Old 22-06-08, 11:19   #1

The Godfather is on the way to a first team debut

11,500 Should we have one voice?

I was thinking that the one thing that hibs support lack is a voice to represent them. Most are aware that Barca have the membership where every member (over 100,000 +) votes on certian issues. I am not advocating that we have the same system and vote in the board etc. What I am trying to say that on this forum alone we have issues that we believe that club should address, season tickets prices for example.

If season Ticket holders had a sort of forum/federation (although I hate to use the same name as our neighbours) we would have a group large enough that hopefully the club would listen to our concerns. Also in the press I get a bit pissed of when I hear Frank Dougan (Bar Manager) stating BLAH BLAH BLAH.

The fact is the he dosn't speak for a huge percentage of the hibs support. Would it be that difficult to have an organised group that could approuch the board with issues that its 11,500 season ticket holders may have. It would not have to be restricted to the season ticket holders just anyone that would be willing to join and vote on issues to take to the board.

Anyway, hopefully this will start the revolution
The Godfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-08, 15:30   #2
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

Six Feet Under Champion!
Tournaments Won: 1

Re: 11,500 Should we have one voice?

I was thinking that the one thing that hibs support lack is a voice to represent them. Most are aware that Barca have the membership where every member (over 100,000 +) votes on certian issues. I am not advocating that we have the same system and vote in the board etc. What I am trying to say that on this forum alone we have issues that we believe that club should address, season tickets prices for example.

If season Ticket holders had a sort of forum/federation (although I hate to use the same name as our neighbours) we would have a group large enough that hopefully the club would listen to our concerns. Also in the press I get a bit pissed of when I hear Frank Dougan (Bar Manager) stating BLAH BLAH BLAH.

The fact is the he dosn't speak for a huge percentage of the hibs support. Would it be that difficult to have an organised group that could approuch the board with issues that its 11,500 season ticket holders may have. It would not have to be restricted to the season ticket holders just anyone that would be willing to join and vote on issues to take to the board.

Anyway, hopefully this will start the revolution
It would work but would need people who could put alot off time into something like that,

I think it would be a good thing IMO

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 16:20   #3

You can't get unanimous agreement on anything on here, never mind with 11,500 people!

The bigger these sorts of organisations are, the more bland and conformist they are always going to be. And they end up satisfying no-one because of that. Small pressure groups on single issues are the way ahead imo.

Saying that, I don't think there's any official conduit for taking concerns to the club I've ever heard of?

edit: BTW, consider how you feel about Frank Dougan supposedly representing you according to the press, and then consider Frank Dougan actually representing you as the spokesman for some Hibbier than thou organisation...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 23-06-08, 20:45   #4

You can't get unanimous agreement on anything on here, never mind with 11,500 people!

The bigger these sorts of organisations are, the more bland and conformist they are always going to be. And they end up satisfying no-one because of that. Small pressure groups on single issues are the way ahead imo.

Saying that, I don't think there's any official conduit for taking concerns to the club I've ever heard of?

edit: BTW, consider how you feel about Frank Dougan supposedly representing you according to the press, and then consider Frank Dougan actually representing you as the spokesman for some Hibbier than thou organisation...

Good point mate, It is that we don't seem to have a forum to talk to the board and put forward ideas. Even if we where given the opportunity once a year to meet with the board and put our ideas and concerns over and get feed back. The fans forum for the East Stand was a great bit of PR from the board, but it would have been great if other issues could be discussed in the same manner.

After all we are the life blood of the club and it may benefit the club to listen to the fans and for the fans to feel that they are in fact being listened to (God forbid we hav to suffer like our neighbours).

I got the feeling that after the fans forum on the East Stand the feeling towards the club for allowing the fans to voice their opinions was very much appreciated.

Anyway just an idea to bring the club and the fans closer together in one big love fest
Old 23-06-08, 20:53   #5

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Glop 2:Glops Revenge Champion! Glop 3:Final Battle Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!

The 'listening groups' performed this function too - and in my opinion were a genuine effort to build bridges and find out thoughts and ideas from fans.
However, I was biased because I took part!

