Old 15-07-08, 23:24   #1

kennyc is on the way to a first team debut

Barca may do an Amy

Who thinks Barca have been keeping an eye on our pre season and may possibly DO an Amy Winehoos and find an excuse no tae turn up.
Old 15-07-08, 23:56   #2

TranentHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Re: Barca may do an Amy

If they turn up smashed oot their ****s like her then we might stand a chance!
TranentHibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 00:04   #3

Blackbeard is on the way to a first team debut

Who thinks Barca have been keeping an eye on our pre season and may possibly DO an Amy Winehoos and find an excuse no tae turn up.

an' save us a
Old 16-07-08, 00:15   #4

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 08:23   #5

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Don't think they will be remotely interested in who we have been playing. There's is a different world

One person who has done a runner is Ronaldinho though - obviously running scared

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 09:18   #6

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

Don't think they will be remotely interested in who we have been playing. There's is a different world

One person who has done a runner is Ronaldinho though - obviously running scared

They've a few big names going to the Olympics (Bojan and Messi included), Marquez, Henry, Eto'o are injured. Deco and Ronaldinho are away. It's not looking quite like the "glamour friendly it should be". Reminds me more of Ivan Drago vs Apollo Creed!!!
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 10:52   #7

Can't see them not turning up for a home game
Old 16-07-08, 12:06   #8

They've a few big names going to the Olympics (Bojan and Messi included), Marquez, Henry, Eto'o are injured. Deco and Ronaldinho are away. It's not looking quite like the "glamour friendly it should be". Reminds me more of Ivan Drago vs Apollo Creed!!!
The two players I wanted to see most. Oh well!
Old 16-07-08, 13:36   #9

Messi definitely won't be there I'm afraid. As has been mentioned, he is with Argentina's Olympic squad. Olympic football is not taken very seriously in the UK but feast your eyes on this squad (unsurprisingly Argentina are the current Olympic champions:

I'm sure I also heard that Barça's Euro 2008 players will resume training at the end of the month. Whether that includes a kickabout at Murrayfield, I don't know.

I don't wish to add to the doom and gloom. At least if a number of big names are missing it might save Hibs from embarrassment.

If it's any consolation, I've yet to see Messi in the flesh myself. On the two occasions I've seen Barça play since he became a regular, he has been missing. Very elusive it seems! Hopefully I'll catch up with him someday.
Old 16-07-08, 15:24   #10

Messi definitely won't be there I'm afraid. As has been mentioned, he is with Argentina's Olympic squad. Olympic football is not taken very seriously in the UK but feast your eyes on this squad (unsurprisingly Argentina are the current Olympic champions:

I'm sure I also heard that Barça's Euro 2008 players will resume training at the end of the month. Whether that includes a kickabout at Murrayfield, I don't know.

I don't wish to add to the doom and gloom. At least if a number of big names are missing it might save Hibs from embarrassment.

If it's any consolation, I've yet to see Messi in the flesh myself. On the two occasions I've seen Barça play since he became a regular, he has been missing. Very elusive it seems! Hopefully I'll catch up with him someday.
Good to see Sergio Agüero is in the squad (the guy in my display pic), he's different class!

Is there gonna be any TV coverage of the Olympic Footy?
Old 16-07-08, 15:52   #11

Bampotto is on the way to a first team debut

Good to see Sergio Agüero is in the squad (the guy in my display pic), he's different class!

Is there gonna be any TV coverage of the Olympic Footy?
I was at all of Argentina's games at last year's under-20 world cup and Aguero was brilliant. The stand out for me though was a midfield player called Ever Banega. I've heard that he's just signed for Valencia from Boca. Another stand out was a tiny striker called Maxi Morales who plays for Racing Club, and Liverpool have signed two of the defenders. They were, quite simply, one of the best squads of footballers I have ever seen.
Bampotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 16:13   #12

I was at all of Argentina's games at last year's under-20 world cup and Aguero was brilliant. The stand out for me though was a midfield player called Ever Banega. I've heard that he's just signed for Valencia from Boca. Another stand out was a tiny striker called Maxi Morales who plays for Racing Club, and Liverpool have signed two of the defenders. They were, quite simply, one of the best squads of footballers I have ever seen.
Sorry for going off the Hibs topic admins, unless we're looking at Kun Aguero?

