Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,481 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 18-07-08, 00:06   #1

Falkirk game - Non ST renewers

This is just a quick idea, feel free to shoot me down in flames if you see something wrong with it.

I've not renewed my ST because the amount invested in the team is not matching the amount I expect, particularly considering how much it is currently costing to get into ER. However, I'll still be going to the games because that's what I do. So basically it's a complete token protest from me. I would quite like the club to know that I'm pissed off though, and I was wondering how many others would also like to do so.

So I have a cunning plan
The price for getting into the Falkirk game is going to be £22 I'd imagine. There's around 30% of that money which is going onto the park. I would quite like it to be noticed by the clubs custodians that I've noticed this. So my plan is nipping into a bank on the Friday and changing £7 into pennies and using that plus £15 to get into the game. That £7 in pennies represents about 30% of the entrance fee which is about how much will be getting spent on the park. If we're going to pay pennies when there are pounds available, the club will get pennies from me from now on.

Feel free to join me
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 18-07-08, 00:16   #2

vCash: 3900

Spell Racer Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

Re: Kilmarnock game - Non ST renewers

This is just a quick idea, feel free to shoot me down in flames if you see something wrong with it.

Good idea but only one problem al...........games at KILLIE mate not ER

Old 18-07-08, 00:17   #3
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Do you mind going round at half two then, that queue's a bugger as it is.
Old 18-07-08, 00:20   #4

Good idea but only one problem al........... its at KILLIE mate not ER
Okay, other than that minor detail that it's against Falkirk I'm talking about then

Edited now dude.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 18-07-08, 00:21   #5

Do you mind going round at half two then, that queue's a bugger as it is.
I'll keep it in bags of £1 each which will be how I get it from the bank, no up to me if they want to count each bag...
Old 18-07-08, 00:24   #6
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

I'll keep it in bags of £1 each which will be how I get it from the bank, no up to me if they want to count each bag...

They can maybe borrow Rod Petrie's scales.
Old 18-07-08, 00:24   #7

MKHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I've not renewed my ST because the amount invested in the team is not matching the amount I expect, particularly considering how much it is currently costing to get into ER. However, I'll still be going to the games because that's what I do. So basically it's a complete token protest from me. I would quite like the club to know that I'm pissed off though, and I was wondering how many others would also like to do so.

So I have a cunning plan
The price for getting into the Kilmarnock game is going to be £22 I'd imagine. There's around 30% of that money which is going onto the park. I would quite like it to be noticed by the clubs custodians that I've noticed this. So my plan is nipping into a bank on the Friday and changing £7 into pennies and using that plus £15 to get into the game. That £7 in pennies represents about 30% of the entrance fee which is about how much will be getting spent on the park. If we're going to pay pennies when there are pounds available, the club will get pennies from me from now on.

Feel free to join me
I think it is a good original idea, if there were a number of people doing it, it would be an effective protest.
MKHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 00:33   #8

vCash: 3900

Spell Racer Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

Okay, other than that minor detail that it's against Falkirk I'm talking about then

Edited now dude.

Thread title didnae change,have edited it..

Just give them it ALL in 1p's

Old 18-07-08, 00:34   #9
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

Edited now dude.
If ye want tae accentuate yer act of civil disobedience Al I've got a fuckin mountain of krone pieces I can give you tae fire at the turnstile person. Went through the nae season ticket gig some seasons back and just cost me mare dough over the year and nae chance of a Hertz (spit) ticket. Even made it worse when I realized that fuck all goes fae the season ticket sales tae buying new gash. I rest my case young man. See ye in the Iona.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 08:03   #10

Re: Falkirk game - Non ST renewers

Why not pay for the actual season ticket this way?

A better protest IMHO.
Old 18-07-08, 09:42   #11

Why not pay for the actual season ticket this way?

A better protest IMHO.
Because I'm not buying a ST. And I'd like to make it pretty clear the reasons why.

I'm also interested in how easy you think it is going to be to lug £345 in pennies about
Old 18-07-08, 10:14   #12

Because I'm not buying a ST. And I'd like to make it pretty clear the reasons why.

I'm also interested in how easy you think it is going to be to lug £345 in pennies about
But it would only be £103.50.
Old 18-07-08, 10:25   #13

alangordon09 is on the way to a first team debut

purchase you ticket for each game during the week. this way you won't hold up any punters turning up on match day
alangordon09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 11:13   #14

Jack is just really niceJack is just really niceJack is just really nice

I think there's a law which says the folk you are paying only have to accept a maximum of a dozen coins, or something like that, not that the person on the turnstile is likely to know! And as you're likely to cause a holdup I think the police might take an interest in your protest and move you on!!

............... ****** Even the Loch Ness Monster's a Hibby ****** ...............

Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 11:28   #15

I think there's a law which says the folk you are paying only have to accept a maximum of a dozen coins, or something like that, not that the person on the turnstile is likely to know! And as you're likely to cause a holdup I think the police might take an interest in your protest and move you on!!
Really. I'd be interested to know where this law sits in the statute books...
Old 18-07-08, 12:24   #16

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

So if a ticket costs £13 and someone, or a lot of someones, come along with 13 £1 coins, Hibs can KB them?

Aye right

its all legal tender so there can be no reason for anyone to knock it back.

Old 18-07-08, 12:31   #17
Mussel-bound Radge

Weehibbydrew is on the way to a first team debut

Wouldn't you just be hurting, though, the poor sods who toil in the ticket office, probably for minimum wage? Would Petrie and Farmer care a jot for their discomfort? Considering Petrie would walk a mile in tight shoes just to pick up a 20p piece, I doubt it.
Old 18-07-08, 12:34   #18

Sounds like a reasonable plan although I would tend to agree with alangordon [words i never thought I would say] that the protest might be better served by buying your ticket at the ticket office. I'm sure the bloke/girl at the turnstile would turn you away because they would be under pressure to ensure that the money they took in was correct and therefore would need to count every bag. If they didnt and you or someone else underpaid they would either lose their jobs or the underpayment would come out their wages and I'm sure you wouldnt want that Al.

Old 18-07-08, 12:58   #19

Jack is just really niceJack is just really niceJack is just really nice

Really. I'd be interested to know where this law sits in the statute books...
So if a ticket costs £13 and someone, or a lot of someones, come along with 13 £1 coins, Hibs can KB them?

Aye right

its all legal tender so there can be no reason for anyone to knock it back.

I knew I'd find it somewhere

From the Royal Mint website [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]

Legal Tender Guidelines

Legal tender has a very narrow and technical meaning in the settlement of debts. It means that a debtor cannot successfully be sued for non-payment if he pays into court in legal tender. It does not mean that any ordinary transaction has to take place in legal tender or only within the amount denominated by the legislation. Both parties are free to agree to accept any form of payment whether legal tender or otherwise according to their wishes. In order to comply with the very strict rules governing an actual legal tender it is necessary, for example, actually to offer the exact amount due because no change can be demanded.

The amounts for legal tender are stated below.

BANK OF ENGLAND NOTES:

In England and Wales the £5, £10, £20 and £50 notes are legal tender for payment of any amount. However, they are not legal tender in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

COINS:

Coins are legal tender throughout the United Kingdom for the following amount:

£5 (Crown) - for any amount

£2 - for any amount