I read others complaining because they felt the groups were cherry picked (first time anyone picked MY cherry) and demanding to know why they hadn't been asked.

Actually I thought the groups were fairly representative - some real good ideas, and some real big mouths too. The one's with the loudest voices aren't necessarily the ones worth listening too. Just have a look at the posters with the biggest number of posts here and you will see what I mean.

The 'biggest' fans don't always get the populist vote from the fanbase.

Stuart Crowther?

Frank Dougan?

Not always seen as being representative.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 23-06-08, 21:48   #6

Six Feet Under Champion!

could there not be a 'nominated member' or 2 from each off the current forums (ourselves, .net etc etc) to form a sort off fans group?

Allows each forum to be the face for the fans?

Rather than having a seperate group, just adapt those already in use by the fans

Old 24-06-08, 08:12   #7

could there not be a 'nominated member' or 2 from each off the current forums (ourselves, .net etc etc) to form a sort off fans group?

Rather than having a seperate group, just adapt those already in use by the fans

Spot on mate, that way fans could post their questions on the net.bounce so the members of the forums could take these questions to the board. It would not take long to sort out. I think a e-mail to Uncle Rod is in order.

Old 24-06-08, 10:46   #8

Except the users of these sites are not representative of the support as a whole. If it was to be used as one part of an overall process where the fans were to start getting feedback, and putting ideas to the board, that would be fine.

There has also been a tendency from the club to not engage with those who are or were critical of them imo. Which is kindae missing the point of the criticism, which is that they feel the club should be doing better.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 24-06-08, 11:08   #9

Six Feet Under Champion!

Spot on mate, that way fans could post their questions on the net.bounce so the members of the forums could take these questions to the board. It would not take long to sort out. I think a e-mail to Uncle Rod is in order.

An e-mail once there has been a formed idea discussed, i think getting the other boards involved with the idea first would probably be the way to go first

Except the users of these sites are not representative of the support as a whole. If it was to be used as one part of an overall process where the fans were to start getting feedback, and putting ideas to the board, that would be fine.

There has also been a tendency from the club to not engage with those who are or were critical of them imo. Which is kindae missing the point of the criticism, which is that they feel the club should be doing better.
is there any idea which would represent the fans fully?

The listening groups weren't representive if you didn't know someone who was involved IMO,
A fans 'assocition' would be opt in and not everyone is going to do that,

As the forums are already established and have a wide represetation, some off the discussions on here prove that. and i also think that (on a flip side for the boards) it would bring more members,

I think the boards are gonna be more representive off the fans than the club setting up a system

i agree that it will not be the support as a whole but i am sure it will be alot closer than others

as with a fans association, they only represent those who use it, but as there are a few well established boards they will have a wide array off people with differing opinions,

That probably sounded all over the place but i hope you get the jist off it

Old 24-06-08, 11:45   #10

is there any idea which would represent the fans fully?
Nope.

The listening groups weren't representive if you didn't know someone who was involved IMO,
A fans 'assocition' would be opt in and not everyone is going to do that,

As the forums are already established and have a wide represetation, some off the discussions on here prove that. and i also think that (on a flip side for the boards) it would bring more members,
But the different messageboards have had very different ideas about how to progress things. There was almost universal condemnation of the plan for Straiton 2 on here, while on .net there was far more ambivalence about the idea. IMO that was a crucial thing regarding the clubs future, and the two largest boards representing the internet community weren't even in agreement on that. If the form of representation was to be representatives from the two biggest messageboards at that point then the board could have justifiably said that the support was split, and that they were justified in progressing with it.

Which imo would have been nonsensical. The support was barely split at all, but there were enough people on .net who were able to influence some to the extent that they felt that there shouldn't be automatic dissent about it.