I'm constantly amazed by the endless conveyor belt of young Argentine talent that arrives in Spain every season. It's not as if it's a giant country like Brazil - the population of Argentina is about half that of the UK, FFS!

I will look out for this Banega dude. Another one to watch could be Lavezzi from Napoli. He was causing havoc up front in a recent Argentina international I watched.

I don't know if you'll get much Olympic football on British telly, TH. As I said, it's not taken too seriously there, probably because there is no British team.
Old 16-07-08, 17:41   #13

I've heard of Banega but I've never seen him play, never heard of maxi morales though! I really think that Argentina produce better players than Brazil these days. Their technical ability is just frightening! Generally speaking it's players like Kun Aguero that make me genuinly excited to be a football fan. Bampotto was it you who went to see River vs Boca? Can mind someone posted pictures from it and it looked amazing!

what was this thread about again?
Old 16-07-08, 17:44   #14

Sorry for going off the Hibs topic admins, unless we're looking at Kun Aguero?

I'm constantly amazed by the endless conveyor belt of young Argentine talent that arrives in Spain every season. It's not as if it's a giant country like Brazil - the population of Argentina is about half that of the UK, FFS!

I will look out for this Banega dude. Another one to watch could be Lavezzi from Napoli. He was causing havoc up front in a recent Argentina international I watched.

I don't know if you'll get much Olympic football on British telly, TH. As I said, it's not taken too seriously there, probably because there is no British team.
One of the main reasons why I watch so much spanish football dude.

I didn't think the olympics were taken very seriously by any country tbh, thought it was mostly under 21's but judging by some of the players who are going this year that seems to not be the case! Would quite like to watch some of the games.
Old 16-07-08, 18:11   #15

They'd still get a nout nout draw
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 16-07-08, 19:33   #16
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

i feckin hope so

am in barca jus now an every barca fan i´ve spoke tae has never heard of this game or the DUFC one happenin, though tae be honest most of them have never heard of hibs but when i mentioned we are fae edinburgh they usually say "oh yes hearts thats right we play them last year"

i´ve been told though that aw barca pre-season games are shown on the telly here,even when they play amateur or part-time sides, so thats the cababge defo catered for ma entertainment

SAOR ALBA
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 21:13   #17

i feckin hope so

am in barca jus now an every barca fan i´ve spoke tae has never heard of this game or the DUFC one happenin, though tae be honest most of them have never heard of hibs but when i mentioned we are fae edinburgh they usually say "oh yes hearts thats right we play them last year"

i´ve been told though that aw barca pre-season games are shown on the telly here,even when they play amateur or part-time sides, so thats the cababge defo catered for ma entertainment
Both the DU and Hearts games were live on Spanish telly last year (La 2 probably), so I'm hoping it will be the same this time round (I think
).

Not surprised by your other comments, JG. Of course, these matches will get absolutely no build up but once they realise Barça are on the telly they will most likely watch.
Old 16-07-08, 21:15   #18

ayegudyin will become famous soon enough

I've heard of Banega but I've never seen him play, never heard of maxi morales though! I really think that Argentina produce better players than Brazil these days. Their technical ability is just frightening! Generally speaking it's players like Kun Aguero that make me genuinly excited to be a football fan. Bampotto was it you who went to see River vs Boca? Can mind someone posted pictures from it and it looked amazing!

what was this thread about again?
i went to a river v boca game a couple of years ago, although im not the one your thinkin of. amazing game purely for the atmosphere, the actual game ended 2-0 with abondanzieri (sp?), the former argentine keeper, sent off. people were throwing chickens from the 3rd tier and there are fans who go there who dont watch the game, they just hang off the side of the stands getting the rest of the croud going. to be honest though i was a little dissapointed with the talent on display. also went to the flamengo v vasco game in Rio. that was pure class.

bringing it back to hibs... Anyone know if the barca game is televised? im abroad right now, but if its on bbc1, ITV, setanta or sky then i have a pretty good chance of watching it.
ayegudyin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-08, 21:19   #19

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

Who thinks Barca have been keeping an eye on our preseason and may possibly DO an Amy Winehouse and find an excuse no tae turn up.
Lets hope they do. If the rumours are correct about the low tickets sales if could save us a bit of face.
Old 16-07-08, 23:10   #20