![]() Join Date: Jun 2008
If farmer decides to sell
What would happen to our club if Sir tom farmer decides to sell, how much is our club worth ? who gets the money from the sale ? i know its in my other post's but i feel it's a big question that a lot of hibs fans are unsure of, any help ?
![]() Join Date: Jan 2008
Re: If farmer decides to sell
It must be a very good opportunity for someone to come in with some ambition and take the club forward
STF owns 90% and RP 10% so in theory the money would go to them I think. It all depends on what deal they come up with at the time of sale.
While I'm worth my room on this earth Make To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. while shopping on line To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
we have sold player after player to finance new training complex and maybe a new stand, also we have wiped out our debt. This was achieved by selling all our best players, surely it wasnt to make the club worth more ? does this mean farmer and petrie have sold all our players to make them richer ?
i was at the understanding that stf had saved hibs by investing his millions but has been paid this money back by hibs ? if not how much do we owe him ?
But aye imo. I do think there was a genuine worry over the finances around 5-6 years ago, but as the wage bill was slashed, the club moved into profitability, and it occurred to Petrie that if you can punt players without any noticeable effect on the bottom line regarding income and spend that on infrastructure instead of the team, Hibs would be worth a lot more when it comes time to sell. Which basically means that not only have we sold millions of quid worth of players for no return on the park, it will now be harder for Hibs to find a buyer that could buy out Farmer & Petrie.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
He did guarantee debts, but he was never paying them. He also lent money to Hibs (at a very nice interest rate if memory serves) which is now paid back afaik.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
Surely the knight in shining armour
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. , our club saviour To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. , im related to hibs To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. , Sir tom farmer wouldnt walk away with all the profits, would he To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ? surely he would leave the club with them owning the stadium, training complex and playing staff ? To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. stf and petrie wouldnt do this to the "part of the local community club " would they To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ? wake up call to hibs fans i fear ! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
He gave Hibs 2 million at the time we sold Kenny Millar. For what it's worth if Hibs are continue down the route we're going - i.e. periods when we are playing well with a mix of youngsters and journeymen along with periods when we're not doing well with just journeymen, as we're waiting on a crop of youngsters coming through - I hope he sells pronto. To someone with a bit dough, a bit more imagination and a bit more hands on. I think Famer took the "Hands Off Hibs" thing far too seriously.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
Who would actually want to buy us though? Scottish fitba is hardly an attractive investment. It would have to be a Hibs supporter who has cash to burn and would put up with our whinging.
I know one thing-not one of us would let an unknown Russian buy us. |
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] there appears to be a jump in money owed by the club to the parent company in 2000 of around £2.5m. So was there an additional £2m put into the club by Farmer on top of that?
Everybody is a Radge
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
Sorry man, it's from memory. This same discussion was taking place back then on the hibs.list - it was said then by pretty reliable people (plural) that Farmer had put £2M in. If it had been just one person saying that on there I would, along with others, have been highly suspicious of it being true, but some other guys said it had happened.
![]() Join Date: May 2007
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Where are the bidders? Surely if someone was interested, there's nothing Farmer or Petrie could do to keep it all under wraps. Years ago, I remember loads of talk about Hibs takeovers with names being put forward but I haven't heard of anything like that for ages. If we are an attractive proposition, then it surprises me some consortium or whatever hasn't put a bid together, especially given the amount of fans that sound unhappy with the present situation. I don't really know what Farmer is getting out of Hibs, but obviously Rod will be in no rush to sell when his wages continue to go up while everyone else is wage-capped. |
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2007
Rep Power: 4 ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 6 |