I think the boards are gonna be more representive off the fans than the club setting up a system

i agree that it will not be the support as a whole but i am sure it will be alot closer than others

as with a fans association, they only represent those who use it, but as there are a few well established boards they will have a wide array off people with differing opinions,

That probably sounded all over the place but i hope you get the jist off it
I don't actually disagree in principle with this idea, and if the board were to open it up to other representatives (ie supporters clubs) then I would be broadly in favour of it. However, I would not like it to be considered representative at all because I don't think decisions can be taken by the club on that basis when by necessity there is a narrow range of views on any issue. For example, I would like to see 1875 from on here on something like this, and I would expect him to be able to do a reasonable job representing the people on this boards opinion, but if asked what people think about building a new East stand would he say "some are in favour, some are against, others would be in favour with caveats attached"? That's about all he could say since it's the only thing that's true. How useful is that to the club?
Old 24-06-08, 13:02   #11

The main point is trying to get the board to communicate with the fans and in turn for the fans to feel they have a voice. How it is organised would not be that difficult. Simply have all season ticket holders and non-season ticket holders interested to join a Forum/Webpage, have links to this webpage from all other hibees webpages. Fans can put questions to the club that may be answered on the web-page by the club. Example question; when is the new home strip on sale or how much will next season pies cost.

The more important questions like, season tickets prices and loyalty cards or when will the new stand be built BLAH BLAhH can be asked at an open forum with the board. The questions asked could then be posted on the webpage. Now if everyone or a large percentage of the hibs family were to join the web-page then surely this would mean that this single forum/webpage could speak for the majority. Therfore giving us One Voice.
Old 24-06-08, 19:42   #12

Cantona is on the way to a first team debut

As long fans are buying season tickets and merchandise in record numbers we will never get proper representation at board room level. As far as Petrie is concerned we are just one big cash cow. He doesnt need or want our opinions. The only thing we have to offer in Rods eyes is our cash.
Old 24-06-08, 21:02   #13
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

As long fans are buying season tickets and merchandise in record numbers we will never get proper representation at board room level. As far as Petrie is concerned we are just one big cash cow. He doesnt need or want our opinions. The only thing we have to offer in Rods eyes is our cash.
theres a grain of truth in this, as long as the dough keeps comin in then alls well at the hibees ranch,unfortunatley though the consensus support an organisation required to affect some change via retail rebellion will never happen, you could find oot that the entire clothin range in the hibs shop was made in 60p a day sweatshops an punters would still buy, it could be revealed that coatin on the DVDs sold contribute tae global warmin an still no an eyelid would be batted, the pies are made fae meat thats been condemmed for human consumption but people would only either buy more bovril or jus chuck even more broon sauce on them

the ultimate cash refusal could be over season tickets/entrance prices but since that is the fix we are all tryin tae score then we end up sucking whatever is presented so we can gain 90 of minutes of pleasure (in the loosest sense of pleasure of course, agonisin dismay at abject performances would be more accurate, much the same as scorin some shan gear you take it for the sake of it but it jus disnae ring they bells)

with regards tae the original idea that this post is about i tend tae agree with wee162 & dr shrinks first posts on this

SAOR ALBA
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-08, 22:27   #14

Six Feet Under Champion!

We are just a money making machine for the club, as any supporter is for there club, If we are happy to be that then there is no point in looking at the idea off 'one voice'

I for one am not happy with the idea off just being a money bag, but there is nothing i can do as an individuel, my mere pounds don't make an impact. It's the fans as a whole, look at every pound you put in as an investment in the club, one that has only 1 off 2 returns, happiness at seeing your team play well & winning things , or dispair at them not,

We as Hibs fans have been in a vortex, we keep investing because off our love for the club, however bad things get, NEXT YEAR IS OUR YEAR comes the cry.

At some point something will give, who will suffer? US the fans, we watch our best players leave to go to the old farm, or down south, I for one think that if we held those players we could be challanging year in year out, the income can only increase if that was to happen,

Now i know when it come to transfers fans will never really have a say, but surely having any form off representation has got to be better than what there is at the moment.

