View Poll Results: Do you still support the board ? Farmer and his puppet Petrie?
Yes - they are the future for the club 43 31.62%
No - step aside and allow someone to take the club forward 93 68.38%
Voters: 136. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16-07-08, 20:17   #1

Mix Master Mikez is on the way to a first team debut

Thinking Do you back the board - Farmer and his puppet Petrie ?

I posted this poll on .net a while back and it was very close for a while then in the end the board had a few more votes of support.

However with the way things have been happening (or not happening) recently what do you think?
Mix Master Mikez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 20:33   #2

WarringtonHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Do you back the board - Farmer and his puppet Petrie ?

They're work is pretty much done, the club is in good financial shape, but we simply cant continue selling any talent we have and replacing it with shite, the club needs to be taken forward otherwise there will be noone to fill the new bloody stand...

Investment on the pitch is now needed!

WarringtonHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 20:36   #3

No never have done never will.

Old 16-07-08, 20:37   #4
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Where`s the "Not sure, wait and see if £££ is made available anytime soon" Option?

Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 20:38   #5

Clover Crunch Champion! Hang Stan Champion! Mr. Flacits Word Search Champion!

I think the time has come for them to step aside. The problem is - who would replace them?

Old 16-07-08, 20:40   #6

greenarmy is on the way to a first team debut

Yes I support the board at the end of the day its the team on the pitch that matters to me and if they aren't doing the buisness then i blame the management. Tony Mowbray worked with the same resources if not LESS and still did brilliant bringing likes of shiels, zoomer, jones, killen etc on a limited budget. Of course Mowbray had better players at his disposal but that's football can't always get those kind of players coming through the youth system
greenarmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 20:42   #7

Its ovious what side of the vote will be more popular most people dont like the board and Petrie apart from the people who dont have a clue and the Petrie Supporter Brigade.

Old 16-07-08, 20:48   #8

Where`s the "Not sure, wait and see if £££ is made available anytime soon" Option?
You have had 16 years to decide if you like them. Yes people have come in and out but the way the club has been run has been very similar.
Old 16-07-08, 20:50   #9

Its ovious what side of the vote will be more popular most people dont like the board and Petrie apart from the people who dont have a clue and the Petrie Supporter Brigade.
My problem is that there is still a fair few out there who support the stance we are taking and the lack on ambition.

I haven't got a season ticket - not buying the new home top ( although I do like it) and generally not giving the mugs anymore support until they give us something back.

We stood up and were counted - I and many other bought season tickets, merchandise from the shop etc etc. But with what return ?
Old 16-07-08, 20:53   #10

Yes I support the board at the end of the day its the team on the pitch that matters to me and if they aren't doing the buisness then i blame the management. Tony Mowbray worked with the same resources if not LESS and still did brilliant bringing likes of shiels, zoomer, jones, killen etc on a limited budget. Of course Mowbray had better players at his disposal but that's football can't always get those kind of players coming through the youth system
The two are very closely linked.

Look at chairman around the world at clubs and how they operate.

The board got VERY lucky with Mowbray, not so with Blobby, Collins and Mixu ??

Yogi was my choice before Mixu but thats another argument and don't think he would have lasted a week before falling out with the board.
Old 16-07-08, 20:56   #11

ayegudyin will become famous soon enough

exactly what i though. not voted because, to be honest, I dont know enough about what is actually going on. yes, we see that money has not been spent, but I have also heard rumours that money has been made available but only for the right player. There might still be a well placed sense of caution towards giving out huge amounts of money to unexperienced managers (yes, mixu has done well in management, but he has never had to deal with large amounts of money on the transfer market). I have the feeling this was the case with JC, and he didn't gain their trust.

TM proved he had a good eye for a player, and I think the board quite sensibly want to wait to see how Mixu's eyesight compares before laying out the cash. I would prefer the situation we are in now, rather than spending our millions on a bunch of expensive hopefuls only to see it go down the drain. My only exception to this would be Deeks.
ayegudyin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 20:57   #12

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

I think the time has come for them to step aside. The problem is - who would replace them?
Pretty much my view. For whatever reason I haven't heard of anybody coming forward with a solid offer for a long time.

There's always a risk with new owners coming in, as we can see across the city it could be worse. But I'd like to see more money spent on acquiring new players and less obsession with zero debt.

Incidentally, I think the wording of the poll is a bit loaded. I think I know which way the pollster voted.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 21:02   #13

You have had 16 years to decide if you like them. Yes people have come in and out but the way the club has been run has been very similar.
Correct, but we have NEVER been as solvent and secure as we are now.

Training Centre envied by OF and others.

Almost zero debt. Envied by everyone around us.

Stadium almost complete, and smack up to date modern.

Now though is the time to judge the boards forward (or not) intentions.

NOW is the time!

So, for me............
yet.

Old 16-07-08, 21:09   #14

Pretty much my view. For whatever reason I haven't heard of anybody coming forward with a solid offer for a long time.

There's always a risk with new owners coming in, as we can see across the city it could be worse. But I'd like to see more money spent on acquiring new players and less obsession with zero debt.

Incidentally, I think the wording of the poll is a bit loaded. I think I know which way the pollster voted.
Yeah I did word it a little bit - but have to have one opinion - one way or the other.

Just really fed up with things down ER way at moment and know I'm not alone. Want to get that excited feeling about watching Hibs play again but the club are doing thier best to make me lose it.
Old 16-07-08, 21:13   #15

Correct, but we have NEVER been as solvent and secure as we are now.

Training Centre envied by OF and others.

Almost zero debt. Envied by everyone around us.

Stadium almost complete, and smack up to date modern.

Now though is the time to judge the boards forward (or not) intentions.

NOW is the time!

So, for me............
yet.
Yup now is the time when they will have to show if they really want this club to progress or slide into the Blobby days again (please no!!)

Training centre was long over due -

Zero Debt - what club in world football is debt free ? Sometimes you have to speculate to accumulate.

Stadium - would rather cash be spent on players - but again it will have to be done soon or the planning permission will expire = more debt again ?

Could be very interesting both on and off the pitch this season .
Old 16-07-08, 21:19   #16

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Aye, but only 'cos the only alternatives would probably be a vlad type or some consortium that has to pay so much for the club that they've got hee haw left to invest when they get it, and thus have to borrow, end up moving grounds etc.

We're top 6, won a cup last year and we've aw got a team to support every week, without the spectre of doom hanging over us like the Gorgie mob. Things could be worse........

What do folk want? A title challenge?
Old 16-07-08, 21:22   #17

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Yup now is the time when they will have to show if they really want this club to progress or slide into the Blobby days again (please no!!)

Training centre was long over due -

Zero Debt - what club in world football is debt free ? Sometimes you have to speculate to accumulate.

Stadium - would rather cash be spent on players - but again it will have to be done soon or the planning permission will expire = more debt again ?

Could be very interesting both on and off the pitch this season .
Exactly. I've raised this question several times and the response I usually get is that the owners might be preparing the club for a sale. I'm no expert on business matters but I don't see how a smallish debt (in footballing terms) would put off potential suitors.
This "once we're debt free" mantra does my head in and doesn't convince me at all.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 21:23   #18

Aye, but only 'cos the only alternatives would probably be a vlad type or some consortium that has to pay so much for the club that they've got hee haw left to invest when they get it, and thus have to borrow, end up moving grounds etc.

We're top 6, won a cup last year and we've aw got a team to support every week, without the spectre of doom hanging over us like the Gorgie mob. Things could be worse........

What do folk want? A title challenge?

Your a fuckin` stirrin` minx, you.

Old 16-07-08, 21:24   #19

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

Your a fuckin` stirrin` minx, you.

Old 16-07-08, 21:30   #20

Location: Newry bout 5 miles from the border of the Republic of Ireland South Armagh/Down
Newry Hiby is on the way to a first team debut