Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,479 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 17-07-08, 17:41   #1

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Hibs to play Behind Closed Doors

Talk 107 are suggesting Hibs are to play a couple of behind closed door games before we face Barca. I think its a wise decision after some of the slavering and moaning I have heard from fans at the last three pre season matches?

They also mentioned Mixu changed his mind about a mini European trip this weekend, which would confirm the rumours that were kicking around last weekend in Sweden.

Old 17-07-08, 17:55   #2

PaddyBarry is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Hibs to play Behind Closed Doors

Hi M.

What were the rumours last weekend, out of interest?

I agree with you about the closed doors games- I reckon that is how pre-season should be. I think some of the comments on here have been bordering on hysterical.

Cheers

P
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 17:59   #3

Eden_Hibby is on the way to a first team debut

mark if they keep playing the way they are doing, and treating the fans like fools, they might find that they will get more watching behind closed doors, anyway rant over away the hols tomorrow, you never know i might even come back to see we have actually signed somebody

Eden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 18:30   #4

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

mark if they keep playing the way they are doing, and treating the fans like fools, they might find that they will get more watching behind closed doors, anyway rant over away the hols tomorrow, you never know i might even come back to see we have actually signed somebody

I was in Austria last year as you know, we were awful there too, beat by a third division amatuer team!! The intertoto was simply too early and we were beaten by a fitter, not a better team in my eyes this year. On Tuesday night, that was Hibs reserves, no matter what anyone says.

Like everyone, I wish we would bring in some decent signings, but I think it is way too early for some of the harbingers of doom to be talking of relegation, demonstrations and such like.

I think Hibs are wise to get some games in away from prying eyes.

Enjoy your holiday.

Originally Posted by PaddyBarry
Hi M.

What were the rumours last weekend, out of interest?

I agree with you about the closed doors games- I reckon that is how pre-season should be. I think some of the comments on here have been bordering on hysterical.

Cheers

P
The rumours were of a wee foreign trip this weekend, some of the more hopeful Hibby's even thought Hibs might pay for the Sweden Travellers to come along.

I thought we had more chance of signing Kaka masel.

Old 17-07-08, 18:34   #5

PaddyBarry is on the way to a first team debut

Thanks M.

Just have to wait until the Barca game before I join the suicidal ranks!

Cheers

P
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 18:41   #6
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

I was in Austria last year as you know, we were awful there too, buy a third division amatuer team!! The intertoto was simply too early and we were beaten by a fitter, not a better team in my eyes this year. On Tuesday night, that was Hibs reserves, no matter what anyone says.

Like everyone, I wish we would bring in some decent signings, but I think it is way too early for some of the harbingers of doom to be talking of relegation, demonstrations and such like.

If I could have been arsed I would have just about went word for word mate.

I'm really getting a tad pissed off with some of the stuff on here of late.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 18:42   #7

Owen is just really niceOwen is just really niceOwen is just really nice

vCash: 4900

I think next year another tour of Ireland is in order!

Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 18:55   #8

I think next year another tour of Ireland is in order!
What a belter of an avatar dude.

On the thread i'd agree that there's been some hysterical stuff on here (demonstrations & relegation etc) but i do think that there's legitimate reason for concern.

I'm concerned for sure.
Old 17-07-08, 19:34   #9
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Remember the days when pre-season friendlies were just that? The scores had little relevence to what went on when the real stuff started?

I agree that people take way too much store by what happens in these games nowadays.

'Competitive' games such as the Intertoto competition are not competitive when the team is playing it's first full ninety minutes of the season together. personally I wouldn't part with dosh to watch it. If you choose to, it needs to be viewed with a little perspective and expectations to match.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 19:59   #10

Blackbeard is on the way to a first team debut

Hibs to play Behind Closed Doors

Keeping us oot or in?
Old 17-07-08, 20:01   #11

TranentHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I'm concerned for sure.
Never woulda guessed Smurf

In all seriousness though, I am feeling some cause for concern although this may have been heightened by some of the stuff posted on here. While I'm not hitting panic mode yet I'm a little more worried than I was say this time last year.

Anyways good luck to the lads who play against Forfar tonight.
TranentHibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 20:08   #12
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

My main cause for concern is that as soon as any player no matter who, makes a mistake the crowd are going to go ape-shit at them, the team in general and anyone who will listen.

I really think some of the shit fans we have do more harm than some of the shit players we have.
Old 17-07-08, 20:15   #13

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Spiderman Champion!

Best place for them at present,,in previous seasons we have had quality in the team that was needing honed to be ready for the start of the season,as mixu is tryin to do now, what bothers me is there is no real quality,real ability(zouma apart)that is going to make the way we play any better,we will just be fitter.

There is a lot of gunt like stuff about,half thinking we have problems ready for open letters,protests and the other half thinking we are playing really well,team is bursting at the seams with quality and everything is fine.

Q.....Which of the two is more gunt like?

THE SCAREMONGERS OR THE DILUSIONAL......

