck out (although it's hardly a bold prediction..) in saying that our wage bill for players only is less than Dundee Utd's and Aberdeen.
I'd go along with that, it seems that way, certainly over the last couple of seasons. For example, Jackie Mc, sure he's not even that good a player but when he signed for the Dons, theres no way we could have afforded his salary at the time.

Old 21-07-08, 12:38   #17

Greenscratch is on the way to a first team debut

Yip unfortunately not.

Good point.

Wee162 has more or less worked out that our collar and tie men earn more than at other clubs. Remove these wages from our total and the findings could be startling!

What a lovely gesture it would be for our money men to give their wages up for a year and use the money to finance a star!!!!
Greenscratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-08, 12:43   #18

I'd go along with that, it seems that way, certainly over the last couple of seasons. For example, Jackie Mc, sure he's not even that good a player but when he signed for the Dons, theres no way we could have afforded his salary at the time.
How do you know? It's probably just down to the fact that we weren't interested in him.

Hibs payed 200K each in compensation for Maka and O'Brien. Something Aberdeen and Dundee Utd would never have done. Both players will be a on a good wage at Hibs also. There is no denying that IMO.
Could Aberdeen and Dundee Utd afford them? I doubt it.
Old 21-07-08, 12:54   #19

Yip unfortunately not.

I'm confident in saying that it is less than Aberdeen and significantly more than Dundee United.
Old 21-07-08, 12:55   #20

Another point. What about all the dross the teams have signed. Hibs are obviously no exception but Aberdeen have signed a guy from league 2, and have signed a couple of players from the lower leagues in Holland in the last few months. Are they gonnie be on megabcuks? They have signed Kerr and Mulgrew who are relatively big signings but won't be on anymore than Hibs' highest earners.
Dundee Utd have signed a few players also - 2 of them, however, on loan from Cardiff where Cardiff will no doubt be covering all if not most of their salary.
Old 21-07-08, 13:19   #21

How do you know? It's probably just down to the fact that we weren't interested in him.

Hibs payed 200K each in compensation for Maka and O'Brien. Something Aberdeen and Dundee Utd would never have done. Both players will be a on a good wage at Hibs also. There is no denying that IMO.
Could Aberdeen and Dundee Utd afford them? I doubt it.
Because he had to take a major pay cut to sign for them from Wolves, so im guessing he would only take the pay cut to one of the top earners at Aberdeen. Simple really, and that is more than we can afford.

Old 21-07-08, 13:24   #22

Because he had to take a major pay cut to sign for them from Wolves, so im guessing he would only take the pay cut to one of the top earners at Aberdeen. Simple really, and that is more than we can afford.
Aye it is simple. But what I'm saying is how do you know it's more than we can afford? Just because he signed for Aberdeen doesn't mean if interested we couldn't have afforded his wage. Your guessing, I'm guessing, near enough everyone is guessing.

My guess is though that because we have more playing staff than the other 2, that our over all wage balance will be around about the same. We have top earners, they have top earners and I'm guessing our top earners, IMO will be Fletch, and 2 ex Premiership reserves, 1 of who was on the fringes of the first team, so IMO will be on just as much as any other player in the SPL ootside old firm and hertz.