Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,389 | Posts: 598,481 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 09-09-08, 13:53   #41

SteveIrwin is on the way to a first team debut

Re: What Hibs players have played in European finals?

what about world cup finals?

benny has played in 7
Roghie? 1978?

SteveIrwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-08, 17:21   #42
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge

Wheat Hound is on the way to a first team debut

what about world cup finals?

benny has played in 7
Roghie? 1978?

Eddie Turnbull in Sweden 1958
John Blackley in Germany 1974
???
Canny think of any more, although Roughie was in the Mexico 1986 squad and Andy Goram and JC in the Italia 1990 one, neither got any game time.

Roughie wasnae a Hibee in 1978.
Wheat Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-08, 18:19   #43

hibbill2002 is just really nicehibbill2002 is just really nice

i meant world cup finals as in 'THE' final

hibbill2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-08, 19:49   #44
Radgie, Gadgie, Onion Badgie Radge

Wheat Hound is on the way to a first team debut

i meant world cup finals as in 'THE' final
Fair doos although I think we may just struggle there (benny aside
).

De La Cruz is another, though, to have played in the tournament whilst a Hibee as he had signed prior to 2002 Japan / Korea.

Ray Wilkins played for England in Mexico 1986 too - legend
Wheat Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-08, 11:42   #45

Was Stuart Beedie still wi Dundee Utd when they played in the UEFA Cup Final?
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 10-09-08, 11:58   #46

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Was Stuart Beedie still wi Dundee Utd when they played in the UEFA Cup Final?
Beedie was one of the famous five that signed at the start of 86-87 along with Kirkwood, Caughey, McCluskey and Willie Irvine mark ii.

Dundee United made the final at the end of 86-87 by which time Kirkwood had returned to Dundee to fund Millers first three buys: McIntyre, Mitchell & Bell.

I think we paid 130k for Beedie & Kirkwood, which Dundee United re-invested in Jim McInally & Dave Bowman from Coventry IIRC.

Two went on to star for their club for the next ten years and won Scotland caps, and erm two didn't last the season at their clubs, which I suppose is why Blackley got sacked and Jim McLean took his team to the UEFA Cup final.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-08, 11:59   #47

Maybe Blackley resigned and didn't get sacked.

Currently working on:
Old 11-09-08, 20:47   #48

blue toon hibby is a jewel in the roughblue toon hibby is a jewel in the rough

Jim played from 1958-67, Alex from 1967-69

but only 1 (Alex) of the Scott brothers played with Rangers
I seem to remember them both turning out in the same game for Hibs? And the funny thing is I didn't know until now that they were brothers! I seem to
remember a forward line of A. Scott, Quinn, J. Scott, Cormack, Stevenson.
No doubt P & G will put me right though.
Old 12-09-08, 15:52   #49

Jim Scott left on 5th August 1967, Alex Scott signed on 23rd September 1967 so I think that they wouldn't have played in the same team.

Currently working on: