Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,479 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 19-07-08, 20:10   #41

Mix Master Mikez is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Barcelona - a different perspective

I think there's a fair chance that will be the case. I hope so anyway. I'd like to see us scoring obviously so to be frank I'd settle for a 3-1 defeat provided it's a decent fighting Hibs performance.
Agreed - as long as the players fight for everything and look like they care.

We haven't scored a goal in 8 games so a goal of any sort would be good
Mix Master Mikez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-08, 20:38   #42

barbiegirl is on the way to a first team debut

I am delighted we are playing Barca, it is a dream come true for me and many of my Hibs and Barca supporting mates.

I have Irish friends I have converted from the lesser greens during my 'missionary work' over there, imagine their first live Hibs game is playing Barcelona.

I go to see Barca around 5 to 6 times every season. I am also a member of the FC Barcelona UK Penya, and I know of at least 30 Barca fans, many of them pals of mine who are coming up for the game.

As for the Barca players, there is the magnificence of Lionel Messi, the passion of Puyol and the 'peelywally brilliance' of Iniesta to see.

Whatever the score, it is a great occassion and whilst I appreciate many won't pay the ridiculous amounts being asked to see what is basically a training game, and its a scunner playing it at a rugby ground, but Hibernian v Barcelona is the real deal and I for one cannae wait.

Visca el Barca y GGTTH
Totally agree , it my 3rd time seeing Barca this year, and the 4th for Billthehibby . We can't wait to see them play, and like you meeting up with some of the Penya members.

Win or loose it will be a great night and a great game.
barbiegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-08, 20:41   #43

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Totally agree , it my 3rd time seeing Barca this year, and the 4th for Billthehibby . We can't wait to see them play, and like you meeting up with some of the Penya members.

Win or loose it will be a great night and a great game.
If you are also Barça fans - how can you lose?
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 10:54   #44

tricky will become famous soon enough

I'm really lookin forward to the game, have been to the Nou Camp a few times and it will be great seeing players of this calibre playing against the cabbage on a summers night in Edinburgh. even watching top players like Messi, Toure etc doin warm up ballwork will be of interest to me.

with tickets costs similar to half the shitey SPL grounds we'll be trudging along to next season it wasn't exactly a difficult decison to make to go along.
Old 22-07-08, 11:25   #45

Mix Master Mikez is on the way to a first team debut

I'm really lookin forward to the game, have been to the Nou Camp a few times and it will be great seeing players of this calibre playing against the cabbage on a summers night in Edinburgh. even watching top players like Messi, Toure etc doin warm up ballwork will be of interest to me.

with tickets costs similar to half the shitey SPL grounds we'll be trudging along to next season it wasn't exactly a difficult decison to make to go along.
These occasions don't happen very often and I aim to get there early to see the players warm up then enjoy the match. Even if it's at training pace you would hope Hibs would won't to raise the tempo of the game as I'm sure they would all love to score against Barca. The question is though will we have a enough quality to do so.....well........
Mix Master Mikez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 12:36   #46

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Really looking forward to this game, despite it not being at Easter Road
(Probably) a once in a lifetime chance to see us take on the Catalan giants. I really hope Messi features at some point as IMO he has overtaken the great Ronaldinho in recent seasons as the world's top player.
Old 22-07-08, 12:53   #47

HarpShipCastle is on the way to a first team debut

As a Hibs fan, Im going for the same reason I go to any game.

As a football fan, never seen Barcelona in the flesh and they should be a joy to watch.

Note: Hibs fan first, football fan second. That's why I choose Hibs v Middlesborough last year
HarpShipCastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 13:10   #48

greenarmy is on the way to a first team debut

I'm looking forward to seeing some of the best players in the world live instead of on the tele will get a better idea of what they are like by being at the game
greenarmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 13:15   #49
Oh, what's occuring? Radge

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

I'm looking forward to it, as I haven't seen Hibs in pre-season yet as I've been on holiday. Also, hopefully all of Barca's top players feature at some point as it would be good to see them live.

CraigHFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 13:28   #50
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

Didn't spot your thread SKII, should've posted the message below here. I can't believe I was debating it.

I was sceptical but I'm really looking forward to it now. I've Been to the Camp Nou but just for the tour. I've never seen a big team like Barca play Hibs. If we do our usual of raising our game againt the big team then I'll be happy (not that we did that at the tail end of last season).

How often do Barca play in Edinburgh? (Well, about once a year these days, but that's not the point)...

I specifically didn't go to the other preseason games so I could justify the price of this one. That and naeb'dy else is going so I'll have my choice of seats.

