Get Rid Of The Deadwood Urgently!
Last night was a disgrace yes and the re-building starts right now in my opinion. Get rid of any liability in our squad now. Starting with Gathuessi & Jones. We need a strong physical fit squad and we havent got that compared to other teams. Make no doubt im all for finding the young players turning into stars but im sorry having players like chisolm stevenson(he actually played well 2nite) mccann, hanlon etc. Although theyve got talent there no way near ready they dont have that 'special talent. its like watchin hibs reserves or the young team play. being out muscled all the time. we need big presence in the middle of the part and and defence. Jones is just a lanky plank hes no way a footballer. His only attribute is his heading. Thierry Gathuessi is not a footballer and whatever academy, whatever scouts picked him to be one they are a disgrace lol. Im not the best player in the world but il tell you something i could do a better job on the pitch than that guy as could probably most of you could. As for Alan O'brien. This guy is an easy target in my opinion - sure hes not set the world on fire this season but the guys confidence is so low right now think how hard it must be. The slightest thing he done wrong last nite the fans were on his back where as fletcher could stray a pass and the fans would be like "aww son dinny worry bout it". O'briens had flashes of great play here and there and he done well i thought last night he can definatley cross a ball but drifted out the game 2nd half but then again so did every1 coz every1 was shockin. Hibs board and manager better get the finger oot like cause im sorry 6th place is disgraceful for a clubs like hibs especially 2 years on a row. We should be the 3rd force in football or contending every year signing good quality players not like some of the pish thats been on show this season. anyway thats my rant over read it see what you think and have a good weekend lol
Re: Get Rid Of The Deadwood Urgently!
Agree that a clear out is needed, but Mixu also has to look at his tactics. The football Motherwell have played compared to us has been streets ahead and I don't think their players are any better than what we have.
I think now is the time for Mixu to shine when it comes to getting some guys in.
O'Brien is not a better player than Gatthuessi, if you ask me and I dont know why anyone would say he is. The latter kept Aiden McGeady and Nakamura quiet in the same game earlier in the season and is also good at getting down the wing, when has O'Brien came out with a performance like that? I cant believe the credit he has taken on the board for a couple of decent crosses last night. Is that all it takes? Because I have seen Gatthuessi has got downthe wing rather well at times, and more often than O'Brien has. O'Brien did nothing to help out Hanlon last night as you might expect a more experienced player to do for a youngster just breaking into the them but I think Hanlon did more to make up for him than the other way round. I bet Hanlon would disagree on some folks opinions on how O'Brien did last night. I thought Gatthuessi showed promise as a Hibs player and could still come good, its just unfortunate that his temperament has turned everyone against him. I want O'Brien to come good just as I'm sure we all do but I dont see too much in the guy myself but good luck to him.
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Rep Power: 16 ![]() ![]() vCash: 500 Arcade Stats: Tournaments Won: 1 |
Hanlon got no help from anyone, he had a large section off the pitch to himself, and was there a pass, nope, he stood and watched as the ball was thrown into a crowded part off the park, why?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2008
Stephen Hughes is certainly better than any player we have in his position.
Hibs are far too lightweight in midfield and have been for a few seasons now. I keep going on about getting a balance in midfield and we have to get this right for next season. I notice Mixu going on about certain players only being interested when they get the ball and we are attacking, and therefore we struggle big time when the opposition are running at us through the midfield. We need a hard working physical player in the middle alongside Ian Murray, as we have some very good creative and skilful players in Zemmama, Shiels, Yantorno, Stevenson, Rankin, and Morais (who has shown signs of improvement in recent weeks). But even our attacking midfielders have to learn to track back when we don't have the ball. I noticed Motherwell's midfielders doing this all the time during Thursday's game. It is equally important what you do as a team when you don't have the ball as it is when you do have it. Hibs have a number of very good players who would get into most teams in the SPL, but we have too many players who only play when they feel like it, or are very limited, or are plainly not good enough to wear a Hibs jersey. I hope Mixu is ruthless in the close-season, I think he may upset a few people in who he allows to go, but he has to get this team playing with more belief and fluidity next season. Our away form must improve big time. When we get the right type of players into our midfield I think our overall play will improve. Yes, we were absolutely diabolical on Thursday night, but we just have to hope that the manager sees the problems and is able to rectify them. A year from now will be the time to assess whether Mixu Paatelainen is the right manager for Hibernian.
This would be my team/formation for next term. 2000 era 5-3-2
McNeil Gatthuesi Hogg Murray(captain) Jones "New Signing" Yantorno "New Signing" Zemmama Benji Fletcher Subs Shiels Nish Hanlon Rankin Van Zanten Makalambay
I'm sorry but that Team would all but guarantee us a bottom 6 finish. Granted it's a fairly strong defence but the lightweight midfield you have named would just invite pressure onto them. If the "new signing" in midfield is Claude Makelele I may have to rethink but short of that I don't think we could play that system with those players. I assume van Zanten will play ahead of Thierry and I'm not sure that Yantorno (if he signs! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) and Zoomer will play together. |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2008
But 2 crazy penalties in 2 weeks, and totally stupidity with his gob a couple of weeks ago to get sent off, which cost us the points and a place in europe. Temperament? Just brain dead. I'm not saying O'Brien has been great but with the chances he's had, who can really say he,s had a good run? Noone! Gatthuessi? How many games has he played,quite a few, started games? Again, quite a few. And what have we seen? Nothing, gets lost on the field, hopeless, stupid, shows promise, my ass. O'Brien has not been great, but its obvious he needs games and could become a player, can def cross a ball, the abuse is shocking, he deserves a chance like Gatthuessi has had. Thierry has had his chance, total liability, get shot
Well, it's all about opinions. I think Thiery is a natural wing back, he has bundles of pace and trickery. Murray can play the Sauzee role quite nicely and should be made captain. Hogg and Jones compare favourably to Smith and Fenwick circa 2000. Bottom line, they need more help at the back and Murray is a good tackler/footballer. We need another option at left back/wing back. Uli Laursen is the best left wing back we've had, so bring a guy like him in! (easier said than done I agree!) Zemmama and Yantorno would be excellent attackers in that midfield, but they need a hod carrier. We need to find another Matty Jack, a big strong tackler to hod carry. I still believe Benji has it in his locker to get twenty goals a season, likewise Fletcher. We need to find the right player on the left and a strongman defender/midfielder. I think 5-3-2 is the way we have to go. Incidentally, Shiels & Zemmama is maybe the better combination. I only suggested Yantorno because he looks like a flair player who can score and link up with front men. I hope Mixu considers this option because he played in the 2000 team and knows how effective it was, and how much better that team was than the 99 side. We only need to find two quality players to make it work!
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. You may be talking me into it, as you say the holding midfielder would have to be a really strong player though. I think I'll have to disagree about Ghatteussi though, he looks OK coming forward but I don't think he defends well and his positioning is often woeful, we'll see what happens. |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
I reckon van zanten will be ahead of gatheussi. it's possible tam mcourt will be ahead of gatheussi next season though! i reckon thierry, benji, and a few of the younger lads will be let go. it's possible jones will leave and zouma and fletcher will no doubt have suitors too. Mixu might only want to bring in 4 quality players but there's a fair chance he's gonna have to rebuild in most areas. Jeebus, i'm depressing myself.....
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I certainly hope mixu has a few good guys in mind. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2003
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/general-hibs-chat/71049-get-rid-deadwood-urgently.html
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| General HIBS Chat - HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums | This thread | Refback | 24-05-08 11:20 | |