Old 02-07-08, 14:52   #1

HibbyDave is on the way to a first team debut

Swedish Currency Order it now

Just a short helpful note to say that Swedish Currency is not normally kept in stock at most banks, you have to order it a day or two in advance.

Hope this is useful to anyone travelling!
HibbyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 15:38   #2
Anyone for a cup of tea radge

broonieboy will become famous soon enough

Re: Swedish Currency Order it now

Marks and Spencer at the Gyle normally have it.
broonieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 16:10   #3

HibbyDave is on the way to a first team debut

Marks and Spencer at the Gyle normally have it.
cheers. must just be the old style banks over here in darkest Fife and the girl on duty at Thos Cook dunfermline.
HibbyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 16:25   #4
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut

I'll just use cash machines.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 16:58   #5
Pizza Munchin' Zoog Radge

zondervan is on the way to a first team debut

For those travelling out of Edinburgh, use [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] and arrange to pick up your currency at their kiosk in the departure lounge. Commission-free online and rates are normally above average.

Bomber - be careful re card transcations abroad. For example, LTSB charge a foreign exchange fee of 3% on all non-sterling transactions, as well as an additional £2 minimum for every cash withdrawal. In other words, they rob you of a fiver for every £100 you take out.

Think most banks are the same, apart from Nationwide.

zondervan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 17:09   #6

WarringtonHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I popped into the Post Office and they said they always have it in stock, so I'll be picking my cash up next week there.

WarringtonHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 17:22   #7

Toaods is on the way to a first team debut

For recent travels, I have found Marks to be very competitive, exchange rate wise - anyone know what they are offering currently?
Toaods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 17:30   #8

stickyRicky is on the way to a first team debut

Just a short helpful note to say that Swedish Currency is not normally kept in stock at most banks, you have to order it a day or two in advance.

Hope this is useful to anyone travelling!
Cheers for the info
Old 02-07-08, 18:03   #9

The Goose is on the way to a first team debut

For those travelling out of Edinburgh, use [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] and arrange to pick up your currency at their kiosk in the departure lounge. Commission-free online and rates are normally above average.

Bomber - be careful re card transcations abroad. For example, LTSB charge a foreign exchange fee of 3% on all non-sterling transactions, as well as an additional £2 minimum for every cash withdrawal. In other words, they rob you of a fiver for every £100 you take out.

Don't charge me anywhere near that mate

The Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 18:08   #10
Pizza Munchin' Zoog Radge

zondervan is on the way to a first team debut

Don't charge me anywhere near that mate
Never used to charge me, but they did last week in Paris:

zondervan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 18:15   #11

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

Follow the Jamesie guide for best rates:
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 19:20   #12

Any crown post office will have them on demand and at 0% commision and no limit on the amount you exchange.
Old 02-07-08, 20:40   #13

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Checked the rate when I was in the Westfield Sainsbury's today, 11.34, thought that was pretty good.

M&S are offering a £10 voucher on any foreign currency transactions over £250 for the next couple of weeks so that is also worth thinking about as their rate is usually pretty competitive, and the voucher sorts out the pressie for the Wife!
Old 03-07-08, 08:31   #14

Its not too late to get a Nationwirde Flex account. I travel in Europe with my job most weeks and swear by it. Best exchange rate going and nae rip off fees for non-sterling transactions.

Old 03-07-08, 10:25   #15

I've always found that its been better to get your dosh in the country you're travelling to, better exchange rate = mair beer tokens

I normally take enough to get me through the first day then buy whatever I need with cash Sterling. Only use the card as very last resort, as I've also been stung in the past wae extortionate "hidden" charges.
RBS barstewards

May give the Nationwide Flex gig a go in future tho'.

Old 03-07-08, 10:31   #16

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

I bought 3400 Swedish Kroner for £300 from [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register], pick it up at Edinburgh airport on the Friday morning
Not sure if this is good value or not, seems middle of the road going by other posts?
Old 05-07-08, 17:49   #17

k.manson is on the way to a first team debut

Checked the rate when I was in the Westfield Sainsbury's today, 11.34, thought that was pretty good.

M&S are offering a £10 voucher on any foreign currency transactions over £250 for the next couple of weeks so that is also worth thinking about as their rate is usually pretty competitive, and the voucher sorts out the pressie for the Wife!
theres a catch with the voucher offer ..you have to spend some cash instore 1st before ye kin use it...a wiz thinking of doin the same thing
k.manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-08, 20:07   #18

theres a catch with the voucher offer ..you have to spend some cash instore 1st before ye kin use it...a wiz thinking of doin the same thing
I'm sure she'll manage!
Old 05-07-08, 22:29   #19

I'm sure she'll manage!
Dinnae say that, Vlad will be at your door the morn.

Old 05-07-08, 22:52   #20

Toaods is on the way to a first team debut

quick Saturday afternnon check on the X-rate when at the Gyle:

Thomas Cook - 11.45/£1 - no other commission/charge

holiday joint on the other side - 11.00/£1 nae others

Post office - 11.44/£1 n.o.

M& S - 11.12/£1 n.o charge - change£250+ & receive the £10 M & S voucher.

Travelex online - 11.228

mibbe suggests Tho Cook are the best or slow in updating their rates.
Toaods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-08, 10:16   #21

I've always found that its been better to get your dosh in the country you're travelling to, better exchange rate = mair beer tokens

I normally take enough to get me through the first day then buy whatever I need with cash Sterling. Only use the card as very last resort, as I've also been stung in the past wae extortionate "hidden" charges.
RBS barstewards

May give the Nationwide Flex gig a go in future tho'.
Colin, have a look at the Post Office credit card-no commision charges on purchases abroad!
Old 06-07-08, 20:50   #22

janehfc is on the way to a first team debut

certainly glad i,m not going to sweden, very long way to see us getting gubbed and a very expensive weekend into the bargain, i love hibs but not that much
janehfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-08, 22:22   #23