Like someone else said, should be a good laugh and fuck Hearts. Some folk say it's already been done by the Gunts but I think you'll all find we did it well before them.

And we won.

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 13:32   #51

Didn't spot your thread SKII, should've posted the message below here. I can't believe I was debating it.
will prob be at the Murrayfield Hotel for a fly pint before the game if you're kickin about.
Old 22-07-08, 14:30   #52
Spaktacuradge

Brainwrong has a spectacular aura about

will prob be at the Murrayfield Hotel for a fly pint before the game if you're kickin about.
Sounds good. Will attempt to divert my group there...

Brainwrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 14:33   #53

Thomson_19 is on the way to a first team debut

I'm with 1875, been to a game at the Nou Camp every season for the past 4 and am booked up for el clasico in December (just hope tickets aren't to hard to get) and this is a dream come true.

GIRU all those saying it would be a youth team and that we wouldn't sell enough to fill Easter Road etc. why not try and embrace embrace this rare opportunity. This place should be buzzing this week in excitement and it's mainly petty gripes from folk still thinking it's 'cool' to ignore this game becuase Hearts had the fixture last year.

Got the Friday off, invested in a new digital
and am planning on getting enough photos and merchandise to make a brilliant framed collage for the living room.

Here's hoping for an epic 3-3 all guns blazin friendly and all the wrist cutters to be scranning humble pie between posts about how everyone at Easter Road is satans minion.

Last edited by Thomson_19; 22-07-08 at 15:28. Reason: bit strong
Thomson_19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 14:43   #54

Tattooedhibee is a jewel in the roughTattooedhibee is a jewel in the rough

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

I'm with 1875, been to a game at the Nou Camp every season for the past 4 and am booked up for el clasico in December (just hope tickets aren't to hard to get) and this is a dream come true.

GIRU all those saying it would be a youth team and that we wouldn't sell enough to fill Easter Road etc. shut the fuck up and embrace this rare opportunity. This place should be buzzing this week in excitement and it's mainly petty gripes from folk still thinking it's 'cool' to ignore this game becuase Hearts had the fixture last year.

and am planning on getting enough photos and merchandise to make a brilliant framed collage for the living room.

Here's hoping for an epic 3-3 all guns blazin friendly and all the wrist cutters to be scranning humble pie between posts about how everyone at Easter Road is satans minion.
Obviously its a different excitement and perspective if your a Barcelona fan just as much, if not more, than Hibernian.

Tattooedhibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 15:08   #55

GIRU all those saying it would be a youth team and that we wouldn't sell enough to fill Easter Road etc. shut the fuck up and embrace this rare opportunity. This place should be buzzing this week in excitement and it's mainly petty gripes from folk still thinking it's 'cool' to ignore this game becuase Hearts had the fixture last year.

I'm ignoring the game because

a] I'm not remotely bothered about whether I see Barca in the flesh or not
b] I'm buggered if I'm paying 25 notes to get into a training match

Just because you are mega excited about it [and good on you for that] I dont see why it means I should shut the fuck up about not going.

Old 22-07-08, 15:33   #56

Thomson_19 is on the way to a first team debut

Obviously its a different excitement and perspective if your a Barcelona fan just as much, if not more, than Hibernian.
So you don't like the idea of us playing one of the biggest clubs in the world? Were it Real Madrid, Man U, Inter etc. I'ld be just as excited, it's gonna be the only way we see Hibs taking on a team of such magnitude whether we like to hear that or not.

Just because you are mega excited about it [and good on you for that] I dont see why it means I should shut the fuck up about not going.
edited the original post as it's a bit heavy, apologies.

Fair enough but it seems odd to me people aren't grasping the chance to see this. Van Zanten vs Messi will be both baffling yet incredible to see for me.

Will you be watching it on the TV Dub?

Thomson_19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-08, 16:02   #57

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

Well said mate

And to think some folk term Rantic fans glory hunters
Old 22-07-08, 16:13   #58

Well said mate

And to think some folk term Rantic fans glory hunters
ahem as per original post don't think this thread is intended for folk who will be sitting in the hoose on thursday night
Old 22-07-08, 16:18   #59

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

ahem as per original post don't think this thread is intended for folk who will be sitting in the hoose on thursday night
Why did he mention them then ?

I hope it rains
Old 22-07-08, 16:41   #60

Dub is a glorious beacon of lightDub is a glorious beacon of lightDub is a glorious beacon of lightDub is a glorious beacon of lightDub is a glorious beacon of light

vCash: 3000

Air Fox Champion! Banker Brokers Champion!