At the moment we let the club know how we feel with our pockets, but that doesn't happen because each year we all invest, either in buying the new strips, season tickets, etc etc

A forum run by the club would work on one hand, we can post there, but how do we know this is being read by petrie unless he goes on and uses a webcam to prove it's him, not going to happen IMO so i feel that why register with another forum when the one i'm using now along with other forums/groups can speak on my behalf,

There are people on here that i would nominate to represent my voice/my thoughts, and to know that somehow these words are getting to those who need to hear it.

i haven't got the answer to how it wil work but i have an idea on how it can, but there are too many flaws with it, (ie 1 group having members on the forum voting as well as in there own group vote) which makes it disproportionate,

HOWEVER

if there was a central fans forum operated by the current groups/forums for issues to be raised and for the 'fans forum' to put things forward for vote/discussion.

This would obviously need to also have a rep or 2 from the club to be involved, not sure exactly how it can work but i am sure with thought the idea will come, given that someone on here can refine it.

Old 25-06-08, 14:56   #15

[QUOTE=madkink;863026]We are just a money making machine for the club, as any supporter is for there club, If we are happy to be that then there is no point in looking at the idea off 'one voice'

I for one am not happy with the idea off just being a money bag, but there is nothing i can do as an individuel, my mere pounds don't make an impact. It's the fans as a whole, look at every pound you put in as an investment in the club, one that has only 1 off 2 returns, happiness at seeing your team play well & winning things , or dispair at them not,

We as Hibs fans have been in a vortex, we keep investing because off our love for the club, however bad things get, NEXT YEAR IS OUR YEAR comes the cry.

At some point something will give, who will suffer? US the fans, we watch our best players leave to go to the old farm, or down south, I for one think that if we held those players we could be challanging year in year out, the income can only increase if that was to happen,

Now i know when it come to transfers fans will never really have a say, but surely having any form off representation has got to be better than what there is at the moment.

At the moment we let the club know how we feel with our pockets, but that doesn't happen because each year we all invest, either in buying the new strips, season tickets, etc etc

A forum run by the club would work on one hand, we can post there, but how do we know this is being read by petrie unless he goes on and uses a webcam to prove it's him, not going to happen IMO so i feel that why register with another forum when the one i'm using now along with other forums/groups can speak on my behalf,

There are people on here that i would nominate to represent my voice/my thoughts, and to know that somehow these words are getting to those who need to hear it.

i haven't got the answer to how it wil work but i have an idea on how it can, but there are too many flaws with it, (ie 1 group having members on the forum voting as well as in there own group vote) which makes it disproportionate,

HOWEVER

if there was a central fans forum operated by the current groups/forums for issues to be raised and for the 'fans forum' to put things forward for vote/discussion.

This would obviously need to also have a rep or 2 from the club to be involved, not sure exactly how it can work but i am sure with thought the idea will come, given that someone on here can refine it.[/quote]

This is what we need ideas that can help us open comminucaions with the club. Look at the Hearts at the moment, their club is going tits up and they can't even agree if there is a problem it's like they don't want to see that they are in trouble. We obviously don't have the problems they do, but that dosn't mean we don't have issues that need addressed.

I for one believe that 95% of what the board do is positive for the club, but I have questions that I want answered and I want them to be accountable for the decisions they make. STF and RP own the club but it belongs to me and every other hibee out there.
Old 25-06-08, 17:35   #16

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

The main point is trying to get the board to communicate with the fans and in turn for the fans to feel they have a voice. How it is organised would not be that difficult. Simply have all season ticket holders and non-season ticket holders interested to join a Forum/Webpage, have links to this webpage from all other hibees webpages. Fans can put questions to the club that may be answered on the web-page by the club. Example question; when is the new home strip on sale or how much will next season pies cost.

The more important questions like, season tickets prices and loyalty cards or when will the new stand be built BLAH BLAhH can be asked at an open forum with the board. The questions asked could then be posted on the webpage. Now if everyone or a large percentage of the hibs family were to join the web-page then surely this would mean that this single forum/webpage could speak for the majority. Therfore giving us One Voice.
The only problem being with this idea is that the vast majority of Hibs fans don't actually get their Hibs news from the Internet as they don't use/have PCs.
There are thousands of regular match attendees that have never been on the Bounce or .Net............

I'd recommend someone parchutes into ER each week with a big banner or sign during matches with an idea/view for Rod to read

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
19 days 22 hours 7 minutes