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 21:15   #14

I was in Austria last year as you know, we were awful there too, buy a third division amatuer team!! The intertoto was simply too early and we were beaten by a fitter, not a better team in my eyes this year. On Tuesday night, that was Hibs reserves, no matter what anyone says.

Enjoy your holiday.

The rumours were of a wee foreign trip this weekend, some of the more hopeful Hibby's even thought Hibs might pay for the Sweden Travellers to come along.

I thought we had more chance of signing Kaka masel.
We still have to rely on these players for the coming season.
Old 17-07-08, 21:32   #15
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

Q.....Which of the two is more gunt like?

THE SCAREMONGERS OR THE DILUSIONAL......

Or there could be scaremongers, the delusional and gunts at the wind-up?
Old 18-07-08, 09:47   #16

Bristolhibby is on the way to a first team debut

We need to not take the Intertoto so seriously. It is a shot of getting into Europe. 9 times out of 10 we would have got an easy draw, we didnt this year, and anyway we are never fit this time of year.

Remember next year the intertoto is the first qualifying round of the UEFA cup.

So we wont have a choice if we finish 4th.

J
Bristolhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 10:06   #17

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

We need to not take the Intertoto so seriously.
Sorry BH, but thats baws!

If there is a chance that Hibs could've been playing in the Uefa Cup next season then I reckon everyone concerned with Hibernian Football Club should've taken it seriously. Board, Manager, Players & Fans.

It is a shot of getting into Europe. 9 times out of 10 we would have got an easy draw, we didnt this year, and anyway we are never fit this time of year.

Easy draw or not it is still a chance.

My own point of view, which I've been gibbering on about for weeks now, is that the team should've been prepared for these games, and we may not have had the embarrasment of watching Hibs players blawin' oot their arse for long periods of both games, trying to keep up with opponents I would rate as no more than "decent players".

Remember next year the intertoto is the first qualifying round of the UEFA cup.

So we wont have a choice if we finish 4th.

J

Choice or not, the Club should've treated the Intertoto like the first Qualifying Rd of The Uefa Cup, as that, in effect, is what it was.

The Clubs attitude towards this tournament, this season and in the past, has been a total embarrasment to Hibernian Football Club, and probably done more damage to moral(among players & fans alike) than what it has done good for players fitness.

Old 18-07-08, 10:13   #18
Offensively Perceived Radge

Dinkydoo336 is on the way to a first team debut

3D Highway Champion! 5 Miles To Go Champion! Kerry Bush Bash Champion! Legend of Zelda - Can of Whoop Ass . Champion! Sack Smash 2001 Champion! Whack The Dead Champion!

What a belter of an avatar dude.

On the thread i'd agree that there's been some hysterical stuff on here (demonstrations & relegation etc) but i do think that there's legitimate reason for concern.

I'm concerned for sure.

I agree but theres only so far you can go like. Yes reason for concer but not fekin demonstrations and relegation talks. Our team aint that bad. If we played our best last season there was every chance of getting 3rd place. Well without injuries and suspensions also.

How many times did we get points fae the OF?

C'mon tae fudge, I know we need knew players but its far fae doom and gloom.

Admins Gonnae get Ya,
Admins Gonnae Get Ya!!
Dinkydoo336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 11:55   #19

Bristolhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Thing is GH whether we take the IT seriously or not as of yet we have never managed to use it to get into Europe.

It is just too Damn early for us. We are in a group of Far Northern European teams who the majority have a summer league. We will always be at a disadvantage fitness wise.

By seriously I mean If we don’t qualify then ‘we’ the fans should not take it too seriously.

Lets see what happens when the season kicks off.

BTW some closed door games will be a good thing.

J
Bristolhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 13:15   #20
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

Sorry BH, but thats baws!

If there is a chance that Hibs could've been playing in the Uefa Cup next season then I reckon everyone concerned with Hibernian Football Club should've taken it seriously. Board, Manager, Players & Fans.

Easy draw or not it is still a chance.

My own point of view, which I've been gibbering on about for weeks now, is that the team should've been prepared for these games, and we may not have had the embarrasment of watching Hibs players blawin' oot their arse for long periods of both games, trying to keep up with opponents I would rate as no more than "decent players".

Choice or not, the Club should've treated the Intertoto like the first Qualifying Rd of The Uefa Cup, as that, in effect, is what it was.

The Clubs attitude towards this tournament, this season and in the past, has been a total embarrasment to Hibernian Football Club, and probably done more damage to moral(among players & fans alike) than what it has done good for players fitness.
What I don't understand is why did Hibs agree to play barca potentially two days before another intertoto tie assuming that we got through the 2nd round
knowing if we won that Hibs were in the UEFA cup.

I wonder what Rod's priority was.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-08, 13:25   #21

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

What I don't understand is why did Hibs agree to play barca potentially two days before another intertoto tie assuming that we got through the 2nd round
knowing if we won that Hibs were in the UEFA cup.

I wonder what Rod's priority was.

We could've played a weakened team against Barca

Old 18-07-08, 14:01   #22